Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
Fieldstone Family Homes

Fieldstone Family Homes review: They Are MW Johnson 12

M
Author of the review
11:26 pm EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

MW Johnson is fieldstone family homes... beware these are the same people that have devestated many families out there...

Troy Johnson, Trent Johnson and Bryan Wolfe are related and family with Bill and Maureen Johnson the legal owners of MW Johnson... please do your research and trust others and build with any other builder. Your house will not be quality and you will be supporting dishonest and criminal people...

MW JOHNSON IS FIELDSTONE FAMILY HOMES!

BE AWARE OF THESE PEOPLE>>>>>>>>

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

12 comments
Add a comment
T
T
the correct information
Lakeville, US
Sep 18, 2009 11:18 pm EDT

YES please do your research. Check with any Customer, homeowner, Realtor or Subcontractor of Fieldstone Family Homes. The company is not the same. Suggest checking with people (realtors, customers, banks, subcontractors) who have actually done business with Fieldstone since their start up (I am one), you will be impressed.

There are many people (subcontractors, employees, and homeowners) that suffered losses when MWJ went out of business and now hold a personal vendetta or score to settle. The companies, owners, business plan and attitude are different at Fieldstone.
MW Johnson was a good company that served many people well for many years. The owners of MWJ did everything they could to save the company and the hundreds of people that depended on it. The Banks/Lenders that controlled MWJ for the last year and half before they were forced to file bankruptcy are the real reason so many people were hurt. As the idiot MWJ Basher who knows nothing about the situation so boldly put it. Do your Research!

H
H
Happy Customer of Fieldstone
Lakeville, US
Sep 23, 2009 1:15 pm EDT

We couldn’t be happier with our experience with Fieldstone. Their service level and commitment to their customers is very rare. When they say they treat their customers as “family, ” they mean it. We enjoyed the home building experience from start to finish and would love to build with Fieldstone in the future.

F
F
former mwj buyer
Woodbury, US
Oct 22, 2009 6:09 pm EDT

The people at Fieldstone Family Homes (what a misleading company name) are not the type of people you want to spend your hard earned "honestly" money with. They will build you a poorly constructed and not up to the standars of many many many other builders out there. PLEASEEEEEEEEE research who you are building and working with. The biggest and most important investment you will ever make should not be with the company formally known as MW Johnson who is now Fieldstone Family Homes. Please just check the names of the people invoved in the two companies.
Troy Johnson
Trent Johnson
William "Bill" Johnson
Maureen Johnson
Dave Young
Jenny Johnson

PLEASE LOOK OUT FOR YOUR OWN PERSONAL LONG TERM FINANCIAL INTEREST AND NO NOT LET THEM BUILD YOU A LEMON...

T
T
the correct information
Lakeville, US
Dec 21, 2009 10:35 pm EST

Dbhj 1979 has posted a LIE.
MWJ has never lost a Townhome lawsuit, ever. This is public information and is easily searched in court records. If you are referring to the Brittany Village 4th Addition lawsuit that was initiated by an uneducated and ill informed association president for her own vendetta, then you are just as uneducated about the situation. That suit was settled with the insurance companies of some of the sub-contractors, that had performed work that was deemed below industry standards and quality by MWJ! It took over 2 years, and MWJ offered no less than 10 times IN WRITING to all of the owners, board members, and attorneys' to MAKE ALL CODE OR SUBSTANDARD WORKMANSHIP REPAIRS FREE OF CHARGE. The board and it's attorneys' refused. And only after lengthy expert testimony by REAL engineers, (not uneducated home inspectors, as was hired by the association) did the association decide they would be better off taking the settlement than proceeding to a lengthy and expensive trial that they may very well lose?

It's too bad that each and every homeowner spent thousands of $$$ that was not recoverable in attorney's fees. MWJ made many offers to avoid this outcome for the owners. In the end the settlement amount was no where near the amount sued in the complaint and the only ones who benefited financially from the suit was the attorney's and board president. Minimal repairs may have been made on some units for some owners but in the end I think everyone lost. It's really sad that there are idiots out there who would rather complain about someone anonmyously on a website for generally depressed and unhappy people, instead of finding the TRUTH. You may want to study up on your building codes also, , you have alot of ill informed and incorrect information in your post there as well, sounds like the home inspectors that got shelled and discredited in the lawsuit.

Any homeowner of ANY builder can find a home inspector or attorney's expert that will find alleged construction "defects" in their home. This is their business and thats what they do, they make $$ by suing companies that may have done nothing wrong. The real loser is ultimately the Homeowner in Minnesota because attorney's fees are not recoverable in a construction defect lawsuit for single family homes. If you are a homeowner and find a problem with your home, you are much better off notifying the builder. Most builders will address the situation and make corrections. Minnesota has laws to protect consumers and businesses as well (see minnesota statute 327A and subsequent Notice and Opportunity to Repair law)

In MWJ's case, you don't need to sue the insurance company either. In fact, going that route is going to cost you $$$ many thousands of dollars in attorney's fees that you can NOT get back. There is 3rd party warranty coverage with every one of MWJ's homes that was FREE for the customer, this was through Residential Warranty Company or Home Builders Warranty 2/10 (FACT) and can be found on either of their websites or in your closing paperwork from the home. This covers inspections from a Licensed Engineer, and if any warranted structural defects are discovered, the Repairs are also FREE to the original or subsequent owners for up to 10 years from original closing date. Once again, , , as has been mentioned on this posting and comments a number of times..DO YOUR RESEARCH.

Listening to a bunch of disgusting lies and unproven accusations on a complaint site is not research. MWJ built 1000's of homes, for 1000's of satisfied customers, The type of people that sit and complain on sites like these should not build homes, buy products, or eat in restaurants, , , because they are for the most part unsatisfied in life so no one can please them anyway.
Merry Christmas, , Happy New Year, I hope the next year is better for you.

T
T
the correct information
Lakeville, US
Dec 21, 2009 10:48 pm EST

It's nice to see a positive comment from an actual Fieldstone customer. I have done extensive research on this company as well and to date, can say that every customer is either "satisfied" or "extremely pleased" with their Fieldstone Family Home and building experience. Fieldstone's owner's provide a list of all of their clients if you ask, all you need to do is check with them. I have also talked with many of their subcontractors, suppliers, and Realtors that have done business with them, and the comments have all been positive. the website www.FieldstoneFamilyHomes has more information about the company along with contact information, and testimonials, the owner's are very accesible and pleasant.

F
F
former mwj buyer
Woodbury, US
Dec 22, 2009 10:28 pm EST

DON'T NOT BUY FROM FIELDSTONE, THEY ARE THE MOST DISHONEST PEOPLE AROUND. THE ENTIRE JOHNSON FAMILY COULD CARE LESS ABOUT THE BUYERS AND SUB CONTRACTORS AND CREDITORS THEY LEFT IN THE DUST.

IF YOUR CONSIDERING BUYING A NEW HOME, PLEASE BE WISE AND LOOK INTO A RESPECTFUL BUILDER THAT CARES ABOUT THE PEOPLE THEY DO BUSINESS WITH.

IF YOU WANT GOOD POT THEN CALL BRYAN

IF YOU WANT GOOD COKE CALL TROY

IF YOU WANT A GOOD TIME IN A HOT TUB WITH SOMEONE OTHER THAN YOUR WIFE CALL TRENT

IF YOU WANT TO TAKE MONEY FROM PEOPLE CALL BILL

IF YOU WANT A GOOD HOUSE FROM AN HONEST BUILDER, CALL ANYONE ELSE...

S
S
shoppingbuilders
, US
Feb 04, 2010 7:43 am EST

Our Realtor told us to avoid Fieldstone and said they were MW Johnson, not sure why he would say that if it wasn't true, he doesn't benefit at all from which builder we choose to build with, just trying to give us good advice. I have also done some research myself because Fieldstone is one of a few builders that are in the area we want to build in, this is only one of a bunch of posts that say MWJ is Fieldstone. I seriously doubt there is a huge campaign to tie a good company name to MWJ, much more likely that it is actually true. I will also avoid them, thank you for the post!

I completely agree, such an important thing. It is a shame that MWJ/Fieldstone are allowed to do such things.

L
L
lebaron09
, US
Feb 15, 2010 3:10 pm EST

Why don't the current owners of Fieldstone family homes use some of the profit from the homes they are building now to repay the MW Johnson subs that lost hundreds of thousands of dollars? Maybe if their is at least an effort to give something to those who have lost so much, then Fieldstone can regain people's respect and trust.

D
D
Disappointed123
, US
Aug 08, 2010 10:34 pm EDT

I would never build with this company. I used MWJ and my house has so many issues. The quality isnt there. You will be fixing or re doing everything. Save your money and time and build with any other company but them. PLEASE! They are horrible builders!

H
H
home buyer
Rochester, US
Jun 22, 2011 2:03 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Fieldstone is a great builder they have a list of people they have built homes for and they are 100% happy and that is unheard of. They are a new company fron mwjohnson which did go out of business like 3/4 of all builders when the tough times hit.

H
H
home buyer
Rochester, US
Jun 22, 2011 2:05 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

mwjohnson built my home 22 years ago in Rochester and it is a quality home and I would build with them again

S
S
SUBCONTRACT
, US
Jan 27, 2012 8:30 pm EST

I can attest to the fact that Fieldstone Family Homes is the same as MW Johnson. I worked for them as a subcontractor under both names. I don't think that is being denied. Out of full disclosure, I haven't performed any work for them in the last year and a half. I'm sure that "the correct information" is one of the people listed in some of the above complaints. I can't speak to the character of any of these people directly, but if leadership is controlling the business, then I would definitely worry about the integrity of Fieldstone Family Homes.
As a subcontractor, I was asked to cut too many corners to even number on this forum. On a couple occasions, I refused because of the severity of what they were asking me to do. They found someone else who was willing to sacrifice their morals for a paycheck. Even when the building industry was flourishing, they were building with no standards. That is when every company should have been doing it's best. They were just taking the money, and running with it. The sad thing is, that I don't even think they were capable of building a quality home. Even the employee's homes were built terribly. Sad.
The time to complete work was cut into half of a normal schedule...sometimes more. Many items were missed while building the homes, which made trades redo the work. When you are remodeling new construction homes, that is never a good sign. The contacts I had with MW Johnson and Fieldstone Family Homes employees were less than desirable. Not professional at all. Clearly they only had their best interest in mind, not the customers.
I wouldn't buy a home from them for any reason. Take your hard earned $ elsewhere. Like I said, I haven't worked for them in a while, so maybe they are trying to rebuild their reputation, but if history teaches us anything, I suspect that they are trying to rebuild their pocket books.