The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Equifaxrecurring, inaccurate info in my credit report

K

Thru the years, I've had the BIG headache of Misreporting by Equifax. Showing incorrect, inaccurate, info on my report that ALWAYS, belongs to other debtors.

But I get rejected on credit applications, and have to run to creditors to get the correct info, and clear this info on file.

MY CREDIT IS EXCELLENT: I have no problems w/TRANS UNION-EXPERIAN. It's always EQUIFAX, and they have a million excuses for inaccurate info: blame the creditor, even if, info already clarified, shows up in your credit file three months later!

Responses

  • Mc
    McCafferty Jan 30, 2014

    Went on scoresense.com went to file dispute with Equifax. Couldn't file dispute.help!!!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mildred Owens Jul 06, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You all charged my credit card for money I did not approve for you to get. Why would I continue paying you all since you messed up my credit with all 3 credit reporters after you checked out my disputes even you and all the others used this as inquiries to drop my credit from 296 to 260 and less for some of you. I never want to deal with you all again and I want you to stop billing my credit card for something that I did not approve for you to do. I am very upset about how you diminished my credit when I disputed things that many didn't even belong to me. I will never deal with you all again. You are worst than scammers or flem flammers!!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mildred Owens Jul 06, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I did not renew my payment with equifax and they sent me letters to renew and refused and told their rep why I refused and when I got my credit card bill they had gone ahead and billed me anyway. You can't even contact a liver representative to get anything done. I have called and called. Because my complaint number for disputes they dealt with was no longer good. The checked disputes for me and my credit rating went down by all 3 credit bureaus including equifax who checked the disputes and most should not have even been on my credit because they didn't belong to me. I can't get anyone to respond to deal with this. If you have suggestions let me know.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    brackenrsb Aug 19, 2012

    1.cannot contact them by phone because after multipe attempts it is clear that Equifax phone tree is convoluted and circular, and contradicts mailed unsolicited credit check solicitation, and seems to purposely thwart phone contact.
    2. cannot contact them thru website because of "server problem" on their end, very ill defined, which loops client (me) back to their starting page after (I completed) pages of dispute info requested by their site.
    3. credit report full of inaccurate information

    0 Votes
  • Fi
    Filipina U. Ah-Hing Jan 04, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    On October 2017, I request a credit report for $1.00 on special but, for the month of November & December I was charged for $14.95 each. Please, I need to stop these charges from my account & get my refund back. Do not charge from any further.
    Thank you for your cooperation and understanding.
    You can send a reply on my email address.
    Sincerely,
    F.U. Ah-Hing

    0 Votes
  • Li
    lisa33e Dec 07, 2010

    yes please stay away from them.There customer service is HORRIBLE.
    They don't really speak english and if you try to cancel they give you the run around.By the time you do get somewhere you have a terrible headache.I don't trust them they were trying to get extra information too.As if they need more.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    teptom5147 Aug 02, 2009

    equifax has allowed my 9 year old sons credit to be stolen, and to allow a stolen ssn to be used to help iielga aliens remain and have credit. they wont let you egt a credit report for a child under 13 from thier online site, but they will lwt a stolen ssn be reported as delinquent. my son is 9 years old, and i obtained his credit report online by fudging the dob. it doesnt matter, because your ssn is the key information that guide the credit reporting agencies.they hap hazzardly take bugos, stolen info and its touted as fack. they run clickety clack thru peoples credit no matter who reports, correct or incorrect, and it is me, or in this case my son who lose. if i want it fixed, i have to tell them. what the f?? they have my name listes as 8 different variations, and its all from public databases(ie, phite pages, whowhere and the like) since when is a people finder page an authority or government agency? how is thier info fact. that info comes from phone companiesd, voter registraion, etc. they have allowedmy sons identity to be stolen and have not done anything about it. do not trust them and complain everywhere-congrsssman, reps, friends. its not a fair credit reporting act if the credit report company is stacking the deck against you.

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    Crumpycus Jul 30, 2009

    The point is Equifax doesn't want to help you correct errors w/o charge. ### Equifax asks for your info more than what CIA asks a recruiter. Who the hell it thinks it is???
    Go bankcrupt Equifax.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    lisa williamson Mar 10, 2009

    I closed my Equifax account in December 2017. Since then, Equifax has continued to debit my checking account every month. I have made no less than ten phone calls to resolve this issue. Every time I call, I am told that this will be resolved, the amount of the debit will be credited back to my account, and I will not see a future charge. My account is not being credited back and I have spoken to at least two supervisors at Equifax. I just had to fax them three months worth of checking account statements for them to "review". I am at my wits end and considering closing out my checking account to avoid this from happening again. However, I have my mortgage also being debited from that account and am reluctant to do so.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    Scat Oct 30, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    One thing that people are not understanding about Equifax, they are a CRA. They do not request your info from the various accounts that you hold. It is the various companies job to report to Equifax, that is what makes up your credit file is what companies report to them. You people act like Equifax is just making up things to put in your credit file, and that is not the case. Example :If whatever company you hold an account with reports that you have a negative account with them, then that is what is on your credit file. It is those account issuers jobs to say what goes on or comes off your credit file, not Equifax's. As far as any charges you may be issued, when you signed up for a certain product that may have been a free trial, it is your responsibility to cancel before you are charged to cancel not Equifax. My suggestion is read all the print in terms of use before you decide to purchase their products. Also if whatever company signs you up to receive a product for free for a year or two, and you call to sign up, it will auto renew you for whatever year it is up. So if you do not want to be charged, it is also you responsibility to check on that.

    -1 Votes
  • Sc
    Scat Oct 30, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    One thing that people are not understanding about Equifax, they are a CRA. They do not request your info from the various accounts that you hold. It is the various companies job to report to Equifax, that is what makes up your credit file is what companies report to them. You people act like Equifax is just making up things to put in your credit file, and that is not the case. Example :If whatever company you hold an account with reports that you have a negative account with them, then that is what is on your credit file. It is those account issuers jobs to say what goes on or comes off your credit file, not Equifax's. As far as any charges you may be issued, when you signed up for a certain product that may have been a free trial, it is your responsibility to cancel before you are charged to cancel not Equifax. My suggestion is read all the print in terms of use before you decide to purchase their products.

    0 Votes
  • Cy
    cynthia kirkpatrick Jul 24, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Withdrew money from my checking acct. without my permission, 24.95. Had to close acct. and open new one. Beware people!

    0 Votes
  • De
    DEBRA JOHNSON Jun 27, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I wanted to share my most recent unbelievable experience with Equifax. My last name is Johnson, so I have had many erroneous items on my credit report over the past 10 years.

    Somehow Equifax has decided that I am a junior! Now in their tiny minds - I am J M Johnson JR. I was never a junior until they made me one. This was discovered while my wife and I were purchasing a car recently. The credit manager said " you have a judgment against you" and my response was "that is incorrect, and because I have such a common name that it is not unusual to find this type information on my credit report". I was disappointed to find out that Mr J M Johnson Jr has a judgment for $110.00 that was on MY credit report! I had to contact Equifax.

    After many calls and being on hold forever I was told to send in copies of my passport and drivers license, which I did. Now they are in the investigation phase! What is there to investigate?

    Guess what happened next? Now they need my social security card ( that I have had for 40 years) and a bill that has my home address on it. I have no choice - I must send in the required info to fix a problem that they created!

    We need a new system - or better yet we need to file suit against them. Honestly, they are as screwed up as our medical system.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.