The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Dr. Stephen HerringVery rude and Bad-tempered

I had breast augmentation done and wasn't happy with results. I picked out a particular size implant and thought I made myself clear but apparently he chose to put different size. . I found out from manufactoring website, the size of my implants, and they do not match paperwork I signed. He became very irate with me when I questioned him, he told me to "shut my mouth or he refuses to talk to me". Extremely rude and bad-tempered. He obviously doesn't care about his patients. I guess he only wanted patients that sat back and asked no questions. I beleive he is a Doctor who only cares about the all mighty dollar!
I have never been treated so horribly in my life, he spoke to me as if I were trash. This experience has emotionally scarred me!And to think I actually paid this man to treat me this way! He refuses to do follow-up appointments and I have already payed in full.I'm also having problems getting my medical records.

Responses

  • Jm
    JM76 Aug 28, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    At my consultation, the ladies and Dr Herring were very informative. While signing in, I was handed a laminated copy of the privacy policy plus other required documents. This is the FIRST time I've had a Doc do this. Usually they want you to sign the paper saying you reviewed all those policies, but you have to ask for them and refuse to sign until they give them to you. Not so at Dr Herring's office. They answered ALL questions. My appt actually took longer than an hour due to all the information the Dr was giving me. That same day we scheduled my pre-op and the operation date. I received a package of materials to read thru and what to eat, not eat, medications that were a no-no, etc. He even went so far as to show me diagrams and explain in-depth about the anatomy of a tummy tuck. I was concerned about a possible hernia mentioned by my regular doctor, and he said he didn't feel any but if they were there when he operated, he could fix those as long as they were not too big. He explained about different possibilities such as cysts, and what he could or couldn't do during the op.
    At my pre-op we signed the papers I had received 2 weeks prior, did blood work, and I went to get an EKG to make sure I was ok for surgery. I received another packet - copies of everything I had signed, plus information for my "buddy" I would bring to take care of me.
    The day of I brought my "buddy" for after surgery. The Doc still went over the basics with me even tho he already had at the last appt, and spoke to my friend as well on what to expect. They got her info and gave her their info so they could call and vice versa. After surgery I don't remember a lot clearly since I was coming out of it! But I remember being taken to the hospital for my planned overnight stay. Herring's staff personally went with us, got me a wheelchair, and got me checked in. Dr Herring was going to come see me the next day at noon and if all was well, I would be discharged. His staff left very specific instructions for my care while at the hospital (i.e. embolism prevention in the legs, inspira-breather, antibiotics delivered by the IV they left so I wouldn't have to get stuck twice). They thought of everything.
    The day after, Dr Herring showed at noon, said I looked great and discharged me. Since I live a bit further away than most of his patients, he scheduled an extra follow up the next morning and then a second follow up a full week after that one.
    I received phone calls every other day except Sunday just to check on me and to see if I had any questions. I received nothing but top notch care from the whole office, and I am surprised to see these comments here. It almost sounds like a different person. The front desk lady was awesome and friendly. One of the other staff members is his wife and she has tons of knowledge about these operations and aftercare. (She is extremely professional, so it takes a second to warm up to her). Dr Herring himself is also very chatty. I didn't get any kind of feeling that anyone was rude. BUT - I agree that it's a lot like a relationship: if you don't "click" on the first date, then don't go back for a second.

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    Whyouhavetowhin Jun 13, 2016

    I had a breast argumentation done by DT Herring done several years ago and I was very happy with him. He was a great listener to my concerns and he made suggestions not demands. He did tell me that if I was going for "Doll Parton" size then he was the wrong guy, that wasn't why I went so we were on the same page. 👍 The office was clean and the staff was super nice. The fact that he has the in office surgery suits was great! Definitely saved so much money. He was wonder the day of and at all the follow up. For everyone who has had a bad experience there, I'm sorry, I wish you could have had the same kind I had. Everyone was so helpful when I was trying to wake up, I don't remember getting dressed, but a nurse was there with me in the bathroom when I started remembering. I remember her asking if I thought I could maybe urinate and I said "warm water". Lol. She turned the water on while she snickered and stuck my hand in it, it worked. They always had crackers and water ready for you in case you got light headed. I mean really, I can not name one thing they did that made me angry.

    1 Votes
  • Gi
    Gina Hamm Mar 14, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I believe that he is a poor surgeon. I had my augmentation done 20 years ago - and I remember that he was like a slick car salesman. But I was young and naive. I was a RN at that time but a new nurse with maybe 2 or 3 years under my belt. I had under the skin saline implants placed. He made the incisions maybe two inches below the areola - he stated that eventually that incision/scar would not be seen because the implant and breast would drop slightly to hide this. Hmmmmm...yeah it took twenty years to drop enough. He did a horrible job suturing the implants in. The incision line should have been approximated with subcuticular sutures. These are sutures that are under the skin and heal very nicely. The incision closure on my chest looked like something that was done by a kid. There was a huge mess of black suture that was asymmetrical - looked like something out of a Frankenstein movie. Just ridiculous.

    I was actually looking at this site to see what had become of this surgeon because I am having these implants removed. They are making me very sick with autoimmune issues. I would say that is going to be the next big thing. There are a lot of people developing illness from silicone implants and I am sure that soon there is going to be a big rush of people having these removed.

    o by the way. If the surgeon is an a-hole then find another provider. Just because he is a doctor does not give him permission to be a butthead. I would say this guy is a bad surgeon and a bad person from reading what he has been up to. Go to someone else and don't let this guy schmooze you.

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    Michelle Celeste Sanchez Feb 23, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just had a breast augmentation with Dr.Herring and my experience from my consult to my post ops has been wonderful. He was never rude to me and answered every single question I asked. He was very comforting about the procedure. And I LOVE MY RESULTS! He is an awesome surgeon. By the attitudes I get from reading some of these complaints I feel that he probably got that vibe and wasn't going to allow it in his professional environment. I highly recommend him.

    1 Votes
  • So
    So Disappointed07 Jun 17, 2015

    i have to agree with the above complaints! I wish I had seen this before i went for my tummy tuck, after almost 15k my stomach is destroyed and everything you guys are saying is what happened to me!!! My belly button is so low and horrible, the scar is all over (sloppy/uneven) and the sides are uneven and a mess!!! I paid all that money for nothing! And i even gave him a chance to do a revision!! there has to be something we can do to stop this! He does come across so confident and yet he clearly has no idea what he is doing.

    0 Votes
  • Em
    Emotionally depressed Oct 10, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had the liposuction procedure done by him as well with no results . When I complained that I saw no results or change he said that I had a lot of swelling . I was told results are at its best in 6 months . Well after 6 months later... Still no results and scars in area where other surgeons couldn't believe was done there for liposuction. I have had 2 second opinions and both doctors don't believe anything was done . He will fast talk you and dance around your questions when he feels you are asking too many questions. I had complete faith in him based off his consultation . I was totally misled and have been dealing with emotional stress and embarrassment .

    -1 Votes
  • Ha
    Haltermm Mar 12, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Carol
    This doctor was very rude and not a good plastic surgeon. I went for a tummy tuck and he destroyed my stomach. It is so bad. He ruined me. I have since shown his work to other plastic surgeons hoping to fix the mess he made, and they don't even know what to think when they see it. It is as if he isn't even a plastic surgeon. My belly button doesn't even look like a belly button and it is the wrong place. It has a constant odor coming from it. When I told him about the odor, he told me that I was born with that smell. After the surgery, I complained about that fact that it appeared that he didn't do the liposuction that I paid him thousands of dollars for. He told me that it was just post surgical swelling. Well it has been years and the so called swelling has never gone away because it is all fat. The same fat he said that he removed. The plastic surgeons that have seen me since told me that I have never had a liposuction. When my husband and I complained about it, he yelled at him and told my husband he knows a lots of important people and he can finish my husband's Army career...( my husband is in the army and was in uniform that day) please, please don, t go to him. He will ruin you and not even care.

    -1 Votes
  • Li
    Lina8 Aug 23, 2012

    He don't listen!
    I had a breast reduction surgery with Dr.Herring. Dec 14.2011. I made myself very clear about the size breast that I want, he proprose me a bigger size and I said NO! Guess what? He did in my body what he wants, I don't trust him, for the first three months I cried every day, today seven months later I'm not satisfied and I need help getting a lawyer because I want my money back due I paid this surgery out of my pocket. my email: [email protected]

    -2 Votes
  • Mr
    mrshair Mar 26, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Please contact me!!! Going thru the same thing now!! I had a tummy tuck done and he didnt tighten my muscles!! He talked over me, he was rude and refuses to correct it! [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Cr
    crmills74 Feb 04, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Well first of all, he is the only plastic surgeon in Fayetteville that offers a free consultation. He also has a certified surgery suite. This means I dont have to pay over $6k in fees in addition to procedure. Another plastic surgeon in town charged me $150 for a consultation after finding out a $10k tummy tuck and inner thigh lift would cost a whopping $17k!!! If I knew this, I would have never went. That explains why Dr Herring seems as though he is rushing. It might not seem right, but his work speaks for itself. He answered all my questions. He is board certified, in office surgi-suite, full Cape Fear hospital privileges. No, he doesnt kiss [censor]. But what doctor does?

    1 Votes
  • Ta
    TarissaG Sep 07, 2010

    Im having surgery with doctor herring, during my consultation he answered all my questions and the other associates were so friendly. IM having surgery in 20 days and im not worried, ive had multiple visits and he made me feel welcomed. It smelled like a doctors office and everything was very cleaned.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Mandy Moore AKA Quackbuster Apr 28, 2010

    It is scarry that a doctors office is disorganized. I sure won't want to go back for a second time if I detect it.

    0 Votes
  • Un
    unhappy results Jun 10, 2009

    WOW! are you still having problems and are there others out there?

    0 Votes
  • Di
    disappointed Apr 05, 2009

    OMG, I am going through the same problem. He rushed me and is very and tries to over talk you so that you dont ask any questions. I had to demand to speak to him because he does only care about money and his office is unkept and disorganized. I had a bad feeling during my consultation. I should have followed my gut instinct.

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.