Digital Media Source On Amazon.comFalse refund policy

G
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I purchased a SD card from the seller Digital Media Source off Amazon.com. According to their refund policy, within 21 days of the order being placed I may contact Digital Media Source to request a refund. I did not receive any response from them at all after I contacted them through Amazon. Even if they decided they wouldn't give me a refund, I would have appreciated at least an explanation. So beware if you get anything from them, don't expect any response after you pay.

Responses

  • Ro
    Robert Bren Jan 26, 2015

    I purchased a Phantom DJI Quadcopter and received an open box item. When I tried to return it they just gave me the runaround over and over. They even had me return it, didn't sign for it, then kept telling me it was available at my post office when it was at theirs. Totally ridiculous. Over $800 on an item that did not work that was already opened and they refused to take care of it. Even amazon refused to help me even after the seller agreed to a return.

    0 Votes
  • Ry
    RYMIL Sep 08, 2014

    DO NOT PURCHASE FROM THIS SELLER. I just ordered a new car stereo, they stated it was NEW. It definitely wasn't. The box had been opened, and the unit itself said "QC passed" which means it was definitely refurbished, NOT NEW. Additionally, there were parts missing from the box, AND TO TOP IT OFF the unit did not work at all. Tried contacting them, it took multiple emails for someone to finally contact me back (very illiterate and unprofessional, might I add). I finally got an RMA and approval to send the unit back, however, I don't think I'm going to take the chance of sending it back to the company and NOT receiving my refund since there have been so many instances of that. Looks like I'm out a bunch of money and a bunch of time it took to try to make this thing work. WORST COMPANY I'VE EVER DEALT WITH AND THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE. BUYERS BEWARE.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    dont shop here Jun 30, 2012

    I never received the SD card I ordered. I emailed them and they said I had to wait 30 days to file a claim after it was supposed to be delivered. Totally unacceptable. Amazon agreed and refunded my money but this company is awful. I don't believe the card was ever mailed since when you track it it says it was electronically entered and nothing after. IT should have said it was received by USPS. I think they are using electonic order to pretend to ship items and never do.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    marta mattos May 07, 2012

    They are awfull, they charged me 77 dolars to send me my sd cards, 77 dolars to put an envelop in the mailbox to Florida, when I realized that, I tried to cancel but they wont answer me and amazon.com won´t do anything about it. I will try to sue them through the bureau of consumer protection.

    0 Votes
  • Nv
    NvLgNr May 01, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been given an estimated delivery date by Amazon and yet the item still hadn't arrived at the end of estimated delivery date. I am getting a feeling that this 'Digital Media Source' is actually a fraudulent company. With all the complaints I've seen, that just makes it more apparent. I will never order anything from 'Digital Media Source' again. I also believe that Amazon should make it a requirement for all sellers to provide tracking numbers to all orders.

    1 Votes
  • Fo
    footclan Apr 06, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is absolutely the worst online retailer I've ever dealt with, and it surprising to see that they're still with Amazon considering all these complaints. I ordered a San Disk 32GB class 4 card. It arrived within 2 weeks, but unfortunately it was a class 2. I emailed them and sent it back on the February 24th. They informed me they would let me know when it arrived. Over the course of a month, I either got a response saying they'd let me know, or no response at all.

    On March 24th, I emailed them again and they say they received it. I did not get an email from them stating they had gotten it and there is no way in hell standard mail takes a month to go a short distance (I live in Toronto and they're in New York state). They had said in the latest email they would send it out in 24 hours. That leads us to today, 2 weeks later and 1 more unanswered email. I told them through Amazon that since I hadn't received my product that they said they had shipped, I was going to complain to Amazon and Visa claiming goods not received.

    That last statement regarding Visa seemed to push their buttons. They emailed me back very quickly and shortly afterwards, I WAS ISSUED A REFUND FOR A PRODUCT I WAS TOLD WAS SHIPPED. So all in all, I waited almost 2 months, for nothing. Based on the above complaints, I believe they sent me the class 2 on purpose and since I was going to talk to Visa, they had no option but to refund me my money as they clearly don't carry class 4 cards. This is the kind of retailer I didn't expect to be on Amazon. I honestly would've expected more of their screening process and that they would take, the clearly numerous complaints more seriously. Amazon, you have many retailers to choose from, you don't need one that intends on ripping people off through you and harming your image in the process. I will think twice about using Amazon as it is difficult to verify the legitimacy of every retailer.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Don't be ripped off! Jan 06, 2011

    I ordered a headset from Digital Media Source. It doesn't work and they don't provide a refund. I will take it up with the manufacturer, but what kind of policy is this? Awful company, awful customer service!

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alex bell Dec 22, 2010

    I have had a similar experience with this company. I bought a 16gb Sandisk Micro SD card and after verifying it's capacity it turned out that it was actually a 2gb SD-Card. the card was a fake and the label printed stated it was a 16gb card. I am hoping this wasn't intentional. I just sent them an email through amazon for a refund and I will keep everyone posted.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    Mopquill Nov 12, 2010

    Do not buy from this company. In short, they sent the wrong item, and in trying to deal with them saying they didn't get it (and me subsequently proving they did via tracking number), they finally issued me a refund, even though I was asking that the original product be shipped. This refund did not include what I spent on shipping, though Amazon was kind enough to cover that for me, by giving me Amazon credit. Now I have to wait to get my money back so I can attempt again to order the correct product.

    The customer service with this company was extremely poor, and very misspelled.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chamakid Sep 08, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    "buyer beware. i'm still waiting to get reimbursed for the return shipping on SDHC 8GB cards. parts were missing from both of the items i received. they have not responded to any of my emails inquiring about reimbursing me for the cost of the return postage. sadly amazon said there is nothing they can do because i bought it through one of their 'featured merchants' and not amazon directly."

    0 Votes
  • Nh
    nhlaker1 Aug 06, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased a 8GB SanDisk Pro-Duo Memory card and was shipped a cheaper SDHC 8GB card instead. I have sent two e-mails for an exchange and have not heard from Digital Media. Sorry I did not research this before I ordered. Sounds like they like to bait and switch.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    Kiefer Feb 08, 2010

    Similar thing happened to me. I purchased a Refurbished iPod that never worked. Sent an email and waited and waited and no response. The 21 days lapsed. So I sent another email through Amazon and finally got an RMA # so I can do a return. We will see. My gut tells me that I will never see an iPod or my money again. Why does Amazon still allow them to sell on their site?

    Tom

    0 Votes
  • Te
    test99 Dec 02, 2009

    I totally agree with you guys. Even I ordered a 8GB sandisk from Digital Media via amazon and its not working now. Haiving had time to return this item.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    neverbuy Nov 30, 2009

    I should have read these comments before I ordered my SanDisk 8GB Extreme III SDHC Card sold by Digital Media Source through Buy.com. They sent me SanDisk 8GB Extreme III CompactFlash Card. Looks like this is something they do on a regular basis. Now I have to figure out a way to return this and get a refund. Will never buy an item sold by this company.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Denise19632009 Nov 18, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was also ripped off by this company. I got the Extreme IV SanDisk 8GB memory card but when it arrived, it did not fit my camera. I mailed it back to them that same week in September 2009 for a full refund and credit on my credit card. They have not responded to my numerous emails and as of today, November 18, 2009, I have not rec'd my refund. Amazon does not care that this company is one of their Sellers that rips people off. This is the first time that I have ever been ripped off by using amazon.com and I buy a lot from amazon. From now on, I will have to be wary of what I buy on Amazon if they are going to allow sellers like Digital Media Source to rip people off over and over again.

    0 Votes
  • Az
    azrat2002 Feb 04, 2009

    I also got suckered into this purchased from an Amazon.com mailer --- and must have for my new camera. It not even worth sending back for replacement -- someone already ran the risk number on this a figures -- if 75% failure and less the 50% --- bling bling -- helps their cash flow ...

    0 Votes
  • Tc
    tc Jun 19, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same problem - no response from Digital Media.

    Purchased the Extreme III SDHC; was shipped the Ultra II SDHC. Big differenceon read/write speed. Extreme III is 50% higher in price. Amazon doesn't seem to mind either.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.