David's Bridal - Portland, MEI will never walk in any David's Bridal again!

1

My daughter recently got engaged. We drove 60 miles to the closest Davids Bridal which was in Portland Maine to shop for bridal gowns. We then went to the racks of gowns and chose one she wanted to try on.

While we were headed to find someone to show us to a dressing room with the dress in hand, an employee approached us and asked if we were working with a "consultant". I said, "No, but I was looking for someone to help us." The "consultant" then rudely informed me that I should not be taking gowns off the rack unless I was working with a consultant. She then told me she would take the dress (she took it right out of my arms) and that I needed to go to the front desk and see if there was an available consultant as they took walk ins but only if they had someone who was available. I went to the front desk only to be told that they were very busy that day and that the next available time was 2 1/2 later. By this time I am embarrassed, angry and just wanted to get out of there. By now I am so mad I told my daughter we needed to leave as they obviously did not need our business. We left, I then called the number on a brochure to speak with the manager but that number connected me to a store in Nashua, NH. I explained the situation to the person on the phone and asked for the number to the store in Portland, ME, she put me on hold and never picked back up.

I WILL NEVER MAKE AN APPOINTMENT, NOR WALK IN ANY DAVID'S BRIDAL AGAIN. If you plan on going there make sure you have an appointment!!!

Responses

  • Mi
    Misty Rosales Mar 04, 2007

    My sisters & I went to David's Bridal in Colorado Springs, CO yesterday 3/3/07, we drove 40 miles to get there, which was ok, once we got there they were busy & we started just looking around & was approached by a lady who seemed like WE were bothering her, she was very rude & was not very helpful. She showed us to a very very small room for my sister to try on a dress. Now my sister isnt very skinny which shouldn't of been an issue but was to them. Once she came out of the room an older lady came over to check if she needed alterations & looked at my sister very disgusted. She then said there was nothing they could do to help. In the meantime I looked around the store & noticed it wasnt just us alot of women there looked upset & it was like we were cattle, they were rushing people in and out!! We left & found another place down the street called Danelle's, we bought all of our dresses there & they were soo very helpful. I will NEVER EVER go back to David's Bridal again!!!

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brooke Mar 07, 2007

    Yes, I had a problem w/ David's as well and they put me on hold and never picked back up either!! I held FOREVER. Then I finally go to pick up my dress and I PROMISE it is a different dress, there are beads on the skirt that were not on the one that I tried on several times, plus the string of beads around the waste were completely different! I paid attention to every detail so I KNOW it was different, they told me it was NOT different and even though I had not even left w/ the dress yet, I could not get my money back.. since you have to pay BEFORE you order and get the dress in. I don't think that's right. Plus, when I picked up my dress and did a fitting, ( i ordered a size smaller than i tried on) I decided I would buy a slip to make it poof out more, well they told me I would receive NO discount.. I guess if you buy the slip when you ORDER the dress you get like 20 % off or something? Well they wouldn't give me the discount and were VERY VERY rude. THEN I had to pay 10 bucks just for a bag to put the dress in!! I mean, you go to Victoria's Secret and buy a 30 dollar bra and get a cute pink bag w/ tissue paper and a ribbon and a gift box if you want one! But you pay like 500 for a dress and don't even get a decent bag to go with it!! That place is seriously crazy!!

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Leslie Hoffman Mar 12, 2007

    You are lucky that you were only hassled by one of the underpaid and poorly trained employees who work there. If you had bought the dress, you could have anticipated a whole new world of problems and complaints. My sister is using David's Bridal for the bridesmaid gowns for her wedding, and for which I am the maid of honor. All five of the bridesmaids tried on the gown, and based on the samples in the store, no one needed any alterations. Our gowns just came in, and they are cut in different proportions than the dresses we tried on. All five bridesmaids -- who used two different stores in two different states -- need to have them re-ordered in a larger size and then altered, which would be fine, except for that we didn't need those alterations when we ordered the dresses in the first place. My dress has too much fabric in the waist and hips and not enough in the bust area, and I am pear-shaped! It wouldn't matter, but the dress fit perfectly in the store. Because David's Bridal handles so much volume, there seems to be no quality control at all. There is no one in the stores who can help us except to order another size and pay for alterations and David's Bridal of course has a policy that you cannot return the dresses once you purchase them. The customer care phone numbers are bogus; they claim not to have a store in your area. I am telling everyone I know to never, ever step foot in a David's Bridal store.

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    Flama Mar 16, 2007

    I went to a David's Bridal in Philadelphia. I also had (still have) problems with customer services. The "consultant" was very RUDE and she wanted to decide the dress for me - unbelievable!!! I was told that they didn't have my size but they didn't told me that they didn't have in THAT store. I bought a dress... and they still treating me BAD! I'm also very disappointed!

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jennifer Walker Apr 12, 2007

    I bought my dress and all of my bridemaids dresses at Davids Bridal. When I first went in the lady that waited on me was extremely helpful and very nice, I was very excited since I was getting my wedding dress, everything went smoothly. She informed me that all of my bridemaids dresses should be ordered at the same time due to dye lot issues, she stressed this very much. I tried on a size 10 which was to large for me but she told me that with the size being larger that the dress was longer. I was informed that a regular wedding gown is meant to fit a women standing 5'8" in heels. I stand that bare foot. So I was told to order the dress with 4 extra inches and that it would be no problem to take any extra length out. A few days go by and I take a good look at my receipt and I notice they only ordered the regular length. So I call them and have them fix it. About 14 weeks go by and I get a call that my dress is in, along with one bridesmaid dress... I asked her why the bridesmaid dress was in. After I told them the names and how many people were in my wedding party they only listed one and as soon as she paid for her dress they ordered it. I gave them the names of all the rest of my party...again and told them I can't get my dress for a couple of weeks due to the fact that I live over 100 miles away from the store. I go and pick up my dress and I told them I wanted to try it on before I left the store. IT WAS WAY TO LONG!!! My consultant got alterations and they told me that it would be almost 400 extra dollars to alter my dress due to how much work needed to go into it, alterations told me that it would look way poofier then I wanted it to be due to bunching up the skirt. We tried a bigger slip and higher heels (4") and it was still a little long, but I decided that would work much better then paying an additional 400 (I've already spent 1000) for my dress. I make my alterations appointment for my bustle and alterations tells me it is still to long. They tell me they will try and get the dress in regular length since they messed up (this is after the manager tried to make me feel like this is my fault because I called back and changed the order) I finally get my regular dress in, found out that with a regular slip the dress would have been to long. They messed up both my flower girl dresses and all the bridesmaid dresses came in longer then what they tried on, so everyone needed alterations!!! I WILL INFORM EVERY BRIDE THAT I MEET TO AVOID DAVIDS BRIDAL!!!! THEY WILL RUIN YOUR WEDDING EXPERIENCE!!! Along with they sister company after hours!!!!! I picked out red tyes for all of my groomsmen, they had the best men in red tyes and all of the rest of the groomsmen in pink!!! This company needs to be stopped!!!

    0 Votes
  • La
    Laura Weisbrod Apr 17, 2007

    We ordered my daughter's wedding dress, all her bridesmaid dresses and my dress there. Our experience was very positive. All employees were very helpful, we were always greeted with smiles and the alterations people were extremely helpful. We are in Fort Worth, TX and all dresses were exactly as they had tried on and we were not charged for the bag to put the dress in, it came with the dress with no charge. We loved dealing with them and their prices were unbeatable on the dresses we bought. Their flower girl dresses are a bit pricey, so we aren't using them for that, but overall, we loved our experience there.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stacy Denton Apr 29, 2007

    It is obvious when you go into a bridal store that the dresses are hanging in plastic zipper bags. This so 40 people don't handle them improperly or get them dirty. Bridal shops are not regular clothing stores. You would not want your dress to have been tried on by others, gotten make up all over the front, snagged the lace or beading, or left laying on a dressing room floor. This is why you MUST have a consultant. Most bridal shops only have one or two dresses in each size/style. Typically they are special order. Many are hung according to designer, or style, or even price. Customers shoving them to the far end of a rack to see the one they like, wrinkling and smashing the others, unzipping it and leaving it unzipped, or taking it off the rack or putting it back in the wrong spot is not good for the dress and requires the consultants to carry them back to the rack. They are heavy. A bride could conceivably try on 20 dresses if she were just picking them off the rack herself.

    A consultant is there to steer you towards a dress in your style while not letting customers mishandle the dresses. I do not think the employee should have been rude but I have taken dresses from customers and guided them to a consultant before. Most, however, know that ours is not a regular clothing store. You'd be surprised how many mothers throw the dress over their arm, or two or three, and carry them around the store like they were jeans from Old Navy. You should be glad they want to take good care of their product. How would you like to try on a dress only to find it is wrinkled, dirty, smudged with lipstick or make-up, snagged, and then try to envision it on your wedding day all the while knowing it has a $1000 price tag. Don't be mad at the store for your ignorance of the situation. It's amazing how many customers are offended by respect and dignity for their time and budget. An appointment is always best, although some smaller shops do not require them. It's a big decision, not to be rushed, and carefully considered.

    1 Votes
  • Sy
    Sybil Goodyear May 03, 2007

    I found the dress I wanted in July of 2006, 10 months before my wedding date. Five days before I was supposed to travel to my out of state wedding I went in to pick up my dress and it was destroyed. Here's what happened. I had gone back for a couple of fittings with the head alterations person telling me all would be well with my dress. I found out I was pregnant a month before my wedding and was concerned about my body changing too much and decided to pick out a new dress. After trying on several dresses in the Huntsville Alabama store the alterations lady said "Good news...I've found my magic wand" and she could fix my current dress. I had a final fitting a week before I was due to leave. She pinned the hem and pinned the cups in the bust. I was reluctant then because the cups looked lumpy and you could see the outline of the cups through the dress. This woman assured me all she needed to do was to "press" them and all would be fine. BS!!! When I picked the dress up five days before my wedding the front hem of the floor length gown was to the middle of the bridge of my foot and the right cup in the bust of the dress was sewn 1 inch away from my armpit, making me look like I had lop sided boobs. It looked like two pancakes over two tube socks. Still lumpy, still looking like crap the secondary seamstress asked me what I thought. I replied with quick synopsis of how utterly absurd the gown looked and demanded my money back. After pushing back with loud words in front of other patrons they caved and gave me my money back with the exception of the veil. (They couldn't see returning the money because only the dress was useless) Before all of this, the head alterations idiot told me..."It's just a piece of fabric." I got no apology at all from the store manager who had the balls to say "Have a good night." when I was on my fifth tissue and walking out of the store. DO NOT EVER USE DAVID'S BRIDAL.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Teresa Asbury May 07, 2007

    My Daughter is 17 years old and graduating this year. Last weekend was her Senior Prom and we all know how this is a once in a lifetime event. We purchased her dress a few months back to make sure we were ready, but a month before the prom took it back to David's Bridal to have some minor alterations done in the waist because it was a little big. She was fitted and we went back two weeks after that to pick up the dress. She couldn't even get it zipped and they finally worked to get it zipped and she couldn't breathe or move. Their excuse was that she had gained weight. Well, let's see she hasn't gained a pound in two years and none of her jeans fit any differently. They flat out refused to take any of the blame and told me they could let it out, but if it had needle marks they were not responsible. My daughter decided to wear the dress and try to make it work, before she got out of the house on prom night the zipper busted out of it. Three hours before her prom she has a dress with no zipper. I rushed to David's Bridal to see if I could select a similar dress while she was getting her hair and makeup finished. I explained to the girl what happened and told her I found two dresses that I thought she would like and they would fit, but could I take both of them and return one the next day. Absolutely not, she told me to bring the dress in and they would try to fix the zipper. I explained there was not enough time, her response to me was "You are really lucky we are offering, because we are really busy"!!!! For some reason I really couldn't find the luck that evening. Needless to say my daughter had to come there and try on the dress, it fit and they offered me a 25% discount. I have no pictures that we had planned with the family and she had no time for dinner. I felt so sorry for her!!! There was a lady and a teenage girl in the store at the same time and they were both crying, so I am sure they messed hers up to. So I bought a dress for 259.00 paid 37.00 to have alterations and then paid another 180.00 for an additional dress.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    SHARON May 30, 2007

    I think all you princesses are going to be divorced in a year anyways so stop your complaining. The people at Davids Bridal are very hard working and they only make minimum wage. I suggest you all go work there for a week and then you will have totally different opinion of Davids Bridal. I worked there for a year and lost 15 lbs (from never getting a break) and now suffer from back problems (for lifting 10-20 heavy dresses for each "bride" at a time) busting my hump for all you ungrateful little witches. SO just remember little girls the WORLD (and Davids Bridal does not revolve around you).

    -1 Votes
  • Ja
    Jaclyn Williams Jun 19, 2007

    This comment is geared towards Sharon -

    First of all, how dare you wish something as horrible as divorce to anyone! That is mean! Every consumer deserves respect, nobody needs to be treated rudely by another human being, especially when a customer is paying hundreds of dollars for a wedding dress, they deserve to be treated just the same as you would want to be treated. Also, as far as david's bridal overworking and underpaying their employees, this is the employees problem, if you don't like it, get a different job!

    My goodness, i hope you never have to go through what some of these women have gone through. I purchased my wedding dress from davis bridal 4 years ago, and had a great experience... But if you were my consultant, your nasty attitude i'm sure, would've shined through if you were my consultant! Thank god you weren't!

    0 Votes
  • Ai
    Aine Garrett Jun 26, 2007

    I did buy my gown at David's Bridal, it was too long but instead of having it hemmed, which they said would be impossible due to the French netting over the lining. It fit perfectly everywhere else and it took me about a month to decide I even wanted the particular gown. The gown was my size, the only one left in stock in the entire east coast. It was a seasonal prom dress, but due to its style you'd never think of it less then a bridal gown. The people were snobby, and not very polite on some days, but on other days they were very sunshiny and happy to help. I did go back into the alterations area to talk to them about measuring me and the lady there told me very low and softly to look at ebay before buying a gown at DB. She said the prices are much nicer and her daughter was extremely happy with her ebay purchase. I had looked on ebay, but due to my shape and height (pear shaped and 5ft) you have to wear something to KNOW what it looks like. I had a minor strap alteration done to my gown- cost me 20.00- all the employees said that it was the cheapest alteration they ever saw. I had to hold the front of my gown up a tad when I walked down the isle because it was about 5 inches too long, but thats ok- I made it a dramatic effect until I tripped. Just wanted to pass on my experience.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mandy Jul 01, 2007

    I went to David's Bridal and found my experience to be wonderful. My maids are spread across the midwest, so we ordered their dresses at the store closest to them. This was great, because as their dresses came in, they could pick them up right away and get them altered at the store nearest to them. All of the consultants I worked with were amazing and were willing to help each girl find the right size, even if it meant finding similar dresses in the store to get them sized correctly. Their dresses all arrived within a month of ordering them, and they all fit each girl as expected. Their alterations all went perfectly and each girl was happy with how their dresses fit. To all of the individuals who complained about poor service because they didn't have an appointment, do your research before you go shopping! There are days when the David's Bridal near me has 50 customers in the store at once! They only have 20 dressing rooms! While they'll usually try to help those without an appointment (I've gone in several times just to look and have been helped everytime) sometimes they just can't handle the amount of people who enter without appointments. MOST bridal shoppes prefer appointments, so it's not something unusual that only David's Bridal does.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    theodora Jul 02, 2007

    Never go to the David's bridal in Nashua, NH. Those people up there are rude, they think they are higher than you and they don't know what they're doing.

    When I purchased my dress 3 weeks ago, I was told it was going to take 2 weeks for them to do a bead check, clean some dirt spots from the dress and have it pressed--i didn't even need any alterations! So I called them on the day I was supposed to pick it up to tell them that I was busy that weekend and is it okay if I pick it up in another 2 days because I was working. The lady said "yes" but I also questioned her to see if it was even ready. This is what she told me: "Oh, your dress is on the line, they have been working on it all week, checking the beads and cleaning it for you, it will definitely be ready when you come in in 2 days." When she said this, I felt so assured and happy that they've been putting the time to get my dress all nice and ready for me.

    2 days later, I drive up 50 miles to Nashua, NH to find out that they couldn't find my gown. Someone had misplaced it. I was so mad and I told the lady that I had spoken to someone this weekend, and they told me it would be ready. Also, the pink slip that you show to pick up your dress said it was supposed to be ready 2 days ago. All the girls in the alterations department tried looking for my gown, looking so embarrassed that one of them had lost my dress, none of them wanted to come out and tell me what had happened. They were just all talking amongst themselves like "Oh crap, what are we going to do?"

    I waited there for 20 mins, for one of them to come tell me what was going on. This lady who didn't speak english comes up to me and tells me that somebody had replaced my gown but now they found it and will work on it or me which will only take 15 mins or so. THEY DIDN'T EVEN APOLOGIZE! So this other lady who also doesn't speak english presses my dress for me and comes out with it another 20 mins later along with this slip for me to sign that I picked up my gown and that I was happy with it. She came out and there was still dark spots, the beads were not checked. I sent her back in there to get those fixed. This story could go on and on, but to make it short, when the girl brought back the gown the 2nd time, it was not done right, so I sent her back to get what I wanted down the first time.

    I waited 1 1/2 hours just to pick my gown, which I was told it would be ready 2 days ago. I did not receive an apology at all from the manager, neither did she come talk to me. Their service is HORRIBLE. DO NOT EVER GO THERE. Sure, buy your dress there, but get it altered or cleaned elsewhere.

    Also, while I was sitting there waiting for my gown, another bride was sharing her story of how they screwed her over as well. I didn't really ask her what her complaint was but she doesn't recommend the one in Nashua, NH as well. Just to tell you that even they're tax free up there, they suck!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    misty lane Jul 26, 2007

    Brides who buy there gowns at davids bridal need to understand you get what you pay for. Davids Bridal is like a FLEA MARKET for brides. The brides have champagne taste with bear budget. I work there and will not buy my daughters dress there. Even with my discounts, the fabric feels cheap and rough against your skin. Also it looks cheep. So stop complaining. Its not our fault you cannot go to a higher priced store and don't forget we offer LAYAWAY, where can you go and get that. Brides please if you know you can spend 300 dollars, don't try on 20 dresses that value over 900 dollars. You are wasting our time, also if you come in with better attitudes you will be happy when you leave. GO TO THE COURT HOUSE!

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Renee Lock Feb 05, 2008

    I agree with the above, David's Bridal is like a bridal flee market. They know the brides walking through their door are on a budget, so you get "budget like service".

    Brides, there are so many other ways you can find gown's for cheap! Towards the end of the year, and early-mid February the bridal salons are all getting their new merchandise in and need to get rid of inventory. Which means you can leave with a $1000 gown for $500! Same range as David's Bridal. Brides by Demetrio's does this several times a year. I purchased my gown from that store and every time I have gone in, their clearance rack is being changed/updated. All gowns are in great condition and all floor samples come in all sorts of sizes. Good luck and happy shopping

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kara Feb 23, 2008

    I own a bridal store and week after week I hear the same sob story from brides who have decided to shop at David's instead of their locally owned independent bridal salon. Most local stores will offer dozens of beautiful higher quality gowns at the same price or most of the time, lower than David's Bridal. Take a picture of th e dress you like and most likely they can get an identical one with better quality and better price. Don't be lured in by the ads that say hundreds of styles... they only have about 40 styles, they just stock it in different colors and sizes to make you think you have a huge choice. David's prices are grossly inflated and the quality of their merchandise and service is sub-par. I don't feel sorry for any of the brides who walk in there and are treated poorly, yet continue to make purchases there. What are you thinking? You think they will treat you better once they have your money? They know that they can treat you poorly and still get your cash. Furthermore, would you buy your diamond engagement ring at K-mart and expect Harry Winston quality and service? No. When you buy from this "discount" store expect discount service and quality. Your local or independently owned stores count on word of mouth referrals, so they will help resolve problems with dresses that are their fault, and at their expense. BEWARE OF ANY STORE THAT REQUIRES YOU PAY IN FULL BEFORE YOU RECEIVE YOUR DRESS. Good for you girls who are speaking out and telling about your experiences. You are doing what you can to save some other poor bride from disaster. And as for the ex-David's Employee... no wonder girls have such horrible experiences with people like you working there. Obviously uneducated, untrained and underpaid. Why would someone like that care about someone else's experience, when all you can do is feel sorry for yourself. Go get a job at the gas station, your level of professionalism will be greatly appreciated there.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Bridal Diva Apr 16, 2008

    Ummm Kara, you might want to walk into a Davids Bridal store and count the different styles they carry. It is certainly more than 40 and they carry womans sizes which most independent stores do not.

    As far as better quality merchandise you are mistaken since your line of dresses is more than likely the same one Davids uses and pays to have them put the Davids tag in their dresses.

    The little snots that come into the store expecting something for nothing is the whole problem.

    Oh and yes, I have heard horror stories about the independent bridal stores as well.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Amber Jun 25, 2008

    I live in Boise, ID and was in a wedding that was in MN. I got fitted here in Boise and told what size to order. I also was still nursing and asked specifically if I could have alterations if for some reason it didn't work. I was told that wasn't a problem at all and that I should still order the size they fitted me for. The dresses were all ordered in MN. My dress was sent to me in Boise so that I could make sure that it would fit and that I would have my dress with me. Well it didn't fit, and when I went in for alterations I was told that the dress couldn't be altered because of the material. I then asked how we could fix the problem. Thinking it would be easy right, not! They had to call all these other David's bridal stores and they wouldn't send the dress because I didn't purchase it there. They are all worried about their commission being lost or not getting credit for any of it. So then they called their warehouse and they had 1 left that they could send. This whole time I was dealing with a manager named Laine who was very rude and kept makeing it sound like this was my fault. I just don't understand why when you are fitted for a dress and told what size to get that when it comes in wrong and doesn't fit suddenly they can't really help you out. Isn't this what they specialize in? The rest of the wedding party had lots of problems in MN too, and they all agreed that they wouldn't be going back to David's Bridal for anything. My brother is getting married next August and his girlfriend is not using David's Bridal due to so many bad things that she has been hearing lately. I don't feel that is worth spending hundred's of dollars on something that has no guarentee once it is ordered. I also looked to complain directly to David's Bridal and there is no numbers to call or any information at all.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chelsea Jul 01, 2008

    First of all, when I walk into a specialty store, the world DOES revolve around me, Sharon. I paid over 1200 bucks for my dress, so I expect some service to go with it. And I do agree that it's ludicrous that one should pay for the bag.

    And for you, Stacy Denton, as you are apparently a David's Bridal employee, I have news for you. Your dressed ARE snagged and DO have makeup all over them. It's disgusting.

    And as far as people who work there being so precious and understanding and professional...you're wrong. There is a 90% turnover rate at our David's Bridal store here in Charleston, WV. Tell me how people can be informed if they only work there for 6 weeks.

    I didn't have such a bad experience with David's Bridal, but only because I found a consultant who had been there for 8 years. She's wonderful, her name is Darlene. She was very honest about her opinion of each dress without being pushy, and helped me accessorize my dress perfectly. But when she wasn't there...look out. It was a nightmare.

    And I might add, I went to pick up my friend's wedding dress for her, after it had been cleaned (at least that part is free I guess) and it's lucky that I looked in the bag before I left, because it was the WRONG dress in a size TWO. And my friend is a size SIXTEEN! The veil was also missing (they had to replace it) and some of the beads weren't put back on like she had told them they should be. It was a mess.

    So anyway, go to a small store unless you live in Charleston and you can work with Darlene.

    0 Votes
  • Ci
    Cindy Jul 13, 2008

    DO NOT SHOP AT DAVID'S BRIDAL!!!

    My wedding is THREE WEEKS from today, and my future sister-in-law has had nothing but problems from this store. Yesterday, when she went to pick up her bridesmaids dress, she was informed that the store had LOST her dress. In addition, they made it seem as if it were HER fault for the dress not being there.



    This is only a month and a half after they told her that the dress she ordered was too big for her and could not be altered (mind you they TOLD her to order a size bigger) and then continued the problem by telling her "No one put a gun to your head!"

    They have handled this situation, as well as other situations involving my sister, completely unprofessionally.



    My mother-in-law and sister-in-law have both witnessed other brides in the alteration room CRYING because of things that DAVIDS BRIDAL has done WRONG! to their gowns!

    DO NOT GO TO DAVIDS BRIDAL!!! When I approached them, I was livid (as you can imagine, considering my wedding is so close and one of my girls does not have a dress). The people in the store are completely unprofessional. They had the nerve to say that it was not their problem.





    If you choose to go to this store, please be advised that I did not have a problem with them until three months before my wedding.





    I went to the DAVIDS BRIDAL in Westbury, at the Source Mall. I dealt with HELEN KANNE, the STORE MANAGER, who was rude, unsympathetic, impatient, and not understanding at all.





    The woman in the alterations is the alterations manager...I do not know her name...YET.





    I just wanted to let you know the ordeal and stress I am going through...I'm sorry, the UNNECESSARY STRESS that I am going through, so that YOU do not go through the same thing

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sara Lou Aug 02, 2008

    I was very impressed with the service i recevied at David's Bridal! Especially Katie in th Bosie store she is absolutely amazing! I heard a lot of horror stories about David's Bridal so when I had my wedding last October i opted out to not go to David's Bridal now I wish I had! I was recently in as a Matron of Honor for my bestfriend, and received the best personal one on one service that anyone looking for weding attire could receive. Atalina was really great too! Everyone there genuinely cared how everyone in the wedding party felt and looked in their dresses. i was very pleased and encourage everyone to cut the ### talking about this company and until you have walked a mile in those ladies shoes which are very cute by the way do not even think you have room to complain!

    0 Votes
  • Jm
    jmm Aug 28, 2008

    I will say straight off that I work at a David's Bridal store and have for the last 6 years. In my six years of experience I have met thousands of brides. I have met more Bridezilla's than care to talk about, but this is not directed to them, because they are not good people inside. I am talking to the people that genuinely had a problem. I am very sorry that you have had such bad experiences at the David's Bridal's that you went to. My first questions is this: When you had your bad experiences, did you ask to speak to the manager? If you did, good for you, because the only way that management knows that there is a problem is if someone tells them. My second questions is: When you spoke to the manager the first time, did you start out screaming at her, or did you try to calmly explain what the problem is? My mother always told me that you attract more flies with honey than vinegar.

    What I am trying to say is that if you were the manager, would you try harder to help someone who is screaming at you or someone that is trying to stay calm in an unfortunate situation. The David's employees that are saying mean things on here most likely do not still work for the company, because, we do try to weed out people like that. There is absolutely no call for them to say some of the things that they are saying.

    But here is my advice to everyone on here. When you are looking for a wedding gown, please remember to treat the people trying to help you the way that you would like to be treated. Because when it comes down to it we are people too. And unfortunately People make mistakes. I have been screamed at, and cryed to, and threatened by brides in my six years of experience. Now, when brides threaten us, they are threatening people. One of the managers in my region had a customer threaten to bring a gun into the store. Honestly, a GUN. Now in that instance the authorities were called and that psycopath is never allowed back in a David's Bridal again, and do you want to know the reason she threatened the manager, because the manager was trying to help her re-order a dress, that she had insisted on ordering a size smaller because she was intending to lose weight, and the customer was told that the dress would take 3 weeks to come in. We are not miracle workers, there is only so much we can do.

    When you are buying a wedding dress, please consider that we are trained to order the correct size for you. When you insist on buying one that doesn't fit, you are creating a situation for yourself. David's Bridal is happy to alter a dress to fit you if you do lose the weight, or even in certain cases, exchange the size if that is an available option, but you need to let us help you.

    As for why we request that you work with a consultant, it is because we sell the dresses from stock, and we have to make sure that the dresses do not get damaged. Whether or not you buy that specific dress, someone will buy it, so we have to make sure that it is in good shape when they do. Yes, sometimes there are slight damages on a dress that you try on, but every effort is made to pull that dress off the rack and fix the damage if possible, or if not then to destroy the dress. If the dress you try on has a problem that we have not noticed, let us know and we will be happy to order one for you if that is possible. The reason that we ask that you do not carry the dresses yourself is number one to make sure that you do not trip and hurt yourself or, pull a muscle carrying a heavy dress. Number two is to help protect the dress, this is a business, and we cannot damage out too many gowns, because that is very costly. We are trained on how to properly carry the gowns so that we do not hurt ourselves, and to maintain the dresses themselves.

    Also it is much easier for you to keep track of your bridesmaid dresses if you do have them ordered from a central store. It can help to eliminate potential problems. Your bridesmaids are not as worried as you are about making sure that they order the right dress. I have seen more problems because the bridesmaid forgot the style number, and are guessing. They very often do not know which store you are based in, and sometimes if you can believe this, they do not know the brides last name. Now not knowing the correct store, we can still usually find the right store, but if your brides name is Lisa Smith, it is probably not going to happen. So if you do need to have them order from different stores, make sure they know as much information as possible.

    Last but not least, take a moment and remember that the employees are humans, and sometimes they do make mistakes. it is regrettable, but they are human. In six years, there have been very few mistakes that were not fixable. I have stayed in a store until 11pm to make sure that a brides dress looked just the way that she wanted it. I have personally gone out of my way to drive to a brides house after closing the store the night before the wedding because her dad, spilled a drink on her gown, and I cleaned the stain off. We have driven the dress to the bridesmaids house because she forgot to pick it up from alterations. We have spent countless hours on the phone calling our corporate office, and other stores to make sure that we can get a dress that bridesmaids have lied and told the brides they already ordered. We have even sipped a dress overnight to a flowergirl because her mother didn't think the bride would wear ivory, and so purchased a white flowergirl dress.

    I have heard horror stories from our brides about other stores, but because David's is such a large company, we will naturally have more of them. Someone that has a positive experience anywhere will tell 5 people about it, but if they have a poor one, they will tell everyone they meet. That is a VERY sad statistic. Why is it that so few people praise good service. We send out thousands of surveys every year, and we get back a pitiful few, and of those few, utilizing the above statistic, how many do you think are favorable? How is that fair? If you have good service you should let someone in a position of authority know so that they can let the sales person know. I am not only speaking about at David's. I go out of my way to praise good service when I recieve it, because I know how I feel as a manager when I hear that one of my consultants to a good job, and that is not even me they they are talking about. Imagine how it makes them feel.

    Simple human kindness goes a long way. If you let us we will do everything possible to make sure that your day is perfect, but if there is a mistake along the way, we will do everything possible to help you. Once again I apologize for the hurtful comments posted by former (and I sincerely hope not current) employees. But screaming at someone that is trying to help you, does not help your cause. Also, it is best FOR YOU to make an appointment, but if you can't do that, please remember that we have to be fair to everyone, and if all we can do is offer you a later appointment time, then that is all we can do. All it takes is a 3 minute phone call to make sure that you have a better experience.

    If even one person reads this and realizes that I am apologizing to you, fantastic, but it would make me feel much better to know that maybe even one of you will go forward in life and start praising your good service too.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Tina Apr 02, 2009

    People this is not a self serve enviorment. You need to respect the rules and make an appointment if someone cannot see you the day of your walk-in. Weddings take a lot of time and attention that is deserved. You will be the first ones to complain when you have questions and no one can help you. It's not just about pulling dresses off of racks and trying them on, it's a lot more than you think... A wedding gown is not like a regular dress and there is a lot that people don't know, so wait to see a seasoned wedding consult. This will save you a lot of stress.

    0 Votes
  • El
    Eloper Jan 07, 2010

    I made an appointment to try on a few dresses at David's Bridal. I cam prepared with the reference numbers to the list of dresses I researched on their website. The store did not have any of the dresses in stock as they were merely, "online" dresses. I don't want to spend $100 on something that I can't try on first, but anyway, this is not the issue I'm complaining about.
    When I arrived for my appointment, I filled out paperwork listing my name, address, phone number, date of marriage and location--which I noted as elopement in another country. Well, days after my appointment, and even still, nearly six months after my wedding, I'm receiving phone calls and post cards from wedding venders, tent providers, fireworks services, limousine services, caterers, magicians, d.j.s...I ask them all where they got my name, tell them I am eloping/already married and they seem surprised--David's Bridal gave them my name, knowing that I was not having a wedding, AND, I did not even try on any of their dresses or order from them... It's so cheap. And annoying.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem