SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Vita NovusLack of Care

Review updated:

I received basic care at Vita Novus. Classes were cancelled all the time, there was little one-one care as promised, and the Director was never accessible to complain to. People living in Vita Novus's half-way house were coming to the centre while stoned, and most recently the in-house pharmacy was broken into by some patients who took other patients medications, and proceeded to get high. The Director and owner, JOHN HAINES assured all the patients that the culprits were being sent home, but much to my surprise, were still at the centre the next day and the day after that. Then, the news broke that Vita Novus was moving to the Muskoka's that very Friday, and John tried to excite patients, telling them that they were now going to get real care, with Psychologists, 24 hour doctors, Real nurses, etc., etc., The patients were put on a bus and arrived at the all new "Lotus Treatment" which JOHN HAINES now owns. It ended up that any of the staff that were there from the previous business did not and were not instructed to help any patients from Vita Novus. I later learned that the move happened with 2 or 3 day notcie to employees, and that it happened so quickly, because JOHN HAINES was being evicted from his current location in Stouffville because he didn't pay rent. He told me and others he owned the place.
he took money at what was a vulnerable time for me, and for that, he must be stopped. I know I am not the only person who received such poor treatment, and was witness to total unprofessionalism, so we should join together to warn anyone who may be looking for help to stay clear of this guy and his blatant fraudulent business ethics or i should say, lack thereof. Is there not a government body that can stop him? Who do I contact to lodge a complaint to get him out of this industryfor good?

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Qu
      Oct 19, 2011

    Do your homework. Google Vita Novus and read all 10 pages of complaints.

    0 Votes
  • Qu
      Oct 19, 2011

    John Haines now owns Lotus Addicition Treatment Center. John Haines has a history of eviction and impersonating lawyers among other criminal activity and a long history of being a sickening drunk. Not much has changed. Now he spends his days sucking money out of the most vulnerable people (other drunks and junkies). John Haines used to own Vita Novus. He was evicted and closed up because he didn't pay his rent. Now reopening under the name Lotus Addiction Treatment Center and moving to Bala Ontario. Please look up Vita Novus on this forum for more information.

    Lotus Addiction Treatment Center
    Bala, Ontario
    Canada

    0 Votes
  • Wa
      Oct 19, 2011

    Yes another ex-employee Quebecer who was fired for drinking and driving one of the company cars and smashing it up and getting charged with impaired...Now isnt that calling the kettle black!...But yes read all 10 pages cause the real people who were successful and grateful have also posted positive comments and thats the real facts!!...not a bunch of angry deceitful liars that have nothing better to do than defame and lie about a business helping save lives!!...get a life people!!

    0 Votes
  • Fo
      May 24, 2012

    Listen that was not me writing that that was my abusive ex bf, John saved my life I have never used in treatment nor did I after. His treatment center saved my life. and also I have chose to be with Matt long after I finished treatment you cant help who you fall in love with... All this is false and to my ex you know who you are pls get a life and let me live mine. Please leave John alone he did nothing but save my life and I thank him dearly for that. I have never known true love untill I got clean and now I live a healthy positive life and yes I live my life with Matt because we do love each other, now that I have a clearer mind I realize you were my biggest problem not the drugs and the staff and councelors at the center helped me with my biggest issues which was the best thing for me they are very proffesional and educated at what they do, and who would know better than people who walked a mile in my shoes, not someome like you who drinks and uses drugs recreationally and get off on controlling and abusing woman through physical and emotional violence I thought I had know way out and that was my life until I left and came to Ontario and got my life back and got a clearer outlook on what you were trying to do to me... You blamed it on the drugs but you do drugs to and no man abusses a woman and the councelors their saved my life from you... so please leave John alone and let me get on with my life as everything you just wrote was a pile of [censored] and by the way your 5 mins were up long ago now PLEASE LEAVE US ALONE, this is harrasment!!! So get your head out of the past and get on with your life because I'm getting on with mine you cant controll anymore and that kills you, please just leave us alone and John alone as we are doing extreamly well and am looking foward to my future in Ontario!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ri
      Sep 02, 2012

    Please visit the blog below. John Haines caught in one of his Many, Many Lies. Opps, you should have kept your Mouth Shut John. Have you ever heard of the saying, You are your worst enemy? I think it applies here. As you find out when you read the blog below, John Haines goes online tells everybody he took Armourtownship in Burk's Falls (where he operates his ILLEGAL REHAB CENTERS) to Court and Won.

    He actually said that the Town was not being Truthful. Well, as we all found out, that was another one of his many, many lies and surprise, surprise, John Haines was the one telling Lies Again. Well, how did that lie work out for you john? I would love nothing better than to be able to go before a Judge and tell him about you, your Congames, all about the people you have Ripped Off, and on and on it goes! Come and arrest me!

    http://blog.canadiandrugrehabcentres.com/2011/12/16/welcome-to-pickerel-lake-recovery-center/#comment-100

    0 Votes
  • Ge
      Dec 22, 2012

    Please Google, John Haines, Vita Nouvs, Muskoka Recovery, Pickerel Lake Recovery, Sexual Assault, Court Date, Drug Dealer, Addiction Canada Treatment Network,

    http://www.complaintboard.com/vita-novus-l1978.html

    Tasteofyourownmedicine

    Feb 23, 2012- neglect

    Anyone who thinks John is responding to these complaints think again, he doesn't have the balls and surely does not have the intelligence! He likely has given the task to his wife and co-worker's to do his dirty work for him...he is an expert at passing the buck! John does not give a rats ass about anyone that comes in this so called treatment facility, once he gets the CHEQUE, that's when your on your own.

    Believe me I know! You will be paying for services promised from vita novus you will never receive and Doctor's you will never see! Might want to keep your meds at home for you will never see them again, guess more money in John's pocket after he sells them for yet another profit! John, money is the root of all evil, so I guess this makes you the root...Money will not give you the happiness you so desire, but the THRUTH will.

    Let's move along to your trusty sidekick Matt who lies, cheats and kisses your ass daily so he has a place to live and other certain benefits... can all guess what these are... Just a suggestion don't leave your daughter, sister or any female around this man, he has a tendency to invite them to his apartment, which happens to be at vita novus!

    Long story short don't waste your time and energy sending someone you truly love to VITA NOVUS you will be sadly disappointed...there are better facilities out there...do your research

    0 Votes
  • Vi
      Jan 05, 2013

    Yeah John, no complaints about your ILLEGAL CENTERS! I think you might be a LIAR!!!

    John Haines is a Low Life who's only interest is YOUR MONEY. STAY AWAY FROM HIS ILLEGAL REHAB CENTERS!

    Google: Muskoka Recovery Complaints, Pickerel lake Complaints, Louts Complaints, Vita Novus Complaints, Addiction Canada Treatment Network, How it Works Recovery Complaints. Go Johnny Go!!!


    http://www.google.ca/#hl=en&tbo=d&sclient=psy-ab&q=vita+novus+complaints&oq=vita+novus+complaints&gs_l=serp.3..0l2j0i8i30.5957.9118.0.9252.18.18.0.0.0.2.253.2148.4j12j1.17.0.les%3B..0.0...1c.1.4McXMYuj27M&pbx=1&bav=on.2, or.r_gc.r_pw.r_qf.&fp=b440ac92e81425e9&bpcl=[protected]&biw=1280&bih=685

    COPY AND PASTE THE ABOVE LINK INTO YOUR BROWSER

    UNREPORTED SEXUAL ASSAULT - JOHN HAINES - MUSKOKA RECOVERY CENTER - PICKEREL LAKE RECOVERY

    John Haines is being taken to Court for the Illegal Operation Of Muskoka Recovery Center and Pickerel Lake Recovery Rehab Center located in Armourtownship in Burk's Falls, Ontario.

    Recent unreported Sexual Assault at Pickerel Lake Recovery and Muskoka Recovery Center. Male Nurse CAUGHT putting his hand down the front of a PASSED OUT Female Patient who was in John Haines ILLEGAL Detox Center. John and his wife Linda and Key staff who knew about this Never Reported it to the Police.

    Former Employees came forward with this information about the Sexual Assault. If they hadn't, this would have been swept under the rug as John and his Wife Linda had intended.

    If you know anything about this Sexual Assault, call the Police! See the link below.

    Also Google: John Haines, Criminal Rehab Owner, Convicted Drug Dealer, Impersonating a Lawyer, Sexual Assault, Cease and Desist Orders, Muskoka Recovery Center, Pickerel Lake Recovery, Lotus,
    Vita Novus, Addiction Canada Network, How it Work's recovery..


    http://blog.canadiandrugrehabcentres.com/2012/08/25/muskoka-recovery-center/

    http://www.reviewstalk.com/complaints-reviews/pickerel-lake-lodge-recovery-l114/page/14

    http://blog.canadiandrugrehabcentres.com/2011/12/16/welcome-to-pickerel-lake-recovery-center/#comment-100

    COPY AND PASTE THE ABOVE LINKS INTO YOUR BROWSER

    0 Votes
  • Ge
      Jan 25, 2013

    Nothing has changed! John Haines is still being taken to Court for the Illegal Operation of Pickerel Lake Recover Center which changed to Muskoka Recovery Center which John Haines now is advertising as Vita Novus. He is stalling going to Court according to the Town of Armour. But don't worry John, the Town and Local Residents are going to Give You Your Day in Court!

    Be advised, HE STILL HAS A CEASE AND DESIST ORDER TO SHUT THIS PLACE DOWN. WHICH HE IS IGNORING!

    https://www.naatp.org/facility/vita-novus-inc/

    http://muskoka.kijiji.ca/c-services-other-Vita-Novus-W0QQAdIdZ438220434

    Phone: [protected]
    Toll-free: [protected] voice 
    Fax: [protected]

    I spoke with CARF this week. Vita Novus/Addiction Canada Treatment Network or any of John Haines Illegal Rehab Operations are Not Registered or Accredited by them as John Haines Claims. Call the above number and speak with Judy or June. Also notice the “great review” John Haines gave himself at: http://www.weblocal.ca/user/2vntzkc – Does anyone notice that “Flexman” is the Author of both http://www.weblocal.ca/user/2vntzkc and https://www.naatp.org/facility/vita-novus-inc/ - I know, must be a coincidence, right John??? Wow, saying you are LICENSED BY CARF WHEN YOU ARE NOT? I'm surprised that you would tell a lie John, Shocking!

    Also, please go to: https://www.prbuzz.com/health-a-fitness/89023-vita-novus-treatment-center.html

    Notice the Vita Novus Review link on this and many other adds by john haines. When you click the “Reviews” it just goes back to their website. Funny thing is when you Google Vita Novus Complaints, well, there is a lot out there.

    (Just a Sample)
    https://www.google.ca/#hl=en&tbo=d&sclient=psy-ab&q=vita+novus+recovery+center+complaints&oq=vita+novus+recovery+center+complaints&gs_l=serp.12...0.0.2.22152.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0..0.0.les%3B..0.0...1c.ing6eNNL1qo&pbx=1&bav=on.2, or.r_gc.r_pw.r_cp.r_qf.&fp=ad58aa7848033ec4&biw=1270&bih=641


    Again, this man is still running his Scams. He is Operating Illegally in Aurora and Newmarket also. They have been contacted. Did you get a Cease and Desist from them yet John???

    Hey how is the CARF stuff going??? The answer, IT'S NOT GOING. THIS IS CALLED FALSE ADVERTISING JOHN!

    SO AGAIN, NOTHING HAS CHANGED!!!

    0 Votes
  • Mu
      Apr 09, 2013

    NOTICE OF OPEN HOUSE PUBLIC MEETING TO DISCUSS PICKEREL LAKE RECOVERY - CEASE AND DESIST ORDERS STILL IN PLACE - CURRENTLY OPERATING ILLEGALLY!

    http://www.armourtownship.ca/pdf/plrc_openhse_april13_2013.pdf

    NOTICE OF OPEN HOUSE PUBLIC MEETING:
    TO CONSIDER AN APPLICATION TO AMEND THE ARMOUR TOWNSHIP OFFICIAL PLAN TO RECOGNIZE THE PICKEREL LAKE ADDICTION RECOVERY CENTRE

    OPEN HOUSE
    Date: Saturday April 13, 2013
    Location: Karl Crozier Community Hall
    220 Centre Street, Burk’s Falls
    Time: 10:00 am Presentations followed by open house until 12 noon

    THE PROCESS

    Armour Council has not yet made a decision on the proposed Official Plan Amendment.People attending the Open House will be invited to comment on the proposal.

    After considering the comments received from the public at this open house and the Statutory public meeting, Council will make a decision whether or not to adopt the proposed Official Plan Amendment.

    This should be interesting….,

    0 Votes
  • Mu
      Apr 20, 2013

    http://www.cottagecountrynow.ca/news/article/1606819–pickerel-lake-zoning-could-see-compromise

    Mary Beth Hartill |Apr 18, 2013

    BURK’S FALLS – Yes, no or compromise are the three options Township of Armour council will look at when it comes to a wellness centre operating on Pickerel Lake.

    An open house public meeting was held on April 13 at the Karl Crozier Community Centre in Burk’s Falls to discuss the zoning decision under consideration by the council for the Pickerel Lake Recovery Centre.

    “It appears to me right now there are three choices, ” said Reeve Bob MacPhail. “The first two choices are cut and dried. The council could just say no. The other sort of black and white is yes.”

    In the province of Ontario, there are no regulations for recovery facilities such as the one currently operating at the site of the former Pickerel Lake Lodge.

    “If we just said a flat yes it means the council really has no control over it so it may not be an option, ” said MacPhail. “The other option is what I call the compromise option between the yes and the no.”

    Under the Municipal Act a municipality can set up its own licensing system so they could agree to grant the zoning, however still impose rules and restrictions.

    “We could have a license that says the maximum number of clients that could be there, ” said MacPhail. “We could license the minimum number of staff that we have there.”

    Township planner Robert Miller says the effect on the local ratepayers is the prime impact the municipality has to consider.

    “The Pickerel Lake Recovery Centre, under a numbered corporation, purchased Pickerel Lake Lodge and established itself under the misapprehension that all it needed for approvals was a building permit, ” he said. “That assumption turned out to be false.”

    It was about year later when the Recovery Centre owners applied, after opening, for changes to the zoning and Official Plan.

    The applications were filed in November of 2012 and Wayne Simpson of Wayne Simpson and Associates, planner for the applicant, says amendments being sought to the Official Plan and zoning bylaw would accommodate the addiction recovery centre at the location.

    There was a concern raised about the legality of the operation after the facility had been ordered to cease operations by the Township for believing that the operations are in contravention of the zoning bylaw. The issue was taken to the Superior Court, however, that case has been put on hold with council deciding to deal with the planning issues as quickly as possible.

    Simpson says that although the facility provides non-medical and non-drug services.

    “We want to differentiate this facility from other facilities where there is medical care, where there may be care provided by doctors, clinicians and people administering drugs. What might come to mind is a detoxification centre, for example, ” he said. “This facility started off with those types of activities occurring at the facility but during the first six to eight months the facility was reshaped and redefined.”

    Those functions were moved off site and those employed to deliver those medical services are no longer at the site. There is a facility in Newmarket associated with the Pickerel Lake Recovery Centre providing medical treatment.

    “A recovery centre is not a defined use and is not a permitted use in the zoning, ” said Miller. “This is not an application to develop something, it is an application to define and validate something that is already established.”

    There are 156 acres of land but the changes would be applicable to only the front 10 acres, which includes the existing buildings.

    A proposed amendment to the Official Plan to allow a portion of the applicant’s property to be defined as “an addiction recovery centre which means a commercial use where, for those struggling with addiction to drugs or alcohol, wellness is promoted through the intensive delivery of a comprehensive range of non-medical and non-drug services, including spiritual, social, recreational, nutritional and educational programs that are customized to meet the particular needs of individual guests.”

    “This will be a place where individuals will go to escape their daily life routines … it’s important for some of these people who are at this facility to get away from their daily routines, to get into an environment that doesn’t trigger their addiction, ” said Simpson.

    Miller says with the compromise option, the license would keep a lot of the control in the hands of the Township.

    A decision must also be reached without what was referred to as ‘people planning’ that could contravene the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, including prohibiting individuals with afflictions.

    “If this is the nature of your complaint you should put your mind to this because that type of complaint is not available to you … it’s a recovery centre, ” said Miller.

    Miller also asked members to public to consider the common good.

    “There are over 35, 000 people in Ontario being treated for addictions to prescription narcotics. Alcohol is another problem, ” he said. “… there is a need for many, many people to be treated for these addictions.”

    Miller says the questions remains whether the residents on Pickerel Lake recognize the common good and the need for a treatment centre in the area.

    Simpson noted that as part of the Armour’s Official Plan there is a goal for a wider commercial and assessment base and more employment opportunities.

    “These are permanent year round positions, not seasonal, ” he said. “These employees will also involve a higher degree of education and higher salary and will be spending here and everything that goes along with that.”

    He notes the facility promotes the health of Ontarians and the environment and the lodge will be as environmentally sound as previous uses.

    “People can be assured that what takes place at the centre will exist within the regulations, ” said Simpson. “The centre will be fully under control of the municipality under the municipal Official Plan and the bylaw.”

    “The other question is, is the old Pickerel Lake Lodge a suitable location for a licensed and inspected drug recovery centre if one considers the common good if it is properly regulated and properly controlled, ” said Miller. “We need to think of both sides.”

    There will be a statutory public meeting slated at a future date, likely during the summer, and council will deliberate after that time.

    MacPhail says that regardless of council’s decision the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing will make the final decision.

    “There is a final step, which nobody hopes we ever get to, if someone is not happy with the final decision made by Municipal Affairs then they can appeal it and it goes to the Ontario Municipal Board, ” he said.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
      Jun 21, 2013

    - W5 & MARKET PLACE ( CTV AND CBC's INVESTIGATIVE NEWS SHOW WHERE THEY EXPOSE FRAUD) IS INTERESTED IN SPEAKING WITH ANYONE, CLIENT'S, FORMER EMPLOYEES & COUNSELORS WHO CLAIMED THEY WERE HIGH ON DRUGS AND JOHN HAINES KNEW ABOUT IT WHEN THEY WERE DOING INTERVENTIONS, ANYONE WHO HAS HAD DEALING WITH JOHN HAINES AND HIS ILLEGAL REHAB CENER'S. CALL THEM!

    0 Votes

Post your comment