The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

SunL Hanma R6 / Poor quality product!

1 United States Review updated:

Purchased SUNL Hanma R6 December 22, 2007... Given as Christmas gift to 6 year old 54 pound (24.49 kg) grandson. He received gift on December 26th. The recommended inspection before riding was completed on December 24th per the checklist in the owners manual. In addition to pre-ride inspection all bolts and nuts were checked for tightness. One bolt was found missing in rear muffler hanger and a number of bolts were loose. The nuts that attach the muffler to the engine head were loose and also tightened. Lug nuts on wheels were also checked for proper torque.

During pre-ride inspection what looked to be a small crack was noted on rear rack bracket. Per instruction booklet motor break in procedures were followed by setting throttle at approximately half throttle for first ten hours. Youngster rode with father who was on a Kawasaki quad and father insured that engine speed was varied and that constant low speed was avoided However, unit was never broken in due to a total of ten hours not being completed. The vehicle held together only long enough for one tank of fuel and part of another tank to be used.

December 26th: Rear muffler bolt came loose and was lost. Bolt replaced. Rear rack bracket broke and rack went forward into plastic body housing breaking plastic body.

December 27th: Keeping muffler tight continued to be a problem and muffler was wired because muffler bracket broke. Battery case latching system broke.

December 28th: Chain came off and had to be replaced and retightened and muffler continued to work loose at engine head.

December 29th: Front rack mounting broke and bolts holding muffler on engine head came loose and were lost, this was the end of using the unit. Unit was returned to dealer on January 4th.

The unit is sold as an all terrain vehicle for off use road only. This unit was never subjected to any excess weight, nothing was carried on either rack, and the unit was never subjected to any severe treatment such as jumping or high speed operation in rough terrain, or for that matter even over mild terrain... Unit was operated in field and pasture conditions in a rural area. None of the areas would be considered extreme or severe terrain. Overall the unit was operated in what would be considered mild territory for any off road or all terrain vehicle.

The dealer has stated that the damage to the unit appeared to be “impact” damage. There was never any impact with any object other than those that were attached to the unit and fell off and impacted some other part of the unit such as the rear rack hitting the plastic body.

I have absolutely no complaints at all about the engine other than the muffler not staying on the unit. Engine started easily every time and ran excellent. Brakes worked well and transmission seemed to perform flawlessly. However, I would add that the unit has not operated the full 10 hours as recommended for break in.

The major problem I see is that the tubing used in the construction of the frame and racks is of extremely poor quality. With such little operating time under such mild conditions and seeing all of the welds break and other frame problems I am concerned that a major frame component could fail. Failure of a major part such as swing arm or other steering component could result in sever injury or even death to the rider and even low speeds. Don't waste your money, or chance your kids life.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ra
      26th of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    If I may help in any way. I'm a motorsport located in Houston and Mississippi

    I completely understand your complaint, but there are a few things you have to understand

    1st you can not compare a Kawasaki which is a minimum of $7000 Quad, versus a maybe max$1500 Quad.

    2nd your Sunl has a year warranty on all engine, which I provide to all my customers.

    3rd I pay $45hr to my mechanic to take all responsibility for things that will happen as you mention above.

    4th people do not understand that SunL nor any other China Motorsport sports importer only resale to dealer as parts which dealer has to assemble and test before sell.

    Conclusion:

    I truly can tell you that you have been rip off from your dealer. However, being rip off can be at your fault in many ways.

    1. You were shopping for the cheapest price, online is one of the cheapest you will find, yet they only ship you parts, and you are responsible for assembly

    2. If you purchase it from your local dealer, they are responsible for the defectiveness of the Quad. You as a consumer should take the Quad back to your dealer and force a law suit on them. Not Sunl Nor making complaint about SunL, they don't sell quad, just parts so you can build your own Quad.

    3. As mention above SunL in particular give your dealer a year warranty on engine, but sounds to me like you have bought a Quad from a bad dealer, who did not spend the money and time to assemble the Quad correctly, but inturns sell them to the market cheap

    Smells like a Flea Market Quad.

    Here I will give you a simple example

    When you/or your dealer assemble the quad, you are to change the engine oil before riding.

    Reason: All engine that is shipped over seas, contain shipping oil to protect engine get rust.

    You did not mention on your complaint that there are any engine problem, The quad overall just falling apart, which any dealer including Honda, Kawasaki, Yamaha, ect. will tell you the same as what I've mention above.

    I remember a saying

    Watch what you buy, where you buy, and whom you are buying it from.

    Conclusion: answer to the questions and you will get the result of the quality of your products

    I as also mention above a dealer of SunL products, and many others for now over three years. The products that I sell are higher then all your online dealer and some local, but simple reason being. I will assure all my customer that the products they are buying is pure quality.

    If you have any questions or needing further advise please send me email
    victorngo@houston.rr.com

  • Co
      8th of Jun, 2007
    0 Votes

    BUYER BEWARE! SUNL products are complete GARBAGE!! Thinking of buying a SUNL ATV or product? DON'T DO IT!! Raceday Adventures is a SUNL dealer... and of course he wants to pump the SUNL name up, but this stuff is GARBAGE!!! Below is what you can expect! Extremely low quality, no after the sale service or parts. SUNL is just JUNK! Do not waste your money!

    ==
    SUNL's UNSATISFACTORY BBB record

    Glad to have found this site to vent on. My son bought one of these from NYDiscountmotors on Feb. 19 on ebay. Nothing but problems since it came out of the crate. Starter wouldn't work, so he was jump starting it for about two weeks. Place was going to meet us halfway between NY and CT to fix problem, then tells me to take it somewhere and they will reimburse cost. Did that and the day before we took it all of a sudden the starter worked. Guy up here looked at it, couldn't find why it wouldn't start before, needed headlight replacement. Was never sent. Then they won't reimburse him the $90 because it was now working. Then agreed to pay half, still haven't gotten it. Body parts are broken off, cheap plastic, In March the chain broke, $38 to replace that with a good chain. By beginning of May, rear brake pads completely gone. Another $68 to replace them, once the guy found ones that matched. Yesterday, the front wheel is now sheared right off the axle. Luckily he was going around a curve and not going fast. These are a piece of $1000 junk. He rides in the woods on trails he and his friends have made and these bikes are just not rugged enough for that. He had a Polaris 90 Sport we got used for $600. That on had been flipped, crashed, drowned and never broke off a body part. On this piece of crap the entire right side from front feeder to back is in pieces and other parts are cracked. He has sure learned a hard lesson for a 14 year old. NY Discount motors response is basically you get what you pay for. They are really mad because I left neutral feedback on them. Just said good sale, shoddy product, email for info before bidding. Ruined there 100% positive rating. Have asked me to resigned it, was considering it, until the wheel incident. Sorry to go on so long, but just needed to vent. I guess buyer beware is really true. Thanks


    All the bad things you have read about SUNL are correct, why bother with JUNK!

    Things I've had go wrong in the first 3 months:

    1.) Chain broke after the "guard" squashed against it after casual trail riding... and I mean CASUAL.
    2.) Bolts to the swing arm axle adjuster fell out after a day of CASUAL riding, used red thread lock to fix it, took an hour to find them in the field.
    3.) Throttle cable got stuck after a day of attempted mud riding... my son held on for dear life!
    4.) Frame developed a crack near the lower swing arm joint... hmmm.
    5.) Gas tank developed a hair line crack after another day of CASUAL riding (this is when I decided it was no longer safe for my son to ride it).

    So, bottom line, if your having good luck with your SUNL, your among A
    FEW. Don't waste your money...that's all I'll say.

    https://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/sunl-c869.html
    Buyer beware!
    In April of 2006 I purchased 6 ATV's from a SUNL dealer thru EBAY. This dealer, who I will not name, has been so very helpful. I have no complaints at all about him. He has sent me box after box of parts for free. What absolutely floors me, is how incredibly poorly these things are made. My kids are all average sized, ranging from 6 yrs old to 11 yrs old. They only ride them on the weekends in our 4.5 acres of flat as can be grass yard. No jumps, tricks, rough riding, nothing. These things have been an endless headache for me. I seriously can't tell you how many hours and hours I have spent trying to make these things work. Here are just a few problems I have encountered: CONSTANT carb problems-float needles sticking open causing the carb to empty the entire fuel tank all over the ground/floor. Needles sticking shut causing the engine not to start. Fuel lines cracking and leaking all over the hot engine after only one month of riding. Dead batteries every weekend causing me to need to jump start them off of my battery charger just to get them going. All of them have had the chains break at least once. The frame on one of the 110's broke in half where the swingarm meets while my 60 lb daughter was riding it, luckily she was not hurt. All of them have had parts break, fall off, loosen up, etc for no reason. I got to the point where I was putting Loctite on everything! I could go on and on. At this point, only ONE of the SIX I purchased is running. They are parked permanently. Now, I knew that these were not going to be as good as the Hondas that I originally wanted to buy (the Hondas are 5 times the $), but I didn't think these things would be so terribly made and downright dangerous. In the end, I guess you do get what you pay for. BUYER BEWARE!


    I was a SunL Dealer couldn't get parts at all and filed against them through my credit card company. Endless Journey Cycles Ohio

    Just picked up a brand new 150cc scooter by SUNL. Got it cheap, but as I am finding out, getting replacement body panels are difficult to come by. I email SUNL in Texas but they don't respond. I email a distributor in City of Industry, California, and they too don't respond. It would appear the SUNL is another fly by night company or run out of someone's bedroom.

    Run away from anything that says SunL on it. We used to deal in their scooters also and they were nothing but problems.

    Arg! Well I still don't have the parts I need to fix my kickstarter. I can't get a hold of SunL's parts division (the switch board at SunL only picks up the phone when the parts division is closed, HA!). Brian, If your smart you will tear up Sunl's number and never call them again. They are THE WORST company when it comes to scooters.

    One important message to you. DO NOT look for any support from SUNL. They are the worst in my opinion and I have been trying to deal with them since buying the bike last October.

    I purchased several mopeds to resale in my powersport shop. Sunl has made promise after promise to send necessary parts which I ended up buying from a parts house. I needed mso's in order to get titles to the mopeds that I sold. I have had to purchase several mopeds back from the customers, which now I have a few used mopeds that I can't get titles to. Sunl contacted me informed me that the state of Florida is making them buy back all mopeds (as a credit) I purchased for what I paid for them, less shipping. Now they say they are not going to buy them back, refuse to take my calls or return any of my calls. I hope that anyone that is thinking about buying from Sunl reads this and thinks twice about it they are built cheaper than other chinese products that I purchased from other distributors. I have also heard rumor tha sunl has copied from another mfg the epa tags and put them on their own products which is why Florida wont accept any mso that I already have.


    Many many phone calls all over the country dealing with rude receptionists and ignorant people, finally yielded the name and phone number of the GM over their 4 US branches, Jeff Boudreaux at 1-866-423-1072. I spoke to him on Feb 14th and thought i was finally going to get somewhere, he referred me to Chris the Parts and Tech manager in Texas. Now about 10 e-mails later I have not gotten any resolution. Lotsa "gonnas" but no action. when I am done with this post I plan to get on the phone to Jeff again. Really a shame if they want to build a brand in the US, if they don't change and begin to listen to customers problems, address them with manufacturing changes and then stand behind their product and make parts accessible they won't last long. I have had a lot of communication with SUNL in Texas and do not get the responses I had hoped for, especially considering they are trying to build a brand here in the U.S. For example I have tried to get the missing washer that holds on the dust cap on the front hub for over a month now... Nuthin. I have tried to find out if there is a clutch rebuild kit... Nuthin. I could go on but won't.

    These karts are junk. And if that isn't enough, just try getting parts for them. Even as a dealer, I couldn't hardly get any parts. I finally gave up and dumped the line. Stay away from SUNL. You will be doing yourself and your family a great favor.

    Stay away from, me and my buddy used to sell them they have alot of problems Chassis breaking carbs falling off and sticking wide open one kid. Got hurt no to long ago and sunl is being sued over defects, spend the extra money and buy name brand

    -- Pink Piece of Junk --

    I can't believe I actually bought this for my 8 year old daughter. She wanted to ride with me at the local track but I didn't want to spend any more money on an expensive quad so I decided to buy this. I am extremely disappointed because it only rides for a few hours before something goes wrong with it. Everything about this quad is awful. I would never buy another SunL ATV ever again.

    -- SUNL Junk --

    Purchased a Hanma R6 for grandson for Christmas. Purchased 12/22/2006. Went through all the pre-ride checks and he received atv on 12/26/2006. No rough riding, no jumping, no high speeds and unit falling apart everyday. Welds breaking and bolts coming loose. Returned unit on January 4, 2007 and probably out the money, but SUNL is junk - DO NOT BUY IT. No warranty, no parts, and no service. Somebody needs to get a class action suit started on these guys to shut them down or get them straight before somebody dies.

    You get what you pay for...I bought a ATV 109 for my son, it served it's purpose for a couple of months. I got tired of fixing it after every ride. In general, they are junk.

    We bought a little SUNL about 2 months ago, something has fallen off or broke every time we go riding. This last time, it was the frame. So we are sending it back and are looking at getting the Unison Desert Cat 90. So far I have heard alot of good stuff. We ride in sand mostly. My son is only 35 lbs and will be 8 this summer. We want something that we wont have to fix or tighten things on every time we ride.

    We have some experience with "Chinese Quads". While they are cheaper, you have to be willing to put in the time in maintaining them. They take A LOT more maintenance than regular bikes. Things rattle off and parts break easily on a regular basis. You have to know how to fix them and it is difficult to get certain parts. It takes a lot of patience in getting on line and calling places to find parts. Many times we have ordered parts for them to be back ordered for months and we never get them. It was really hard to find tires and wheels for our little one and we ended up having to wait about 7 months before we found the right ones.

    I bought a SunL 50cc quad for my 5 year old stepdaughter less than a year ago. I too did not want to spend $2k on a 50cc quad, especially if she turned out not to be interested in riding it. My first impression was that it had a stout motor for a 50cc., had a decent looking rear disc brake, electric start, remote start, remote kill switch, pretty neat I thought. I soon realized that what I had was a total pile of crap.

    * The suspension is nothing more than springs - there is no appreciable
    damping in the "shock". Makes for precarious handling characteristics thru any sort of appreciable bumps.

    * The throttle stop, at its full-in position, still allows the bike to haul a**.

    * There is no parking brake, and it will walk away at normal idle levels.

    * Not that the brake is much use, which was surprising, as it's a hydraulic disc brake (rear only, no front brake at all). It will slow the bike down eventually, but it's not even strong enough to lock the rear wheels pulled fully to the grip. Yes, I bled it, no improvement.

    * There is no gas tank petcock. A piece of plastic from the cheapo gas tank lodged itself in the float seat, causing it to piss gas out the float vent. There was no vent tube, so the gas was leaking on the hot cylinder head. Only solution given a lack of the right tools to remove the plastics at the time was to drain the gas tank before putting it back on the trailer.

    * With the help of the springboard suspension and some uneven bumps
    (common to offroading), my daughter managed to flip it over. Now the
    steering shaft is bent.

    She's ridden it at maybe 8 outings total, and it is now a total piece of garbage. During the last 4 outings, I've spent more time fixing it than she has riding it, cutting out my riding time as well. Now that I know she's into riding, she will be getting a quality quad for her birthday in a couple months.

    So, in conclusion, if you don't ride very hard, or if you do ride hard but don't venture far from camp and can put up with a constantly breaking motorcycle or quad, the Chinese models may be what you're looking for.

    https://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/sunl-c869.html
    7 days ago by Brandy Jenson I bought 2 four wheelers for my two daughters for a Christmas present from sunl the first thing that happened was when they were delivered one of them was the wrong color it was suppose to be pink and it was a hunters camo yellow for a boy and this was a Christmas present for my daughter and i hand her this boy looking four wheeler i contacted sunl and they said they didn't have the one i ordered so just sent me the wrong one hoping i would be happy well i was not it took from the end of nov. To just a few days ago to get the new body that i ordered i am so disappointed with these four wheeler every time we attempt to ride them they literally fall apart both of them are a piece of junk all the problems i read you had i have had the same things wrong with mine and every time i try to contact them they are full of excuses i think they're waiting for the year warranty to be up so then theres no chance of getting any help from sunl we bought these and they don't even run and were suppose to just say oh well we got ripped off its not fair we should get a refund or something i feel like we totally got ripped off.

    33 days ago by Jennifer McArdle
    The fact that these four wheelers are poorly made is absolutely true, and to add headache to injury, the dealer who sold my daughter's to me neglected to mention the laws and statutes concerning appropriate size for age class, the required education classes and registration documentation. So not only is the product poorly constructed, but due to the laws where I live and the fact that I would use it at public locations, my child is completely unable to use it. Which I guess isn't so bad considering the safety issues that other Sunl owners have experience. Stay very far away from the Sunl products!! do not make the same mistake that I did.

    https://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/hanma-r6-atv-poor-quality-c...
    HANMA R6 ATV - poor quality
    Complaint Rating: 67 % with 3 votes
    Purchased SUNL Hanma R6 December 22, 2007..given as Christmas gift to 6 year old 54 pound (24.49 kg) grandson. He received gift on December 26th.

    The recommended inspection before riding was completed on December 24th per the checklist in the owners manual. In addition to pre-ride inspection all bolts and nuts were checked for tightness. One bolt was found missing in rear muffler hanger and a number of bolts were loose. The nuts that attach the muffler to the engine head were loose and also tightened. Lug nuts on wheels were also checked for proper torque. During pre-ride inspection what looked to be a small crack was noted on rear rack bracket. Per instruction booklet motor break in procedures were followed by setting throttle at approximately half throttle for first ten hours. Youngster rode with father who was on a Kawasaki quad and father insured that engine speed was varied and that constant low speed was avoided. However, unit was never broken in due to a total of ten hours not being completed. The vehicle held together only long enough for one tank of fuel and part of another tank to be used.

    December 26th: Rear muffler bolt came loose and was lost. Bolt replaced. Rear rack bracket broke and rack went forward into plastic body housing breaking plastic body.

    December 27th: Keeping muffler tight continued to be a problem and muffler was wired because muffler bracket broke. Battery case latching system broke.

    December 28th: Chain came off and had to be replaced and retightened and muffler continued to work loose at engine head.

    December 29th: front rack mounting broke and bolts holding muffler on engine head came loose and were lost, This was the end of using the unit. Unit was returned to dealer on January 4th.

    The unit is sold as an all terrain vehicle for off use road only. This unit was never subjected to any excess weight, nothing was carried on either rack, and the unit was never subjected to any severe treatment such as jumping or high speed operation in rough terrain, or for that matter even over mild terrain... Unit was operated in field and pasture conditions in a rural area. None of the areas would be considered extreme or severe terrain. Overall the unit was operated in what would be considered mild territory for any off road or all terrain vehicle. The dealer has stated that the damage to the unit appeared to be "impact" damage. There was never any impact with any object other than those that were attached to the unit and fell off and impacted some other part of the unit such as the rear rack hitting the plastic body. I have absolutely no complaints at all about the engine other than the muffler not staying on the unit. Engine started easily every time and ran excellent. Brakes worked well and transmission seemed to perform flawlessly. However, I would add that the unit has not operated the full 10 hours as recommended for break in. The major problem I see is that the tubing used in the construction of the frame and racks is of extremely poor quality. With such little operating time under such mild conditions and seeing all of the welds break and other frame problems I am concerned that a major frame component could fail. Failure of a major part such as swing arm or other steering component could result in sever injury or even death to the rider and
    even low speeds. Don't waste your money, or chance your kids life.

  • Co
      11th of Jun, 2007
    0 Votes

    CPSC says Kazuma is dangerous defective JUNK... SUNL and other Chinese junk dealers next.

    http://www.cpsc.gov/cpscpub/prerel/prhtml07/07204.html
    Chinese ATV Is Called Hazardous
    June 10, 2007

    A Chinese-made all-terrain vehicle designed to appeal to children is unsafe and drivers risk injury or death, the Consumer Product Safety Commission said.

    The Kazuma Meerkat 50 Youth All-Terrain Vehicle has no front or parking brake and can be started in gear, the agency said. Consumers should stop using the product immediately, and demand a refund, the commission said.

    The commission usually announces recalls of items it deems unsafe. In this case, the distributor, Stafford, Texas-based Kazuma Pacific Inc., declined to settle with the agency and will continue to sell the off-road vehicle, a commission statement said. The four-wheel, 156-pound ATV sells for $525 to $825.

  • Co
      21st of Jun, 2007
    0 Votes

    Raceday Adventures... you are nothing but a JUNK dealer selling low quality cheap Chinese trash! This stuff is not built with any kind of quality control or decent materials... IT'S J U N K!. Go to Google.com and type in the word SUNL... you'll quickly find out that NOTHING, and I mean nothing is being said good about SUNL. NO PARTS, NO WARRANTY, quite simply SUNL is nothing more than a complete ripoff.

  • Jo
      29th of Jun, 2007
    0 Votes

    http://groups.google.com/group/sunlsucks/browse_thread/thread/92908eb5823f306e

  • Co
      2nd of Jul, 2007
    0 Votes

    SUNL Group is nothing but a lying, thieving low rent ripoff Chinese JUNK importer. Their products are extremely low quality. They tell you their stuff is "Honda" quality, but it's simply a lie to get you to buy. They tell you there is a warranty and that they have parts... yea right, good luck on getting any kind of post sale support. Basically these slime balls unload the container from China, take your money and disappear. Once they get your money, it's over... no parts, no help, and certainly no warranty... what a scam they have going. Avoid these dirtbags! You may think you're getting a good deal, but the time and frustration is simply not worth it. There is a reason these Chinese ATVs are half the price of a Yamaha or Honda and now you know why. It's not just the 'dealers', the machines themselves are junk.

  • Su
      20th of Jul, 2007
    0 Votes

    RACEDAY Adventures like most SUNL dealers is nothing but a cheap Chinese lying, thieving junk and trash dealer. This SUNL garbage is JUNK from the factory. It's poorly manufactured with inferior materials. A V O I D !!!!! It is a COMPLETE waste of time and money. Buy a 20 year old USED Honda....you'll be much happier and have less problems.

  • Ja
      21st of Oct, 2007
    0 Votes

    Not everybody has the cash to put out for a top of the line Honda or Yamaha ATV, an Artic Cat, Bombardier or Polaris. And even the smaller models are relatively expensive. But you still want a ride so you keep looking around. Recently a variety of Chinese manufactured ATVs have become available. These ATVs are generally much cheaper than comparable well known brands. Out of those Chinese Manufactures, Roketa has became the main player, it cover almost every models you can find in the brand names.

    It is possible to buy one of these machines at a fraction of the price of a comparable Japanese machine. The Chinese ATV may not be as refined in all areas and may not have the same level of quality, but they can offer a tremendous bang for your buck in terms of features for the money. If you don't plan to run your machine a lot, then the difference in quality may not be that important. However, if you are planning to work with your machine every day and rack up a lot of hours, then you want to make extra sure that you are buying a good quality machine. If you are in the market for an ATV and are looking for Roketa ATVs for sale or other Chinese brands, then be sure to buy one from a reputable dealer. Check out their parts supply chain. Do your homework up front and then make a choice that will offer you the best deal for your hard earned money. Thankfully, you can get a lot of machine for your money. Just be careful. Make sure they really do have parts available, and try to find other people that bought the particular Chinese ATV brand you are considering, and see what their experience has been.
    Chinese Import ATVs sells at least 1,500 ATVs and ATV parts every day, and if you do quick calculation, that would work out to be 46,500 ATVs and ATV parts a day nationwide. Read?every day! Now, doesn't it make you wonder why Chinese ATVs are flying off the shelves so quickly? Doesn't it make you wonder why so many ATV fans are opting for the import ATVs? ATVs, in general, started off as a machine that could be used for work in farms and areas where loading and unloading is required. And in such instances, quality is important. And for this very reason, Chinese Import ATVs make perfect sense. Instead of catering one specific need of an ATV enthusiast, Roketa, Tank, Red Cat, Jackel ATV importers produce ATVs that are flexible and unique in every sense of the word. The parts for the Chinese ATV are hard to find, it became an issue of every ATV distributors. Therefore you got to go to the right manufacture for the parts. Below are some of the factories with good parts supplies:

    Roketa, Red Cat, Kymco, BMS, New Star. If you guys looking for one specific part of those companies, you can find the information on my site.

    Similar to Chinese motorcycles, it is important to do some research to try to determine which Chinese factory produced the ATV you are considering. Make sure that you also explore the parts supply, so that you can be better assured that you will be able to repair your ATV in the future. There are a lot of dealers with Roketa ATVs for sale, but just make sure that the dealer you are working with actually has parts available. Some people with Roketa ATVs for sale (and other Chinese brands) claim to have parts, but the reality is that many of them do NOT actually have them in stock. If they can get them, then it will often be weeks or MONTHS before you will actually get them... IF you ever get them. Keep this in mind while searching for Roketa ATVs for sale. Keep that in mind for any Chinese vehicle! It's no good having a machine that is 99% complete, but have 1 small part prevent you from being able to ride. Just make sure (very sure) that you can get parts! Try to figure out a way to verify the dealer's parts availability more than just asking: "Do you have parts?".
    Some of these ATVs are powered by small 2 stroke engines (like 50cc) with automatic CVT transmissions. Typically the small Chinese ATV have the 2 stroke engines and CVT transmission. As you go bigger in size and engine displacement, then the bigger Chinese ATV can come with 150cc, 200cc, 250cc, and larger 4 stroke engines. Many are rear wheel drive. Some of these have manual shift, manual clutch, multi-speed transmissions and there are even some 250cc twin cylinder powered machines. Almost all of the engines found in these machines are clones of Japanese engines (which is a good thing), so the basic designs can be very good. The engines found in Chinese ATV can be air cooled, forced (fan) air cooled, or water cooled. As long as the factory that manufactured the engine had good quality standards, then these engines should serve well for many years if they are properly maintained

    Roketa, Tank, Red Cat, BMS have been in the business for quite sometime, and they have great source in china to get parts. Among them, Roketa ATVs' parts are easy to find and that is why they are so popular among ATV users. Many end user get impression that Roketa does not offer any warranty parts, which is not true. Roketa does offer warranty parts to their dealers, if you bought anything online, you need to go through the online dealers to get parts. It is the same for every Chinese ATV dealers.

  • Du
      21st of Oct, 2007
    0 Votes

    I just bought a Sunl sl150, hope it will stronger enough for my abusive riding.

  • Ca
      6th of Dec, 2007
    0 Votes

    We bought a SunL 150cc Scooter from atvdiscounter.com the beginning of November 2007 and are still unable to ride it. The parts to finish assembly were not shipped, rendering it unrideable. It is now over 1 month later and we STILL have not received anything from the seller. We don't even know how much of a piece of junk it is yet because we haven't been able to use it! There have been numerous emails and phone calls made by all members of my family (me, my husband and my son) to the seller asking for the parts THAT WE HAVE PAID FOR to no avail. I'm VERY upset with atvdiscounter.com and kick myself in the keister for not having done any research before buying this thing. I guess even when (if) the parts do ever show up (which the seller claims they have shipped to us......twice), the trouble is still not over.

  • Cr
      21st of Dec, 2007
    0 Votes

    IN 2005 MY MOM AND DAD BOUGHT A 2005 POLARIS SPORTSMAN. IN THE FIRST MONTH WE HAD TO HAVE THE CAMSHAFT FIXED. WITHIN TWO MONTHS WE REPLACED THE FAN AND PUT NEW CV JOINTS ON IT. WITHIN ONE YEAR WE HAD TO PUT ANOTHER CAMSHAFT ON IT AN ANOTHER FAN. NOW WE ARE RPLACING THE CAMSHAFT AND THE FAN AGAIN. POLARIS WONT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. SO WHAT DO WE DO JUST KEEP PUTING THE MONEY IN IT? SO I GUESS WHAT IM SAYING IS BECARFULL WITH POLARIS. RESURCH WHAT YOU WANT TO BUY FIRST. IF ANYONE CAN HELP PLEASE EMAIL ME.

  • Di
      21st of Dec, 2007
    0 Votes

    I agree with everone sunl products are bull ! i just bought my son a typhoon 115 dec 3rd 2007 but did not recieve it untill week in half later then that nite my son rod it for 3hrs but not the whole 3 hours he would come in for a while to warm up then go back out to ride again.so the next day it wouldnt start wouldnt get no fire at all so i had the product sent back to the people that i ordered thru that got the 4 wheeler from sunl products an then they caaled me an said that it was the motor then i called back then they said it was the ingnition control inside the motor an ask them how can somthing thats brannew go down this fast an they said that these products cannot be rode very much an i say why have it you cant ride it but know i haft to waite for the part to come in after the 1st of the year an this is so messed up this was his christmas gift an his only gift so thanks to sunl my sons christmas is screwed an theres lots more to this but im going to quit for know because im really pissed the fxxxxxx off because i dont come by money like this just to hand out its money i saved for a year for my son an im sure everone else feels the same.

  • An
      30th of Dec, 2007
    0 Votes

    I am a harley davidson tech I work on HD for 20yrs, I was offer a job with a sunl dealer in west texas, he made me a offer that I could not turn down, I work for him for one year and after seeing how pour the sunl atvs, motorcycles, ect, were mad and how the dealer and sunl are lying to the consumer about how good this prouduct is and were not getting parts for the buyers that bought sunl prouducts.
    I worked on all sunl power sports (WARNING ) IF YOU ARE THINKING OF BUYING A SUNL PROUDUCT DO NOT DO IT. THE SUNL MOTORSPORTS ARE NOT GOOD!!!!
    I KNOW, I quit working for this dealer on 12/26/2007. after seeing him sell out of all his sunl inventory and saw how much of it was returned because of the units falling all apart and all kinds of problems .
    I wanted no part of this, sunl and sunl dearlers are robbing the consumer blind i have been in the sunl warehouse in Dallas TX severl times I saw how all is done and what sunl is about. ALL YOU THE CONSUMER IS DOING IS MAKEING SUNL AND SUNL DEALERS RICHER THEY ARE SMILLING VERY BIG GOING TO THE BANK WITH YOUR MONEY....

  • Ro
      22nd of Feb, 2008
    0 Votes

    If u would like to email me its xronwittx@yahoo.com,ps the story was on my sons four wheller, and over comeing cancer.

  • Mi
      2nd of Apr, 2008
    0 Votes

    I BOUGHT 2 SL150T-6E FROM MX MOTORSPORTS OUT OF FLORIDA, THE SCOOTERS WERE SHIPPED FROM TEXAS TO ME, WHEN THEY ARRIVED THE SHIP CRATE WAS DAMAGED LUCKILY NO MAJOR DAMAGE TO SCOOTERS. LIKE MOST I WAS MISSING A FEW SMALL BOLTS AND ONE OF THE SCOOTERS CHARGING PORT WAS BROKEN, FUSE BLOWN, NO RESPONSE FROM DEALER WHEN I E-MAILED AND TOLD HIM. ONLY DAMAGE I CAN TELL FROM THE SHIP CRATE BEING BENT WAS THE FRONT WHEEL ON ONE OF THE SCOOTERS WHEN ASSEMBLED HAS SCRAPING NOISE FROM TOUCING BRAKE PADS, I HAVE ADJUSTED SOME OF THIS OUT. NO RESPONSE FROM DEALER WHEN I E-MAILED HIM.

    I HAD A PROBLEM WITH ONE OF THE SCOOTERS BOGGING DOWN AND THEN NOT STARTING AT ALL AFTER SOME TROUBLE SHOOTING FOUND NOT GETTING GAS FROM TANK, AFTER BLOWING LINE TO TANK SOLVED THE PROBLEM AND SCOOTER RUNS FINE FOR NOW, THESE ARE CHEAP SCOOTERS BUT THEY LOOK GOOD, RUN GOOD SO FAR, I AGREE PRODUCT SUPPORT IS NOT GOOD AND LOOKS LIKE THE DEALER I USED {RICK AT MX MOTORSPORTS.US IS ANOTHER SLEAZY DEALER OF CHINESE PRODUCTS WHICH MAKES SUNL LOOK BAD. I HAVE BEEN SEARCHING THE WEB AND HAVE FOUND A FEW SUPPLIER OF PARTS FOR THESE SCOOTERS AND I HAVE GOTTEN SOME SUPPORT FROM PARTS SUPPLIERS OTHER THAN SUNL DEALERS.

    IF ANY ONE IS HAVING TROUBLE WITH THEIR SCOOTER E-MAIL ME AND IF I CAN NOT HELP YOU I WILL TRY AND PUT YOU IN TOUCH WITH SOMEONE WHO CAN.
    LUCKILY I HAVE SOME MECHANICAL BACK GROUND AND THAT HELPS.

    BUT LIKE EVERY ONE ELSE WHEN YOU BUY SOMETHING YOU EXPECT IT TO RUN AND NOT FALL APART WITHIN THE FIRST FEW DAYS AFTER YOU BUY IT.

    ANYONE ELSE WHO HAS DEALT WITH MX MOTORSPORTS LET ME KNOW, I AM FILING A CLAIM WITH THE FLORIDA BBB SOON FOR LACK OF PRODUCT SUPPORT.

  • Mi
      8th of May, 2008
    0 Votes

    After not finding parts for a sunl dirtbike and atv we have i found a lady on ebay sell with a website parts for both sunl and my crappy pepboys scooter from baja or bajamotorsports anyway here is a place to start http://www.sunlparts.net

    After getting a part they email me tell me if it not on the website to call or email and now my roketa moped is running to.i know alot of mees up china stuff but the worked find for a long time.

  • Bi
      1st of Jul, 2008
    0 Votes

    Ahh, the Christmas spirit, and the desire to put big smiles on little faces! I bought two SUNL 110's for my 7 and 8 year old kids. $1, 300 for the pair after florida tax/title/fees included. by the way, i never actually received a Title. My "dealer" said that the department that handles titles fired a girl, who then took a handful of titles with her and destroyed them. a Likely Story, NOT. so we can't ride in the Ocala National Forest because you have to register the quads to get a permit to ride there. The rear disk brake on my son's ride overheated and seized up, causing him to lose control and crash the quad, bending the steering shaft and throwing the alignment out of whack. We had to carry the quad back end and push all the way back to my truck. My son was like "this is the worst day of my life! My quad is new and it's a piece of junk!" We replaced the rear rotor b/c it was bent, $35 later. the new one did the same thing after fifteen minutes of riding. yet somehow, the axle is not bent. I drained the brake fluid out and made brake response at the foot pedal really poor, and it stopped seizing up. Junior has to slow down long before he needs to stop now though. ooh, that's safe SUNL. To continue: the center nut on the rear axles is always coming loose on both quads. my daughters quad has a sleeve that goes over each side of the rear axle, it actually acts as a huge spacer to hold the brake rotor on, the rear sprocket, and maintains alignment of the axle on dead center. the axle nut then holds the wheel against it, with alignment splines that fit loosely between the wheel and the axle itself. Just a matter of time before this whole rear end is junk. the chains used to fall off, until i made my own roller assembly to maintain tension. it bolts on through the rear motor mount and reaches just past the ultra thin walled tube frame, lol. i also put backing nuts behind the chain adjuster plate, to keep the rear swing arm from moving back and forth. The skid plate under the brake and sprocket is so thin that a mild hit on anything causes it to bend upward right into the rotor or sprocket, and causes SEVERE wear. The little 6 inch tires really stink in the Florida sugar sand. when i bought the quad i had ordered the bigger 7 inch tires and wheels, but the dealer said that it only comes with these, but if you want to upgrade later, i can hook you up. after two rides of lifting the quad out of the rut it dug itself into in the sand, time and time again, SOOO, i went back to the dealer. tires and wheels=$225, for stock parts. I could put ITP tires on Douglas chrome rims on it for that, OUCH, it hurts! I can't find reasonable tire and wheel upgrade kit, so my daughter continues to suffer every time we ride. The sand really eats up the almighty powerful 110 engine, too. It smells like burning rubber and smokes a lot when we sand ride. there really is no fun in the sport when it is more work than play. my kids were rip roaring ready to ride before they rode these SUNL quads. Now, they would rather play video games on playstation1 than explore the great outdoors on their still new quads, (less than 10 hours riding.) PS my son's battery won't hold a charge, no matter how long you trickle charge it, we still have to jump start it off my Kawasaki 300's battery when we ride. SAD, SAD, DAYS...Thank You SUNL, for keeping kids safe and sound in the house instead of adventuring about the trails of Florida's finest riding on their 2007 Nightmare Before Chri$tma$ quads. stay cool...

  • Gr
      18th of Aug, 2008
    0 Votes

    iv been trying to get a starter for mine for three months and im getting pretty pissed off

  • Wi
      24th of Jan, 2009
    0 Votes

    WHO...ever buys a vehicle in a box?????? Dumb...Dumb...Dumb...Cartons that are damaged when you receive them, are your responsibility. Check and sign for them as such. Internal damage can be caused by rough handling. Buy from a DEALER...Most dealers, do dealer prep on all vehicles and pre-road test the vehicles, this prevents most problems. ATVs for the most part are subjected to rough handling by the owners. After each ride how about doing a little preventive maintenance and do a 360 on the vehicle and tighten all nuts and bolts. And for the person that had the chain guard go into the chain while casual riding, you must be goofy I do not believe that. What did you hit???
    Dollar for dollar the Chinese ATVs and other products are a great buy for the money, but you have to have some experience with these vehicles. First time owners usually screw up a battery charge and then blame the Manufacturer or Dealer. As for the Honda, Yamaha or Kawasaki lovers ask them to "bailout" our banking, car manufacturers or Investment firms see the response you get...But guess who is financing our trillion dollar bailouts??????????? Hey whats this?????Harley Davidsons now looking for a "bailout" so much for quality. Adapt...Improvise...Overcome...NOT Whine...Moan...Complain.

  • Wh
      13th of Mar, 2009
    0 Votes

    Are you serious William? Please tell me that you are not comparing Harley, to a Sunl! That has got to be one of the dumbest statements I've ever heard!!! In fact your whole statement makes me think you need rehab. If you bought a SunL folks, it's not all bad. They do have one safety feature. They don't run long enough for anyone to get hurt! However if you want to ride & do not want SunL's only safety feature, then this is the wrong product for you. Folks if you look at a China product & think it looks cheap but it can't be that bad, well your right! It's worse. China couldn't make a condom without the end of it blowing out & that is really a wonder as much as they suck! I saw on some posts above that some folks called the SunL products junk & that is actually not true. Junk is at least worth something at a salvage yard. Most salvage yards will not take China steal as it is worthless! I know, I said steal. I just didn't want to use the correct spelling for steel & China in the same sentence . China doesn't know what real steel is!! Even the folks in Tx @ Sunl head Q's know they suck. I know one of the V.P's & he told me how the came up with the SunL name. It is actually an acronym for: ### Unit New Leak. The bottom line is, yes SunL is one of the biggest peices of stinky ###... Ever!! But if it says made in "China" It may be cheap, but it really is very expensive because you will spend money on China ###. Then throw it away & buy a real one. The bottom line is, it may seem cheap at the time & It REALLY IS, but it will cost ALOT in the end!! All of the China hunks of dick are made in the same factory & when it shows up here it will be named after whoever imported it. SunL is a Texas name. They Scooters & ATV's are actually a Yang Dong or doo doo or something like that. Do your self a BIG favor, forget that China even exists. Erase it from your globe. If they made it, it's not worth a [censored] Hope this info was helpful

Post your comment