[Resolved] Shells Only / beware lies.. lies...& more lies
They come across very professional but they are worst than car salesmen. Great record with the bbb but beware! Prices change all the time. Details of what you initally requested disappear or get changed. They do it to be sly so you don't notice. Be very careful! They are not to be trusted with your hard earned money. They try to sell you the home of your dreams for the price of the home of your dreams and then when its time to get into contract they really sell you the "contractors special". They request more money for less! They insist on you buying their tile, fixtures etc., that they allocate pennies towards so you can upgrade when you get to the showroom. Thats when your bill starts going up. That's their bread and butter... Just like the dealership. All the extras add up and the dealership in this case shells only inc makes a killing. I was having a bad felling about them so I looked everywhere online for reviews and I found nothing so this is why I am writing this. I should have gone wtih my gut in the first place. They are deceitful. They promise the moon & stars and they will not follow through with their promises! In fact they will try to get out of the deal. We are not talking about a couple of thousands of dollars we are talking about $125, 000 +.in these tough times they need to re-evaluate their business tactics if they want to make it through. Beware!!! Go with your own architect and piece the job out yourself and save yourself 20%-30% of the total cost. Then maybe you can afford all the extras that they try to take out of your project so they could make more profit. Good luck & I hope this helps & go with your gut!!!
Shells Only Inc. customer care service did everything in their power to resolve this complaint. All attempts to contact the complainant have failed. Therefore, this complaint has been annulled and must not be considered where image of the company in question and it's services are concerned.
Shells Only Customer Care's Response, Jan 14, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam – We have become aware of your posted comments but unfortunately we have been unable to find any record of any sales presentation that resembles your description. Can you provide us more information so we can find your job in our records? We encourage any and all customers to contact us with any issues they may have so we can resolve them quickly.
Customer feedback is very important to us and our customer service department is well known for its professional staff and responsiveness. We always strive to resolve any and all customer issues quickly and professionally.
Our reputation is one of our most important assets and is jealously defended. We have earned and maintained an A Better Business Bureau ranking for good reason - we have thousands of more than satisfied customers and been providing a superior service for over 40 years.
Please contact us and reference this posting on complaints board so we can look into your situation and resolve it. Thank you.
You're welcome to call us at 631.422.9190
Shells Only Customer Care's Response, Nov 06, 2015
After reading your complaint today we were taken back considering we have been working with you and the homeowner since March, 2014. We agree that on numerous occasions our staff have spent several hours working with you on product selection for the bathroom project. However, you failed to mention that we have also visited the home several times and worked up multiple layouts for review. We have invested countless hours and resources trying to satisfy your wants and needs, making every attempt to earn your business. We are surprised to hear that you feel we “turn customers away” after tirelessly working with you and the homeowner for 19 months free of charge.
For over 40 years our company has been committed to building outstanding relationships with all our clients. We are available to you if you desire.
Shells Only Customer Care's Response, Sep 08, 2017
We have checked our records, checked with our designers and consultants and they have no recollection of an Adam or your project. Please release your full name so we can further look into this situation. I do apologize in advance if you are a prospective client. We can assure you we go to great lengths to try to accommodate each and every customer, however after being in business for over 43 years, we have come to terms with the fact that some customers do not see our efforts. Please contact us at (631) 422-9190 or remove your comments.
Shells Only Customer Care's Response, Sep 21, 2017
We have checked our records, checked with our designers and consultants and they have no recollection of a Steve and Pat or your project. We are not sure what type of project you claim to have inquired about or with whom. Please release your full name or correct name, so we can further look into this situation. I do apologize in advance if you are a prospective client. We can assure you we go to great lengths to try to accommodate each and every customer. However, after being in business for over 43 years, we have come to terms with the fact that if we are hired to build your project then we should be supplying all the products that go into your project. This eliminates any so called finger pointing. We are sure you want us to take full responsibility for supplying proper insurance, hiring qualified craftsmen, supervising your project with properly trained project managers and getting your job done on time and within budget. We also check all products (the products you're talking about that you can get cheaper) before being delivered to your job site. This is why you should work with a professional company like ours that stands behind the entire project and not a small portion of the project like a toilet or a door knob. If you are looking to cut corners then we are not the company for you and you would be better off working with a handy man and not a 43 year old building company. If this makes sense to you and if you would like to continue working with us please contact us at (631) 422-9190. Our policy is to provide you with the best possible experience.
Shells Only Customer Care's Response, Oct 03, 2017
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for writing to us, and to assure you that we do read all the letters we receive and consider your suggestions carefully. I am the owner of Shells Only Complete Home Improvements, and I recently received your comment regarding your kitchen renovation agreement. You state that the cabinets we offered you were overpriced and not within your budget and that you found similar or better cabinets for less. We offer a wide selection of cabinets and our prices are very competitive within the industry. Understand that even if you were to compare the exact cabinets distributed by two different retailers the price would vary. A standard practice for us is to add certain features and benefits that other retailers don’t normally include in their pricing and to the homeowner all they see is the exact cabinets for less. I would welcome the opportunity for you to allow us to show you the features and benefits that differ for other companies and the value of doing business with a 43 year old complete home improvement company verses a cabinet retailer.