SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Paean / poor breeding practices

1 South East Wisconsin, South East Wisconsin, United States Review updated:
Contact information:

This is an e mail response from the owner of Paean Poodles, after I emailed her asking her if she offers a HEREDITY guarantee. This lady is claiming to be a reputable breeder when in fact she's just another backyard breeder! She later told me she's not going to pay for other peoples mistakes so she wont give a health guarantee now that she knows what one is.
PEOPLE DO YOUR RESEARCH!!! DONT LEARN THE HARD WAY.

Dee Schaal
To Me
Aug 18 at 11:11 AM
Heredity health guarantee? I’m not exactly sure what that is because I have never received one. I have done health testing. I can say there is no such thing yet as a perfect dog in any breed and that is still the goal of every responsible breeder.
If you are looking for a lifetime health guarantee of a perfect dog then I’d have to honestly say I cannot give it and I don’t know of anyone who else who would. There are too many unknown factors. For example weed killers in peoples yards that are inhaled by dogs and garden mulches that give dogs Blastomy.
I don’t know who you are, what state you live in or even what you are looking for.
Dee
www.paeanpoodles.com

Pi
Aug 19, 2014
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Jm
      Oct 14, 2014

    I have a poodle from Paean. I can trace her heritage through the offa.org website and see the health testing that was done. It was fully documented for me at the time of purchase and my vet agreed that these tests were as close as you could come to guaranteeing health. Further, Dee was very upfront about explaining the tests and what they meant. For example, testing for retinal atrophy genes clears the dogs for that inherited variety but there is another type for which a genetic marker has not yet been identified. I met many of the dogs at Paean and I was happy with everything I saw.

    +1 Votes
  • Po
      Nov 12, 2014

    Pippy84 I do not understand why you would slam a reputable breeder and wonder person like Dee, but the internet if full of people who bully others!!
    YOU NEED TO DO YOUR HOMEWORK!!! I have bought many puppies over the years and Dee is by far the most caring and reputable breeder I have ever met. She gave me the lineage of my puppy and copies of all the health testing she does on her dogs. My vet checked out the puppy and was also very satisfied with all the testing.
    If you want a guarantee that your dog will live a long and healthy life the first thing you should do is buy a puppy from a reputable breeder like Dee and then the next thing would be to provide a healthy and loving environment for the puppy. Too late now.

    0 Votes
  • Fi
      Nov 12, 2014

    There is no way to guarantee breeding out hereditary health issues. Good, reputable breeders can breed to hopefully diminish the risk, but again, no guarantee. If that were the case, I should have gotten a hereditary health guarantee for my own kids! Dee breeds excellent puppies that have good confirmation, are well adjusted to most environments, and are a dream to groom! As a groomer, only about 5% of all the miniature poodles I see compare to my little guy. Highly recommend Paean Poodles!

    0 Votes
  • Lo
      Nov 12, 2014

    Paean Poodles has been state and AKC inspected with flying colors. This kennel is very reputable.

    0 Votes
  • Lm
      Aug 06, 2015

    Dee had very direct and passionate opinions about breeding and responsible pet ownership. I thought her response to you was actually pretty legit. We purchased a puppy from her and it was a wonderful experience. She truly adores her dogs and breeds them with care. It's a business for sure, but it's a responsible one for certain.

    0 Votes
  • Po
      May 20, 2016

    I agree with all the comments above. I have a 5 year old very healthy, active, and competitive agility dog from Dee's breeding. My mother has a 2 year old that's amazing as well. My mother and I are currently working with her on our next agility pups. Dee does all the recommended health testing and follows a very strict vaccination protocol. She is a very careful and conscientious breeder. Highly recommend Paean Poodles!!

    0 Votes
  • Po
      Dec 05, 2016

    I have known Dee Schaal for well over a decade. She is the most honest, dedicated, sincere person I know in dogs of any breed. She does ALL her health testing, keeps it up to date (in the case of eye exams) and guarantees you get a healthy, happy puppy on the day of sale. There really isn't much more that anyone who breeds ANYTHING can do to "guarantee" that the dog will be 100% healthy forever. Like all reputable breeders, she would take back any pup/dog that a buyer couldn't keep for any reason. That's what you do when you commit yourself to bringing new life into the world. The very fact that your question was so poorly worded tells us a lot. What, exactly, is a "heredity guarantee"? Does she guarantee against anything major that your vet might find on the well pet exam? Yes. Does she guarantee that your dog will never have arthritis, old age cataracts or any number of chemical-caused blood disorders? No, and neither does any other breeder that I have ever met. I have had a trio of her wonderful pups in my home. Healthy, sane, brilliant and as loving as anyone could want in a miniature poodle.

    0 Votes
  • Ce
      Jul 08, 2017

    A truly professional breeder sells a physically healthy dog of GOOD temperament. Dee Schaal sold me a pale-red, very shy puppy for over $1, 300.00 from a litter of five in 2016. The mother is Penny, aka "Pennies from Heaven, " which another breeder gave Dee for free after warning her that Penny was shy (supposedly some teenager did something to her as a pretext). Dee bred Penny to Ronnie. The resultant litter of five had three female pups all shy, (one was somewhat more dominant than the other two and two had umbilical hernias.) Unable to sell those with umbilical hernias, she wrote to me that she might breed them. This is unacceptable, corrupting the gene pool. Later, they were placed with families, because a neighbor complained about the noise. Chris Beckett, in charge of animal control, said she owned 15 adult dogs plus puppies, ordering her to cut down by the end of 2017. She attests on her website that her dogs live in her house, clearly they take turns living outdoors. Her house is used for those whelping, nursing and a few that might live inside. Maintaining fifteen dogs suggests a breeder whose primary motivation is maximal profit.

    Neither Penny, the mother, nor Ronnie the father came over to us when we purchased the female pale-red puppy, they stood at considerable distance of many feet. The puppy I purchased crawled over to me in the mornings indicating an unusually submissive nature. I misguidedly thought she would outgrow this, When she went in for training at Petsmart, Helen the Niles Petsmart trainer, explained that the teenager who pestered Penny would not have caused her permanent severe shyness. She said it was genetic, researching this I found that Victoria Stilwell defines these dogs as "fear reactive" with some improvement for their shyness during their lifetime, but not much since it is inherited. Dee Schaal could see the puppy crawled over to her in the mornings, even writing that there was no reason why this puppy could not be loved, but failed to explain what she meant. She knew the puppy was very withdrawn by nature, yet she was not straight-forward about this, and when the puppy still did not bark at nearly 7 1/2 months, she refused to take her back, since she had been ordered to cut down on dogs. A good breeder can and will take a dog back at any time. The puppy now, almost a year old, barks occasionally and started to do so after I contacted Dee. Dee did offer me another dog along with keeping this one. I did not set out to get two dogs. I did not accept this. She kept all the money, closing all other options. She never disclosed that the puppy was extremely shy, so I had to figure out what was wrong with the dog and that thanks to Dee's for profit and unprofessional breeding practices will always remain so. The red puppy I bought is turning into an apricot. Dee does have other happy customers, but some have returned dogs to her.

    The puppy is not fun to walk, cringes and pulls trying to hide when passersby approach. She cowers and shakes when a workman comes over. She also had submissive urination during each of her Petsmart training sessions. She cringes when someone new to her tries to pet her. She is fine when in the house and is a lap dog or best friends playing with the cat. I personally did not find Dee Schaal to be honest with me nor did she really try to settle the matter with me. My dog still confuses carpets for grass when pooping, (still not housebroken after a year) despite the fact that we are generally here and she is taken out very regularly.

    This suggests either a lack of sufficient intelligence or it could be her shyness, but she was taught to use potty bells and someone is always with her. A
    very stressful and unsatisfactory experience. CAVEAT EMPTOR! When I first confronted Dee about her negligent breeding practice in this case,
    she tried to pin it on me. Later she did not deny in her emails that she knew the puppy was very submissive and so were the sisters. I am not a breeder,
    I had not owned dogs for several years, had never seen or heard of this very submissive nature in a dog and I waited for a year and a half for Dee to
    breed this puppy only to have my trust betrayed by what I perceive as greed and lacking in scruples.

    0 Votes
  • Ce
      Jul 09, 2017

    Corrections: it is C Birkett at Rochester, WI. in charge of animal control and Elena (Helen) dog trainer at Niles Petsmart.

    0 Votes
  • El
      Aug 31, 2017

    @C Elster I posted the above review as a formal complaint and it was removed without any prior notification.

    Heredity guarantees are given for inherited such as hip dysplasia, transmissible eye conditions, but never for environmental caused diseases such as Blastoma (Blastomycosis). Dee School never gave us a heredity guarantee, but did invoke the phony Blastoma excuse.

    0 Votes
  • El
      Aug 31, 2017

    @Elster Heredity guarantees are given for inherited conditions such as hip dysplasia and transmissible eye conditions, but never for environmentally caused diseases such as Blastoma (Blastomycosis). Dee
    Schaal never gave us a heredity guarantee, but did invoke the phony Blastoma excuse.

    0 Votes
  • Po
      Jan 22, 2018

    I have a puppy from Penny and Ronnie's litter from 2016. A boy, he is healthy and very sweet. He is super smart does not have health issues at all. Dee is a good breeder Our dog is housebroken. He was completely house broken within the first few months of his life. He only had a couple of accidents. He is friendly knows commands sit, stay, come, army crawl, speak, and pack it up. Pack it up is a fun command I made up. I can walk him without a leash and he will heal. He is super good. I follow Cesar Milan's training methods. I would definitely recommend Dee and would definitely get another puppy from her.

    0 Votes
  • Po
      Jan 23, 2018

    Wow, terrible. Out making assumptions. Just horrible my comment was taken down and to question me if I got my dog for free. Yes I paid for my dog. The one from Penny and Ronnies litter 2016. Whoever reads these post. Keep in mind Dee has been a very good breeder for years. Our dog is a very good dog well behaved and healthy.

    0 Votes
  • Ce
      Jan 23, 2018

    @Poodlesforever There are no assumptions. You clearly compared an outgoing dog to highly impaired one, you showed no understanding of the situation. This dog still does submissive urination, the groomer whom she loves always has to clean up. If Dee had been an honest breeder she would have offered a more acceptable solution. She charged me full price, did not disclose the defect apparent from the time the dog could walk and she is DISHONEST. My vet is going to assess the degree of chondrodysplasia that she inherited thanks to Dee's poor breeding practices. Are you a relative? Why are you insinuating yourself in my situation where you do not belong? How much did you pay for your dog?

    0 Votes

Post your comment