SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Mywot.com / Mywot is a scam and a spyware site

Review updated:

Mywot is a scam and a spyware site. Their browser add on sends all of your browsing data back to their servers!! You can see for yourself by running wireshark. If you really want to be safe on the net then use some real security tools like norton, mcafee, avg etc

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ml
      Jan 02, 2012
    Mywot.com - Obviously most phishing site ever
    Mywot.com
    United States
    mywot.com

    MyWOT is bogus. Managing 100 accounts with strong rating they ruin reputation of many good web-sites posting irrelative comments and giving poor rating. Obviously most phishing site ever.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
      Feb 06, 2012

    MyWot.com is the worst thing that has ever hit the internet so far. MyWot is a scam on massive scale and I am writing this post to expose them.

    They call themselves “The Web Of Trust” LOL!! MYWOT is a user powered rating site (with top 100 members who are nothing more than power hungry zealots that can gang up on you if they choose so)

    Nobody would actually care if Facebook didn’t start using their data to protect their user base from malicious links being force-fed to them. We all know that scams thrive on Facebook but this is not the way.

    Everytime you have an entity that has power to wipe out someone’s business overnight it creates corruption, mistrust, and a free pass for the true scams to grow even bigger. I am going to give you some proof that this is already happening on MYWOT and how their site should not be trusted.

    +4 Votes
  • Vi
      Feb 06, 2012

    Facebook does not use them, facebook buys them. Think of it this way, fb rich wot poor, WOT gives facebook bad ratings facebook says, we shut you down we have more cash, then huge turn around and facebook number one in all around customer satisfaction. Big announcement facebook partners up with WOT, anyone smell a fish? It would be a good idea if it wasn’t such a scam.

    Money is what really buys trust when it comes to WOT. The company was almost in the toilet and facebook payed them millions to shut them down or rate facebook number one. We who have known all the problems facebook has had can’t imagine it rating number one in everything. In the world.
    So if I get a million bucks or whatever it takes to buy trust, maybe I will be able to get my site out of the toilet??

    This is Spyware people, plain and simple. I thought it was a good concept until I learned how it works. They are building the largest database of personal info they mine while users falsely think they are safe now.

    Persistent cookies, no enforcement of their own TOS or third party like Whois. These people think all websites are a threat unless they get their trust seal for almost 500 dollars a year!

    +3 Votes
  • Jo
      Mar 10, 2012

    If what Vicky L. says is true, then why aren't more users complaining ? I started using myWoT because other users on other forums were giving it thumbs up. Seems to me that WOT needs to watch what others browse if they are doing any intelligence analysis. Persistent cookies: How are they to evaluate any user votes or comments? If they didn't want you to see what they upload, they could have masked or encrypted it in the plugin. There are three AV programs (besides Norton which is too invasive and CPU greedy) which we use and not one is perfect: (1) AVG is least CPU hungry, (1) AVAST is great for games because of its "sandbox" feature which isolates risky applications, Avira which is configurable to a fault and when fully configured, Avira can slow down a computer by examining the uploads and downloads. Apple computers seem not as vulnerable as Windows platforms but their methods are primarily proprietary although they appear to support MacScan2 to remove viruses which could infect Windows programs. Linux is a forest of complexity but may be configured to be more secure than other platforms because it has smaller market share: Fedora or ubuntu Linux distributions are rated by distrowatch dot com to be among the most popular for desktops. These two have different strategies for security: SELinux (secure enterprise) for Fedora and apparmor (similar in concept to "sandbox") for ubuntu. The bottom line is that the malware hacker and "privacy indifference" industries are so aggressive that (as techies know) they are always closer to the edge of technology than the anti-malware industry. (Just check out the the latest bills proposed in the U.S. Congress which tend to justify apparent violations of the U.S. Constitution. ) Safety is in the hands of the user. Work diligently. Work smart.

    -2 Votes
  • Jo
      Mar 10, 2012

    Sorry - could not edit and the comment is too hard to read, so I am reposting: (monitors, please remove my previous comment, thanks.)

    IF what Vicky L. says is true, then why arent more users complaining ? I began using myWoT because users on other forums are giving it thumbs up. Seems to me that WOT needs to watch what others browse if WOT is doing any intelligence analysis.
    Persistent cookies: How can WOT evaluate any user votes or comments for credibility? If WOT didnt want anyone to read their uploads, WOT would have masked or encrypted it in the plugin.

    There are three AV programs (besides Norton which is too difficult to remedy if broken) which we use and not one is perfect: (1) AVG is least CPU hungry, (2) AVAST is great for games because of its sandbox feature which isolates risky applications, and (3) Avira which is configurable to a fault. When fully configured, Avira can slow down a computer by examining the uploads and downloads.

    Apple computers seem not as vulnerable as Windows platforms but their methods are primarily proprietary. Apple appears to support MacScan2 to remove viruses which could infect Windows programs.

    Linux is a forest of complexity but may be configured to be more secure than other platforms because it has smaller market share: Fedora or ubuntu Linux distributions are rated by distrowatch dot com to be among the most popular for desktops. These two have different strategies for security: SELinux (secure enterprise) for Fedora and apparmor (similar in concept to sandbox for ubuntu.

    So, whatever your method of malware defense, keep your computer updated. Persistently. Set the auto updaters to check every day and on every reboot. For privacy issues, pester your local and national legislators.

    The bottom line is that the malware hacker and -privacy indifference- industries are so aggressive that (as techies know) they are always closer to the edge of technology than the anti-malware industry. (Just check out the the latest bills proposed in the U.S. Congress which tend to justify apparent violations of the U.S. Constitution. ) Safety is in the hands of the user. Work diligently. Work smart.

    -3 Votes
  • Jo
      Mar 10, 2012

    We use myWOT in addition to an anti-virus and so far AVG has not complained. About anything and we loaded myWOT after updating AVG. I don't think WOT ever intended that MyWOT be used without an anti-virus. It would not protect most email programs which run without a web browser.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
      Apr 18, 2012

    Documented Fraud with myWOT

    Once you charge/accuse/criticize myWOT, Sami will escalate retaliation against you.

    WOT retaliates against criticism and rates according to their political agenda. In March I wrote a critical review of WOT related to a sight they where attacking on their forum called stdcarriers.com. Sami Tolvanen responded against my criticism and we parried back and forth several replies.

    I referred to my domain “wavefour.com” at the beginning of my critical review. Wavefour.com had no ratings at all when this started and within 6 hours was ranked deep into the red. At the beginning of this parry with Sami Tolvanen he copied my review on Mozilla and copied it to his myWOT forum and added some editorial that “Judging from the owner of wavefour.com, this probably has more to do with certain "internet marketers" that were caught trying to game the rating system some time ago though.”

    NOTE: I/we never violated their terms. Sami just makes these claims up. I/we never used multiple accounts to rate sites, Sami is a liar!

    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/wot-safe-browsing-tool/reviews/

    Within 6 hours my domain was ranked deep into the red. You can all draw your own conclusions.

    Video documentation can be found here.

    http://youtu.be/PJix7FAsnrA

    +4 Votes
  • Ca
      Apr 27, 2012
    Best Best Advice

    There are several issues with Mywot:

    A) As anyone can create an acoount there and vote against a website the visitor dislikes, the rating is far away from being trustworthy.

    B) As long as the service does not distinguish between 'distrust a website' and 'dislike a website' a page can get a poor trustfullness rating, just because its published opinion is not mainstream.

    C) Be careful when opening an account and post critics about Mywot to not get banned. They censor!
    That must be the reason why Mywot has the best rating when checking it with its own service.

    D) If your own website is on a webhosters subdomain, it inherits the rating of your hosters domain. Thus, any free website is automatically rated bad. No matter if its an excellent spam and malware free site.

    E) It seems they have their own bot crawling the web. It behaves like a spammer and switches UA for each website hit within seconds.
    Their bot's IP address 83.145.227.200 is currently blacklisted at http://dnsbl.dk/DNSBL.htm#F and is also listed in many IP block lists.

    Really not recommended.

    +5 Votes
  • Al
      May 23, 2012

    Lot of frustrated people out there who don’t know what to do with all the bad rating mywot gives them. Here are some who are trying to do some about it - http://mywot-reviews.info/

    +3 Votes
  • Ru
      Jun 28, 2012
    Mywot.com - This website manipulates ratings
    Mywot.com
    United States
    mywot.com

    This website manipulates ratings. The idea behind the project is nice but the fact that any user can click on green or red button to rank is VERY bad. The user rating the site is not even a customer so basically it makes no sense they should be able rate "Vendor reliability". Also their child safety rating makes no sense since i have seen sites with poor child safety but the site clearly states no service for children

    +2 Votes
  • Th
      May 06, 2013

    High level users are taking advantage of businesses. At first I was worried but then after searching the internet I see this is very common by mywot.com

    Complaints Board website even has a bad rating there.

    +2 Votes
  • Th
      May 06, 2013

    Again exact same problems. Even by posting here moderators will claim we are trying to spread lies. Check google and you will see many websites with the same exact problem. If you research what they are saying, you will see hateful comments made by highlevel users that are obviously untrue.

    +2 Votes
  • To
      Jun 29, 2016

    mywot.com is a FRAUD based site that users mass spammers to write untrue reviews about other websites, they have a false rating system, don't install their add on and just don't visit their website, i mean anyone can write anything about anyone even if it's not true, this website needs to be banned on the internet because is a FAKE BOGUS MASSIVE MISLEADING website on the web. mywot.com has been for a long time making good websites look bad, someone needs to take these fools down or to court and sue them for a few 100 million. If you want to be safe NEVER use this FRAUD website, all you need is maybe Norton 360 or Webroot Internet Security Complete with Malwarebytes and you will be safe on the web, mywot.ocm tracks everything about you so be careful!

    +2 Votes
  • To
      Feb 01, 2017

    fake and gay site. owner of this site (sami) is the biggest scammer. boycott this crap.

    +2 Votes
  • We
      Apr 21, 2017

    MyWOT.com is an extortion website, it seems they are on a long term plan, sooner or later they will ask for subscription to keep your website reputation good.
    You are absolutely right, those shadowy and wicked staff hide behind some fancy avatars. Let us all start by rating their App with 1* at Google Play.
    I can not understand who gave them the authority to play judge and God and prosecute honest people's websites, then use their chrome plug-in and Google Playstore App to steal your browsing history and mobile information. Firefox has banned their plugin

    +1 Votes
  • Ai
      Jul 12, 2017

    MyWOT is nothing more than a Reputations «dis-information» web-site full of sock-puppet astro-turfing shills who pervert the reality of what is credible inside-out; what can be considered as another «Orwellian» system that refers to the positive as negative, the good as bad, black as white, freedom as slavery, ignorance as strength, war as peace, and let's even add add the perversion that «fire melts steel» is regarded as truthful. Oh, and of course, they are not beyond promoting the CULT-belief that «curing cancer» is apparently a «crime» that must be punished.

    +1 Votes

Post your comment