SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Ms Roopa Agarwal, Lawyerunethical services — not attending court hearing after taking fees

1 Review updated:

I want to make a complaint against Roopa Agarwal, with her office at B-105, Deewani Nyayalaya, Lucknow, India. I approached her for fighting my wife's case involving harassment in office. She quoted Rs 77, 000 as her "full" fees. We paid her Rs 35, 000 as initial amount. She attended the case during the first hearing. After that she raised a demand of "vakalatnama charges" of Rs 5, 100, which was different from her fees. We protested, saying that this was not told to us earlier, and our liabilities were limited to Rs 77, 000. She insisted upon receiving Rs 5, 100 as vakalatnama charges apart from her fees. We refused to pay. She did not attend the second hearing. When we protested, she rudely replied that we were free to hire another lawyer if we were not satisfied with her services. We told her that it was too early to say whether her services were satisfactory, but she should stick to her originally demanded fees and not ask for more charges that have not been discussed earlier and agreed upon. We also told her that we would definitely want to hire another lawyer provided she returned the money she had taken from us. Neither she returned the money nor did she attend any more hearing. Recently I hired another lawyer to pursue the matter in the court.
Through this website I would like to tell any prospective clients looking out for a lawyer that Ms Roopa Agarwal is a greedy, unethical, and totally unprofessional person, lacking in any integrity or character. Please do not make the mistake that I had made.

Kirtan Ananda, Lucknow

Ki
Jul 26, 2018
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Su
      Jul 27, 2018

    May I use this forum to make a complaint against Roopa Agarwal, Lucknow-based lawyer with her office at B-105, Diwani Courts, Lucknow. I had marital problems with my husband and we started living separately. I approached Roopa Agarwal on September 23, 2017 at her office seeking legal help in getting monthly monetary support from my husband. She charged me Rs 75, 000 for the whole case. However, I could sense that she showed least interest in pursuing the case. It so transpired that after six months of persistent efforts of my family members and my husband's family members, my husband and I started living together again. I was truly shocked when my husband informed me that during the period of our hostilities he had come to know that I had hired the services of Roopa Agarwal and had approached her to ensure the case did not go in my favor. Roopa Agarwal charged him Rs 30, 000 for her services.
    When I asked her to return my money, she replied there is no question of paying the money back. She is an absolutely characterless person, , with no professional ethics or discipline. I am sharing my experience here so that innocent people who might want to deal with her can have second thoughts.

    Sushila Malhotra, Lucknow

    0 Votes
  • Je
      Aug 01, 2018

    @Sushila Malhotra Did Roopa Agarwal not ask you for sexual favors? There is lot of postings on the Net that this characterless lawyer seeks sexual favors from her clients on some pretext or the other. Though fortunately I never had any interaction with her, a search for lawyer led me to postings about Roopa Agarwal.

    Shailesh Kothari, Ahmedabad

    0 Votes
  • Ri
      Aug 08, 2018

    @Jeetendra Kachru I would like to narrate my experiences with Roopa Agarwal, with her office at B-105, Diwani Nyayalya, Lucknow. After I paid the first installment of Rs 15, 000 out of Rs 50, 000 agreed upon, she attended the hearing of my case only once. She insisted upon receiving the full remaining amount before the second hearing date, even though we had orally agreed that the remaining amount would be paid after six months. I paid her Rs 15, 000 and promised her that the rest would be paid within a month. But she did not attend the second hearing.

    Rohit Gowami, Lucknow

    0 Votes
  • Ri
      Aug 08, 2018

    @Rita Chhabra All the greed, wickedness, and characterlessness of Roopa Agarwal described in these postings pale into insignificance if I were to describe my experiences with her. I met her on 4th November 2016 at her office in B-105, Diwani Nyayalya, Lucknow. I paid her Rs 25, 000 as the first installment, out of a total of Rs 55, 000 for the full case. Thankfully she did not ask me for vakalatnama charges, standing charges, and other charges that she levies upon her hapless clients. After the second hearing, she called me to her chamber. When I went there she asked for a sexual favor. I was aghast and dumbfounded. I told her that I am only 23, and she seems to be well over 45. At least this age difference should have prevented her from making this unreasonable request. She said it was precisely because I was so young that she was asking me for this favor. I refused. She stopped attending to my case. She did not attend the third hearing.

    Gopal Mathur, Lucknow

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      Sep 05, 2018

    Roopa, why don't you pay off the money charged through lies and deceit? I am saddened by the whole affair because I belong to your community and you have tarnished the name of the whole community. Once you have paid off, you need to decide which profession suits your temperament and culture--prostitution of practicing law. Whatever choice you make stick to it and please always provide the services that you have paid for. Then this kind of situation will not arise.

    Rajkumar Samuel Aggarwal

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      Sep 05, 2018

    I fully agree with Rajkumar Aggarwal. Roopa has tarnished the image of the entire community. She must pay off all the monies illegally charged and choose between prostitution and practicing law.

    Giridhar Agarwal, Mumbai

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      Sep 05, 2018

    Nice to come across this page. I myself have been a victim of Roopa Agarwal. She charged me Rs 15, 000 as the first installment in a case. But she did not appear even once! She has not returned the money.

    Siddharth Menon, Lucknow

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      Sep 05, 2018

    Siddharth, you should have asked her whether she wanted sex with you before fulfilling her obligations to you. I am sure she would appeared in your case.

    Rashid Mohammed, Lucknow

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      Sep 05, 2018

    You are mistaken, Rashid. This characterless woman, Roopa Agarwal, can ditch you even after you have satisfied both her financial and sexual appetite. I have learnt this after losing Rs 25, 000 to her.

    Suresh Goswami, Lucknow

    0 Votes
  • Sa
      Sep 08, 2018

    I fully agree with Suresh Goswami. I paid Roopa Agarwal Rs 55, 000 for a case. She appeared twice. After that I had been to her office to discuss the case so far. She asked me for a sexual favor. I refused. She threatened she would not appear in my case unless I obliged her with a sexual favor. Lawyers are known to be people with low morality. But I had not expected the extent of their baseness till I met Roopa Agarwal. I told Roopa that she should return the money to me and I would hire another lawyer. She replied that I was free to hire another lawyer but the money would not be returned. I had to oblige Roopa with a sexual favor. However, she appeared in the case only one more time. After that she did not appear.

    Saurabh Suresh Bhatnagar, Lucknow

    0 Votes
  • Sa
      Sep 08, 2018

    Nice to have seen this page. I am a victim of this corrupt and characterless woman, Roopa Agarwal. She charged me Rs 60, 000 for a case. This was meant to be the full payment for the case. But during the course of time she made odd demands like vakalatnama charges, standing charges, seasonal charges, car-breakdown charges, and so on. I ended up paying Rs 76000 to her. She did appear for all the hearings, but I lost the case. Thankfully, she did not ask me for sexual favors.

    Girish Saxena, Lucknow

    0 Votes
  • Sa
      Sep 08, 2018

    Thank God I have seen this page. I was to hire the services of Roopa Agarwal for fighting a case that I believe clearly falls within the classification of women harassment. Roopa Agarwal is said to be an expert in such cases. But after reading about her greed and characterlessness in hundreds of posts on the Net, I have decided against using her services. I think also those people who have shared their experiences about this characterless woman.

    Neelu Sharma, Lucknow

    0 Votes

Post your comment