SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

[Resolved] MEM Property ManagementPoor service

Review updated:

Just had a very bad experience with MEM Property Management. If your Association is considering hiring MEM I suggest you thoroughly check out their background and reputation.Speak to your Auditor, banker or lawyer. Don't get fooled. They tend to bid low on the contract but then short change you on services in my opinion. Beware this property management company

  • Resolution statement

    Customer care service did everything in their power to resolve this complaint. All attempts to contact the complainant have failed. Therefore, this complaint has been annulled and must not be considered where image of the company in question and it's services are concerned.

  • MEM Property Management Customer Care's Response, Jun 21, 2012

    Your comments are totally incorrect this company has been around for 20+ plus years with a stellar reputation of property management

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ho
      Jul 31, 2012

    Well, what do you expect the company to say about themselves!!! DUH!

    -1 Votes
  • Da
      Apr 20, 2017

    @honestcritic negative nancy :(

    0 Votes
  • Ti
      Jan 12, 2019

    @honestcritic I would love to speak to anyone wanting to hire this company.

    +1 Votes
  • Bo
      Aug 03, 2012

    This company is terrible, just google them. THey don't even respond to the complaints against them on bbb.com!!

    -2 Votes
  •   Apr 20, 2017

    @Board member 123 Please feel free to call me at your convenience at [protected] ext. #9227 so I may have an opportunity to correct the difficulty you are having. Thank you.
    FYI your BBB Rating is A+ https://www.bbb.org/new-jersey/business-reviews/property-management/mem-property-management-corp-in-jersey-city-nj-24000228

    -1 Votes
  • Ti
      Jan 12, 2019

    @Board member 123 Buyer beware.

    0 Votes
  • An
      Nov 08, 2012

    I agree with the original post - MEM is a terrible company. They are not fiscally responsible and drove our community into a very deep financial pit that we are still trying to recover from.

    -2 Votes
  •   Apr 24, 2017

    @ANOTHER PAST CUSTOMER I am sorry you did not have positive experience, please call me at your convenience so we can make this right.

    Sincerely.
    Martin H. Laderman
    President
    [protected] ext 9227

    0 Votes
  • Ti
      Jan 12, 2019

    @Goodwin Management Inc. Another success story!

    0 Votes
  • Ph
      Feb 03, 2013

    MEM Property Management is by far the worst company I have had to work with. Their financial team does not follow GAAP, as they will move money from accounts to pay for things without your approval. Furthermore we have had the need to review all financial items as it seems we are now missing money. While this is still being done, MEM makes plenty of mistakes, and then makes you pay for them. Martin is a crook, and its no wonder why the company has gone from 300K in revenue to almost 2 mill. Be very careful around this company, and double check everything they do. As stated above numerous lawyers do not like him, and neither do the accountants. Its no wonder why he wants you to use his "people". Who ever wrote that comment from MEM about being around for 20 years must not know the power of the internet. You need a reality check as many other companies were around for longer, but with the power of the internet, the truth in companies spreads like wildfire. I highly suggest if your association is looking for a management company look elsewhere.

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Apr 20, 2017

    @phatvspec We did an intensive interviewing process and finally decided on mem property management.

    we switch from our old management company which was Taylor Property Management based on many factors but one main reason was the turnover in property managers was hurting us
    after speaking to mem property management references we where thoroughly won over

    0 Votes
  •   Apr 24, 2017

    @phatvspec Your experience is disappointing to us, please call me to discuss so I may look into this further and correct where necessary.

    Sincerely,
    Martin H. Laderman
    [protected] ext 9227

    0 Votes
  • Ti
      Dec 31, 2018

    @phatvspec This is spot on.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
      Jan 12, 2019

    @phatvspec Sounds familiar.

    0 Votes
  • To
      May 21, 2013

    I am the President of a condominium association in Somerset (375 unit) for the past 7.5 years and we have nothing but positive experiences, their account staff of 7 is top notch and they use the best account software (TOPS) and the are very helpful

    The property manager a polite and very helpful I TRULY BELEIVE THE NEGATIVE COMMENTS ARE UNIT OWNERS WHO WERE PLACED IN COLLECTIONS for non-payment of their monthly due, so MEM was doing the correct thing

    +1 Votes
  •   Apr 24, 2017

    @Tony DiMaria Thank you.

    Sincerely
    Martin H. Laderman
    [protected] ext 9227

    0 Votes
  • No
      Jun 11, 2013

    YOU ARE WRONG MR. PRESIDENT TONY DIMARINA. These negative comments are from everyone, clients, tenant, and owners, and as for your information I am an owner in Brookside Condos who is up to date on dues and I was till put into collections which is unethical. Unfortunately I can not afford a lawyer right now if I could I would sue the hell out of you and your corporation. MEM will try to the right thing only in the favor of MEM and never to work with their clients in a fair and just manor.

    +1 Votes
  • Ow
      Aug 03, 2013

    My condo building is being managed by MEM property. I can tell you that our budget has gone from 100k down to NOTHING! Now MEM is sending out letters telling owners to pay for special assessment that the majority of the board members did not approve because we ran out of money! WOW! I guess MEM thinks that money grows on trees! Do not do business with this management or you will get [censored]ED big time!

    -2 Votes
  •   Apr 24, 2017

    @Owner C Please call me or give me your contact information so I can get more details and investigate further.

    Sincerely,
    Martin H. Laderman
    President
    [protected] ext 9227

    0 Votes
  • Co
      Sep 15, 2013

    Martin Laderman is truly a jerk. He will not even try to listen to what you have to say. He is truly a crook. Live honest, you jerk.

    -1 Votes
  •   Apr 20, 2017

    @Complainer3 don't drag anyone else down with you. you must of voted for trump too

    0 Votes
  • I absolutely agree. I live in the Birch Glen development in Piscataway. I've been chasing MEM for 3+ months regarding an issue with birds, or some other type of animal, entering my chimney from outside. I've left NUMEROUS messages and no response. Regarding the chimney, you literally hear chirping and flutter behind my fireplace wall. It's horrible!! Especially when the animals are screaming to the top of their lungs during the night. My 7yr old is truly frightened to walk through the living room. When I finally spoke to someone from MEM, they sent a contractor to my house to review. He literally showed up unannounced, in the middle of the week, at 7:50am, just as my husband, daughter and I were leaving for work and school. WTH?! Then, on top of that, the guy smelled like a pint of rum and was rude! He came in, knocked on the fireplace, and said everything is ok cause he doesnt hear anything. Stayed for 5 minutes at most. He mentioned coming back to check the chimney cap and never returned.
    I've been trying to get in contact with them for months and finally spoke to a Property Manager named Tim. He was a horrible listener, kept talking over me, and said they're not responsible for the chimney?!!! So I have to handle it on my own. I told him that they have always maintained the chimney from the outside and I'm the original owner (10 years in the development). He kept cutting me off and barely listened to what I was trying to say. I'm so disappointed with them. I'll be sure to report them to the BBB asap. They need to be fired! If someone doesn't contact me soon, I'll also report them to our local news station. They need to be put on full blast .

    -2 Votes
  •   Apr 20, 2017

    @Bitter Townhome Owner in Piscataway I would really like to resolve your issue(s) immediately. So, if you could please communicate with me directly so that we may come to an amicable solution that would be greatly appreciated.

    You can reach me directly at [protected] ext. 9227 or if you would prefer that I contact you, please message me your contact information.

    -1 Votes
  • Just received an update from MEM regarding my "birds in the fireplace" situation. They just called to let me know that they are actually responsible for the chimney. So, now we are waiting for the contractor to schedule a date to visit. I sure hope it gets fixed soon. I will keep you posted...

    +1 Votes
  •   Apr 20, 2017

    @Bitter Townhome Owner in Piscataway Please feel free to call me at your convenience at [protected] ext. #9227 so I may have an opportunity to correct the difficulty you are having. Thank you

    -1 Votes
  • Ju
      Jun 06, 2014

    looks like the only ones making complaints are the ones in collections for not paying their obligations

    0 Votes
  •   Apr 20, 2017

    @Julie Cruz gotta pay the man

    -2 Votes
  • Pa
      Jul 09, 2014

    I am the President, of a 490 unit HOA. I signed a contract, with mem property management, the first time, back in 2012. It was for a 2 year term. mem property management, under the direction of Martin Laderman, and his professional staff, have gone above and beyond, my expectations, and in doing so, I’m glad to have signed up for another 2 year term. If you are looking for a professional New Jersey property management company, I would highly recommend you consider mem property management.

    -1 Votes
  •   Apr 24, 2017

    @Paul Kleinstien Thank you .

    Sincerely,
    Martin H. Laderman
    President
    [protected] ext 9227

    0 Votes
  •   Jul 29, 2014

    mem property management has been managing our community for the past 7 1/2 years. The only issues we have is unit owners complaining, who have to finally pay their maintenance fees and follow rules and regulations due to mem property management's excellent procedures that they have in place. I guess if you want no complaints. Just tell your management company not to enforce the rules.

    0 Votes
  •   Apr 24, 2017

    @Bob1956 Thank you.

    Sincerely,
    Martin H. Laderman
    President
    [protected] ext 9227

    -1 Votes
  • Sa
      Apr 20, 2017

    We recently purchased a townhouse in one of the communities managed by mem property management on the outset our first communications were pleasant and professional they help in our closing and made the move and introduction to the community quite pleasant, this was a refreshing change from our previous homeownership here in a New Jersey as you know first impressions are of a lasting one and we certainly appreciate the professionalism that was exhibited by the company's management department overall

    0 Votes
  •   Apr 24, 2017

    @Samel Patel Much appreciated.

    Sincerely,
    Martin H. Laderman
    President
    [protected] ext 9227

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Apr 20, 2017

    guys your posts are sooooooo old

    Click here:

    http://www.superpages.com/bp/jersey-city-nj/mem-property-management-co-inc-L2563083130.htm

    https://www.bbb.org/new-jersey/business-reviews/property-management/mem-property-management-corp-in-jersey-city-nj-24000228

    https://www.glassdoor.com/Reviews/mem-Property-Management-Reviews-E1386678.htm

    https://www.yelp.com/biz/mem-property-management-somerset-somerset

    http://www.memproperty.com/testimonials/

    -1 Votes
  • Ka
      Dec 10, 2018

    I have been living at Whitehall Manor for nearly 5 years. We have gone through a few management companies. MEM is by far the worse yet! My payments are submitted on time and cashed and then I'm receiving late notice fees and I have to constantly show proof I've paid. Our property looks terrible. We have trees that were destroyed last March in the storms and they should be removed. Instead - they have half chopped them down so they look like sticks in the ground. Really ridiculous looking. We have a board member that runs the community like a dictator. We don't have our driveways cleaned from snow - but we have lights put on trees and a Diwali celebration that was paid for out of community funds. I don't know what Diwali is and I can assure you that as long as I am alive - I will never want to know what Diwali is. I don't think this is something the entire community should be paying for. The Friday of Memorial Day we were notified that our pool wasn't going to be opening until July for unseen reasons. Well if you had eyes - you would have noticed the issues the prior summer. The tiles were literally falling off the sides of the walls of the pool. If the view from the pool wasn't bad enough from high tension wires - now we have this ridiculous shed to look at. I heard it was purchased with our funds and isn't even big enough to store anything - so I don't know what the purpose of this eye sore was. We have a lawsuit initiated by our idiot board member against past board members. He's lost this suit and just keeps appealing it with our money. I don't even know what the gain is - but I'm sure we have spent well over $200, 000 and its still continuing to date. We have unsecure monies - that's rights ladies and gentlemen our idiot board member and MEM think its wise to have our money unsecured in bank. We have neighbors who park in the fire zones. I've complained numerous times to MEM - to no avail. Every morning I have to be careful not to his this van. And my neighbor is nice enough to slam the doors on his van every morning starting at 5 a.m. causing me not to be able to sleep in my master bedroom. I had a neighbor on the side of me growing vegetable plants on his deck. Then he was nice enough to move them and keep in his garage. You can only imagine driving up to that mess every night. Our bylaws state no growing of vegetable plants. I complained numerous times to no avail and had bugs in my garage I had to deal with - plus the view of the plants. I was asked numerous times from others was it marijuana. How exciting is that! I finally had to ask the owner to have this tenant removed. MEM and board did nothing. If we complain about our board member or MEM - then MEM sends out some stupid ALERT email about vandalism to reflect off all the truths we put out there. There is no vandalism in our community. Our board member states that someone is going around knocking down lamp posts when in reality the lamp posts are old, not made very well, the weather beats them up. The only resident I've ever seen near the lamp posts is our stupid board member.

    +1 Votes

Post your comment