SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Kraft Velveeta CheeseWon't melt!!!

Review updated:

Just got a box Kraft Velveeta Cheese (used to use it on burgers, dogs, crackers, scrambled eggs grilled cheese sandwich and in a sauce on Pittsburg potatoes. It WON'T melt. Mixed it into hot mashed potatoes and ate it finding the same chunks of cheese unmelted??? put it on scrambled eggs in a cast iron pan with cover on it and after an extra long time the cheese looked like I just cut it and put it on; IT WON"T MELT.

What did Kraft do to it. I'm going to cheddar on my scrambled eggs and I don't know what I'll put in the sauce for Pittsburg potatoes but it won't be velveeta. Hope they look at this site some time for they only have a 20 or so word little box on their web site to send a complaint. Why did they change it??

Si
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ze
      Nov 19, 2010
    Best Best Advice

    I have been a faithful velveeta user for things like nachos and cheeseburgers. I recently bought a box of velveeta and it would not melt on my cheeseburger or as a grilled cheese and it tasted differently. I think Kraft has changed it!!

    +5 Votes
  • Ge
      Dec 20, 2010

    Bad batch? I recently purchased Velveeta that won't melt also. The end of the box is stamped with a best when used by date of 05 May 2011N5 22:02. I have no idea what's wrong with it, but it's ruined my macNcheese.

    +3 Votes
  • Lb
      Dec 26, 2010

    I thought it was just me! I've been using Velveeta Cheese for 30 years in my killer Mac & Cheese for Thanksgiving & Christmas dinner. Thise year for some reason it wouldn't melt. I thought I was doing something wrong. Now come to know that other people are having the same problem. This was just a stupid move on their part. They have now lost me.

    +2 Votes
  • Ch
      Apr 25, 2011

    i recently bought velveeta cheese for a recipe i've made a zillion times...this time, the cheeses wouldn't melt...i thought i just did something wrong...until my mom made a certain recipe for easter, (a different recipe than mine).. and the same thing happened to her...did velveeta change their recipe???

    +2 Votes
  • Sh
      Mar 11, 2012

    I thought maybe I was doing something different like keeping the cheese if the fridge too cold...But the last 3-4 boxes of cheese I bought would not melt. I use it in my grits, mac and cheese, now renamed mac and chunk cheese... I go through about a box a week and now it taste different and unless I put it in a pan separately and mix it with milk, it will not melt...So disappointed. If Kraft has changed their recipe, I say BOOO change it back...or for me and my house we will not be buying it any longer.

    +1 Votes
  • Hw
      Aug 20, 2012

    I had figured this out last Thanksgiving myself... i am so mad at Kraft for changing this recipe.. I have complained and so has my 78 year old mom who has cooked with it for years and there is definitely no fooling her. They claim nothing has changed but it definitely gets clumpy when heated too long (this used to never happen you could melt it over and over again) and it doesn't taste the same either. It has a chalky taste that almost has a little sweetness to it. Even my husband who would never notice this stuff cooked some cheese dip and said it tasted horrible. We have tried relentlessly box after box hoping it has changed back.. but with no avail. I will definitely not spend my money on anymore Velveeta. I will say an alternative that does pretty good is the KRAFT BLUE BOX DELUXE AMERICAN CHEESE. It does take a little longer to melt than the old Velveeta and isn't quite as creamy but has a great flavor and most of all it doesn't clump! If you use it in a recipe I recommend adding a little bit of water to your melted cheese and it won't be quite as thick.. I am talking just about 1/8 cup. Good Riddance VELVEETA.

    +3 Votes
  • No
      May 10, 2013

    Velveeta used to be the bomb. I could eat it in slices. it is awful now. the consistency is weird. Not smooth like it used to be. Doesn't melt and the taste is completely different. They changed the recipe to save $ I bet. Won't be buying it again. It was a staple at our home especially when I was growing up. So sad and disappointing

    +2 Votes
  • Ja
      Jun 11, 2013

    Like many people, I've always loved Velveeta. Been eating it for 50 years. I recently bought a box, and it tasted really terrible. What was that burning sensation in my mouth afterwards, that would not go away? I checked the ingredients to find that they are now using Canola oil. Cheap, budget, terrible tasting Canola oil. The industrial oil that was once primarily used to lubricate steam engines. Before they started feeding it to humans. Two pounds, minus one slice, into the garbage can.

    +3 Votes
  • Sa
      Jun 30, 2013

    I agree that the velveeta is just not like it used to be. I made scalloped potatoes and the velveeta was like currdled. It was not creamy thinking I had an old box I bought a new one and it did the same thing. Im staying away from velveeta.

    +2 Votes
  • Mo
      Aug 10, 2013

    Bought Kraft American singles, and cheese won't melt !

    +1 Votes
  • St
      Sep 01, 2013

    Check the boxes, they changed the recipe, I can only find the old recipe at sams club, once they run out I am no longer going to be using velveeta again. This new stuff claims to be 45 percent less fat, I noticed that box next to some of the old boxes and checked out the information on the boxes and noticed lots of differences. The new stuff doesn't melt even though it claims to, I use a slice every morning on my breakfast sandwich and I can tell the difference between the two. Good luck finding the old recipe, its still out there, but not for long.

    +1 Votes
  • Lo
      Sep 21, 2013

    Velveeta is awful! I just spent a bunch of money to make a great Queso Dip and ended up throwing it out! What did Kraft do to the Velveeta??? It doesn't stay melted. One big lump of crap now.

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Jan 22, 2014

    I purchased a box of Velveeta to make queso and it did not melt. Put it in the microwave and the stove and it would not melt. Disgusting! I will not purchase Velveeta again.

    +1 Votes
  • Tr
      Feb 07, 2014

    Okay can we all agree that NO ONE ON THIS PLANET ever ate Velveeta because it was healthy! It was a fun food to eat and make dips with, grilled cheese sandwiches, etc. I bought some for a Superbowl party and I could not have been more disappointed if I tried!! It does NOT melt, get creamy or taste the same!!! If you try and melt in the microwave you have a window of about 10 seconds before it becomes a gelatonous MESS!!! And the reason why??? Because someone thought it would be a great idea to remove the fats that make the cheese smooth, meltable and creamy!!! WHY WOULD YOU DO THIS KRAFT!?!? I have enough people worrying about my weight I don't need Big Brother watching it as well!!! Put the fats back in please!! Oh and by the way, why is Kraft charging so damn much for this "new and improved" crap!??? UGH!!!

    +1 Votes
  • De
      Feb 10, 2014

    I've been making Ro-Tel dip with Velveeta cheese for forty years, using the same recipe my mother used in her double-boiler on the stove top. I bought a brick of Velveeta at New Year's to take my "signature" Ro-Tel dip to a party, and lo and behold! IT WOULD NOT MELT. To say I was disappointed would be an understatement. Seeing all of the comments above, it's clear that the recipe has changed. Unless the original recipe is reinstated, so that it MELTS, you've lost me. And I'm so sad about it!

    -1 Votes
  • Li
      Feb 15, 2014

    We just bought shredded mozzarella and I don't know what crazy mad lab technician came up with recipe but it is HORRIBLE!!! It's no wonder we all have cancer because this crap is definately man made. It won't melt and turns into some kinda weird gross muck. Will never buy again and won't buy velveeta period.

    +1 Votes
  • Lo
      Feb 17, 2014

    Why did Kraft change Velveeta cheese?? i always had a box in my fridge and loved to cut a few slices and eat it with a toasted bagel and tomato juice... it has a new box and the cheese is tacky and sticky and tastes so different in a very bad way. i was so disappointed, actually disgusted with the last box that i through it away which cost me almost $9. Why would Kraft change something that was so unique and good? i will never purchase another box again. Neither will my Mother who is 90yrs old and loved Velveeta!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Feb 25, 2014

    I was on my 3rd loaf of Velveeta thinking something was wrong with them. Texture was no longer creamy and the taste was off too! Finally figured it out that they had to have done something different to it. I too grew up eating Velveeta and it was always the one I would choose for a grilled cheese etc. Now I won't buy it again because of this. Such a shame! They had a good thing going.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Jun 01, 2014

    I was upset that Velveeta was $6.88 anyway but I had to buy it for a fudge recipe that I have used over a dozen times. When I opened the Velveeta, the block was a lot softer than usual. It didn't melt right, stayed stringy, and my fudge is now so oily that I don't know if it will take. I have bought Velveeta for over 20 years but this will be my last time. You raise the price and then lower the quality. New and improved...nope.

    0 Votes
  • Na
      Sep 24, 2014

    The cheese does not melt. It ruined my mostachollie. I replaced my Velveeta with Colby Jack. So far that cheese melts. It was great and it makes a great grilled sandwich. Not like the Velveeta cheese that just sat there like a lump muck.
    I know what the problem is. They reduced the fat content. I save the boxes to put things in and I just happen to have lots of old boxes and I compared them. Any time you see a box that says reduced fat or new and improved, DON'T buy it. Something will be wrong with it.
    I just grabbed the Velveeta box off the shelf and didn't even look at it. I never dreamed Kraft would ruin a good product like Velveeta.
    When you reduce the fat content in certain foods they don't melt. They need fat to melt. I'm surprised Kraft didn't think of that and they should know.
    Anyway, who died and left Mrs. O in charge of our diets. I buy a product for what it contains not what it doesn't contain. Stay out of our food and stop pushing stuff down our throats that we don't want. Some of us like good food.
    All the negative complaints stand for themselves. I think Kraft just lost a lot of business and this was one of their best sellers. Even the Deluxe cheese doesn't melt anymore.
    Sorry Kraft, you lost my business.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
      Oct 03, 2014

    Just tried melting it with salsa for a chip dip. It looked like curdled milk/ cottage cheese when done, and tasted terrible. We are throwing the rest of the box away and will never purchase again.

    0 Votes
  • Lk
      Oct 26, 2014

    Just purchased my Velveeta for grilled cheese...tasted gritty and a bit sour and off tasting ! Like many other brand name products, this, too has been--"REFORMULATED"...actually, ruined is more like it. My box is going back to the store for a refund. Thankyou for this site...and no more Velveeta for me.

    +1 Votes
  • Sa
      Nov 03, 2014

    It's definitely different. I too kept thinking I had an old block or a bad batch. Had anyone found a substitute more like the old version?

    0 Votes
  • J0
      Nov 25, 2014

    All my life we have had a block of velveeta in our fridge, but no more. Kraft has changed it. The taste is terrible and the texture gritty. Yuck.

    0 Votes
  • L4
      Dec 13, 2014

    Just bought a box of velveeta, taste is terrible. Would like to have the old velveeta back. Not buying any more until kraft puts out a statement saying they are going back to there old formula.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Jan 11, 2015

    Please go back to the original product we loved.

    +1 Votes
  • Je
      Jan 17, 2015

    I just made a lasagna and bought velveeta shreds the cheese never melted on top an tasted nasty. A $30 meal trashed. What is the deal.with cheese. Its meant to melt bring the good stuff back. Velveeta you have lost a velveeta loving family.

    +1 Votes
  • Ar
      Mar 04, 2015

    you have ruined my 25 dollars worth of ingredients for two homemade pizzas I want my money back or I am going back to krogers and demand they throw you out of their stores will post this on Facebook everyday for a year if I don't see a change this was veveeta shredded mozarella

    +1 Votes
  • Ch
      Mar 13, 2015

    Kraft...what did you do??? Have used Kraft Velveeta for over 40 years and I have always had great results. Now it SUCKS!!! Won't melt, slimy when cutting, clumps, ruins everything we try to cook with it. Why screw up what was always good other than for you to save money? Won't buy it again!!!

    +1 Votes
  • M0
      May 26, 2015

    What is Velveeta good for, anymore? Not a thing!! What a pointless product - that I will never spend another dime on!

    +1 Votes
  • Ms
      May 31, 2015

    They have absolutely changed the formula... right around the time there was a "shortage" It is paler, less flavorful, and has a consistency as if flour or other starch has been added as a filler. It is HORRIBLE. It does not melt properly at all. The first box I thought maybe was a counterfeit, so I went to a different store and bought another, Same garbage. SHAME on you Kraft. Velveeta has been a trusted ingredient for me for 40 years... and I will now never buy it again.

    +1 Votes
  • Al
      Jun 11, 2015

    I'm done with it, too. I used it for stovetop mac 'n cheese just now, grilled cheese when I didn't have American, etc., always tried to keep a box with the cheese double wrapped once cut. This is my second box that tastes unpleasant; it is flavored with something but I don't know what. I did finally get it to melt when I cut it up in little cubes but it took a lot longer and I added some milk and butter. I will never buy a box of this again. I found a copycat called MOMveeta and am going to try that and will have to go the white sauce with American and sharp cheddar route. I might also try another brand like Aldi's but I compared it before Kraft changed it and the real deal was better back then. Alice Gless, Davenport, Iowa

    0 Votes
  • Ve
      Jun 27, 2015

    I have bought this product for years and never until now have I had a problem getting it out of the wrapper. I waste most of it trying to peel it off so therefore most of it is wasted. Please think of an idea to solve this problem or I will have to change products which I do not want to do.

    0 Votes
  • El
      Jul 30, 2015

    I used. Elveeta shredded cheese for the 1st time in my lasagna..it came out creamy and waxy tasting..totally gross..ruined my food..that was expensive to make!

    0 Votes
  • Re
      Jul 30, 2015

    Why would anybody in their right mind use any type of Velveeta Cheese in Lasagna?

    +1 Votes
  • Sa
      Aug 11, 2015

    The big block of velveeta has changed. When using it to make rotel cheese dip, it now has a sweet grainy texture. It's just not the same. My kids used to love the individual cups of velveeta mac & cheese but the noodles have shrunk and no longer soften & expand. So, we tried the large box & it tastes horrible. Changing the formula to placate the health nuts won't do anything but drive away your loyal fan base. Health conscious people don't eat your product & never will. Good riddance, Kraft.

    +2 Votes
  • Tr
      Aug 26, 2015

    I'll chime in.

    My late grandmother, from the old country basically, made two types of Pierogies- Sour Krout and potato and VELVEETA cheese. It was simply all I would look forward to any time she was making them. I would ceremoniously steal a couple of slices all to myself, and go straight to heaven. It melted perfectly into the potato prep for the filling for them. They were every bit a family tradition BECAUSE of the taste. because of Velveeta.
    We grew up with it in the big box in the refrigerator. It was un touched until pierogie time each x-mass.
    I carried on the tradition (skipped my Mom) and made them from the same special recipe I knew from childhood.
    Up until a few years ago that is when Kraft execs changed it into the gelatinous sludge it is today.

    Thanks for screwing up a childhood memory Kraft. You s#ck entirely every bit of balls I can imagine.

    I'll be trying cheddar, but it won't be the same. EVER. But it's better than serving my guests (and my mouth) wax instead of cheese.

    +1 Votes
  • Me
      Sep 10, 2015

    So can anyone tell me why this happend to my son's Velveeta Mac n'cheese?
    And then destroyed my Toaster?
    And yes I added water, took the cheese out & cooked no longer than the directed time !
    I followed instructions as I did with previous purchases of Velveeta mac n cheese. Now I'm not only loosing money for the Product, but I also LOST A TOASTER!

    0 Votes
  • Gy
      Sep 15, 2015

    Velveeta no longer tastes or melts the same. It used to be creamy and flavorful. Now it has an odd texture and does not melt right. Why did they change the recipe?????

    +1 Votes
  • Pj
      Sep 23, 2015

    Well, I have purchased my last package of Velveeta slices. I went to the Internet to see if others were complaining about this product and not surprisingly they are. I have been using Velveeta slices probably for some 30 yrs, however, within the past year or so I noticed a change. I just did not like eating it anymore. I frequently have an open faced sandwich melting the cheese on top of bread in the toaster over and while I had no problem getting it to melt I find the taste is just lousy in addition to the fact that the cheese then sticks to my front teeth which never happened in the past. There is a definite change in the cheese and once again the taste is awful. Probably it is a cost saving effort by Kraft changing some ingredient but in doing so they are losing their loyal customers which will cost them in the long run.

    +2 Votes

Post your comment