Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

GreenGeeks Hosting

Posted:    

BEWARE

Complaint Rating:  92 % with 12 votes
92% 12
4.6
Contact information:
GreenGeeks Hosting
Santa Monica, California
United States
greengeeks.com
I used GreenGeeks for 2 months with my new website and they suspended me because of excessive use of my website ( 200 hits a day ) I paid for a year in advance for unlimited Space, Unlimited Bandwidth. They refuse to talk with me on the phone and said they will only email about this. They turned me off with no warning, no chance to get a backup of my site so I could move it or anything.
I am out my 1 year in advance I paid them and not service. DO NOT TRUSDT GREENGEEKS HOSTING
Complaint comments Comments (31) Complaint country United States Complaint category Computers & Accessories

Comments

Sort by: Date | Rating
A  23rd of Oct, 2014 by    0 Votes
GG support is really very poor. Haven't really had trouble with website hosting, however we have a lot of down time concerning our email accounts. We try the Live Chat option, get a robotic response giving some apparent "solutions" that never work. Have to open a ticket. It's hours before you get your email back again. Made a complaint about it to Customer Service. No response. I certainly wouldn't recommend going for this service, it simply isn't up to par with business needs.
A  13th of Nov, 2014 by    0 Votes
Completely fraudulent and completely unwilling to refund money back. Real crooks and using the name "green" to just get people to sign up, find out they do not provide what is needed, then refuse to pay back money.

It took me a few emails to get my first year refunded back in full which I decided within 2-3 days of registering. They told me they could not refund me in full because they registered a domain for me - this was impossible since my domain name was not the proper extension (which was also the reason they stated for not being able to have it transferred). Now fighting to get improper charges of a services upon when I received the invoice and I told them I did not want and responded - also sent in a cancellation on the spot (I have all email and timestamps to prove this) but they still went ahead a few hours later and charged my credit card. You cannot charge people without letting them know the full amount of a service and you cannot charge people's credit cards after they tell you they do not WANT the service. And then refuse to refund it! The only email I received when asking for this was that they will not respond to this matter anymore and will not refund my money.

So running away with my money and responding no more customer service for you. Thanks. Worst decision ever! Filed charges with my credit card company and willing and going to expose this deceptive practice.
A  24th of Feb, 2015 by    0 Votes
In fact GreenGeeks makes "30-day NO Money Back Guarantee, Hidden Fees" very well.
many cheatings made by GreenGeeks.
in GreenGeeks, they post "30-day Money Back Guarantee, No Hidden Fees", in fact it is "30-day NO Money Back Guarantee, Hidden Fees" I provide all details about how GreenGeeks makes "30-day NO Money Back Guarantee, Hidden Fees" very well.
Nov 8 2014 ---I paid $239.52 for one year reseller plan.
Nov 22 2014 ---write ticket to asked refund, wanted my money back.
Dec 1 2014 ----I made cancellation ticket, and ask when I can get my money back, then nobody answer me any more
Dec 10, 2014 ---I have to chat room ask Nick V in GreenGeeks, told to me "Your ticket is being worked on, you are requested to please wait for our billing team to get back to you."
but their billing team didn't come back to me untill feb 18 2015 after I came to their chat room to ask this cancellation, then got email to me "I am sorry but refund is not applicable now." English is not my native language, I work so hard to make effort . but I really don't believe I can get money back here.
right now, my effort for customer know what is going on in GreenGeeks. this company really can't be put your trust on it right now . but how could I do with this so bad thing . I don't know. by communicating with them many times, many unreasonable thing are created by GreenGeeks. I have got many terminates in chat room by Nick V, other repesantatives, unreasonable things means it is full of evil. I can judge Greengeeks is evil. nick v is evil
I answer them two times "please let money back", operator in GreenGeeks chat room told me this "please let money back" is not clear confirmation, I should answer them "yes, i want to cancel" is clear confirmation. they play me, also play other customer. then I ask them the reason, they all became cheating creator, or kick me out of chat room. GreenGeeks is hatch of cheators.
A  27th of Jun, 2015 by    0 Votes
Problems after problems. Been with them for 3 years and I've had enough. Last week we were left with 13 customers without email for a full day, the reason: Opps, we changed DNS by mistake. This is only but ONE issue I've had over the years. Countless times I've asked management to call or even email. Did they? Nop.. STAY AWAY you are warned.
A  5th of Jul, 2015 by    +1 Votes
Green Geeks is the worst company I have ever dealt with. Their service is abominable, the staff is rude and condescending, and it is next to impossible to cancel an account. I have been trying since December 2013 to cancel my account. All my attempts go nowhere -I just keep receiving automated emails stating that they are unable to fulfill my request because of inaccurate information. What??? So, I fill out the cancellation form again and again. Same automated email comes back. I have been trying to do as they ask, thinking it is probably me doing something wrong. However, after countless emails and endless frustration, I really believe they are messing with me, simply because I want to cancel. As of this writing, I am still unable to cancel my account, having received yet another automated email today stating that they cannot fulfill my request because of inaccurate information. As a small business owner, I am appalled by this, and truly perplexed. Why would a company resort to such tactics? It is disheartening.
So, consider yourself warned.
N  8th of Jan, 2016 by    +1 Votes
Scam web hosting. I paid 3 years in advance some hours and I wanted a refund. I was the only one who used the site and the limits got high!!! The limited the site's resources they lied about everything they said they're really mean liars. After more than 7 days of contacting many times per day they partially refunded me, they claimed a setup fee of like 15$ and a 14$ for the domain name that was allegedly FREE!! damn it greengeeks.
I fell into their trap I lost my money in vain. I failed the project I wanted to build.. I hated the web because of them...i can't trust any web host anymore
N  13th of Feb, 2016 by    +1 Votes
I've been with greengeeks for several years. The upsides outweigh the negatives. The support at level 1 is relatively technically astute (compared to godaddy, bluehost or networksolutions as a few examples, who know nothing except how their own website works usually). They are pretty patient too. I have had problems over the years, some of them our fault, and still the help ranged from "saved our butts" to decent (sometimes the level 2 techs need a little extra push; some are a little resistant to review in depth until you have exhausted your own research I think, even when they know it might be their server issues), but I don't think any service is flawless. I like greengeeks overall. I guess that is better than neutral.
N  14th of Apr, 2016 by    -1 Votes
#JCH-871-16444 - Created on 6th April 2016
#ERP-779-52966 - Created on 3rd April 2016
Really very very bad support from billing team. NO RESPONSE since 11days now. They have debited my Credit card & I don't even have any account with them. I had purchased one account but I cancelled it because the price HIGHLIGHTED on website is NOT ACTUALLY GIVEN. ALSO, they have deducted some amount while refund. The Service is pathetic. Hoping to get response after reading this on blog. Attached is the print screen of chat & still now response.
A  26th of Jul, 2016 by    +1 Votes
This review is way too nice. Greengeek's constant issues with technical problems, dingbat tech support, and other failures, has cost my company $3000 to date. Down time of domains and email is frequent. And since Greengeeks has inferior techs, it takes a day to more to get it back up. And Greengeeks likes to NOT give money back even when its their fault. Now we have to find a new host service and spend more money migrating.

Greengeeks is toxic.
A  6th of Oct, 2016 by    0 Votes
There are two sides with the Green Geeks that I can comment:
The first is amazing and that is customer support including a live chat which is always helpful. Their customer service is very helpful and they definitely know what they are doing!

The second side is HORRIBLE and that is their hosting itself, more specifically their VPS plans. As of today, their VPS plans are more expensive than the competition and in comparison their processor is much slower, with less RAM and less bandwidth. The only pro is the use of SSD versus regular HDD and the use of renewable energy which is to be applauded.

For the rest, the server keeps crashing over and over on a daily basis which has never happened with another hosting company I used, same plugins, same setup and same size, # of visitors, nothing out of the ordinary. I cannot count on them. They have potential but for now, thumbs down!!!
A  24th of Feb, 2017 by    0 Votes
I have canceled the plan before actually using the hosting because I saw this thread. It's been already 1 month since I canceled. I have sent numerous emails and called the support team also but they just keep saying I will see the refund soon. This company is a complete fraud you should avoid at all costs.

Post your Comment

Please check text spelling before submitting a comment
Your attitude towards Complaint Agree Neutral Disagree
Comment text
Attach photos (optional)

GreenGeeks Logo GreenGeeks
Customer Care Service
5739 Kanan Rd Suite 300
Agoura Hills
California
United States - 91301
+1 877 326 XXXX
View Full Information
Contact Us
bdomains.com
     

Reply to

Send