The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Budget Truck Rental / unauthorized billing - scam

1 3101 N. State Rd. 7Hollywood, FL, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 954-926-3375

On 9/11/08, I entered into a one way (Georgia to Fort Lauderdale, FL) 5 day truck rental agreement with Budget Truck Rental (separate billing and payment from this dispute).
Upon my arrival on 9/15/08 and subsequent unloading, I called Budget for information on the drop off location - Budget Truck Rental of Hollywood 3101 N. State Road 7 Hollywood, FL. 33021. I was told that the location had closed at 6:00 pm and that they had a drop box that I could use and that they were a "corporate center". I decided to wait for rush hour traffic to subside and my wife's arrival from work in order to get a ride back home. We left the house at approximately 9:00 pm and stopped at a Hess Gas Station (time, dated and addressed receipt made available to Budget's Customer Service Rep.) along the way to top off the fuel tank. Upon my arrival at Budget Truck Rental of Hollywood, I parked the truck, locked the doors and dropped the key and documents into a drop box.

On Saturday 9/20/08 while on line I noticed an unauthorized debit on my card in the amount of $234.58 from Budget Truck Rental. I immediately called Customer Service and was told that the charge was due to the truck having been delivered two days late (in reality I delivered the truck 12 hours early) and disputed the charge. After several vexing calls thereafter to Budget's Franchise and Customer Service, I was only offered to "meet me half way" which I refused as I found this offer unacceptable.


It "seems" that:

I was mislead as to the drop box and "corporate center" status of the franchise location.

A large 24' Diesel Budget Rental Truck (parked in front of a small building (this was not a corporate center as advised) on a nearly empty lot is not seen or processed by two Budget Franchise employees (Mr. Christian Delgadillo, the owner and Mr. Marcus Williams, his assistant) till two and a half days later.

It also turns out that the drop box I was advised to use “does not exist” and the drop box I used belongs to another business in this small (as there are three businesses associated in this building - J & S Painting, J & R Title Loans and Budget Truck Rental of Hollywood) building and the key was not therefore made available till an employee from J & R Title Loans decided to "turn in the key" to the Budget Franchise - two and a half days later on Thursday, September 18th, 2008. FYI, distance between the two businesses: one wall thickness!

It is my contention, that the events that have transpired are borderline fraudulent, and at best, bad business practices for both the local franchise and Budget Car Rental, Inc. What follows is a Time Line of Events in my futile attempt at resolution of these unjust and unwarranted charge.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Fr
      24th of Sep, 2008
    0 Votes

    On 9/11/08, I entered into a one way (Georgia to Fort Lauderdale, FL) 5 day truck rental agreement with Budget Truck Rental (separate billing and payment from this dispute).
    Upon my arrival on 9/15/08 and subsequent unloading, I called Budget for information on the drop off location - Budget Truck Rental of Hollywood 3101 N. State Road 7 Hollywood, FL. 33021. I was told that the location had closed at 6:00 pm and that they had a drop box that I could use and that they were a "corporate center". I decided to wait for rush hour traffic to subside and my wife's arrival from work in order to get a ride back home. We left the house at approximately 9:00 pm and stopped at a Hess Gas Station (time, dated and addressed receipt made available to Budget's Customer Service Rep.) along the way to top off the fuel tank. Upon my arrival at Budget Truck Rental of Hollywood, I parked the truck, locked the doors and dropped the key and documents into a drop box.

    On Saturday 9/20/08 while on line I noticed an unauthorized debit on my card in the amount of $234.58 from Budget Truck Rental. I immediately called Customer Service and was told that the charge was due to the truck having been delivered two days late (in reality I delivered the truck 12 hours early) and disputed the charge. After several vexing calls thereafter to Budget's Franchise and Customer Service, I was only offered to "meet me half way" which I refused as I found this offer unacceptable.


    It "seems" that:

    I was mislead as to the drop box and "corporate center" status of the franchise location.

    A large 24' Diesel Budget Rental Truck (parked in front of a small building (this was not a corporate center as advised) on a nearly empty lot is not seen or processed by two Budget Franchise employees (Mr. Christian Delgadillo, the owner and Mr. Marcus Williams, his assistant) till two and a half days later.

    It also turns out that the drop box I was advised to use “does not exist” and the drop box I used belongs to another business in this small (as there are three businesses associated in this building - J & S Painting, J & R Title Loans and Budget Truck Rental of Hollywood) building and the key was not therefore made available till an employee from J & R Title Loans decided to "turn in the key" to the Budget Franchise - two and a half days later on Thursday, September 18th, 2008. FYI, distance between the two businesses: one wall thickness!

    It is my contention, that the events that have transpired are borderline fraudulent, and at best, bad business practices for both the local franchise and Budget Car Rental, Inc. What follows is a Time Line of Events in my futile attempt at resolution of these unjust and unwarranted charge.

  • Ro
      16th of Oct, 2008
    0 Votes

    I would like to lodge a complaint regarding my Budget Rental experience. I was miss guided/wrongly informed regarding the insurance portion and charged, when it should have been explained correctly. I expressed my concern and disagreement but signed form to ensure the car was covered even though I have car insurance and was covered under my insurance and that was told to represenative but inisited that I should sign for the coverage, otherwise if I had an accident the car would be solely my responsibility. I was headed to a funeral of a close family member and not on my toes but not clear on why this had changed but I plan to check-up later before turning the car in or making a call to the company, which I did and found out the information given was not ture. I discussed with a represenative upon car return and discussion was going in the wrong direction I was bascially accussed of lieing without the words coming out of his mouth. I ended the conversation not to be late for my departure and refused to sign document provided and requested that a manager/supv give me a call to discuss further. I have discussed this with a Mr. Arthur Jackson @ DFW Rental manager. Pending closure to date. If I can get any help with this issue on correcting a wrong, please give me a call or send me an email (904) 232-1623, this situation has upset me greatly! Thanks

  • Ir
      3rd of Oct, 2009
    0 Votes

    I too have had a terrible experience with Budget Truck Rental. I returned the truck on a Sunday, when it wasn't due back until Wednesday at a Sacramento, CA location located in downtown. The location was supposed to be open until 12 noon. We arrived at 11:30 and the door was locked and lights were off. Clearly they had closed down early. The truck was filled with gas that morning around the corner from the location. I have a receipt to prove it. I too checked my on line credit card statement and saw a Budget Truck Rental charge of $214. When I called the customer service number I was told that the fuel line had been cut and gas siphoned. Because the location had closed early, I had to put the keys in the drop box, even though we rushed around Sunday morning to get the truck there on time so it could be returned to a human being. Apparently, I am responsible for any damage done to the truck until the keys are retrieved from the drop box. I have called customer service several times and every time I call I get a different answer as to what I am being charged for. I have heard the fuel line thing, graffiti and fuel, misc. damage and fuel, and also just that it wasn't filled up at all. I am completely frustrated and enraged about the way this situation has been handled, or the lack there of. If you are considering a move, do not go with Budget. Once they have your over $1600 for the truck, they will continue to find reasons to charge you even more. Terrible customer service and borderline fraudulent practices in regards to the "misc." charges.

  • Ja
      10th of Jun, 2011
    0 Votes

    I NEED help. Budget Truck and Car rentals from Vancouver Gilmore Street location is committing insurance fraud. There doesn’t seem anything I can do; can someone recommend a course of action I could take? I’ll explain my situation fully so you understand what happened.

    On March 25th 2011 I rented a truck just after 5pm from Budget. I took it to my apartment complex and parked it in a large, obstruction free zone. I did my load, move, and unload that night. I returned the vehicle with ZERO incidents at 7:30 AM, just in front of the store, and dropped the keys off.

    It was reported to me over TWO MONTHS later on May 30th by first a $336 charge on my VISA, a couple of days later I get a letter in the mail stating they found a dent. So what happened to the vehicle from my drop off time to a mysterious $336 charge on my VISA? This should have been reported to me BEFORE the truck was rented to anyone else, so I could have come and visibly seen what they were claiming.

    I am shown one black and white photo where I can see no damage at all (I can barely see that it’s a picture of a truck). I challenged the quality of the photo saying I can’t see anything and Budget actually wrote me saying, “We have tried different ways to take the pictures with cameras, phones etc and the black berry seems to do a better job.” They also no longer have the picture on file, so I’ll never be able to see it in color (or a date stamp on it).

    Budget’s ‘audit’ of damage process prior to pick up didn’t actual verify that area was dent free on initial inspection (upper cab area above the drivers side). It is important for the purpose of comparison to validate a dent free area vs. where they are claiming the damage currently. I looked at trim, tires and front hood area.

    NOW, that I am trying to dispute this, they are threatening me…HELP ME PLEASE.

    In regards to the repairs needed to the truck, Budget first told me, “We chose to have the dent fixed, rather than replace the panel which would have exceeded the $1000.00.” I guess they were saying that they did me a favor, BUT if a dent can be fixed, why would they consider replacing it?
    I challenged this, saying I didn’t want any cost, fix or replaced, since I knew I didn’t cause the damage. This upset Budget, and they started to threaten me, they said, “The truck in question has not been fixed it will go to the manufacturer that built the box and if properly repaired the bill will be over $1000.00..So when we get the estimate I will be happy to send it to you.” And then their manager reiterated this by also saying, “To properly repair the vehicle back to the condition it was prior to your rental would cost well over $1, 000 so for customer service reasons we decided to only bill you $336.00 and do a partial repair. In light of your concerns Budget will send the vehicle to the manufacturer and obtain a proper estimate and adjust your invoice.” So, Janine Potter, their Claims Manager is threatening me to charge me more…when I’m saying I shouldn’t be charged at all, this is their customer service? What’s a partial repair?

    I am being attacked by this company, can someone please help me?? What rights do I have?
    Needless to day, Budget is in bed with the devil (or they are the devil), and I will NEVER do business with them again. I hope all who reads this will do the same.

Post your comment