Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

Botach Tactical / Scam

Los Angeles, CA, United States Review updated:
4.65
Worst company ever. Placed order, and within 24 hours my CC was charged and item showed shipped. UPS only said billing info received. Called a week later to find out it was backordered. I requested they cancel my order and refund my money. Checked every two days to no refund. Called every two days only to be assured it would be refunded that day. Finally, a month later, I threatened to refuse the charge. They then agreed to process the refund right there as I was on the phone. One week later, no refund was processed. I called back, and was told it would be processed that week. End of that week no refund, so I finally refused charges, and my CC company refunded the money same day. Don't listen to their BS customer service reps, they are liars. Their game is to get you to wait long enough until it is past the time length to be able to refuse charges. The entire company is a scam, buyer beware!!! Company is a complete scam and headache.
Fp
0

Comments

Sort by: UpDate | Rating
Va
  18th of Jun, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

Botach Tactical - Do not use them
Botach Tactical
United States

This company has the worst customer service ever. Nobody wants to take ownership of your problem and help you. When you call them expect to feel like you are interrupting their manicure. I placed an order with them and paid for next day because I needed it in a hurry. When I got my package it was short some items. When I called they told me they "FORGOT" some of my stuff. After I got past that they said they had put it in the mail already.

Well mail was right, I got it 9 days later. The person I spoke to said, well I can transfer you to the warehouse manager. He is the one that sent it. Never got to talk to him. When I asked for the manager they told me he is not at the store and I could have his address to write him a letter. This company does not deserve to make any money from anyone. I will never use this company again and have told all my fellow Devil Dogs to stay far from them. I could run a better business from the back of my truck.
Ta
  14th of Aug, 2009
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Placed an order with Botach Tactical and received a call that one of the items was out of stock. I called them back the next day, and they told me half the order was now out of stock. I looked on their website, and changed one of the items, adding something else, and they said ok, and hung up.

The next day, I wanted to call to verify because I received no email updating my order, nothing. So I give them a call, and the item that I had added the day prior was now out of stock as well. I cancelled the entire order, as they give you the run around. The first day, the customer service rep was very nice, but the second day, a different lady was completely nasty. I would rather pay twice the price elsewhere, than deal with them, and I love deals!
Kb
  8th of Oct, 2009
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
This company is the second most frustrating company I have ever dealt with. Noone can help with any questions without checking with someone else who will not return your call. Even after I emailed to cancel my order I never received a reply (due to everything being on backorder-which wasn't mentioned when they happily charged my credit card immediately upon my order). Some of my phone calls were not returned. Some of my emails were not returned. I still haven't heard back from someone regarding why they can't pay for the shipping to return my items.
Bo
  16th of Nov, 2009
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Hi, My name is Dan and I am a rep at Botach Tactical.
I am sorry your experiences with Botach Tactical did not go smoothly. I want to let you know that we are commited to rectifying our mistakes and want to take the opportunity to help anyone who has lost or misplaced orders. Also, if you choose to place future orders, email me personally at: dan@botachtactical.net and I will ensure proper and timely service you expect from a company like ours.
J0
  15th of Jan, 2010
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Dear fellow consumers,

I am yet again a victim of Botach's terrible existence as a company. I was unaware of the dishonesty and terrible customer service that reputed this organization, until it affected myself. After a month of my product not showing up, and the customer service seeming to not exist, I started doing research, and noticed the large amount of complaints and stories of similar situations. Is there anyway to just shut this company down? Or, anyway to force them to get their act together?
Ti
  19th of Feb, 2010
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Everyone,
I ordered a camelbak, after 12 days of no product, I call. They said it is being shipped from camelbak, back order! website said in stock when I ordered. When you order they have it in bold letters that they will inform you if there is a out of stock issue or back order issues. And they were going to tell me when? Its been 20 days now. after reading all the horror stories all over the web about this company that has been going on since the year 2000. There yahoo web site tracking says nothing about being shipped. hello, can anyone say, shut this company down! I am out $171. This company has robbed me, I think it's time to let the city of L.A. know that this company is ripping people off. BBB rating of "B" with 380+ complaints. I think I will add another, and maybe a nice letter to camelbak, and to a few congressmen, and maybe to the mayor of LA, and maybe to the gov of California and a few choice California congress people. Lets see how much time I can spend writing letters and emails and making calls for 171$.
Bb
  10th of Mar, 2010
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Ordered an item (Survivor flashlight) and received email stating they would let me know how much shipping and handling would be. Waited 10 days, requested update. Received nothing, not even the courtesy of a reply. I am posting this experience on the board at the hall so everyone will know what their customer service is like.

Cheers, Capt B Smith
Sn
  27th of Apr, 2010
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Botach has quite a bad reputation. The response from "Dan" above is hillarious. I ordered from them many many years ago, it was a drop-leg holster if I remember correctly. Never got it. They never answered my emails. So I let everyone know what happened.

Their reputation on ar15.com reflects my experience. They are complete crap, I don't know how in the world they are still around after all this time. I've run a business before and can't imagine running one as badly as Botach does, you would have to actually try hard to be that bad.
Ma
  1st of Jun, 2010
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
they charged me 178$ and never shipped. Finally got an e-mail response that they would cancel my order at my request but never got the refund. Another order did come but with a wrong item!
Ha
  27th of Jun, 2010
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I've purchased from Botach so many times that I should be a considered a regular (call me Norm), I've never had a problem. I've canceled orders, no problem. Botach offers low prices and fast shipping. I highly recommend Botachtactical.com and botachdefense.com
Dp
  31st of Aug, 2010
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
DO NOT ORDER ANYTHING FROM THIS COMPANY!!

I wish I would have read all the complaints prior to sending in my order. I read several of the complaints (found under Google: Botach tactiacl scam) after UPS said my order had been cancelled by Botach and that I needed to call them to see what was going on. I called and began to get jacked around like everyone else. I immediately called my bank and filed a statement of dispute to get my money back. The following seems to be their operation.

-Customer places order
-Customer receives order confirmation email with order number and tracking number
-Product never shows up
-Customer calls UPS to see why. UPS advises that Botach cancelled the order and to call Botach
-Botach says they made a mistake and the item was not actually in stock. "It should be back in stock within a week"
-Product is never restocked (never there to begin with)
- Customer gets tired of getting the runaround and gives up.

They will tell you they'll refund your money, even as far as sending emails telling you so, but they never do.

I'm at the point now where they have told me again that thy'll refund the money.

Call your bank immediately!! They're most likely the only ones that can get your money back.
Bo
  31st of Aug, 2010
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
DpntheSouth -

It's a shame you are so reactionary and don't take time to understand the process. We always process every refund that's requested, and for you to say we 'never do' would assume you know a single thing about how we work and our day to day operation. Rather than bicker on a board, shoot me an email at mike@botach.com and I will, step by step, explain to you how our company works. I will also personally take your refund request and gladly run it myself.

If you take the time, you'll see that your radical screams of 'scam' are erroneous and unwarranted. If I don't hear from you, the situation will speak for itself.

Mike
Mp
  3rd of Sep, 2010
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
They were taking forever to ship my order, then when I cancelled the order, the next day they charged me! DO NOT do business with these people! Don't let the obvoious shrills on this page fool you, this is a shady company!
Az
  9th of Sep, 2010
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I ordered a pair of Hatch gloves from Botach. When I received them I noticed they were slightly different from the image on the site, but I realy didn't think much of it. A month later a partner of mine purchased the same gloves but from a different vendor; that is when I noticed that I was dooped. Mine are clearly a knockoff of the name brand gloves. Mine are missing key elements that his true Hatch gloves have. Its past the return date, so I'm stuck with them, but after reading all of these reviews I doubt I would have received an exchange or refund.
After talking about this with my partner, he did some research on the Woolrich brand trousers he ordered from Botach compared to those purchased from Woolrich and found himself with a knockoff version himself.
The point is: Buyer beware. I used to search their site first for tactical equipment I needed, but no more!
Us
  21st of Sep, 2010
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Well Mike... Botach's customer service is a terrible joke. I call and I call and every one that actually answers the phone (almost none of them did, by the way) said "that's not my department, and I can't help you. Call customer service." I am not impressed at all, and if my order isn't straightened out immediately, I'm going to be reporting Botach Tactical to the FTC and California BBB. I understand mistakes, and I understand that nothing is simple these days. What I don't understand is a company that can not be reached, tells you they'll call you back soon and doesn't, or calls you from a blocked phone number to assure you that by giving your name and order number for the fifth time, everything will be okay. I don't deal with sales myself, but I know many people that do with FAR fewer customer service personnel than Botach has listed on their site, and they answer their customer service line every time, without fail. I have literally made over 100 phone calls in the last 2 days trying to resolve this issue, and still no luck. At this point, I have ABSOLUTELY no interest in receiving anything from Botach except a complete and immediate refund of every penny I paid, and I will make sure to roll the companies name in the dirt for the rest of my days. I, as well as countless others, am not impressed.
Bo
  21st of Sep, 2010
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
USMC Gunslinger -

I'm sorry you feel that way and are choosing to spend the rest of your days rolling the company's name in the dirt. I'm going to offer you the same information I tell everybody on these boards... contact me and you'll get a response. You didn't email me like I suggested above, so there's nothing I can do to help you otherwise. I know you believe you have a handle of Botach's infastructure, but I implore you... email me at mike@botach.com or call me at 323-420-3693 and LEAVE A VOICEMAIL, and I will get back to you. If you contact me Wednesday (tomorrow), you'll get a response same day, otherwise I'll get back to you on Monday.

Mike
Us
  21st of Sep, 2010
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Well, Mike. I'm not waiting until Monday. I'll call you tomorrow one time and one time only, and if you don't answer I'll hang up and wait until noon on Thursday, then carry on with MY plan of the day (see above). You aren't the one paying me. That'll be the damnedest day when I wait for someone who has MY money to get back to me on Monday. I should not have to come to a random board and shoot holes in your company's reputation before you pay any mind to me. As I said, over 100 phone calls to voicemail boxes that "haven't been set up yet" or "are full." I'm a rational person, but when hung up on, pushed aside, or ignored by people that have my hard-earned money, rationality goes out the window. Quite frankly, piss on "I'll get back to you." As it turns out, the good folks at the FTC (1-877-382-4357) answer every time, when I have time. They don't expect me to put my job of repairing and crewing military aircraft on hold so I can cling to my phone and they can call me when they get a second. I'm done with the run-around nonsense by the esteemed Botach Tactical personnel. Thanks Mike, but no thanks.
Be
  29th of Sep, 2010
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I have used Botach for three years.

Occasionally--very occasionally--there is some frustration with their order system.

What most people expect is an "Amazon" style system--maintained by hundreds of techs, supporting a world-wide marketplace.

That isn't Botach.

When you get something at *NEAR DEALER COST* why do you expect outstanding support and immediate response? You're getting the product at 10% less than the vast majority of *already discounted* internet prices.

Botach is family owned and operated.

Every time I've needed something lickety-split, I just put in my "comments" "Need it by X, if you cna't do that, please cancel the order." I've also put in "Please ship partial if some of it is on backorder."

Have any of you ever put up the **MILLIONS** of dollars it would require to operate a business where everything they sell is "in stock"? In today's world of drop-ship, *MOST* of the products can be ordered by you through Botach, ordered from the manufacturer and shipped within 10 days. *Sometimes* this is not the case.

I get so annoyed when internet shoppers expect "Wal-Mart" stock processes and "Wal-Mart" pricing--but they aren't willing to give a little.

So you waited a little bit to get your order? Big effin' deal! You got it at a price *NO ONE* else could beat. Quitcherbitchen. Quitcherwhinen.

I'm a *regular* customer who has spends *thousands* of dollars with Botach every year for the last 3 years.

I live in the Midwest. I have no relation to Botach except that I like their inexpensive prices on hard to find items and enjoy the savings.
Az
  5th of Oct, 2010
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Botach is like so many things these days - take Fedex - if the system works and you use the automated stuff then it works great. If you have to deal with bevis or butthead in the Fedex-Kinko (or whatever they call them now) stores - its a big mess. if you can print out a bar code drop it in the box and not have to deal with a human then it works. So its like that at Botach - if you have to call someone then you are in deep trouble. They dont answer, their voice mails are full, emails are unanswered if you manage to get someone they can help you.
I ran into this recently. Front page website says Free shirt with purchase. my pants came and no shirt. I called them and called them and one time they accidently picked up. I explained to them I did not get my shirt - well she said you have to buy 2 pairs of pants - it did not say that. She said she agreed with me it was misleading but "her boss" would not budge because it already shipped. I said well why cant we think creatively here since I pointed out a mistake on your website. What if I order some other stuff and you can put the shirt in with it? She said well i am in customer service I dont take orders. I thought that was interesting. I will buy from them if they have stock and I dont have to talk to anyone. if they dont have stock - dont do it - you will never get any answers. Also beware any special offers - it could be misleading.


thier ad says this but it is not true.

FREE
Eotac 404
Operator 4-Pocket
Shirt w/Purchase

A $40.00 Value

FREE


Operator Discreet Brown Pants

Price: $49.95 Sale $19.95 Operator ACH Operator Pants

Price: $69.95 Sale $19.95

Operator Discreet Denim Pant

Price: $49.95 Sale $19.95 Lightweight Shorts

Price: $35.00 Sale $15.00
Mi
  29th of Nov, 2010
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I see alot of people have had the same experiance as myself with Botach. I have ordered from them 4 times in the last 2 years; I've had problems with 2 of those orders. Like others have talked about I had one order that was shown to be instock suddenly after ordering be back ordered, after more than a month of run around by Botach I had to cancel the order. And I also ordered a pair of boots from Botach, on the site they where called Matterhorn prospector boots. When I recieved the boots they were not Matterhorn boots. I called Botach and the short short version of all the calls was, even though the product was not labeled properly by Botach they would not pay for return shipping. I filed a complaint with the BBB about that one. Ended up donating the boots to good cause since I did not like the boots and they were not what I ordered. The other 2 orders I've had with them went well with no complaints. I will only order things I want and don't need, and that time is not a factor and if the price is a lot lower than any other place I've found said item.

Mike, KY

Post your comment

Submit
Botach Logo Botach
Customer Service
Overall Satisfaction Rating

27 Reviews
4775 W Harmon Ave.
Las Vegas
NV
United States - 89103
+1 888 344 5145
+1 323 293 7770
View Full Information
     

Reply to

close
Send