Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

Adventurerv.net / Bad service

75% 12
Contact information:
I received a shipment today (8/26)and the box was broken open with the packing materials falling out. What I found inside was disturbing. A previous customer's angry letter accompanying his return shipment which Adventure RV never read. As it turned out I have the same problem as this previous customer--wrong size because the website did not specify sizes. Seems that Adventure RV only forward a return to me and now I have no box to return my shipment! I will never buy from Adventure RV. One "Adventure" was enough.

Update: Discovered that what they sent were HappiJac brackets in an Atwood bracket box... stay tuned...


Sort by: UpDate | Rating
A  9th of Jul, 2010 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I ordered an AC unit that did not work from them. When I called customer service the lady just said Email us. I asked if she was interested in helping me now to resolve my issue. Her response was "just email us". I pointed out that her attitude was not very helpful. She then hung up on me. I also will never order from them again. I recommend others to shop elsewhere as well.
A  9th of Jul, 2010 by 
Agree Disagree -1 Votes
AdventureRV.net was the company
N  6th of Jul, 2011 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
ME: Wed, Jun 29 2011 1:29pm
I need to return and be refunded for 2 lawn chairs that i ordered on June 8th, 2011. I called and they said just to send this messgae. . .

THEM: Wed, Jun 29 2011 1:49pm - staff
Please provide the order number, the name, and address the order was placed under so I may locate your order. Are these still in the original packaging and unused?

ME: Mon, Jul 4 2011 6:50pm
There is one in the original packaging. The other one, we opened to sit in and didnt like the way the back was. I will be bringing them to the post office and shipping them back tommorrow.

THEM:Tue, Jul 5 2011 7:02am - staff
I am sorry, we can not issue an RMA for a product that has been opened and used.

ME:Tue, Jul 5 2011 9:55am
How am i ever supposed to know if i like it if i dont open it and try to sit in it? I was warned that your company has terrible return policies. . . I should have listened!! If you want me to shrink wrap it like it was, I can! It was sat in one time and there is absolutely nothing wrong with it. I would also like the phone number (NOT EMAIL) to speak directly to your supervisor. This was a father's day gift, and for us kids to split the cost, $80 is too expensive for you to not refund me. The back was too short and dug into my Dad's shoulder blades so I WILL be returning them, and I WILL be refunded. There is absolutely NO excuse for me to expect otherwise.

THEM: Tue, Jul 5 2011 11:26am - staff
We don't have terrible return policies, we have policies in place to protect the consumer, if you were to get chairs that looked as though they had been sat on and used, we would be having a different conversation, and we would be horrible for selling used product. You may return the chairs at your expense, via fedex or ups to the address provided, our Quality Control will look at them and if they are not as you describe above, then you will be contacted.

I am sorry you are not completely satisfied with your purchase. The item will need to be unused and in the original package. Your RMA# is 142335 . Please put this number on the return label and ship your package within 5 days. Once your order is received inspected, you will be refunded as per our website returns policy. Please allow 10-21 business days after inspection for a refund. Please return to the address below via Fedex or UPS. Please be sure to insure your return package if the value is more than $100. Sorry, we do not accept returns via USPS parcel post.

Adventure RV Center
2910 Newport Hwy
Sevierville, TN 37876

ME: Wed, Jul 6 2011 11:12am
When I called and asked them yesterday, they said parcel post was fine, so that is what it was sent as.

THEM:Wed, Jul 6 2011 11:54am - staff
Why don't you look at our website returns policy and FOLLOW IT? There are reasons for the policy that are set in place. For example, the reason we do not accept returns via USPS is because they damage large items and have a poor tracking system. Then the customer is whining that the item arrived at our facility damaged and we will not refund the damaged item. Why is is that consumers such as yourself think they can just make their own rules and blame and slam the merchant for everything? Did you even put the RMA number on the packages?

ME: Wed, Jul 6 2011 2:16pm
No because I wasn't told to do that until after I sent the package. I communicated with 3 different people that morning whom all said the way I did it (i.e. parcel post and with a note that THEY told me what to write) was an okay way to do it. Maybe your phone service representatives shoul know the policies as well. This is obviously an ineffective means of commnuication as I am not by my computer but once a day and I have to fit the return into your 30 day return window. And whoever it is responding to these messages is very unprofessional and has no integrity for the image they are giving as a representative of this company. I am one customer, I dont appreciate being compared to other "consumers such as myself who think we can just make all of the rules". I will be waiting for my refund, and looking forward to never refferring you to fellow "consumers like myself" and mostly, never doing business with you again. I can understand return and exchange policy mix-ups, but the lack of proffessionalism in this staff is inexcusable.

N  8th of Oct, 2011 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
My husband was ready to place an order with this company for $500.00ish. I told him we need to check them out first to see if we can trust them, since I have never heard of them before. Ran a Google search to see of there were complaints or how they are rated in customer service. So glad I did! I have found multiple complaints about their shipping and returns. We will shop elsewhere! Thanks for taking the time to let others know your experience so we can make better informed decisions.
N  27th of Mar, 2012 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
A  27th of Jun, 2012 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Tue, Jun 26 2012 12:25am
Hi there,

Can you do any better on shipping cost for this item:


You say you ship from 20 warehouses, and some of your competitors offer free shipping. Seems like $76.00 to zip code xxxxx (xxxxx, xx) is a little bit much in this economy, I would think you could ship from a warehouse really close to me in the Phoenix area.

Another thing is, google's product website lists that it can be shipped for $9.00 to my zip code. How can that be if your site shows $76?


I'm very interested in buying, and I will order this within two days.

Just to be sure, this unit includes everything described in Dometic's promo sheet here, right? You do include the thermostat don't you?


Tue, Jun 26 2012 1:55am
That's funny, I went back and looked at your s/d model and it costs 539, with 76.01 shipping. I placed the NEW unit as I indicated above in the cart, and this time it's charging me 96.01 for shipping! This is NOT good business. When I saw the shipping for a new unit 20 bucks less not 2 hours ago, how can you justify a $20 increase within that time frame?? Unaccpetable.

PS, I was definitely NOT looking at the S/D unit the first time, you can go to the URL in the original ticket and see that. This is almost irritating.
Tue, Jun 26 2012 8:58am - staff
We sell different configurations of units. Some have two boxes. These weigh about 100 lbs. I don't know what Google has out there but there is no way it ships for $9.00. We are not playing with our website for your shipping costs. It could be the way they are marketed. We are one of the largest retailers with the best prices. We cannot adjust shipping and handling cost.
Tue, Jun 26 2012 12:20pm
No it is not a sufficient response. You did not actually go and click on the links I gave you to see what I'm talking about.
Forward the entire ticket to a supervisor. I refuse to accept your non-answer.
Do you want my business?
ME again:
Tue, Jun 26 2012 12:54pm
Well forget it. You answer wasn't acceptable, you implied that I accused you of "playing with your website" and you didn't take me seriously. You obviously didn't go to google and change your zip code on their site to xxxxx to see that they do indeed show $9.00 shipping cost. You basically called me a liar. I'm a grown man, not some kid. "It could be the way they are marketed" is a complete non-answer, and when I spend 6 or 700 bucks with someone, I don't like them guessing what's going on. You have discrepancies in your shipping cost for a S/D unit and for a brand new unit that weighs the same. Again, no explanation as to why. You lost the sale with your haughty and smarmy attitude to a NEW CUSTOMER, so kiss my derrière.
ME again:
Tue, Jun 26 2012 1:03pm
And an other PS.

You are advertising a NEW UNIT on google but it is a S/D unit.

Go look at


Adventure RV.NET
2, 507 seller ratings New No tax + Shipping: $9.00 $548.00 $539.00
Make sure you change the zip code in your browser to be xxxxx with google. Then tell me why I should file a false advertising claim against you. (Screen shot was sent also to prove what I was saying).
Tue, Jun 26 2012 2:42pm - staff
Some items ship Freight and some items ship Fedex Ground and certain ones from different warehouses. Google lists and approximate shipping cost you would have to visit our website for an accurate one. It is also and advertising site not a sales site. We are constantly trying to improve the way we ship items so they get to the consumer in 1 piece. The weak economy has nothing to do with shipping costs except that shipping prices have all gone up since Obama took office due to the high fuel prices.

also read what you are looking at on google:
Seller rating Condition Tax and shipping (estimated)

see the parenthesis in the shipping column? It says estimated!
also at the bottom of the results page it states:

Google is compensated by some of these merchants. Payment is one of several factors used to rank these results. Tax and shipping costs are estimates.
Tue, Jun 26 2012 3:24pm
Still haven't answered why you are falsely listing this as a new item with google.

So let's deal with the BBB and the FTC for awhile.
Have a nice day.

Tue, Jun 26 2012 3:36pm
An "estimate" would be 50 bucks or 100 bucks on an item that ships for 70-90. Not $9.00! You are responsible as a company for your advertising and this "estimate" is a grossly false misrepresentation.

Tue, Jun 26 2012 6:06pm - staff
Its not listed as new. Stop harassing us with your vulgar language now. You are not to contact us any further or the authorities will be contacted.
Wed, Jun 27 2012 1:28am
It is listed as new on the site. There is no harassment. I have contacted the BBB and FTC about your lies.
And lastly ME:
I am seeking legal means against your company for this nonsense and threats. You contact the authorities if you wish, but I already have done so. You would be wise to ask your boss what this means and leave me alone.
A  27th of Jun, 2012 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
They threatened to “call the authorities on me” LOL...what a sad excuse of a company. When I did call them directly after the first email ticket, and asked for a supervisor I was told that one wasn’t there to take my call. I did not opt to leave voice mail for the manager, I figure if they can’t staff a manager in a call center I’m not having them call me back to wake me up (I work nights). The rep on the phone sounded like he was in India. The company is in Tennessee! Good old Tennessee American company farming out support to India, yet another one. When I asked about the company, the size of the company, approximately how many employees, how long they had been in business, he acted dumfounded and couldn’t answer me.

I am VERY glad I didn’t buy after doing more research and doing this ticket with them below. I have reported them to the BBB and the FTC.
D  25th of Mar, 2013 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I purchased 2 gallons of rubber roof coating. The package arrived heavily damaged. The gallon cans were not leaking, but I was unclear if air could make its way in and ruin the product. I emailed them and they immediately sent two additional gallons, no charge. I was impressed by their service. Maybe my experience is atypical, but I thought I would share it.
N  21st of Aug, 2013 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

Adventurerv.net - Bad Shipping and Service
United States

We had purchased and AC unit from the website and had the choice to purchase a dented unit or brand new. So we decided for the extra we would go brand new. It arrived to my husband and the box looked fine so he signed. Well then he opened and it was clearly damaged. And don't forget we paid extra for shipping insurance. So he called and received the same song and dance many of you say you got. "Go online and send in your complaint" Right of the bat they were very short with us and stated oh well we can send you $50 to fix it (on a almost $700item). Or you can send it back. We decided to send it back. If we wanted a damaged unit we would have purchased the one available online, right. We did have to take out of the box to send them pictures. So we get our refund and we are shorted almost a $150 and when asked why they are now accusing us of not returning items and not repacking it properly. My husband has 2 witnesses and himself to state that what came out of the box went back in. We are good honest people who chose there business by our product from and we have not been treated well at all or that our business matters.
N  14th of Jan, 2016 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I ordered a thetford porta potty from these guys on Jan 7th 2016 an as of today Jan 14 I have no idea if it's been shipped or not, and to top it off there seems no way to find out from them, their business seems to be rather shall I put it like flying monkeys are running it!!! There are 2 screen shot included here that tell different things company says it's shipped fedex says pending and of course trying to find out if the actual item has shipped is like asking your computer to make you a BLT. So here I set over a hundred dollars spent and still no merchandise a week later (yes it's a week later) and who can ya call to rectify this problem "ghostbusters" i guess!!! Probably get a better response than Adventure RV !!! It wssould bother so but 2 days after I order this I ordered another item from California and received it today (yep all the way across the country) and these clowns can't even get it from Tenn to NY in a reasonable time. Do not do business with them !!!BUYERS BEWARE!!!

N  14th of Jan, 2016 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Update!!! UPDATE!! they have sent me an email which takes me to their ticket system and enclose is what was sent to me... They don't even have the
merchandise yet and won't til next week how wild and crazy is this!!when they had my email all they need to do was back order it or let me know it
wasn't in stock and the wait time and all would have been fine yet they risk bad P.R(public relations-- for the flying monkeys)with their customers and future sales to others. Bad business model for sure!!!

N  14th of Jan, 2016 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
update 2 since I contacted BBB in Tenn. I got the posting for 14th today, guess it took BBB to get their attention. I kindly asked then when item was in to overnite shipment (seeing it will be well over their 1-5 processing) they refused because I didn't order it with expedited delivery????? Why don't they get that they need to keep customers happy to keep them returning to by other items. I was going to order more item but now it will be with a different vendor!!! attached is the message between them(staff and myself on Jan 14th !!!

N  18th of Jan, 2016 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Update today is day 11 of this saga, Still no shipping conformation (I realize today is a holiday (MLK day)). They said the item is expected mid week which will make it 13days prior to them even getting it ready to ship, This item isn't a rare thing it's a fairly common toilet by thetford, its not some last of its kind part or discontinued item, it is a curve toilet for god sake, even wally world sells them. Seem to me that this company is a drop ship company more than a warehousing company. The complaints all seem to say " coming for another warehouse, or something to that nature. And as for customer service its very poor to say the least. You need to go through their ticket system to get any help at all, no contact, you don't know whom your addressing, just a reply from the other end saying staff. Stay far away from this company!!! Buyers BEWARE!!!
D  24th of Aug, 2017 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
This company is bad news. Do not buy from them...they dont' send out what you ordered, then don't allow you to return it.

Post your Comment

Adventure RV Logo Adventure RV
Customer Service
2910 Newport Hwy
United States - 37876
+1 865 429 3698
View Full Information

Reply to