The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
CHES-SHORES2,000 LATER I SCREWED

i bought two chesapeakes from loura waid at ches-shores. one i bought is a male 6 months old and she promised me akc papers but never came thru with it. i also bought a female 2 years old and she promised me she would send me rabies info where dog was in her vet. again she lied to me. this woman seems to only care about te money i spend close to 2, 000 on these two dogs and can't even get akc papers please do your research before buying from ches shores if you do buy from there make sure you get your paperwork up front.

More CHES-SHORES Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Ro
    Robert Crissey Aug 18, 2018

    I also bought a Chesapeake from Loura. The dog is a great addition to our family and I wouldn’t trade him for anything, however he has had problems health wise! He had worms really bad on his first visit to my vet after she told me he was dewormed and had no worms! Also he has anxiety really bad any loud noise like thunder of fireworks he shakes really bad and hides so that pretty much rules him out as a hunting dog because of gunshots! He has seizures every couple months and two in the last three weeks! And as for the akc registration papers, I finally quit trying! After two years of her telling me she was busy and forgot that they would be in the mail within a day or two she quit replying to me and answering my phone calls! Like I said I love my Chesapeake, but for $1200 I feel I should at least get his registration papers! And the health problems he has may or may not be associated with his breeder but as I’ve read some of these complaints it seems to be a problem with other dogs as well so you can form your own opinion on that subject! I have!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JoeBen Aug 02, 2018

    Unfortunately, I too am a Loura Waid victim. I purchased my female Chessie from her at 9 weeks of age in 2017. My very heard an irregular heartbeat which was confirmed as congestive heart failure. My dog is on medication for the remainder of her life (howevever long that may be) and cannot be spayed because of the risk with anesthesia. I, however, hounded Loura and did receive AKC registration after about 6 months and the threat of suit (I'm an attorney). I told her of my dog's condition and never received a response. She has since moved from the Elkton location and now lives in Virginia, I believe, and is no longer breeding dogs.

    1 Votes
  • Ir
    Iris Moubray Apr 01, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My daughter purchased a chessie from Loura Waid a year ago. The puppies was supposedly 5 months old but weighed only 14 pounds. According to her he was part of a litter of 13 and may not have gotten what he needed from the mother. He was knocking under and she said that would clear up with the right food. As it turned out the puppy had a very bad case of worms and a several other problems when my daughters vet saw the puppy. The vet also indicated that the puppy had a hip problem. My daughter asked for Loura's vets name and records from her vet since she sold the puppy as being healthy. My daughter could not get any of this info from Loura and could never get the AKC papers that were promised. Loura Waid is a fraud and a liar. My daughter still has the chessie and has been to vet for many problems over the last year. The vet said the dog has a hip deformity that can not be fixed. My daughter says he is her Chessie rescue. There will always be health problems with the dog but my daughter is glad she got him away from this breeder. Don't ever purchase a dog from this woman. Hope someone has reported her to the AKC.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Leighlay May 20, 2017

    We bought a Chess from Loira Waid. He is an amazing dog and he is four years old now. Healthy, handsome, attentive, likes people but is protective enough to make us feel safe. Great with kids and on and on. At first we were concerned and emailed her because he was not acting right as a puppy. She said we could return him for a full refund because she did not want to sell a sick dog. She always responded to emails and phone calls. She LOVES her dogs. She was devastated when she had to move houses. And yes, she had some of them in the basement, but we met them in the basement and then they came out. They all seemed like good dogs full of love and playfullness. Our family was there two times and the second time a previous customer came with his big male to board him there for a week. When buying my dog she made me sit in the kitchen with her for almost an hour and a half giving me SO MUCH information on how to care for the dog. I just sat and listened. I grew up with Show weimeraners so I've seen She and her husband have their hands full but there was full access to the house and basement and I felt not at all like she had anything to hide. As far as the male dog that the man is referring to that she had to buy back because they were trying to make money off breeding him. I met that dog. That dog was skittish - perhaps from the bad experience he endured as a "stock" male. At one point two puppies where running through the yard- huge many acres with plenty of open spaces as well as shade, and one of the puppies ran right off an embankment. Loura instantly gasped and ran off to save the puppy-- she was so concerned like a good breeder should be. You can't fake that. We came to see her at a show and her dogs were great. The temperament and intelligence of my dog is superior. She knows what she is doing and I trust her.

    1 Votes
  • Tr
    Troy Reible Mar 07, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Laura talks a good game, she got us for almost 2, 500$ between the airfare and the dog and breeding rites. and no paper s no phone call back or e-mails nothing SILENCE

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Troy Reible Mar 07, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My name is Jan Reible, I live in Wiscons. My husband and I bought a dog from Laura Waid in June 2012. 1st off the dog smelled like poop when we picked her up from the airport and mind there was no poop in the kennel, 2nd she came to us with a hernia, 3rd the dog wont hunt hunt and the had the nerve to say that was our fault. My husband hunts upland and waterfowl like you wouldn't believe and has trained both our german shorthair pointers and my male chessy hunts like crazy ( we had to get another chessy cuz the we got from laura wouldnt hunt and my husband was not having going hunting without a dog).
    laura has no business ethic, we paid her all this money from our chessy and the breeding rights and have not received her papers. In lauras contract it states u have to get an a.k.c title, but you cant get a title with a.k.c papers what the hell. ive tried to call, e-mail, text and this wont get back to me shes AVOIDING ME. my next step with this women is sueing her. if shes not gonna give me papers then give me my back. SHE IS A BAD BREEDER AND HAS MY PROBLEMS, I HAVE HAD ALOT OF ISSUES WITH MY CHESSY FROM LAURA WAID. my chessy from her has issues with anixity like crazy she cant be any people shes aggrivess and I have 2 other chessys and they are nothing like her. I even have 1 off her puppys (by accident little) and she has no issues. Look all I want from Laura is my chessys papers and let me pursue with my plans and my kennels (SHORT AND KURLY KENNELS COMING SOON) so if laura contuines to avoid me I will be sueing her. thankyou to whoever put this sight up cuz people need to no about BAD DOG BREEDER LAURA WAID

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chutch9 Nov 30, 2015

    I also bought a Chessie from Loura 3 years ago. great hunting dog! However, she swore up and down the pup had no issues..ear mites and worms right off the bat. I also had my money taken for AKC registration and after several years and phone calls/emails still haven't received them. And yes she operates out of the location in elkton in the middle of the woods

    1 Votes
  • Yi
    Yikesitstrue Nov 20, 2014

    Pretty comical. She obviously is emBarrassed by her current situation... Ches-shores was probably once a great breeder. They were at the location in wye mills but had to foreclose. Look it up on md judiciary case search. She does keep the dogs in wire kennels in the basement in elkton. The house is a pig sty too.

    Beautiful chessies though.

    3 Votes
  • Re
    Ressie Jul 10, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This lady is an idiot. We bought an animal from her years ago and within a month of picking up the dog fell over dead. She would do nothign about it, but scream at me on the phone. She wouldn't even give me my money back, the 1000 i spent on it. DO NOT TRUST THESE PEOPLE!!!

    -2 Votes
  • Ma
    maintaining sanity Aug 28, 2013

    "Brian" is clearly not the sort of person who should ever be allowed near animals or children. Note the increase in obscenities and grammatical errors as his bizarre rage escalates. If any harm ever comes to Loura Waid or any member of her family, we will know who is to blame.

    By the way, Ms. Waid owns two houses (both surrounded by considerable acreage) is home schooling her children and completing a degree in psychology while breeding one of the most famous lines of Chesapeake Bay Retrievers in the world. Mt advice to those of you who want a dog: go to shows and field trials, talk to all breeders and owners, ask why one dog wins over another. You can even look the dogs up, by name, on the internet! Enjoy!

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    midge87 Apr 11, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You both fail to realise it is illegal to post someone's home address unless the original person has posted it first. A Google search brings up no such thing (no results of "Brian" posting his own home address nor Loura posting her's) so it'd be best to nix those bits of your responses and repost. Also, "Brian", if you are posting the truth, do not resort to name calling and cursing as that really negates any validity you had.

    2 Votes
  • Br
    brian2222 Apr 05, 2013

    THIS IS NOT YOUR HOUSE WHO ARE U TRYING TO KID? ANY ONE WHO WANTS TO SEE HER HOUSE GO TO THIS ADDRESS Address: 889 Union Church Rd Elkton, MD 21921 Once you are on Rt. 40. Turn right onto route 279 go to first traffic light Turn left onto Blue Ball Rd. Travel about 8 miles Turn left onto Union Church Rd Travel 1/2 mile and turn right onto Wrights Lane Travel down this road for 1/2 mile through the woods to the dead end at yellow house on him. THERE IS A BASEMENT YOU PEICE OF ###. you want to lie about things, how are you going to sell dogs from your houe and show this house? lol u are so full of ### you have it coming out your ears. what are you going to do tell people you just moved? i have so much to say but i will do so when i have more time but there are so many lies in this ### your wrote saying i told you this was my first chessie and ###. i told you i had one that died of cancer . you want to fill your answer with lies? you are a bull face lier . what comes around go around.

    -2 Votes
  • Ch
    Ches-Shores Apr 05, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    There are two sides to every story. Here is the REAL truth:
    My name is Loura Waid and I have been an owner/breeder of Chesapeake Bay retrievers since approximately February 1990. Likewise, I am a Breeder of Merit with American Kennel Club; as well as I am a member with the American Chesapeake Club, Pinelands Retriever Club, Del Bay Retriever Club, and Irish Water Spaniel Club of America. My husband and I are Professional Retriever trainers and we are actively involved with and compete in the sport of multiple AKC events.
    During the past 24 years as an owner/breeder of Chesapeake Bay retrievers, I have never had any complaints. I am one of the top breeders in the world for this breed and my hard work and dedication shows why this is.
    Recently; I trusted an individual who bought two of my chessies only to find out that he misrepresented himself which led me to re-purchase my two chessies. On February 17, 2013 I had sold one of my young male Chesapeake Bay retrievers to Brian Adams at 37951 Johns Way, Delmar, Delaware, 19940.
    Mr. Adams had contacted me about wanting a Chesapeake Bay retriever and specifically said he was looking for a companion for he and his wife. I had offered one of my young males and had informed Mr. Adams that he was my pick male of the litter, but, his bite is not the best and so he cannot be used in my breeding program. After a series of questions was aswered Mr. Adams seemed like a good candidate for owning one of my Chessies and I agreed to allow Brian take the male mentioned above. Mr. Adams had mentioned to me that this was his first chessie.
    Approximately four days later Mr. Adams mentioned wanting to purchase another male from me so that his new Chessie would have someone to play with. I explained that two male Chessies in the same household is not a good idea because of dominate issues. I did, however, suggest that a female would work out much better.
    Then, Mr. Adams contacts me again and asked "do you have any older females that are retired that you want to rehome." So, I thought about it and I offered him a 2 1/2 year old. I did offer him a couple of purchase options with this female. He did not want to spend the money I was asking.
    At some point Mr. Adams contacted me again and wanted to know if I had any retired females. I did offer him a six year old. A few days went by and then I heard from Mr. Adams again and stated that if I would be willing to sell the 2 1/2 year old for less than what I was asking, then he would like to pick her up the next day. Mr. Adams, on March 17, 2013, picked up the 2 1/2 year old.
    On March 21, 2013, Mr. Adams contacted me again and said the following "we are thinking of buying one more female from you that is not related to Woody with breeding rights." I started growing concerned at this point.
    On March 28, 2013, Mr. Adams contacted me again saying that he bought two more Chesapeake Bay retrievers and now he wants me to mentor him. So now I am really concerned, yet, confused because upon my first conversation with Mr. Adams was only looking for a male companion for he and his wife and he wanted a second Chessie as a play partner for the first.
    It was at this point my husband suggested doing a Google search on Mr. Adams; and so I did. Once I discovered that Mr. Adams has/had a cattery business "Hairless Gems, " and he is breeding multiple other breeds, and has/had numerous complaints, it was at this point that I confronted Mr. Adams. He became defensive. I requested that he return my chessies for a full refund. He had paid $1, 200 for the male and $500 for the female. Mr. Adams wanted an additional $300 for his time and gas and I agreed to give him this amount. It was worth it to me to pay $300 over and beyond for the safe return to me and make sure my chessies were not part of any puppy mill operations.
    After performing additional research and contacting the Chesapeake Bay retriever community, the word was quickly out that Mr. Adams is looking to buy multiple Chessies for his "Breeding Service" business. We discovered he had a website: http://www.chesapeakesrus.com of which he had listed my two chessies on his website as part of his breeding service.
    Also found were several listings with puppies for sale from different breeds of dogs. Listing one: http://www.myadpost.com/rejectedpup/. Listing two: http://www.adpost.com/us/pets/208078/. Then I found this website with complaints: HairlessGems Cattery — Brian Adams. Within this complaint board there are several images revealing emails that had been communicated between Brian and others. In one of the images Brian makes threats about giving a computer virus.
    This guy is not even a professional. What kind of person does this? He has serious issues and for a 37 year old man he sure does act extremely immature. Ok, so this is only my opinion.
    The above information will follow with all of the emails that has transpired between Brian and myself.
    If you need any further information I may be contacted at [email protected] or [protected].
    Thank you for your time and look forward to hearing back from you.
    Enjoy your day.
    Sincerely,
    Loura Waid

    P.S. The attached photo shows my kennel. And for the record, I do not have a basement. The other photo is my home.

    Comments
    Comments

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.