Brachsmaple nut goodies - product recipe change

1
S Review updated:

I am another unhappy customer relative to Brachs Maple Nut Goodies. Like many others I have been hooked on Maple Nut Goodies for many years. I have always purchased by the bag at Cracker Barrel and more recently in bulk (5lb to 7lb bag) via Amazon. I only buy the products that state they are brachs and when I get them the bag always has a Brachs description and nutrition stickers on them. I bought a 2 lb. bag in November 2016. They were the product I had been buying for years and were excellent. I purchased the next bag in April 2017 and they had changed completely. Different color, smaller in size, different tase and hard texture as opposed to the softer and chewy texture. I then bought another batch from a different seller and they were bad as well ! Please tell me this was only a temporary product test that has gone bad and the "real" Maple Nut Goodies are back!!! Seriously, I cannot buy any more Maple Nut Goodies if you do not go back to the originals !

Responses

  • Wi
    William Sweeney Jun 19, 2017

    Totally agree that Brocks maple nut goodies are NOT GOOOD!!!
    HARD TERRIBLE and not worth buying. I also buy this on a regular basis. I will no longer purchase this crap.

    21 Votes
  • An
    Anthony Pappachoppers Aug 10, 2018

    @William Sweeney I too stop buying that Hard dry and grainy garbage now called Maple Nut Goodies. It’s “not fit for human consumption” should be the name.

    9 Votes
  • Wi
    William Sweeney Jun 19, 2017

    Maple nut goodies are NOT GOOOD! Hard and has a disgusting coating. HARD AS A ROCK. WILL no longer purchase this crap.

    16 Votes
  • Wi
    William Sweeney Jun 19, 2017

    This Maple nut goodies are NOT GOOOD! ! Hard as a rock.

    17 Votes
  • Li
    Linda Wells P Jun 19, 2017

    Terrible. The outside has changed. Smaller and very hard! Was once our favorite. No more!

    15 Votes
  • Je
    Jen Angove Jun 19, 2017

    I am very disappointed!!! This was my husbands moms favorite candy and now they almost chip a tooth when eating them. This is as bad as the coke scandal. Change back to original chewy recipe fast!!! Please!!!

    17 Votes
  • Tr
    Truthful Customer Jun 19, 2017

    I was so Embarrassed and Disappointed with the NASTIEST, HARDEST Maple Nut Goodies candy by Brach's ever! I purchased this candy for my husband as a birthday gift and the previous statements were 'ours' about this candy when we tried to bite into it and both of us spit it out. Luckily this wasn't the only gift I gave him. We promise to NEVER purchase this candy again.

    11 Votes
  • Ca
    Cannabis Lecter Jun 19, 2017

    I'mgoing to continue to buy them to look for the old soft inside hard shell goodies and if I keep getting these new ones then I will be returning a lot of bags... Good luck Baruch's

    8 Votes
  • Pa
    Paula Radford Bowen Jun 20, 2017

    I just googled this... to make sure it was not me or that I had a defective product. I checked the expiration date/fine. Taste horrible... inside and outside are diferent. WILL NOT BUY ANYMORE!!! Was a family favorite. If it is NOT BROKE>.. don't TRY to fix it!!! PLEASE CHANGE BACK to prginal recipe. You may be saving a few cents..but in the long run... you will lose a LOT Of $$ by losing a LOT of customer!!!

    13 Votes
  • Rh
    Rhonda Hatcher Langston Jun 20, 2017

    I just returned a bag to the store and got my money back. This was the 2nd bag I had purchased within the last 2 weeks. Threw away the 1st bag, nasty taste and different texture. I thought I had purchased a bad bag. I have eaten these all my life and am very disappointed in this change. 😕

    9 Votes
  • La
    lawdogcoins Jun 22, 2017

    Whomever is responsible for the changing recipe of my favorite candy should be fired!! I have been eat Maple Nut Goodies for over 40 years. My mom use to buy them for me as a kid. I have purchased 2 bags myself the past few months and my brother bought me a bag recently for my birthday. I told him they changed the recipe and he seemed shocked. I ate two of them and threw the bag in the trash. I will not be buying any more Maple Nut Goodies until the old recipe returns. The bags should be marked as "New Recipe" or "Now, tastes like [censor]" until the original recipe is back. I will also not be buying any Brach's products until then and will tell every one I see. If it ain't broke, don't fix it. gw-fort worth, tx

    14 Votes
  • La
    lawdogcoins Jun 22, 2017

    @lawdogcoins Sorry...typo...have been eating Maple Nut Goodies for over 40 years.

    5 Votes
  • Gi
    ginacarter Oct 16, 2017

    @lawdogcoins Ditto!

    3 Votes
  • Za
    Zannarama Jun 22, 2017

    I am soooo disappointed that the delicious chewy maple nut candy is now a hard stale tasting crisp pile of yuck! Please for the love of all things good, go back to the old recipe!

    8 Votes
  • Ca
    Carolyn Nicodemus Jun 23, 2017

    So sad they decided to mess up a good thing.
    Wanted to surprise my husband with a bag.
    I purchased today. He told me they were not good. Said they are bad, stale, hard. I said 'New Recipe '
    So, I tried one, horrible. So sweet, harder than hard candy. Can not chew at all.
    I work in a Retail Store that sells them, ; have had customers return them!! Now I know why!😡
    So, I hope there is someone who cares, and is listening to customers.
    Oh, by the way, I am returning mine ASAP

    9 Votes
  • Ka
    Karine Martiros Mardaspan Jul 28, 2017

    @Carolyn Nicodemus Goody,

    https://www.slideshare.net/MarinaNobleMPH/decameron-by-marina-noble-watertown-ma

    6 Votes
  • Ce
    Cece Pierce Vineyard Jun 25, 2017

    I just bought a 14 oz bag at Walmart of Maple Nut Goodies, I was excited that I got the last bag and they don't sell them just anywhere in my area. I was so disappointed. They were small and hard. I can hardly chew them they are so hard on my teeth. These were among my most favorite candy but if the recipe has been changed permanently I will no longer purchase them.

    5 Votes
  • Kr
    Kristin Butler Jun 26, 2017

    Why did Brach's change the Maple Nut Goody?!!!
    They were a classic candy for years and years and now they are awful. I agree with all the complaints.
    The outer coating is soft and yucky...and way to sweet now. Whatever has been done to the inside is hideous!!
    The inside is SO HARD PEOPLE CAN NOT CHEW IT, and the majority are saying they felt like they could break a tooth it's so hard. I had the same experience.
    PLEASE GO BACK TO THE ORIGINAL RECIPE FOR MAPLE NUT GOODIES!!! STOP TRYING TO FIX WHAT'S NOT BROKEN!!!

    11 Votes
  • Ja
    Janice Etnyre Jul 03, 2017

    I am very disappointed with the Maple Nut Goodies I just purchased. They taste awful!!! Why would you change a product that has been successful for so many years? Bad decision!

    7 Votes
  • Ri
    Rick Merson Jul 06, 2017

    I bought some of these a couple of months ago at a Amish bulk store in Tn. They were awful not the Maple Nut Goodies I have been eating most of my 70 years. Until they go back to the original ones I will never buy them again. I too think whoever had the bright idea to change should be FIRED. Whoever did this is costing the company a lot of money.

    7 Votes
  • Br
    Brenda L. Hartstern Jul 11, 2017

    Yup, and I cannot even taste anything like maple. I wonder if they are just having them made by a different manufacturer. If so, who is the old manufacturer selling to? I WANT THE OLD RECIPE!

    7 Votes
  • Cc
    ccologero Jul 19, 2017

    I agree with ALL the above. I had been buying three to four bags at a time. After they changed to hard junk I will not buy any
    more until they go back to something I can enjoy and chew. GO BACK TO SOMETHING I CAN & everyone ENJOYED.

    7 Votes
  • Ac
    AC615 Jul 20, 2017

    I love Maple Nut Goodies and just bought a new bag tonight as a special treat - have not had any in several months - and boy was I surprised - definitely not the candy I have been eating all these years. very small and so hard you can barely bite much less chew them, even had to spit several out. Agree! want the old recipe back! - these taste like the filing was overcooked and leave a burnt taste in your mouth. I will not be buying these anymore if this is the new recipe. I complained to Brach's but now that I see everyone else post here guess they will not be surprised about my complaint. My jaw hurts from trying to eat these candies, and not good for your teeth either!

    6 Votes
  • Ma
    Maritina Jul 20, 2017

    We had been looking for this favorite candy of ours for some months... finally found it in our grocery store. Agree with other comments... it doesn't come close to the real stuff!! The maple tastes like fluff with a bit of flavoring, and the candy inside is rock hard! What a disappointment... won't buy it again! It's the stuff that chips teeth if you bite down on it! The old candy was just right... chewy and wonderful flavor...Another example of ruining a great product after a buy-out!

    7 Votes
  • Ka
    Karine Martiros Mardaspan Jul 28, 2017

    @Maritina Me either,

    https://www.slideshare.net/MarinaNobleMPH/decameron-by-marina-noble-watertown-ma

    https://www.slideshare.net/MarinaNobleMPH/herpes-natural-cure-discovered-by-marina-noble-watertown-ma

    3 Votes
  • La
    Lana Rutherford Jul 21, 2017

    Taste stale- and just plain nasty! Won't be buying these anymore. Makes me sad

    4 Votes
  • To
    Tony Billick Jul 23, 2017

    I wrote to Brach's they told me it was a new recipe to meet the demands of customers.
    What?????did you want the change? not me...
    If they really believe this NEW product is better than call it something else like "Crunchy Maple Nut" (drop the "Goodies" because they are not goodies anymore.
    Have you noticed how the new recipe outer coating appears to be undercooked and sticky in your hands? YUK!

    Please write to Brach's and complain because I don't think they are reading these complaints.
    There was nothing like Brach's Maple Nut Goodies and know there is NOTHING like Maple Nut Goodies being made.

    5 Votes
  • Lw
    lw1965 Nov 19, 2019

    @Tony Billick I wrote then as well in Jan 2017 this was the response:
    Ferrara Candy Company made an adjustment to this product process and as a result the texture is more Crunchy. We will be evaluating consumer reactions and responses to the changes in this product on a weekly basis in an effort to determine consumer impact. Your feedback is important to us, and the information you provided will be considered as we review and evaluate the changes to this item.
    It's almost 2020 and they still have the gross new recipe!!!

    1 Votes
  • Fo
    Forstaci Jul 24, 2017

    I also wrote to Brach's (Ferrara Candy Company) and received the following reply:
    From: cus[email protected]
    Date: July 14, 2017 at 6:30:04 PM EDT
    To: XXXXXXXXXX
    Subject: Ferrara Candy Company response to your comment
    XXXXXXXX
    XXXXXXXX
    Dear: XXXXXXXXX

    Thank you for contacting Ferrara Candy Company regarding Brach's® Maple Nut Goodies. Hearing from our consumers better enables us to continue to provide quality products and services. Consumer feedback is very important to us, and we appreciate the opportunity to respond.

    A recent manufacturing process change had an unexpected consequence of making the Maple Nut Goodies much harder than before. We are now aware of the issue and are working on making immediate corrective changes to restore the texture that our consumers know and love. Let me assure you that our full team is engaged on this matter and we are pushing to fix the issue as quickly as possible.

    We take the quality of our brands and the trust of consumers like you very seriously. Over the last four years, we have invested significantly in improving our quality, consistency and variety. As a loyal Brach's consumer, we hope you have seen some of these changes across the Brach's line of confections.

    The information you provided is helpful in our efforts to continually improve our products and will be shared with our Quality Assurance Management Team. We assure you that our team is aware of the issue and has read the complaints you shared.

    Thank you for taking the time to contact us with your comments and feedback on our products.

    Sincerely,

    Destiny Good
    Consumer Relations

    000257454A

    7 Votes
  • Ne
    New MNG Hater Jul 25, 2017

    There is nothing that I like about the new version of maple nut goodies. I bought them on 3 occasions now hoping I got a bag that was stale. No, No No, they have been changed. I will not buy anymore until I see them advertised on television as the original formula is back in production. You lost this long time customer. The outside is gross, the inside is hard and I don't like anything about them anymore.

    5 Votes
  • Ma
    Maple Nut Goodieless Jul 26, 2017

    Who would do this. I had a hard time in the past even finding the peg bags at Walmart. Just returned a stand up bag and the replacement was also hard as a rock inside with a different outside texture as well. Does someone sample re-formulated products before they market them. The flavor is similar but the are so hard they are almost in-edible! I like the jelly nougats & coconut neapolitans as well but you have to find a pick-a-mix display.
    Bring back Maple Nut Goodies!!!

    5 Votes
  • Ca
    Cate M Aug 01, 2017

    I have to agree with all of the comments noted above. I've been eating Maple Nut Goodies for over 40 years and is/was my favorite candy. If you changed the recipe, then please change it back. My daughter - a third generation Maple Nut Goodie consumer - and I couldn't eat them. The outer coating is changed and is now slimey and the inside is so hard we thought we were going to break our teeth. We thought this package was defective, but based on the comments, it looks like Ferrara/Brach's has changed the recipe. That's not a good idea, especially if it's now resulted in an inferior and inedible product. Please revert to the delicious recipe! Reminds me of "new Coke" - terrible idea and terrible product.

    4 Votes
  • Sj
    sjburnman Aug 05, 2017

    We used to get Maple Nut Goodies bulk at Sears when I was a little kid, more than fifty years ago. Bought my last bag yesterday. That they still call them by the same name is outrageous.

    3 Votes
  • Pa
    Paula Strickland Aug 07, 2017

    I agree with all the complaints about the new recipe. I am not a big consumer of candy, but I loved the old Goodies and would buy a bag every time I found them. Not anymore. The new taste and texture is very unpleasant, and I am so disappointed to say goodbye to my old favorite.

    3 Votes
  • Da
    David L Rouse Aug 09, 2017

    After enjoying them since childhood, the new ones are not good

    3 Votes
  • Ga
    gail-k Aug 09, 2017

    We also have been buying this product for many years. We also will not be buying them again. The outside coating is horrible. Will the company be going back to the original recipe? Did not mind the change in size of the candy. Just a sign of the times.

    2 Votes
  • Bc
    Bcdef Ghijk Aug 11, 2017

    Brach's has ruined a classic favorite. Why do companies do this stupid stuff??

    2 Votes
  • Ll
    llewopt Aug 22, 2017

    When I first tasted these faux maple nut goodies, I thought this must be an old batch or something, so I took them back. I waited a few weeks and bought some more and they were awful, so I took them back too. I waited a couple of months and some more yesterday and they are horrible. I'm taking them back too! I've been eat them for maybe 30 or 40 years. Why would they change something that's not broke? DUMB!!!

    2 Votes
  • Do
    donandpatty Aug 24, 2017

    I noticed the same thing with some Maple Nut Goodies that I bought last fall. After trying a few more bags from different places to rule out improper handling, I wrote them a letter of complaint and received the exact same response shown above, back in February. My wife just bought another bag today and I was disappointed to see that nothing has changed. After at least 6 months with nothing changing, I've come to the conclusion that nothing is going to change. I'm just not going to buy any thing else with the Brach's name on it.

    2 Votes
  • Rb
    Rblake2017 Aug 27, 2017

    New recipe is terrible...so sad. Won't be buying anymore Brachs. I got burned twice now.

    1 Votes
  • El
    Elaine W Aug 28, 2017

    Totally agree! The Maple Nut Goodies are AWFUL! We have been buying them for years and we won't again until they change the recipe back to what it was before. They are hard and no where close to the great candy they once were.

    1 Votes
  • Th
    The Truth You Must Know Aug 28, 2017

    O`d take this as an opportunity to live a healthier lifestyle and stop stuffing your faces with diabetes tokens.

    -2 Votes
  • Cs
    csh1 Sep 08, 2017

    I totally agree. The new ones are horrible.

    1 Votes
  • Re
    R E Henkel Brem Sep 12, 2017

    The new recipe of Maple Nut Goodies suck! The outside is nasty and the inside are just too hard to chew (very bad for the teeth). After so many years of a great product why would Brach's want to shoot themselves in the foot. Remember the "New Coke"? Major fail! I will but your "new" Maple Nut Goodies on the same list. Not buying them anymore!

    2 Votes
  • Ly
    Lynette Rodgers Sep 20, 2017

    Been eating these Maple candies for 30 years and the bag I just brought home tasted like it had bug spray in it. Sugar insecticide coated rocks. Getting my money back and will not ever buy Brachs candy again.

    2 Votes
  • Be
    BeachB Sep 25, 2017

    I literally cracked a tooth eating the "new" Maple Nut Goodies that are hard as rocks. $1200 later I have a new crown. Thanks a bunch, Brachs. There are so many complaints against this candy, why in the world haven't you reverted back to your original recipe? Your stupid candy cost me a lot if money.

    3 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem