Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
CB Business and Industrial Review of Billy Mays TV / Samuri Shark Knife Sharpener
Billy Mays TV / Samuri Shark Knife Sharpener

Billy Mays TV / Samuri Shark Knife Sharpener review: Too good to be true! 14

C
Author of the review
12:00 am EDT
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I would like to complain about a Billy Mays TV add for the Samuri Shark Knife Sharpener. The ad said the order would be doubled for the cost of shipping and handling. It was too good to be true. The shipping and handling cost was over $23 for the 6 ounce package. I expected it to be around $5.00. Except for being burned the deceptive ad, the product seems to be working fine.

14 comments
Add a comment
J
J
Joyce Roughton
Aug 18, 2007 7:01 pm EDT

I also ordered the sharpners and received a $40.7o shipping charge. I ordered 2 sets with the free shears and it said a $7.95 shipping charge. They must charge $7.95 per item. How can we stop this?

P
P
Paul Bloxom
Aug 26, 2007 7:24 am EDT

I ordered the item Samuri Shark sharpener, and have yet to receive it, it's been well over 8 weeks. Anyone else with my situation please post here.

T
T
Tim Kirkpatrick
Aug 28, 2007 11:51 am EDT

I was considering purchasing THE SAMARAI SHARK knife sharpener UNTIL I READ SEVERAL OF THE ON-LINE COMPLAINTS about the deception in it's advertising and the fact that it : being a thing that sounds too good to be true, and what I have always heard about such a claim: "IF IT SOUNDS TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE; IT USUALLY IS". Who would want to pay an exorbitant shipping charge of somewhere between $23.00 and $40.70 for an item that was advertised at a cost of "TEN DOLLARS" NOT ME; I still would like to own such a knife sharpener but I believe I will look elsewhere to find one. BUYER BEWARE! THANKS AGAIN FOR YOUR COMMENTS!

Tim Kirkpatrick.

M
M
Mary Anne Cook
Mar 04, 2008 10:27 am EST

Billy Mays pitches lots of things and you assume he is legitimate.
He is not. I ordered my first infomercial product, Samurai Sharpeners and have found that it is an outrageous scam. I have all the details and dates. There is no way to contact the company, Allstate Insurance (which is mentioned in the recorded message on the non-working toll-free number).

I have learned two lessons: 1) never assume Billy Mays is trustworthy, and 2) always check out the product before buying.

R
R
Rose Mary Mueller
Apr 12, 2008 4:29 pm EDT

I ordered the Awesome Auger as advertised by Billy Mays online. I ordered only one with the "free" addition augers and cordless drill. There was no indication on the website about the total shipping and handling and I expected an order review before concluding the transaction. This didn't happen - the "confirmation" came in an e-mail - for 2 augers - and the S&H was $60 for a total of $110. When I tried to call, there was only an automated orderline - for Samurai Shark. The website had no return e-mail. I did find a number for a company in Allentown, Pa. When I reached them, they said it took 48-72 hours before they got the info from the website. I called back 3 times and when I finally reached them. "Donna" agreed to cancel my order. They say on their website that credit cards aren't billed until the items ar shipped. I contacted Visa and my bank and cancelled my debit card - they had put through an "authorization" which the bank said is the customary procedure. They had me sign a Credit Card Charge Dispute Form which will be used if my account is charged. I later checked Yahoo Shopping (should have done this first) and found out there are a multitiude of complaints about this product. It seems they ship it without the extender attachment and the "free drill" is also missing. Others have found the outrageous S&H charges on their bills. Someone said that Billy Mays says he stands behind all his products - he's have to be a mighty tall person to handle all of these complains. Who knows if it even works?

L
L
Linda
Apr 25, 2008 10:00 am EDT

I ordered the knife sharpener and it does seem to work well. But I paid $10.00 for the merchandise and $15.50 for the shipping and handling.

So now if I see an inframercial, even if I like the product I won't order anything because of the shipping charges. Maybe Billy will finally get the hint!

B
B
Bob Wangen
May 05, 2008 1:37 pm EDT

I can't agree or disagree because I have had my order charged to my credit card and have NEVER received the item (Samuri Shark). Not ONE or even the TWO I had expected. I am getting the feeling that Billy Mays is representing a company that is ripping people off any way the can without having and legal action towards them. If I do not get my items soon, I will expect to see my credit card credited and my order canceled! I WILL "NEVER" ORDER ANYTHING THAT BILLY MAYS ENDORSES AND AM CONVINCED THAT HE GETS MORE THAN JUST A PAYCHECK FROM THESE COMPANIES, HE GETS COMPENSATION FOR ANY AND ALL ORDERS THEY (TEH COMPANY) RECEIVES!

WHAT A SCAM AND RIP-OFF! I HAVE BEEN WAITING SINCE LAST FALL!
I HOPE THAT SOMEHOW THIS COMPANY IS FOUND TO BE PRACTICING ILLEGAL SALES VIA TELEVISION GUIDLINES@!

B
B
Bob Wangen
May 05, 2008 1:39 pm EDT

ANYONE WANT TO START A CLASS ACTION SUIT TOWARDS BILLY MAYS?

C
C
Carl Blankenship
May 30, 2008 12:34 am EDT

Who and what I would like to protest against is Billy May's loud mouthed ads; as in, all his ads the volume goes up 4 blasted notches and I immediately turn the ad on mute or change the channel until it is over...can not ad agencies come up with a better ad gimmick than having someone yell at us to try and influence the potential customer...what are the majority of all tv users a.k.a. lemmings? Personally just makes me want to kick his ### if I ever met him...bullying in advertisement hurray hurray hurray...come on as agencies give us a break...put billy back to work for some football team...Thanks for passing this on to someone...please post this Carl

P
P
Paula
Aug 31, 2008 8:21 pm EDT

I'm so damn mad about this stupid product. I bought 4 of these Samurai Shark things for my family as gifts. Now they all hate me!
The idea is great but you can't make a product so cheesy! It sharpens just fine if you treat it like a heart attack. All 4 of these fell apart within a couple sharpenings. The pins that hold the blades are made out of plastic. Can you imagine that? And we though the biggest ### was coming from China...wrong!
The company does not answer any e-mails either. BIG SCAM!

R
R
roshan
Oct 15, 2008 10:20 am EDT

Hi, my name is Roshan and i am a German living in Goa ( India ).
I see no other way to complain about the add. i have seen on TV !
The Advertising, what in-courage young girls to KILL !
Getting pregnant, no problem, KILL !
Have a abortion ! Kill...
So... no problem
also without condom ! Because now we can easy KILL !
What about AIDS ? Also no problem ?
Is the " I PILL " Add ( on AXN, HBO, Star Movies ...) something to put on TV ?
I feel hurt by looking at that " KILL-ADVERTISEMENT "

Roshan
Goa

G
G
Guy M
Seaside Heights, US
Apr 20, 2009 4:49 pm EDT

Just got ripped off with Awesome Auger. Sent it back and had to pay more charges. They charged 150 shipping charges...I do hope American Express accepts dispute. American Express usually stands by their customers.

G
G
Guy M
Seaside Heights, US
Apr 20, 2009 4:54 pm EDT

be careful of advertisements as it is always more $ than stipulated. They always want to send you something extra, also. Watch the handling and shipping charges.

G
G
Grif
Greenville, US
Sep 24, 2009 4:39 pm EDT

Wait until these products hit the stores! They really do! Or, go to a "As seen on Tv Store!

You can buy as many as you want, and only pay the tax on it, instead of those shipping charges. You could get a whole buch more for the price of the shipping . They are always in your CVS, Walgreen, Walmart, etc.