The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Barbara MazurRagdolls

I contacted Barbara on March. 11th because I saw an add on Kijiji.com that she was selling two female cats. I asked her if they came altered because I was looking to start up a small in home hobby of breeding ragdolls. She told me she would help me out and sell me a male for 200 and a female for 500. I should of known right there that there was something wrong. I just thought she was being really nice and like she said "helping me out". She talked herself up really nicely and assured me that she was a reputable breeder. After what seemed like dozens of emails back and forth I finally went to her place to get my breeding male an female. I wondered why she never sent me a picture of the male I was supposed to get but just thought she was probably busy and forgot. When I got there she had three kittens running around the house. She had a dog outside in a kennel, two pug puppies in a crate in the kitchen. And what seemed like a ton of dogs in the basement. Which is where she went to retrieve my cats. She never once offered to take me downstairs. I knew this was a bad scene and everything in me told me to turn around and run. I did not do this though and am kicking myself really bad for it now. She first brought up the female. She appeared to be very healthy and well taken care of. Than she brought up the females father showing him off which also appeared to be a nice looking cat. Than she went down to grab my male. She definitely did not save the best for last! She never mentioned he had anything wrong with his eyes until she brought him upstairs. I looked at him, his eyes were draining and full of gunk. She said that he was not like that two days ago and assured me that it had to be a reaction to the booster shots she had given to him. I don't think the cat had ever seen a vet before coming to me. After taking him to a wrong vet who said it was allergies I took him to a vet who specialized only in cats. She did a round of testing and he came back positive for FIP. On top of that he had an ear infection and Chlamydia of the eye. I than realized that the female who is three years old is probably sterile and that is why she sold her to me. This woman should be shut down! She has no business breeding cats let alone calling herself a reputable breeder! She than told me that she takes her cats to Petco the get them their rabies shots. She administers the other shots herself. I know that she is now trying to blame a innocent cat breeder who she purchased a kitten from a week ago that her kitten was the cat who brought FIP into her house. I by fluke was also inquiring about a kitten this woman had and we realized we had been taken by the same woman. Barbara is trying to pin her FIP problem on a new kitten she had purchased. I have to add that after purchasing these to cats and all the vet bills I have spent 1400.

I feel stupid that I let this happen to me and am embarrassed that I am letting this out but feel that you need to aware of her! She breeds Pugs and another type of dog as well.

More Barbara Mazur Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Rt
    rtoa Jun 15, 2017

    Okay just let the MSPCA know whats going on lets see what happens

    0 Votes
  • Rt
    rtoa Jun 15, 2017

    HI All.
    So Barbra is on a website called Breeders.net trying to sell a chocolate female who just had a litter of pups its sounds just like the story with the White lab she claims she has AKC Papers so would contact the AKC and let them know what is going on I also Urge you to contact the MSPCA of Boston and let them know as well and the Ware MA PD animal control officer. these are all signs of a Puppy mill and maybe an animal hording situation. too. keep on making others aware of her.

    Thanks guys.

    2 Votes
  • Mo
    Moonie711 Feb 09, 2015

    PLEASE READ!!!

    I CONTACTED BARBARA ABOUT HER BENGAL KITTENS FOR SALE


    I had to FORCE her to talk to me on the phone- and when she did she sounded like she was TWEAKING out on something. I asked to go down and see the kittens and she said thats fine but i could only drop off the deposit and not see the kittens RED FLAGS RITE THERE

    I offered to send her a CHECK because i know it is traceable and if she tried anything i would have proof. SHE REFUSED and INSISTED i WIRE the money!! LOL UNTRACABLE! SHE WOULDNT EVEN GIVE ME HER ADDRESS!


    DO NOT DEAL WITH HER SHE IS A SCAMMER!!


    IF ANYONE KNOWS OF A REPUTABLE BENGAL BREEDER IN NEW ENGLAND PLEASE TELL ME

    0 Votes
  • No
    Nomoremills Nov 17, 2014

    Now she has an ad on Craigslist trying to sell her female lab. She's saying she's in West Brookfield. The ad says how the dog must be spayed before she'll release the papers. She has her advertised as a "white" lab. God I hope people research before they buy ANY animal from her and hopefully she will be shut down soon!

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Barbra Mazur (aka) Emma Smith Sep 11, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    BARBRA J MAZUR of 10 Lee road, Ware Mass #01082 runs an all out "Puppy/Kitten/Kat mill out of her house. She claims to be a small bobby breeder yet breeds (2) different types of dogs (Pug adult and pups from $500.-$1, 000. & 10-Labrador pups for $1, 000. She also has (4) different adds for cats & kittens. First for (3) female TICA Rag doll cats for $500. Second for (1) Bengal kitten for $1, 000. A third Rag doll young cat for $500. And a forth ad for a litter of Bengal kittens for $650. Each. If that isn't a person in it ONLY FOR THE MONEY I don't know who is. Barbra Maseru is an all out LIAR and UNTRUSTWORTHY SCAM artist who sells unsuspecting families SICK animals, This women needs to be reported to the proper authorities, fined, shut down and thrown in Jail. She lies constantly and never takes her animals to the Vets unless there on DEATHS door step. And that's only so she can just keep on breeding them. Just GOGGLE Barbra Mazur Pugs, Labradors, Rag doll & Bengal Cats / Kittens Reviews and complaints to see for yourself

    0 Votes
  • Ks
    KS13 Mar 28, 2014

    Just to let everyone know that Barbara is now using the name Emma Smith as a cover up. SO glad I did research and found all of this!

    0 Votes
  • Do
    donuts53 Nov 20, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I appreciate all the above posts. I recently had a ragdoll female 8yr? dropped at my door. I already have 4 cats. This poor thing has incredible skin issues and a bump on her belly. With the papers that were in the envelope, was a 'health record' that said Barbara was the breeder. I was going to call her and ask if she would be willing to take the cat back. After reading the above, I will try to find her another home. I am not in a position to pay more vet bills but I don't believe back to Barbara is where she belongs. Thanks for the heads-up.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    loveforragdolls Feb 26, 2013

    Loveragdolls:

    She probably accused you of buying a breeder under pet rights because that is what she does. I know of one incident where this has happened. The other breeder who had been taken by Barbara told me that Barbara tried to get a kitten from her through another woman. It all came to light when the woman trying to get the kitten accidently sent an email that was supposed to be for Barbara to the breeder as well... I do wonder if the woman (LeeAnn) I am having problems with myself is in together with Barbara and wonder if Barbara got the kitten from me. I will never really know for sure. But I would not put it past this woman. She did try to get me to get an older retired male breeder by not telling the breeder that I was a breeder myself. I would NEVER do this but she is not above such crazy games... Everybody (buyers and breeders) beware of this woman. Funny late last year she replied to an ad I had for a male kitten. After realizing who she was I told her I would not sell her a kitten. She told me it was not for her but for a friend and that she would NEVER buy a kitten from me... she also told me Karma is a ###. Well I could not understand why she would get a kitten from a breeder she herself would NEVER buy a kitten from for a friend... She is so full of BS. Everything that she says is bs. Everybody please stay clear of Barbara Mazur from Ware, Mass. She is bad news that just never goes away.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    loveragdolls Feb 18, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I recently inquired about an adult Ragdoll Barbara Mazur was selling on ebay. When I emailed her, she said it would be $350. I asked if she was spayed, or if she could spay her beforehand, and her exact response to me was "NOPE, you can spay her for really cheap or FREE at some places, so she's 350.00 without spaying" This set off some alarms, and I should have gone with my gut here. When I backed away, explaining that I did not want to put the cat through the trauma of a surgery shortly after being re-homed, and offered her more MONEY to spay her, she finally agreed. I asked for photos which I never got. She claimed to not have any, and I kept waiting for her to take some. Another red flag, shame on me. In all of her emails, she never even gave me her name or contact number. Unfortunately for me, I provided her with mine, as she requested in her ad. More on that in a bit. So my instincts got the best of me, and I googled her name and "cattery" (if you can call it that?) on the internet. I read bad review after bad review claiming she breeds sick animals in poor conditions, etc. That was enough for me~ I wrote and politely explained that I had read some reviews and no longer felt comfortable purchasing the cat (which I still had not even received a photo of). She wrote back, mostly caps and explanation points, claiming that the accusations were false. I wrote back (always polite and professionl) saying she should not be selling un-spayed cats without background checking in the first place, anyway. She came back with another mouthy email, and then called my home with a blocked number asking if I was a cat breeder? She proceeded to unleash, but I quickly hung up the phone. She also emailed me again accusing me of being a breeder, trying to "plot" against her with my "breeder" friends, and lying...I am actually quite un-nerved that this woman has my contact information. BUYER BEWARE!!! Do not purchase an animal from this woman, I would not take your chances. If she cares for her animals in any way close to how she interacts with human beings, I fear for their well being. Big mistake reaching out to this woman~

    1 Votes
  • No
    Notsurprisedaboutthatone May 05, 2012

    Barbara Mazur is a con artist, nothing more. As someone who has dealt with her professionally, I have since broken ties with her after catching her in lie after lie about her animals. She let one of her pregnant dogs who was CLEARLY sick go a whole month before bringing her to the vet to find out she had an infection and needed antibiotics (I have the proof of this through her emails I have saved). She advertises 'bengal' kittens, but they're not- they're half breeds with somewhat bengal markings. She is currently trying to sell her Ragdoll male for $1500, claiming he's sired many show-quality litters. He's only 4- from what she had mentioned to me, this is probably the cat who has NO INTEREST in breeding (which explains why she's selling such a 'quality' male at only 4 years old- he won't produce). Anyone considering him please ask to see proof of the litters registered to him! Her puppies and kittens NEVER see a vet for health certificates as the law requires for sale- she does all the shots herself. She advertises her puppies are bred to 'AKC standards', she produces only AKC puppies, and she will only sell them as pets, not breeders, so they have 'good lives'- not true, she CANT sell some of her litters with AKC papers as they're out of a CKC male! She claims her fawn male pug is AKC DNA tested, which is hysterical as she puts that in ads containing both fawn and black puppies from the same litter, with a fawn female as the dam- impossible to have black pugs out of two fawns, and at the time of the ad she didn't even OWN a male which is why she always uses outside studs! Again, I have proof straight from her own mouth of both these claims. Nothing but lie after lie out of this scammer's mouth, she neglects her poor animals and refuses to give them vet care until they're in dire need all to save the almighty buck. All she cares about is putting $ in her pocket, she will neglect her animals and tell potential buyers anything they want to here to get that $.

    A LIAR with both her puppies and kittens who gives breeders everywhere a bad name, sadly. Spend your $ for a quality kitten or puppy with someone who actually CARES about the animals and is not just in it for the $. Loveforragdolls, sorry this happened to you, and not the least bit surprised, after all I've learned about Barbara and how she runs her business and treats her animals.

    3 Votes
  • Lo
    loveforragdolls Aug 09, 2011

    disregard the last comment it was meant for another complaint

    2 Votes
  • Lo
    loveforragdolls Aug 09, 2011

    I also bought a kitten from her. A tortie little girl. She ended up with a heart murmur. I contacted her numerous times because of the health guarantee I signed and never got a reply back. I have learned my lesson and will be very careful who I buy a kitten from.

    1 Votes
  • Lo
    loveforragdolls Aug 09, 2011

    and who is your grandfather? are you saying I took my cat to your grandfather?

    -1 Votes
  • Lo
    loveforragdolls Aug 09, 2011

    I agree with you raglover.

    Golden Fish. I am assuming you know Barbara? Well what business does she have selling a cat with breeding rights for $200 when the cat clearly had something wrong with him. I had to be the one to put the poor cat down. I by no means make money off my ragdolls. After proper vet bills, food and taking care of them I am still paying out of my pocket at the end. Which is the way it should be. Breeding does not make you money if you do it right. I trust my vet and know she would not make up illness's to make more money. She is a very reputable vet. I have heard more stories about her and hear she is still up to no good. I am just trying to get people to stop buying from her so maybe she can go out of business and stop selling sick cats/kittens.

    2 Votes
  • Ra
    Raglover Sep 07, 2010

    This woman is apparently crazy and lies to everyone and accuses everyone of thinkgs with the ragdolls...she accused my best friend of giving her a cat with eye herpes!?!?!?!!? then turns around and tries to sell the kitten on kijiji! She need to be stopped! She is clearly insane!

    2 Votes
  • Go
    Golden fish Aug 27, 2010

    A cat with breeding rights costs $1500 and more, what can you expect for $200? You get what you pay for. Greedy people want to buy a bargian cheap pup/kitty( and make a fortune later on breeding them), and they trade and trade and trade... I see this happening everywhere - read a lot of stories. Be honest with breeder and breeder will be honest with you, my opinion. And by the way that cat DID have allergy reaction, from my grandfathers's (vet) experience and by his opinion. But loveforragdolls wanted to pay more vet bills and hired different vet - and that vet guessed her wish right! And if she would be willing to pay more than $1400 - he accordingly would find MORE illnesses in poor kitty. That's vet business, you know.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.