The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Azuria GroupDo not rent

U Review updated:

Do not ever consider renting from this group of properties. This complaint is specifically about 450 Walmer Road. The ONLY thing that this place has going for it is the location (which is why we took it). It's less than a 5 minute walk from St. Clair West subway station.
1. The building managment (Tina, Eleanora) are the rudest people you will have the misfortune of crossing. They cut you off mid-sentence and Tina will outright yell at you and try to talk over you. They are negligent and lazy. They do not respond to requests for repair. And you have to repeatedly call and follow up before they do something (if anything) about it. They are incompetent and disorganized.
2. The building has serious plumbing issues. You will find yourself with no water for 24 hours with NO notice. You can come home after work at 5 pm and find yourself with no water till the next day. Or there will be no hot water in November.
3. Silverfish and ants galore in the apartment
4. The laundry machines either eat your money or they don't work properly. Your clothes can come out soaking wet from the machine due to a faulty spin cycle. The dryers need to be run twice in order for the clothes to actually dry.
5. When we moved in we were told that they didn't have time to finish maintenance on the apartment. So we had their people IN the apartment the day we are moving painting our walls. The floor was a mess, nothing was cleaned. And they left the curtain rails from the previous tenants up. We had to take those down ourselves leaving huge holes in our ceiling which they did not fix/re-paint inspite of us asking them to do so. This should have been done as part of the maintenance process.

In short, do not rent from this place. You will be sorry you signed a lease.

More Azuria Group Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • So
    SoSadToLiveHere Jun 13, 2012

    Unfortunate Tenant is 100% correct.

    Stay away from this building.
    1. Roaches.
    2. As Unfortunate Tenant mentioned, the building has some major plumbing issues. You will end up without water between 8am to 5pm several times a week. Notice is generally posted in the lobby, but sometimes they are very easy to miss.
    3.Constant construction noise. From 8am to 5pm on most days. They are currently redoing the balconies. No peace, no quiet, no end in sight.
    4. The laundry room is tiny. There are not enough machines for the whole building, so be prepared to make several trips to the laundry room. Also, good luck finding a machine that works. As Unfortunate Tenant mentioned, some machines leave your laundry soaking wet. On Sundays, tenants have no regard for your drying time. You will often find that your laundry has been taken out of the dryer mid cycle. Also, the laundry is coin-operated, so don't expect the newly minted 2012 loonies to work.
    5. Building management changes every few months. In less than a year, we've had about 3-4 different superintendents. They are also very difficult to get a hold of. We had to wait about a month to get our oven replaced.

    Bottomline, while it may look to be a decent building, don't be fooled. You'll regret moving here.

    1 Votes
  • An
    Another Unfortunate Tenant Jun 19, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree with both of these tenants.
    I am an unfortunate tenant of Azuria Groups building in Mississauga. We have the exact same issues as the people in the Toronto building.
    I have often thought it was only my building that gets this special treatment and now I know how Azuria is so wealthy to be able to shell out 10 million+ dollars to build a new commercial site on Dundas and Dixie. They turn the water and heat off in their bulidings constantly and stop construction projects mid way through and half ### all maintenance and do not do important things around the building. They also hire the most useless staff to "fix" the building. I have stories that would make you sick... but too long to post them.. That saves them a ton of money for sure and leaves us tenants without the services we pay for. This is nothing new for them as I have been living in this building for years.
    The supers (Daniel and Tatiyana) are completely useless. You can never get hold of them when you need them and if you have a complaint they look at you like you are speaking in another language. Their answer is always write a letter to head office, even for the simplest of complaints. Daniel is always hiding in the and around the building at all hours of the day and night to avoid doing any work and when he does actually have to do some work he leaves his lingering extremely bad odor in your apartment along with his half ### repair. the only thing he actually does is fiddle around with his car in the underground garage and make a hell of a mess. Tatiyana is nice enough but useless as a super. She refuses to deal with any complaints and refuses to answer the phone after hours even when she is on call.
    It's a pathetic situation that is easily remedied. Hire an on site Manager to oversee everything is done correctly.
    I suggest you dont rent here either. I am moving soon, finally!

    2 Votes
  • Nu
    nutotoronto Aug 21, 2013

    I have to agree with above comments. I unfortunately rented at 77 St Clair. Location and size of unit only positive thing I can say. The customer service is horrible. The man who is in charge just totally ignores your emails. Does things only when one persists. The quality of the work that is done is horrible. Painting, patching, anything is done amateurishly. I don't know where they get the workers. The only saving grace in this building are the incredible Assistant Super's that started around time of my move otherwise I don't know what I'd have done. They spend 0 $ on anything, use the absolute cheapest and ugliest things possible. Very unfortunate since it could be a great place to live, from location, views and size of units and a Sobeys on ground floor! The management company is terrible, not friendly AT ALL, they don't treat us like a customer but more like a nuisance.

    3 Votes
  • De
    Dennis Kourktchan Dec 10, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree with all of the above one hundred percent! I lived at 450 Walmer Road. We moved out prior to expiration of our lease, we gave them ample warning and they charged us to find another tenant. They later claimed they found one to take over immediately upon our proposed move out date just to backtrack on us and stick us with one month rent bill. Don't trust these people, if you are going to deal with them get EVERYTHING in writing.

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tortured Resident at 77 St Clair Ave Jan 17, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The daily "balcony repair" welding noises since Nov-Dec 2017 until now Jan 2018 and ongoing indefinitely are driving everyone bonkers!
    The monthly paint fumes seeping through the vents are probably killing everyone slowly.
    If you must live here, invest in ear plugs, headphones and an industrial strength air cleaner.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Tenant 2019 Jan 22, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    (Jan 2019) I cannot completely agree with the above comments. I have been living at 450 Walmer for the past three years. Prior to that, I lived here from 2008 to 2010. Trust me, if it was so terrible, I would not have returned. I absolutely love my apartment. It's bright, and very spacious for a one bedroom (try finding that size in an upscale location like this and for that price). I have never seen and roach or bugs in my apartment (I guess it says something about my cleaning habits?). The view from my balcony is simply breathtaking, especially at nights (I'm sure everyone can appreciate their own view too). Everyone who visits my apartment just loves it. I only wish they built the kitchen bigger. I could never understand why they cramped the kitchen so small when there's enough room to make it bigger. I guess it's because we don't spend a lot of time in our kitchen. Regarding the laundry room, it definitely is too small. They should have kept it in the basement where it's more spacious but the basement location needed renovations so the laundry room has been moved to the first floor. FYI, it's not a coin laundry anymore, it's been upgraded to card only. So we have the convenience of reloading our card using debit. I remember complaining about having to always buy coins for laundry which was such an inconvenience as the building did not have a coin machine. I'm very happy about the card system. All the machines are brand new and there's more ventilation in the room. The only thing I'm really upset about is that when I moved in, I didn't get my apartment painted because there was no time. I had to move in right away because my previous apt was rented. I have asked and begged to have it painted while I'm here but they wouldn't budge. They will not paint for you once you've occupied the space but I feel they should have been more understanding due to my situation at the time. On top of that, you're not allowed to change the paint colors so if you want to paint your apt you'd have to buy paint from the guy who paints the building (he's useless and unreasonable). Regarding repairs, I requested to have parts of my apartment repaired in December while I was away for holidays. When I got back, all repairs were completed. I was very pleased. I've complained about my stove that has not been working very well so I'm waiting for an update on that. Regarding the noise of construction and the smell of paint, come on guys - this should be expected anywhere you live. There'll always be people moving in and others checking out, hence there'll always be the need to paint and repair. It simply shows that things are getting done. Would you prefer the alternative? I think not. Sometimes, we ought to give and take. This location and upscale neighborhood far outweigh the cons.

    -1 Votes
  • 45
    450 Walmer Road Tenant Apr 07, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    All I can say is that don't rent here if you can rent somewhere else with the same price! in my experience, the only good thing about this building is the location but it has so many negative points that drain your energy. Walls and floors are so thin here that you can hear your neighbor's every move and every conversation. the bedrooms are wall to wall and unfortunately, neighbors here are not mindful about that after midnight. I have not had a night sleep without waking up in the middle of the night from our neighbors walking in high heels above us, talking with a phone, having loud conversations, music, shower, running kid (why your kid is awake at 2 am?!!), dragging furniture on the floor and so on... at least one of the elevators is always out, don't rent on floor 7 and up! Don't rent in front of/beside the elevator. That's where your neighbors fart. That's where the garbage shooting is. The water is out at least 3 days a month. Ah! you never want to chat with Tina about ANYTHING!!! She is sweet at first, but she is really rude, annoying, and not professional at all! She pretends that she doesn't understand when she doesn't want to help you. In the other hand, Marcus is great! He really wants to help you and make sure you're happy in this building. He helps right away and tries to solve the problem asap. Everyone like him here. One more thing: Laundry becomes a war zone during the weekend! do your laundry during weekdays if you rent here. again, don't rent here if you can rent somewhere else with the same price. Hope that was helpful!

    2 Votes
  • Ba
    Baldanders Apr 17, 2019

    Same stories and similar problems at 77 St Clair. Here, Mike is the "Marcus" and Jeff is the "Tina".

    0 Votes
  • Ft
    F Trated Oct 01, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Baldanders Baldanders, Geoff would go into an apt. to repair something, notice minor things that you never mentioned needed fixing (loose light switch plates, running toilets, your dirty HVAC filter etc.), and fix/replace them on the way out. I was his co-Super for a couple years and saw him do this regularly. He was constantly fighting with the office for quality & quick turnaround repair times on behalf of tenants, answered his phone no matter what time people called & dealt with issues immediately whenever possible even on his days off. Management told us apartments took 4 hours to clean; we cleaned 'em till you could walk in & unpack immediately and it usually took 8 hours or more. Geoff was a lot of things but lazy about building upkeep was absolutely NOT one of them, so if he turned you down it was likely over something management wouldn't pay for or authorize. Last time I popped in to visit him cleaning a unit in 2018 he was steam-cleaning the kitchen & bathroom.

    Re: cranky Supers--property management laws in this city are extremely exploitive of residential building Supers: there's no overtime with on-call jobs under the law, so you're often working 80-100-hour weeks while getting paid for 40. When you go on vacation, or quit, your co-Super covers the entire building 24/7 for weeks at a time without a break. Your rent is deducted from your pay with no documentation, so you can't claim it on your taxes or as part of your salary if you ever need to file for EI. I worked for several TO property mgmt companies & they're all like this^. You don't make enough to be able to easily afford to quit & move (first & last months' rent + $500 moving expenses OR just moving expenses to take another live-in job that's going to mercilessly exploit you just as badly because the law allows it). The job in general is a trap I saw many people with kids--like Mike & Geoff-- get stuck in, and I consider myself lucky to have 'gotten out' years ago.

    By 2019, both of these guys had been at 77 St.Clair for 9 years or more. Pretty sure you'd be cranky, burned out & miserable too by that point, Baldanders.

    In any case, Geoff quit a couple weeks ago and Mike's been doing a four person job by himself ever since. They're probably having a hard time re-staffing because they're about to start jackhammering the front of the building in a massive renovation project and living/working there is going to get NOISY.

    0 Votes
  • Ft
    F Trated Oct 01, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @F Trated Anyone looking to move here who works from home, I would strongly urge you to check how long there will be people jackhammering outside your windows & air vents: https://urbantoronto.ca/news/2020/02/quadrangle-refresh-podium-1960s-apartment-tower-st-clair This project looks like 6+ months to completion, minimum---if not a year.
    Location & amenities are great---units are relatively large, third-floor rooftop's gorgeous & building's pet-friendly..
    That said, bear in mind if the city goes on lockdown again, you may find yourself stuck in your apt. listening to construction workers who're forced to work thru the lockdown.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.