The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Allied Health InstituteAwful place

A

Do not go to Allied Health Institute. Do not waste your time or your money. Go somewhere where people do not lie and rip you off. Go to a school where people actually do care.

More Allied Health Institute Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • St
    Stacey May 05, 2009

    I found Allied Health Institute to be good school. They provided me with the education I needed to get a great job. The administration and instructors were awesome. I went to Kaplan for 3 months. I could not stand it and beside they were too expensive.

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    hottie02123 Jul 17, 2009

    when does allied health Institue give out the students school checks

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    James the man Aug 26, 2009

    Your site should fact check before they post. Allied health Institute is a great schoolk. I got off to a great career from that school. Their teaching staff is to notch.

    -1 Votes
  • La
    ladyluke Sep 17, 2009

    I'm about to enroll in AHI for Medical Assisting and the admissions representative, was really informative and she was down to earth. She didn't talk as if she was selling a car, or trying to get me to sign up for something that I didn't need. I plan to enroll, furthering my education is very important to me, that's why I've researched plenty of online schools, and what I was looking for, I found in AHI.

    1 Votes
  • Pe
    pettevy Dec 07, 2009

    Who ever is on here praising this school is probably administration trying to save their rep. This school is terrible. I am currently attending and never have I seen such unprofessionalism. I am out over $20, 000 and when I graduate I will know nothing. I am halfway thru and I can barely take PB. They are always full of lies and excuses. DONT GO TO THIS SCHOOL. I am so sorry I picked this school. I have to hang in there and do my best to get done.

    3 Votes
  • Pe
    pettevy Dec 07, 2009

    Oh and another thing... they are very inundated. They are showing videos that are over 20 years old. The lab is not equipped and the clinical is a joke. That's even if you are lucky enough to get a clinical. IT is a shame that they can get away with this.

    1 Votes
  • Pa
    PaulaTerry Dec 09, 2009

    I believe you are talking about Allied health Institute in Indiana which is not affiliated with Aliied Health Institute in Florida. It is the Florida school that is the good on. if you type in http://www.alliedhealthinstitute.com you will see that that domain is for sale. The real Allied health is at http://www.alliedhealthinstitute.edu. I went there and was quite happy with my education.

    0 Votes
  • Mp
    mp68 Jan 27, 2010

    I just graduated from AHI in Indiana and had a awesome experience. I am already working in the field I went to school there for. In fact the school was the one who got me my job as a tech. The teachers are great and my total tuition was under 12, 000 not bad considering I am now make 38, 000 ayear for my first job out of school. Bottom line, school takes work and the student s who complain the loudest are always the ones who do the least work. I would recommend AHI to anyone looking to better themselves.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    mrskt Feb 05, 2010

    I would hope no one from the school is deceiving people by coming on here giving false praise for this school. Please people do not do people like this. Let the education speak for itself.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    SANDC May 16, 2010

    I THINK ALLIED IS A GOOD SCHOOL AND THEY HAVE GREAT TEACHERS AND STAFF! I HAVE NOT GOTTEN MY LAST TWO SCHOOL CHECKS EITHER BUT I AM GUESSING THEWILL COME, WHO KNOWS! BUT THE EDUCATION IS GREAT AND I HAVE LEARNED A LOT FOR THE AGE THAT I AM, IT IS A GOOD LEARNING EXPERIENCETO ME I HAVE RECCOMENDED THIS SCHOOL TO PEOPLE.

    0 Votes
  • Or
    Orial Aug 22, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've just enrolled in AHI in Florida. I'm taking the Medical Coding Specialist program. The Admissions Rep was informative, helpful and a pleasure to speak with but then I waited nearly two weeks for a Financial Aid Advisor to contact me. Needless to say, I got tired of waiting and contacted them myself since classes are to begin shortly. The Financial Aid Rep was apologetic and within minutes my paperwork was processed. She had the Bookstore overnite me the books I she said I would need to begin. I'm not a Genius by any means but was quite dissapointed to receive a Basic Math Skills book and what seemed to be a 10 page thin book on Hepatitis A, B, C. WTF- was all I could think of!!
    I do hope that the books get better as the classes continue. I picked up a 2nd hand book on Medical Coding which I absolutely love from Barnes & Nobles. Hope this school is worth the Tuition and my time!! But in regards to the 2 books they sent me... I have no doubt that I will ace those courses. I need more of a challenge and I hope AHI gives me what I need!! Wish me Luck!!

    1 Votes
  • J0
    j04ahc Nov 02, 2010

    Allied Health Institute is a wonderful school. Great staff and great teachers who are always willing to help. The prices are extremely reasonable as compared to other schools. They even help with job placement after graduation!! I would recommend this school to anyone!

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    Winer78 Dec 21, 2010

    IM a RN my daughter was enrolled in their Clinical medical assistant program what puzzled me was that they were being taught Anatomy and Physiology before they even took a Medical Terminology class that was so backward to anyone who knows anything about the medical field I cant say that they are a bad school but they are very backward and it seemed to me that she wasn't getting the appropriate education so now she will be stating a jr college for Nursing in January right here in our own city and they wont charge out the tooshie like Allied Health Institution the LPN programs at jr colleges are cheaper than what allied is charging for their medical assistant program

    0 Votes
  • Li
    lily*rhysmommy Jan 02, 2011

    I"m thinking about going to allied health institute online for the electrocardiography program? Ha anyone graduated from here with this degree? Is it an accredited school.. Is it ncct approved for the national exam?

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    jonathon 125 Jan 12, 2011

    I am happy with the education I received. However the clinical coordinator total screwed me over, which she no longer works there. Also the financial aid department lead me to believe everything was covered under student loans, I find out two months after I graduated there is an outstanding bill of two thousand dollars. Now I have to pay both the school and the government about a hundred dollars a month which was not it my budget. I feel they said what they had to to get me to come to there school, I really feel misled.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    jonathon226 Jan 27, 2011

    make sure you know exactly what the charges will be what is covered by government loans. also finding a clinical site is up to you, you will have to travel around to several locations yourself which is okay because it allows you to introduce yourself to several offices which may be helpful in the future. However it is very hard to find an office that will take on a student.

    1 Votes
  • Sc
    Scott1980 Jan 29, 2011

    I'm attending Allied Health Institute online and by far the best school. The addmission rep that I talked to was really nice and very informative. The teachers are great and I can tell they know what they are doing. If you have questions, you can call them. They are even good with getting back with you through email. I'm glad I have found Allied Health Institute. I would recommend this school to anyone. I give this school 100% A ++++

    0 Votes
  • Ek
    EKG Tech Feb 04, 2011

    I graduated from AHI in Fl 7 months ago. The insrtuctors were really great, except one who instructed the medical terminology class, she gave me a failing grade on my final test, when I contacted the dean and challenged my grade, I found out that I passes and the instuctor was wrong. Can you believe that she is teaching the class but did not know the correct spelling of the medical terms! Then the clinical part was horrible!! Even the staff at the hospital could not believe how unorginized the school was. Then they tried to keep a balance that belonged to me, I had to contact them several times before I recieved it. To top it off I have still yet to recieve my diploma, 7 months later!! I contact them and they keep telling me that I have not completed surveys that the school requires, yet I have completed these ridiculous serveys 4 times now and they claim theyre not in my file! Maybe that is because i have never dealt with the same person, people come and go there! ALSO, i was told when enrolling that career placment was offered, WRONG, I was told that their were course included that were never given! Im out $6, 800, 7 motnhs, I took the EKG course, I found out later i could have gone to a local tech school paid $400 and went 6-8 weeks and recieved the same education! DO NOT go to this school!

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    justme1955 Feb 24, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    There are a few drawbacks to attending AHI for Medical Coding. They say they will pay for the CPC examination to be licensed as a professional coder, but the test is administered by a lesser known organization, not AHIMA, which is the one most employers look for.

    Clinicals are the problem of the student. It is up to you to find your own clinical program in your area. The HIPAA training is up to date and extensive. Their new AS programs are offered without prequistes, so if you happen across College Algebra, you have to have an immensely strong background in advanced mathmetics.

    Unless you have prior experience as a Medical Coder you will not be hired as one. You can start as a receptionist and work your way up, but do not expect to be hired off the bat, and do not expect the school to find you a job. The Coding information is an introduction to coding and is not extensive at all. I liked most of my instructors, all but two, actually, but please do your research.

    -1 Votes
  • St
    Stacy235 Mar 31, 2011

    I currenly attend Allied Health Institute, so far my experience is ok...The work is ok, teachers are ok...I think that the tuition for the Medical Assistant program is too expensive, for this occupation to be the lowest paid of all the programs they have... I think you get out what you put in, if you don't take the time to study and do your assignments your not gonna make it in this school, also if your having trouble the teachers are very willing to help you in any way they can. When it comes to financial aid that's another story, I think their financial aid dept can be operated better or have better communication with the students when it comes to financial aid matters, they could be more consistent with their student newsletters and perfect attendance awards. I don't know if they have ant type of honor roll or dean's list, I have a 3.60 GPA and have yet to be acknowledged. But other than that it's a great experience.

    0 Votes
  • My
    mylo2011 Apr 26, 2011

    I have just enrolled into the health care managment AS program and I am starting to egret it after reading all of the bad complaints which I did my research before i enrolled but my mom is taking classes with them and as had no problems. Classes start next week and i have yet had the help that i need to make that im ok with starting classes. I havent talked to the admissions rept only through email even then she havent made sure if i needed help with anything. Financial aide calls and i couldnt understand a word the lady was saying so ive just been contacting her through email but she havent really been any help so im having my doubts about this school

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    BayBayBella Dec 27, 2011

    I attended AHI, and I have just finished the online academia work ( class work ). I am waiting to here where my clinical will be : I am in the EKG Technician program. I found the school to be "okay". I graduated from a private university and have my bachelor's degree. The experience with a 4 year college private university is MUCH different than AHI or their independent studies. I am not pleased or unpleased, I am indifferent about their education and their faculty. I think if you are looking for an education or a certification that is in moderate expense this school is fine. But, if you are looking for credibility and structure, go to a REAL college or university. I am glad I have my higher education from a university, but am glad I experienced AHI independent learning as well. I will be receiving my certification in EKG, we will see where this leads me and if the education from AHI was work the $9, 000 I paid for 6 months. I think they lack in their clinical placing and everything is done at the last minute. Clinical should be in order when the student is enrolled, not letting the student know 2-4 days before they actually start. They scramble in certain areas and I feel their staff could be better versed as well as polished. Once you make a complaint, the school addresses it's imperfections, but it is annoying to have had to make any complaints, as I do feel 9k is a lot for a certification. As I stated earlier, if you really want an excellent education make sure you go to a 4 year school and spend the time and money it is worth it, I am glad and appreciative I have my higher education before experiencing this school. There is a BIG difference in professionalism and intellect. Overall, I would rate AHI a 6 or maybe a 7 on scale of 1-10. Good Luck for those of you who chose this school. I believe they are always making changes and being pro-active on increasing their credibility.

    0 Votes
  • Or
    Orial Dec 29, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I graduated from AHI in June of 2011, it took 5 months for them to mail me my Diploma and transcripts!! Unbelievable... they claim to never have received the exit survey I submitted. After a few calls and submitting the survey once again I finally got my diploma in the mail. I took the Medical Coding Specialist course and found my own job with no help from them. I was dissapointed the classes they offer did not prepare me for the Coding Position or my CPC certification exam. The Coding classes were just a brief intro to coding...you are better off going to Barnes & Nobles and purchasing the books and studying on your own, save yourself the $13, 000.

    0 Votes
  • De
    DebinOhio Jan 19, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I think AHI is a good choice although I have yet to complete a program. I was enrolled in the medical assistant certificate program and liked it a lot. Unfortunately I had 2 tries to complete my clinical portion and failed because something always seem to come up where I was unable to complete the hours. I tried get back in the program but was denied because they said I exceeded my attempts. I am extremely disappointed in myself and not the school. They said I can enroll in a program that requires no clinicals so I am now enrolled in health-care management. I still prefer to finish MA. For one, MA is something I have been wanting to do and secondly it would be cheaper but now its going to cost me several more thousands of dollars just to get my degree.

    0 Votes
  • Kh
    khmiss Jan 21, 2012

    Hi..I am new to the allied health institute. I will be starting this school next week for the medical assistant program, I have taken most of the academic classes like college algebra, medical terminology, english comp, environmental science and a couple more but I forgot. My admission counselor said that the classes are 16 months but I will only have to do 11 including clinicals. Im hoping that this school is legit and informative for the career that I am trying to get into..What do you think? Is there anyone who has had this program before? Please let me know how everything goes? How are the assignments? R there a lot of paper writing...I hope not!!! I did a lot of that at University of Phoenix!!

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    williams22 Feb 06, 2012

    Hello everyone. I am currently an student a t Allied Health Institute and I think It's wonderful. I do feel that the online is fast paced. I have enjoyed my previous teachers and hope to enjoy the ones in the future. I look forward to graduating this august. Keep in mind that your reward in is the end. You get as much as you give. The A.S. in Medical is a bit expensive. I would recommend this school to anyone looking for a positive change in life.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    misscarm May 20, 2012

    I am thinking about taking the Medical Assistant program. Anyone taken this course? How was it? and upon completion are you eligible for the CMA exam?

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kanwayta Jun 12, 2012

    I am currently attending Allied Health in FL and it is was of the worst decisions I have ever made. They lie to and try to cover up the mistakes they made. They screwed my ledger up in the worst way and you know you don't play with no one's money. Please before you make the decision to give these people you money think about it. The financial office is the business office who does that. The person in the financial aid office don't really know anything and these are the type of people messing with my money. The attitudes of the people there stinks. Sure they are nice when they are trying to get you enrolled because they want something from you but once you are in get ready cause they are going to get their money.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Registered Nurse lol Nov 27, 2012

    The receptionist Crystal is a joke. They have uneducated receptionists proctor test. Then there is another receptionist or office assistant or what not, anyhow her name is Kim and she makes an effort to be so professional, but she isn't cutting it either. All of the staff hang out and pow wow outside smoking most of the time. It's expensive for no reason. The RN clinicals are at nursing homes, you will be working as a CNA. Mrs.Rednack does no skills in the lab so good luck on your check off or on being in the real world. Yes I went there, yes I graduated, yes I am a a registered nurse... 20 thousand dollars later. I bridged from LPN to RN. However there are cheaper and better schools. I had to wait a month to have a date for my boardscbecause they wouldn't send my damn transcripts. If your read anything good about this school, use your better judgement and know that it is from someone who works there . Good luck and run like hell

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    math97 Dec 18, 2012

    Check with the AAPC site and ahima site as well much cheaper. I only paid $2, 500 and was in class for 8 months.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    SammyB96 Jan 08, 2013

    Well, I'm glad I'm not the only one who feels that, although the education at AHI is good, once you get to your clinicals, people are scrambling. In my case, I was told 4 days before the first day of my clinicals where I would be assigned. The Clinicals Director either lied or got confused as to what I was studying, because he told the clinical site that I "could do everything", meaning I could do injections and things that MAs do. I studied to be an EKG Tech! I was never once trained by the school to do injections and there was no phlebotomy education until the last week. But even that wasn't hands on. It was just an overview. So needless to say, my clinical site (which is an internal medicine practice, not cardiology) was very disappointed to find out that I was NOT a medical assisting student. It really irritates me that the Clinical Director told them I was!
    It's been 7 weeks and I still haven't received my diploma or transcripts. Apparently, the school has forgotten that when you tell a potential employer that you've graduated from a certain school, they like to see that diploma as proof! As for jobs, well, I'm unemployed and there are no jobs in my area that will take an EKG Tech student without any experience. As for job leads, the school is doing nothing any more special than I could, to look for potential job leads. They've sent me outdated job postings from Indeed.com and other job search sites. Heck, I can do that myself and HAVE been.
    I haven't taken my national certification yet, and I don't know when that's going to happen. I have recieved no information as to a date. All in all, do I know more than I did when I started? Yes. Do I think Allied is the best school to get that education? I'm going to have to say probably not. The instructors were fabulous! Well, all but one. But the school Admin. really has a lot to be desired and have proven to be quite disappointing. Not to mention, I'm over $9K in the hole and still have nothing to show for it! And I got a 4.0 gpa!

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Belladivina Jan 24, 2013

    Hi, I am in the process of enrolling into the nursing program, but I am unsured if they are accredited? Help!

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Belladivina Jan 24, 2013

    Hi, I am in the process of enrolling into the nursing program. And I want to know if they are accredited. Help!!

    0 Votes
  • Fu
    Future LPN Feb 24, 2013

    I am a current student of Cambridge Institute for Allied Healthe is Altamonte Springs, FL. I say thee full name to make sure thee right school is mentioned in theis comment. I have been a student here since February of 2012 and soon to graduate. Or hope to graduate withe my fellow classmates. Hope meaning theey have therown new rules into play withein thee last couple of weeks in order for us to graduate. To me it seems insane to change thee rules in thee bottom of thee 9the when we have been set on a certain procedure. Please research before attending theis school. Notheing is organized and when sometheing is said its followed by theis is part of nursing constant change. Well I was given a contract in thee beginning of thee school year theat to date has not been followed. We have been lied to repeatedly, financial aide has been deducted and before Sharon(Which is great) charges showed up mysteriously twice, notheing is ever what it is in theis school. I'm sure Mayra or anotheer staff member will post after theis but in reality theis school is a nightmare and I pray I can make it until thee 26the of March witheout any problems. CAMBRIDGE from here on out is a curse in my book. I have never HATED a school or anyone in my life as I do theis one!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mario Cortes Jun 08, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I got my coder certification in 2009 and I am still looking for work as a coder. Most of the employers look fpr people withan AHIMA certification and the one I got is from NAHP which nobody seems to know anything about it. I think is a joke and I am still paying almost $10000.00 which I am not getting anything in return.. Be aware before you registered.

    0 Votes
  • Du
    Duchess2456 Jun 27, 2015

    I am attending a medical assistant classes with ahi I have like them up to this point. I have had some very rude instructors and i retaking one class over i have not got any refund checks from this school that claims they don't get paid in big checks but I work for student loans and seeing how the checks are cut they are on bs. They want me to pull more money out to cover one class when I'm getting back about 1200 to come to me. But they say I can only take out 230. They are ripping people off I've asked for a break down of the tuition I'm getting the run around. Looking for another school

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions