Aaron's Sales And LeasingCorrupt billing, collections and poor service in general!

W
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I have been dealing with Aaron's since 2003 when I leased a big screen TV from the store in Poughkeepsie, NY. I relocated back to Georgia in 2005 and have since opened accounts in the Conyers and Stockbridge locations. Not one, not twice, but on four different occasions Aaron's has either charged my checking account twice for the same payment or debited my account with my authorization at all. I have paid almost $500 in NSF fees to my bank due to these erroneous charges and Aaron's has refused to refund any of those NSF fees. Both managers I have dealt with have been rude and have both threatened either my husband or myself on several occasions with legal proceedings, etc. In researching, I'm finding that these types of things are not isolated incidents as I have found complaints posted on numerous web sites from all over the country. What type of training program does this company offer to their managers?? Whatever it is, they need to change it quick.

Responses

  • Su
    Sun-N-Fun May 06, 2015

    I have paid Aarons for almost two years now for a couch and loveseat. Their collection agency in California Sheila Jones, [protected] X208 just called my work saying she is sending the police to my office to have me arrested. This is a new one on me!

    0 Votes
  • Cu
    curt 2878 Nov 03, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi I rented a dell desk top it was new without a box explanation store display. It looks new to me. I was told if I find the computer for less than their 120 days same as cash they would match any price I find. They also said they will deduct my first paymt making it an even better way for me to pay it off. Today I called to buy it but manager is out for a while and I'm just waiting for my phone to charge. Looking forward to this purchase. Idt I am going to have any problems I hope you wont see me on here later upset. They seem to me to be nice and professional and they offered this info to me and I am appreciating it. I want to call back in an hr and I hope to own this computer and maybe get something else. This is the Fruitland Md store and the manager is Jeff. I do know if you miss or you are late they do want their money. For those of you who say you never miss a paymt of only a day to 5 late you must understand this is the margority of the accts they service meaning people are late or dont call they have no way of knowing your health is bad or why your not in there to pay for your rental agreement. THey have to approach you for paymt or otherwise everyone would have a computer or whatever delivered everyday if they didnt have to pay for it. I have read so many reviews all bad but you do admit your the ones mostly that have not honered your agreement. Good Luck everyone Curt from Ocean City, Md.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anita Lynn 27 Jun 23, 2014

    I also am having this same problem. I have bought and paid off one lap top, went back got a tv and blue ray player while renting the 2 I found I was in need of a washer, the TV and Blue Ray due on 1st and washer on 15, that's a laugh they have taken both payments out at once more then once like 4 times in six month the manager Jennifer is rude and lies and oh its a mistake 1 time is a mistake 4 times, well I was no longer needing washer was moving since I had just paid my payment I ask them to pick up next month at there convince they called back they would pick up Friday the 13th well that was a fun day it was 10 at nite before they picked it up then on the 20th my bank account went crazy when I looked into it AArrons had taken out a payment for something I no longer have so 60 dollars in overdraft fees, so I call AArrons they agree to pay that and refund the payment amount but they still have not answered my questions about why they did it in the first place I didn't give them the ok to take it out I had not received any calls about it found it out the hard way

    0 Votes
  • Nu
    Nurses Rule Feb 07, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Aarons in New Port Richey FL, same thing. We purchased a kitchen set and living room set for $1, 300. We were making payments on it every month. Every week they were at our door harassing us for more money and stated its a $10 charge every time they make a trip to my home. We had to move so we asked them to come and get the furniture because we had to move out of state. They stated they would not come and get it until we made another $203 payment. We told them that we would bring it to the showroom and drop it off, they said we would still have to pay for it. We couldn't leave it behind because we were responsible for it, we couldn't take it to them, and we couldn't take it with us. We had to take it with and we've still been making payments but now they are threatening to call the cops for stealing. They locked our account so we cant view any of our payments and what is owed and now they say we owe $3000 for the furniture that was only $1, 300. They also added a washer and dryer on when I didn't get a washer and dryer set. How does this place get away with treating people like this. Never again will I ever go to Aarons again. DO NOT RECOMEND.

    0 Votes
  • He
    heatherwentworth Jan 20, 2014

    Im a customer I. Hamilton ontario, I bought a couch a yr and half brought it back to get it repaired and they so said they got it repaired but they gave me someone else couch.. The following week that store manager quit so the other manager apologized took back that couch and I got the same couch just slightly used... When it got to my house it wasn't cleaned smelled like wet dog so they came and picked it back up and gave me another used couch but the same couch.. The couch doesn't have enough support so I wanted it repaired the repair guy came in and the store was suppose to call me a day tell me what's going to happen with this couch its been another month and still no body has called me.. I've never been late with agrement but they don't know if they are coming or going its quit upsetting... I'm paying 150 a month for 24 months and gotten nothing for it not even a good product ... As of today they stopped making this couch.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jason Ryals Dec 29, 2013

    You people are idiot's! You don't want Aarons to call you or come to your house? Then pay your payments on time. If you cant make the payments then return the merchandise. It's that easy. You cant go and lease something from someone, not make payments and expect them not to come after there money when you are constantly late

    0 Votes
  • Yr
    yrpplsocrazy Oct 25, 2013

    wtf is wrong with the deadbeats guy??!!! freaking pyscho and guaranteed to fail at everything in life, that is not how you do business. sound s like a paranoid schizophrenic with some serious issues!! !! what a loser lmao!!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    michealc Nov 10, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    aaron's in texas city tx are full of it also they love to talk bad to you and they like taking you things back ween you are almost done paying for it were is the help for stores like this how can they keep doing people any way they fill ween you spend your money something need to be done about this store

    1 Votes
  • Ca
    callijah Oct 25, 2012

    You my friend sound like Aaron's management with that attitude. I hope you never lose your job or have a really rough patch in life. In any case people deserve to be treated with respect no matter what situation they find themselves in. I'm not saying it's ok to take off and not pay for merchandise you have received, but a lot of these complaints seems to be about RUDE Aarons employees not working with thier clients. That is thier job and most of the time it's a bump in the information highway or some sort of misunderstanding. How long do you think the Royal Bank or Sears would stay in business treating thier customers like this ? Not everyone that goes to Aarons is low income, non working, unmotivated, and dishonest. Give your head a shake you are sounding terribly arrogant.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    Greensboro N.C ( K.Rogers) Sep 18, 2012

    I completely agree with all complaints, Aaron's in high point north Carolina is far more worst than anything I have read, first off the general manager came to my new home of a week at 9pm at night, , , telling my new neighbor of delinquencies on my account, I asked him to talk to me civilly he called me a liar, a thief, disrespected me in front of my husband and 12 year old daughter became afraid of him because of hid unmanageable tone of voice, the threats he was making, the disrespectful disregardful, disgusting verbiage he used to me, my husband was a complete gentle man the whole time listening to this manager out right disrespect me in front of him, he said nothing in fear of his words being misconstrued as intimidation for the manager, I asked him to leave my house he was scaring my child, he refused to leave, come back with assistance to collect the furniture he did not, he carried pieces heavy enough for two people alone and damaged my front door terribly and walls they have dents and scratches, the door needs to be replaced, his total unprofessional ism, disrespectful manner has impacted me terribly I am writing to the Attorney General of my state to report the actions of the managerial staff at Aaron's in north Carolina stores, he also took off walking through my home without permission searching for the rooms the merchandise was in, , no one told him to do that, he did not even know what room it was, , , it was unsafe for him as well as my family for him to Bogart his way through my home looking without permission, when i could have showed him, but during normal business hours, and with assistance he needed...The corporate office is brushing this under the rug, , , but I will NOT LET THEM I"M PURSUING THIS TO NO END...

    1 Votes
  • Sc
    Scanman Feb 13, 2012

    Aaron sent me the $50.00 dollar off coupon on my next rental after I had made 2 payments on a 42"used TV. I went in Rick the manger gave me the PS3 bundle for $50.00 dollars cash, and the $50.00 off coupon. Last month, a year later I called in to make my debit payments as usual. Rick say my PS3 was paid off!, and he just took out for the TV only. This month I called in to make the TV payment, and was told I still owe $50.00 on the PS3 and I now owe late fees, and that I only paid $1150.00 for the PS3 and owe an additional $50.00. So after 3 long heated phone calls I've come the conclusion that when Aaron sends you a $50.00 off coupon to start an account know that this means that you don't pay it up front . It's attached to your account on the back end

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    julia62 Nov 14, 2011

    just saw this online

    Lawsuit Filed Against Aaron’s, Inc. Regarding Alleged Improper Practices

    Lawsuit claims that Aaron’s, Inc. repeatedly breaches rent-to-own contracts, violates state usury laws, and engages in unfair business practices.

    Atlanta, Georgia (PRWEB) November 11, 2011

    Atlanta law firm Webb, Klase & Lemond, LLC has filed a class action lawsuit against Aaron’s, Inc., one of America’s leading rent-to-own companies with over 1, 900 total stores. Aaron’s leases furniture, appliances, and electronics to consumers usually with the promise that, after a certain number of payments have been successfully completed, the consumer will own the items.

    The new lawsuit alleges that Aaron’s has breached its lease agreements by refusing to provide pay-off information to consumers and through other improper practices. The suit further asserts that the company has used unfair business practices, false advertising, and misrepresentations to induce customers to enter lease agreements that are not as favorable for the consumer as represented. The claims also include unjust enrichment. The case, styled Clark v. Aaron’s, Inc., is pending in the Superior Court of Fulton County Georgia and has been assigned Case Number 2011-CV-207622.

    According to the suit, Aaron’s rent-to-own business model is in reality the extension of credit through consumer loans disguised as leases for the purchase of goods. The suit alleges that the difference between the market value of the goods and the total amount of payments made by a consumer constitutes interest. State usury laws, such as the civil and criminal usury statutes in Georgia, impose a cap on the amount of interest that may be charged by a lender. The suit alleges that Aaron’s repeatedly violates these laws.

    Further, the suit alleges that Aaron’s deceptively markets its well-known offer of “120-days same as cash.” According to the complaint, this offer purports to allow consumers to buy their furniture, appliances, or electronics from Aaron’s for their market value so long as the consumer pays in full within four months. The deception, as alleged in the suit, is that Aaron’s regularly and proactively attempts to prevent consumers from taking advantage of the 120-day offer by failing to provide them with their outstanding balance or pay-off amount in a timely and appropriate manner.

    If you wish to discuss this action or have any questions concerning this press release, please contact John Lyon, Esq. by e-mail or by calling [protected].

    0 Votes
  • P
    P... Aug 15, 2011

    I totally disagree with the person that use to work at aarons. I would like to say that not everyone is a dead beat and not everyone is late on their bills either so for you to say half of the crap you said is totally messed up but since you did work there I would expect you to act obnoxtious since that's the type of people that work for that business. I did read the lease but no where in that lease does it say you have the right to call people 100 times a day or show up to their houses and harrass them that way if the payment is not due yet that business should just leave people the hell alone until the payment is due if the price of a computer is 400 and some odd dollars and you paid 400 and some odd dollars it should be done there is no excuse for them to over charge is crooked and its wrong and to me its a bunch of crap that you decided to obnoxtious and put something as rude as that down on another note I would like to agree with everyone else because I to have had problems and I pay my stuff on time and I am not a dead beat the plain and simple fact is this business should be shut down for the shady business its doing and I know that there is always a loop hole to everything and I know this business is not unstoppable there is always a way to resolve things wheather its contacting the president, ceo, or just take it to the better business bearu there is always a way.

    0 Votes
  • Gm
    gmocha Aug 02, 2011

    Aaron Sales & Leasing is harrassing me for a customer that defaulted on their rental. It seems the customer used me as a reference without my permission. I made them aware of this and asked repeatedly that they stop calling me and remove my information from their database. As of today, they are still calling me. Anybody have any ideas of how I can stop them from harrassing me for a debt I do not owe?????

    0 Votes
  • IronGrudge89 Jun 01, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Their god damn commercials are enough to make you stay away. They advertise here and the closest Aaron's is over 100 miles away. I'm just glad that my tv has a 'mute' button.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    nellean Jun 01, 2011

    I have been doing business with Aaron's since it opened in Paragould, AR for several years now. I have leased many things. I understand the lease agreement. I always pay in cash and I keep the receipts when I have paid a lease off. They are always courteous and kind to me. Right now I have 5 leases with them. I take care of all of them on the 1st of every month. They certainly know me by now. I have never been called. And they have never came to my door asking for anything.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    michelle0216 May 31, 2011

    well R since u want to sit here and be a smart ### about ur store and degrade people that may not understand what they are reading, let me degrade you and ur corporate offices... i leased a so called brand new bedroom set and little did i ###in know it was infested with bed bugs and i have proof. so while u are sitting there laughing at illiterate people u should laugh at ur damn selves better yet u should be ###ing ashamed of urselves for not thoroughly inspecting your furniture, i have a lawyer and by god, yall gonna ###in pay me for once. have a nice day [censored]

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    michelle0216 May 31, 2011

    well smart ### does all of ur merchandise come with bed bugs? are u idiots not cleaning the stuff and disinfecting the stuff before u re rent the ###? wait i can answer that>>>> NO YALL DONT. my children are infested with bites from these "new mattresses" they said they had..

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stoneking Mar 09, 2011

    I am having a bad experience with the Aaron's Sales and Lease in Zanesville, Ohio. The management is rude and unprofessional. She really needs to take a Customer Service class. It is very inportant that you provide the best Customer Service and that you offer quality furniture. In my case, I purchased furniture that was not good quality. I called and left message with management and no calls back. I finally got an appointment to have someone come look at the furniture and they did not show up or even call to say sorry or to reschedule, as of today this issue still has not been taken care of. It has been months since I have had this issue. They do not want to even try to work with you, they jusy want paid. This is no way to run a business. They also have my account messed up, saying I owe more than I do. I had had other say that they had the same problems with this store and the management. People are not spending money like they did in the past and they want good quality items at a price they can afford. Also, all it take is good Customer Service and for management to follow through on a promise to make things right. I would never recommend this store to anyone ever. I will take my hard earned money and go elsewhere, I suggest you all do the same! Thanks for you time!

    0 Votes
  • Ic
    ICBilly Feb 15, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We've been dealing with Aaron's for 3 year years now. We've had multiple contracts and purchased 2 computers, several TV's and our entire living room set. I've never had any problems with either the managers or the employees in Port St. Lucie, Florida. They've always provided the most courteous and professional service.
    I've never been harassed, had anyone call me or show up at my place of employment.

    I recently learned of possible layoffs at work and immediately called them to inform them that there is a possibility that our 60" TV may need to returned. The manager was fantastic! He advised that returns are the last thing they want and that they would be happy to work with us as much as possible. Also, he made sure to remind me that if we need to return it we can always resume the payments right where we leave off after the financial situation improves.

    I see all these complaints and I feel for the people having problems, but I just wanted to post my positive experience with the store in Port St. Lucie, Florida. They've been terrific and completely professional.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    reallysickofthis Dec 16, 2010

    This is the worst!!! Do not ever do business with these people, I truly believe they are associated with the mafia or something, because if you are one minute late they are calling you, your work, your family, they know what to do to embarrass you - they also show up at your door. WTF!!!

    0 Votes
  • Aa
    Aarons Sales and Lease=Thieves Dec 02, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I recently seperated from the military and moved back to my home state, taking my washer and dryer I am paying Aarons for with me. Due to timing and computer system issues, I was not given the normal funds allotted to help soldiers transition during a move and had to spend a lot of money out of pocket returning home. I told Aarons in Killeen Texas that I would not be able to make the regular payments and would make it up to them on the 1st of Dec. This put me one month overdue on my payments and started the daily phone calls from the manager that got increasingly rude and eventually stopped. After about 4 days of no calls I noticed a charge on my bank account for about 10 dollars more than the "minimum" amount i needed to pay. I had given them my debit card # when I made the purchase to deduct one-time authorized payments over the phone in the event I could not make it to the store to pay in person. Well long story short, they conducted an unauthorized deduction from my account which overdrew funds and caused me $70.00 in NSF fees. I was actually on the phone with my bank changing my account info when this posted and the teller noticed the charges as soon as they occurred and advised me to start a claim against Aarons the following day... which I have. This is a breach of the contractual agreement I signed for payments with my card and basically theft of funds and I will be 2000 miles away with their washer and dryer and they will receive no more money from me until they resolve this issue. I have canceled the bank card and have a new one on the way and the bank is backing me 100%. Good Luck scamming this guy Edwin at Aarons in Killeen, TX.

    0 Votes
  • Up
    upsetcustomer08 Nov 27, 2010

    My husband and I deal with Aarons here in fruitland Md...the customer service is sucks they lie to you to get you into an agreement then after your in it they are demons in disguise...we rented a 65inch hdtv we were told it be paid off in a year but seems that was a lie its been one lie after another with these crooks! However we now owe $465 something like that and we were recently late and wow did our lifes become a nightmare. They were creeping up and down my street as late as 8pm and as early as 7am stalking us as if they were trained to do drive by shoot outs or something I mean these people had me kina scared for my life at one point...they were cool in the begining but once they know you have almost paid your stuff off they wants it really bad...we have been told one lie after another from Aarons...my picture tube blew how idk we called them and they have taking us to a place that I don't wanna go with them all I asked is for them to fix there refurbished tv before I pay it off...okay they came around 8pm wtf...and the loaner tv was about a 20inch I thought I should atleast get close to what I am paying for but they have been really nasty with me...I called them to ask for the corporate office number they said they didn't have one I asked for the presidents of the company address and number they told me that the manager jeff was in fact the manager and owner of the company...can some one please help me ...words can't even describe how sick I get when I think of how bad this company has done my husband and I. I would never ever recommend them to a soul...sincerly one pissed fruitland maryland customer that wants help in dealing with Aarons...

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    a dissatified customer Aug 23, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    YOU NEED TO GET A LIFE. WHAT ARE YOU THE OWNER OF AARONS. NEWSFLASH PEOPLE ARE NOT STUPID !!! HA HA HA JOKES ON YOU.

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    a dissatified customer Aug 23, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i was with aarons for 10 yrs. out of pekin and peoria il. i have purched several things bought them which i payed 4 times the amount of the merchandise., these people that write bad things about the people that complain about aarons are probabley people who work there. i have heard bad things from all levels of thier managment.and yes i did pay my bills on time. and every time i pay its a differant amount.they charge what they want when they want. i am very sick with copd and they brought me a washer when i first moved into my apt the day after i got out of the hospital. it was infested with cockroaches and the washer floode my whole apt.went through my walls and shorted out my stove. the i am on a breathing machine and lifeline. when i called them the guy came out with 4 feet of water in my house mind you and said he would be back in 4 days . me and disabled son cleaned up the water. my son had a seizure while doing this.they are the most rude people i have ever seen they cuss threaten and harrass you in every way possiable. and the person on here saying that people renting from aarons are ghetto people some of the very wealthy have rented from them too and have had the same experiance.i am going to do every thing in my power and i have plenty of people behind me to make sure this quits happening to good people.i am going to post on every website i can about my experiance with them. oh and i forgot they love to lie. when you ask for the corprate no they redirect you to a store phone. and they lie and say they are at the top. they charge you a differant amount every time you pay them. i have had thier employees at my house complaning how they treat them . its sad. all i can say is the lord is watching them and thier eveil ways and some day they will have to answer to a higher power.

    0 Votes
  • Mj
    MJ33 Jul 08, 2010

    I have worked with people who have had little money and do the best they can. So while I understand some of what you are saying "deadbeats..." that is only part of the equation.

    Not sure that you will laugh at this one but what the heck. I purchased a computer from Aarons and I am a hard working employee and have worked almost full time all of my life. I purchased from Aarons because I heard good things about them and because I had just gone through a divorce and wanted a monthly payment vs paying entirely up front.

    Aarons had great service in the beginning but when they were working on my computer to do some repairs they really messed things up erasing files and ultimately taking drivers out. Talk about incompetence.

    I took them to small claims court and won a judgment. Talk about [censor] of the earth! They have not honored the Judge's decision and have not returned calls. Their employees, I have found, to be not very intelligent and not very well-kept.

    Add this to your reading pleasure and I am sure there are so many others out there that have had bad experiences with Aarons why are hard working as well. Corporate America has their own way of playing dirty and not holding up to its end of financial deals.

    Good day :-) and Happy Reading.

    MJ from Buffalo

    PS...One day when this happens to you and you find yourself on the other side of a financial agreement or perhaps just something that didn't go your way, I hope you will increase your awareness around how others can often fall on hard times. Poverty is not always a choice and if you had any sort of education you might know that poverty (and the behaviors that it can produce) is also due to government policy.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Dee56 Mar 24, 2010

    Actually everyone on here has made good points. But I must say that there are laws in place to handle these things. And everyone's situation is different. I have filed Chapter 13 by myself. This made me investigate a lot. Since ever situation is different no one can tell anyone about their problem. But I can tell you that the Consumer Rental -Purchase Agreement Act of 3/30/2009 states that the rental company must only contact the lawyer once they have been notified that the person has consel. Now all I can say as far as what I am experiencing is that the court told me not to pay anyone else but them. Because there is a stay and if someone including the rental company wants to do something they have to go through the court. But the Aaron's I rent from told me the same thing your stores told you. At the same time they are not harassing me yet and are being very nice to me right now. Might I add I only have about 5 months of payments left so it would be crazy for me to give my stuff back after almost 2yrs. of payments. That's why everyone's case is different. When I go to court they can object to getting paid in my payment plan and a judge will decide. But consumers do have rights and they can only contact you doing normal business hours at 8A.M.-9P.M. And once you tell them not to contact you by letter or attorney they have to stop. You can report them to the Attorney General's Office and the Better Business Bureau.

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    cloud9withu4eva Jan 31, 2010

    i have been with aarons for over a year now and the guy above me is absolutely correct. if you was in contact with your local aarons they wouldnt have to visit you. if you followed the rules you would have a good experience with aarons. aarons wants you to own it, they have the lowest interest rate out of any of the rent to own companies. Only 9.9 interest. For the one who complain about paying the x amount at aarons when they could of went to walmart and got it for x amount if you pay cash at aarons then it is right on mark same price apple for apple and any retail store then it is at aarons and the retail price at aarons you get 90 days to pay that cash price. how many stores let you pay the cash price in 90 days interest free.

    0 Votes
  • Aa
    Aarons stink Jan 14, 2010

    I do pay for my merchandise on time and actually have fairly good credit I am renting because I will be relocating to another state and do not want to cart the washer dryer with me so not everyone who rents are not dead beats with bad credit! The people I am working with here in Hemet ca stink there attitude is lousy has nothing to do with payments or credit just bad customer care..I am speaking for those of us that choose to rent instead of buy because we choose to do so not because our credit is bad, ..Dont assume that, you know what they say about people that assume things right ? Thats all I have to say.

    0 Votes
  • J2
    j227654 Nov 16, 2009

    This must be the sight that all the skips come to! Now I work for Aarons also, and what Im hearing is 1. you guys pick the worst stores where they send the worst employees, 2. an/or you guys are'nt holding up your end of the bargain! its called AARON'S SALES AND LEASE... compare it to your car lease, what happens if you dont pay your note??? now compare it to yur Credit Cards, what happens if you dont pay that bill??? (1) they'll just come take the car (2) it'll just keep building interest... Aaron's does'nt have the time our the power to do either, its setup and agreement is slightly different... but heres a couple of helpful hints and steps to take... 1. Keep communication ( it makes everybody's life easier) if the call you answer the phone, even if you dont have the money! the biggest part of the day its when we actually make contact with our customers... some GM's are more compassionate than others maybe not your local but there are some... 2. If you cant pay simply return ( which honestly we dont want you to do either we perfer the agreement be kept) it'll make your life easier, your references life easier and our employees life easier cuz its our job to collect the money if we arent fruitful in our position we will lose it! 3. Most importantly read your agreement and understand your payment schedule, and make sure you enter into something you can handle! most people dont plan on being late, and most account mangers dont want to call you/ref/job/fam... it'll be easier for them if you just paid on time everytime... they'll be the happiest jokers you ever seen cause they'll be getting nices bonuses! Lol... No educated aarons employee will enter your house and steal the merchandise because thats not the Aarons way, that more like the competitors... blah blah Aarons is good for certain folks its kinda of like layaway except you get to take it home... which is where the Trust Factor comes in. and the price your paying covers natural disaster and normal wear and tear which you will not find anywhere elses when you pay retail! its better if you save and just buy what you want ( if you come to aarons and buy straight out you get 20% off the overall price ) but if your having trouble saving but can spare the monthly payments... SHOOT FOR THE MOON LADIES AND GENTLEMAN! Have a Nice Day! I work in a Michgan Corporate Store :)

    0 Votes
  • Cb
    C.B Oct 22, 2009

    Well Im not at all surprised at all the complaints against Aarons, I also am dealing with THEIVERY, LYING, MANAGERS POCKETING CASH, and RENTING STOLEN MERCHANDISE!! I have been with aarons since 2004 when I rented AND NOW OWN my neptune front load washer and dryer, then did the same with a 52inch big screen, then a laptop, and tv stand for my flat screen, and now a flat screen, , I have dealt with corporate and let me tell you all something, , THEY ARE JUST AS CROOKED AS THE PEOPLE THE HIRE!! They can only call you ONCE a day, ( not before 8 am or after 6pm ) NEVER on sunday, they cannot just come get your merchandise, they have to have an agreement with you, for you military personel, , THEY CANNOT COME ON POST, , it is ILLEGAL!!! We are all suppose to be adults, if you are behind and want them to help you, ask for the corporate number, they cannot refuse you that and be sure and write down ALL DATES AND NAMES OF PEOPLE YOU DEAL WITH!! Im dealing with yet another new manager in the Killeen, Tx store who is threatning to call the EL Paso store ( wich is where Iam now ) to come and get my tv over a payment, , IF they come, , I have spoke to a laywer who said because of all I know about the stealing, theivery etc, that I have a strong case against them not to mention I cannot couont how mnay times they have debited my account with no permissiuon, , ITS ILLEGAL FOLKS!! Hope some of this may help ya'll, ,

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Misty J Sep 26, 2009

    Well I am not a deadbeat or someone who did not want to pay my bill. Mine was paid on time every month with the right amount and sometimes more. I bought a washer and dryer from the Aaron's in Waveland, Ms. It was the front loader set and it was great until it started messing up! I had so many problems out of that set that they later swapped it out for another set. It worked great for about 3 months then it too started having problems. We asked them to come and get it and or swap us for another set or something of that nature. They did not want to do that because they did not have another used set and did not want to give us a new set. They finally came and got the washer and dryer 2 months later and now, not wanting to just assume aaron's is a bad company just because of a bad merchandise from a bad manufacturer, asked if instead could I just get a computer and knock off the first payment because of course the washer and dryer are way more expensive than the computer I wanted to get but was told I cannot do that. They said they would cut the first payment in half. If I am going to reinstate my agreement then shouldn't I get some sort of deal from it?

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Trulyblessedxs2 Sep 20, 2009

    I got an LG 42in and stand from Aarons in Fairfield, Ca. The agreement was for a new tv and stand; I got a new tv but a used scratched up stand that was completely different in color from the one I picked out. I called the store manager whom I initially dealt with and told him about the "mix up". He claimed that the one I picked out was broken and that he'd "fix it". No one ever called me prior to delivery to notify me of the change. I accepted that this used stand would be a loaner until the one I ordered . Ok, 3 weeks later it hasn't been "fixed" nor have my calls been returned. I've even spoken to the GM about the agreement and he just puts me on hold and transfers the call to a sales person. I made my first payment as agreed but now I am not getting what I paid for. Instead of paying for another month for this type of service I will just pay the money for what I want. Oh, I have a deep freezer that I will pay off this week. I have had my checking account debited without my permission causing me to accumulate NSF charges with my bank. I reported my card as lost and got another one but only paid Aaron's in cash from then on. After taking in my last payment this week, I will not be setting foot in another Aaron's store again.

    0 Votes
  • Jh
    jhhpdmr Jun 25, 2009

    I was part of the Class Action law suite on Rent A Center and that lawsuit was about the wording in the contract nothing more.
    any company can charge whatever fee they want to charge. When a company is dealing with a person with poor or no credit that is high risk and yes they can charge lot higher fees for it. as for me I never sign anything without reading the contract. Once you sign the contract and don't read it. you agree it the terms and you cannot later go back and complain about it. 2) If a person has little money or is barley making it or cannot make payments on time then it is not Aarons fault that you are living beyond your means. For the ones that saying Aarons is "busting my door in" they don’t bust the doors in, If they start coming in your house or apartment and you don’t want them in just stand in front of them and the door. I think people lets them in they take there merchandise because it was not paid for. you say nothing at all nor you did not try stopping them now you have to come on this blog and cry. Some states has a law that if you willfully don’t pay that can constitute theft. (not an attorney so check with your attorney)Aarons is nice If they wanted to they can get ugly because the laws are on there side. and in the lease agreement it does state that if your late on payments they have the right to go to your house and pick up the item. Just because one store sells it for this price don’t mean Aarons has to sell it for that same price. I been dealing with Aarons for 3 years now. and I never had any problems. I was late 2 times in total. I had to go in sign a piece of paper that extended the payment. But I have to agree with a poster on here that a few payments don’t make the items yours. It is yours when the very last payment is made. It is not Aarons job to make sure you can afford the lease to own. Item you want. If you don’t have the funds you should wait and hold off. In America way to many people is living way beyond there means. NO wonder the economy today is in a mess.


    In closing Do not agree to something unless you have read the whole contract in full.

    all this is my personal views and opinion

    0 Votes
  • So
    sophiasmommy01 Mar 17, 2009

    My husband and I got married and moved to Kentucky into a condo in Jan. 2007. We moved from WV because he got a great job and thought it to be a great start. We had nothing together so we needed a whole house full of EVERYTHING pots, pans, furniture you name it. After seeing how expensive things are in regular stores when you need absolutly everything. We knew the only way we could afford a whole house full of furniture was a lease to own agreement. We got a 52" big screen TV, surround sound, desktop computer, bedroom set, living room set and a washer and dryer. We got a great deal of only $450 a month by getting so much and by getting a few pre owned items. Well of course all starts out well because they want your business. We could afford the payment so we put our account on auto deduction from our bank account. We didn't want to drive an hour and a half to the store every month. I must admit that the people at the store were always nice and very helpful we dealt with the Erlanger, KY store. We paid off the computer and washer and dryer within 6 months. We went back the next month and paid a cash deal for a table and chairs. That was a great deal that we got. I loved the items. We became Perferred Customers. Well, we auto deducted every month and so on and so forth never missing a payment never having a problem until Feb 2008 near the end of our agreement. I was pregnant and due the middle of February when the payment was due (the 15th) I had a rough pregnancy and the last month my husband had to take off work to take care of me since I needed help. Him taking off when the baby was due put us near broke but we still set back the money to pay our bills. Well Feb. was the beginning of our problems. We called Feb. 3, 2008 and told them that the Feb 15th payment we didnt want auto deducted because my family was going to help us out and take the payment to them on the 15th since they were in visiting because of the baby on the way. They agreed and said that they would stop it. My Mom paid on the 13th of Feb. My daughter was born on Feb. 14th. We got a letting the mail right after getting home with my daughter 4 days later stating that they had problems with the payment going through. I called and said that the payment was already made in cash. They said alright and that was that. The next day our bank account went into overdraft $450 because they took it out 5:00A.M the next morning. I was steaming mad and demanded the next payment be credited. They didnt want to work with me and pretty much said I should take it as a loss which is ludacris. That is $450 with a newborn baby its absurd. We the next month comes and we ask to be taken off of auto deduction and say its easier to drive and make the payment to not have charges like that again. So March comes by and my husband is laid off...yet again we set money back for the payment and take the payment down there and yet again they make another fradulant charge on our bank account which was supposed to be off the account by now. Just absolute craziness from that store. My husband got another job back home in WV. So we tell them our address in WV and tell them we will be moving the stuff around March 8. Must I tell you we only had 4 months left of a 18 month agreement. If you count the double charges 1-2 months left in all honesty, but by their crazy terms 4. We did everything right. Our payment was Due March 15. Well, we mailed our payment in the form of a money order to the store and on March 16th. They started calling every person on our reference list including past employers and landlords, banks and etc. saying that we took merchandise out of the state and we are stealing their merchandise and they will put us in jail. When I find out I immediatly call the store and asked if they received my payment which I sent a week earlier. They said No and I told them to stop calling those people it is embarassing and we were not theives. I faxed them the receipt of the money order to justify myself. We also let them in on a fact that we had not yet taken the merchandise out of the state and that it was still in KY in a storage unit. They flat out called us liars and the next day had an Aarons in the area pound on our door at 6AM demanding a search of the house which I stated we did not have the property opened my door wide and stated that they could not enter my house without proper authority. I DO know my rights. Well everyday of that month they called day and night harrassing my parents, friends and references. Even going to famliy's houses and demanding a search of their house. I pretty much said I would cut my loses to not deal with the crazy people anymore and arranged a pick up at the storage unit with a friend opening it up and giving the merchandise. They finally got their stuff and weeks later they are still harrassing my references and saying we owe so much money and that we can go to jail for it and they are taking legal action. This instance is just so crazy it is hard to put into words. So, then I get a letting in the mail stating what they were saying to my family saying that I owe almost $2, 000 when I only had 4 months left on the agreement and they would be taking us to court and taking all legal actions available. I was infuriated to the point of no return and I can take ALOT. This was the end. I called the corperate number they left a million times on my family's machine and told them what they have done and are doing is illegal. They have ALL of the merchandise and them harrassing my family is illegal. It is NOT their matter. They did so many things that were illegal. After many fights playing phone tag back and for on the machine they said the matter was resolved and stopped calling. So, after almost a year of this passing I got a letter in the mail stating that they are going to take legal action for $650 because they did not receive all the merchandise and the bed had BEDBUGS. PLEASE you have to be kidding me. For one I will and have NEVER had bedbugs we live in a luxury CONDO for god sakes. That is an insult and two if it did wouldnt they have said something a FREAKING YEAR AGO when they got it ALL. I called my lawyer which is a family friend and he called corperate and I have no idea what he said but they have not called me anymore. I am seriously thinking of sueing them for everything I can get my hands on for all that I have been through. What they do is PLAIN and SIMPLE HARRASSMENT. They ruined my husbands good credit ruined our name with some of our friends and references. It is wrong and should be stopped. Renters do have rights we are human beings and all in all AMERICANS. Few people are really out to screw these people it is ridiculous. So, that is my story and anyone I talk to I say to steer clear. Since them I have been to RAC and have had no problems and even was late once and they gave me a week extension since we have always paid. A lot nicer company in general. Thats about it for them it makes me sick just tying some of it not all of the experience.

    1 Votes
  • Fe
    Fed Up Finally Mar 13, 2009

    I have been having a great experience with Aaron's in Murray, Utah. Up until last month. I am buying a 42" Phillips TV. I've been paying my bill, on time as often as possible, maybe a day or two late if a more important expense comes up. But I pay the late fees, whether its 1 day or 5, without complaining because that's my fault if I'm late. They've been good about working iwht me and I finally got to the point where I can pay the full months payment on time every month. Now all of a sudden the online pay option is gone and they send me some BS bill for $14.42 even though I've been paying as agreed including any applicable late fees (they removed two that were their fault). I paid it just to get them off my ### even though they couldn't/wouldn't tell me what this was for. My next payment is due soon and I got paid today so I called to take care of my bill. My agreement started at $128.96 per month and the statement I got this month says $129.45. Okay, fine. I'll pay the extra .49 and not blink an eye because I'll be paying this off as soon as I get my tax return back. But then the guy tells me I owe $140 and he can't tell me why. I read off the statement exactly what it said and he said, "Well, I need at least $135 or this will still show you owe a balance to get you to next month." What is he doing, trying to bargain with me on the bill? What happened to the $140 he said first? Proactive late fees I guess, anticipating a late payment even though I'm paying a couple of days early. So I asked him why its $140 when the statment in my hand says $129. He can't tell me, just says that its what the computer is showing I need to pay to get me through another month. Now they want me to bring in the statement and show them. I've heard that line before. What they want is for me to be dumb enough to bring in the original, they can take it in the back and shred it and say they never got it from me to prove anything. Never take anyone an original anything, give them a copy and if they demand the original tell them they can get it from your lawyer. Hopefully I can call them back tomorrow and straighten this out. Point is, I think they're adding on late fees that they previously dropped AND they're charging me late fees on a charge I didn't know I owed. I may just have to raise a little hell. If they don't like it, they can give me my money back and take their dang tv out of my house. I could have bought two of them at this point. The only reason I had to do this is the first place is because our old tv suddenly blinked out on us. If they continue to give me a hard time I'll never use them again for anything more than an outright purchase. No more leases.

    1 Votes
  • Ad
    adrian Feb 24, 2009

    I AM FORWARDING THIS EMAIL TO EVERONE I CAN FOR HELP FROM HIGER PERSONNEL AT AARONS FROM AN UNSATISFIED CUSTOMER,

    REGARDING A LEASE I HAVE WITH AARONS IN TEMPLE, PA 5TH STREET HWY LOCATION FOR A DELL COMPUTER:

    I HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT TROUBLE IN THE PAST 3 MONTHS OF LEASING A PRODUCT FROM AARONS STORE IN TEMPLE PA, ME AND MY HUSBAND DECIDED TO LEASE A DESKTOP COMPUTER FOR UNDER $100 A MONTH AND TO HAVE THE BILL SENT TO OUR HOME TO PAY which was an option on the agreement we signed AND NOT ONCE HAVE I RECEIVED A BILL AND WAS TOLD WE HAD TO COME INTO THE STORE TO PAY WHEN I HAD SIGNED UP ON THE AGREEMENT TO HAVE THE BILL SENT TO MY HOME BECAUSE WE DO NOT HAVE A CAR TO GET TO THE AARONS STORE AND MY HUSBAND IS DISABLED, THATS MY 1ST ISSUE MY 2ND BIGGEST ISSUE ARE THE REPS THAT WORK AT THIS LOCATION SEEM TO NOT KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT MY CONTRACT OR WHATS GOING ON, I HAVE HAD REPS HARASSING ME WITH PHONE CALLS WHEN I WAS LATE WITH 1 PAYMENT FOR ONLY A FEW DAYS, I SPECIFICALLY SPOKE TO A MR. CARLOS RAMIREZ/RODRIGUEZ ALSO A JOEL AT THE 5TH STREET HWY STORE IN TEMPLE, PA AND HE TOLD ME AS LONG AS I SEND AT LEAST HALF OF THE AMOUNT OWED THAT WOULD BE OK SO THIS IS WHAT I DID I SENT A $70 MONEY ORDER AND A $28 CHECK TO BE CASHED ON THE 3RD OF MARCH BECAUSE THIS IS WHEN MY HUSBAND RECIEVED HIS CHECK, MR. RAMIREZ SAID THIS WAS FINE BUT EVEN AFTER THAT I WAS HARASSED WITH 4 MORE PHONE CALLS FROM DIFFERENT REPS STATING WHERE IS THE MONEY THAT I HAD ALREADY MAILED TO THEM. COME TO FIND OUT THEY RECEIVE MY MONEY ORDER AND CHECK AND CASH IT BEFORE THE DATE I STATED TO CASH AND BEFORE THE DATE THAT WAS WRITTEN ON THE CHECK NOW BECAUSE OF THIS I am OVERDRAWN IN MY BANK ACCOUNT AND I AM VERY DISPLEASED WITH THE WAY THIS SITUATION WAS HANDLED. MY ARRANGEMENTS WERE SET WITH A MR. CARLOS RAMIREZ/RODRIGUEZ AND JOEL NOT TO CASH MY CHECK UNTIL MARCH THE 3RD AND THEY WENT AHEAD AND CASHED IT NOW MAKING MY BANK ACCOUNT OVERDRAWN, I WOULD LIKE SOMEONE TO TAKE SOME ACTION WITH THIS OR ELSE I WILL NO LONGER LEASE THIS PRODUCT FROM AARONS AND WILL SEEK FURTHER ACTION, I WIL BE PLACING A PHONE CALL TO THE STORE AS WELL BUT I WANT TO MAKE THIS KNOWN TO HIGER PEOPLE IN CHARGE TO HANDLE THIS SITUATION ACCORDINGLY. I WILL NEVER RECOMMEND AARONS TO ANYONE AFTE R THIS WHOLE SITUATION AND HOPE SOMEONE WILL GET BACK TO ME REGARDING THIS MATTER. BY THE WAY MY PAYMENTS ARE DUE BY THE 15TH OF EVERY MONTH AND I HAVE YET TO RECIEVE A BILL TO MY HOME OR ANY RECEIPTS FOR PAYMENTS MADE ALREADY, I DO NOT THINK THIS IS A WAY TO CONDUCT BUSINESS AT ALL AND THEY SHOULD NOT HAVE CASHED MY CHECK WHEN I GAVE NO AUTHORIZATION TO DO SO UNTIL THE 3RD OF MARCH WHICH IS ALSO THE DATE I HAVE ON THE CHECK ITSELF. I AM VERY UPSET WITH THIS WHOLE SITUATION WHEN ME AND MY HUSBAND DO NOT MAKE MUCH AND HE USES HIS SOCIAL SECURITY CHECK TO LEASE THIS PRODUCT. I WILL FORWARD THIS LETTER TO EVERYONE I CAN AT AARONS CORPORATION, STORE ETC. I EXPECT A RESPONSE BACK FROM SOMEONE BECASUE I KNOW WHEN I CALL THE STORE TOMORROW THESE SAME REPS WILL NOT DO ANYTHING TO CLARIFY THIS SITUATION.

    1 Votes
  • Kr
    kris Feb 15, 2009

    And in response to the other Aaron's employee, you sure don't sound like a "professional". In fact, you gave me a glimpse inside of the psyche of a person who is legend in their own mind but a myth in the business world. I could only supress chills as I read your words and offer the position of unibomber if this Aaron's "profession" doesn't work out.

    Kris

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    kris Feb 15, 2009

    All I know is this clown who takes joy in other people's problems and takes refuge in stereotyping every customer as "deadbeat" is not the sharpest knife in the drawer. In fact, he is the rather dull knife with built up rust because of what he's made of. He says himself he left the business because he couldn't see eye to eye with his employer Aaron's which is a big red flag, not-to-mention, he was an partaker of this love fest which doesn't mark him very high on the sliding scale of life; prob somewhere between "deadbeat" and used car salesman. I held my nose as I read his remarks.

    Kris

    PS not a customer, just curious.

    0 Votes
  • Va
    vallie201 Feb 06, 2009

    Has anyone had Aaron's show up on your job? I want to know if this is leagal. Please email me at [email protected]

    Thank you

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.