The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Ymax Communications CorpIllegal harassment

D Review updated:

I have recieved numerous of calls from individuals using ymax communications corporation - fl identifying themselves as legal representatives willing to list charges against my social security number for loans recieved online. I have not recieved loans online and they would not give me any more infrmation about it except that it was through cash advance and the mans name was ray smith (With a heavy hindu - indian accent) . He demanded i resolve this issue by sending him $525. 00 to keep this out of court. At one point with a different name he said he was a representative of the bureau of law and investigation (Not identifying which bureau) . It seems amazing that a phone carrier can let scam artists like these operate by bouncing their numbers so they can not be traced and falsely identify themselves as government official representatives. But it happens! The last call i recieved was from a 904 area code in florida, prior to that was in san francisco, prior to that tampa bay area, prior to that worchester, ma. Wait just a minute ago a woman barely able to speak english called to say that i was selected to recieve $7500. 00 from the government by direct deposit to my account as an incentive for being good! Cant our government do better on these jacka**'s. Find them take their assets like they would any other us citizen and make themm pay restitution to those they scammed and incarcerate them in cuba or just deport their a**es back to their home country.

Responses

  • Tr
    Troy Anderson Sep 18, 2009

    Telephone voice skipping conversation breaksup.

    2 Votes
  • Jo
    Jose Antonio Oct 22, 2009

    when i make a call a test call respond, and i can't get any communication at all

    0 Votes
  • Ep
    epls Jun 12, 2010

    I order a magic jack over the phone [protected]) on [protected]. $46.90 was deducted from my bank account on [protected]. To date [protected]), I have not received my order. I call the number and can't get anyone on the phone.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    DawnBonita Aug 26, 2010

    I bought this and it woeked fine, but I was told that number porting would be available sometime in 2009. Then it was sometime this fall. Then it was by the first week of August 2010! and it still says that on their site, and it is still not available. I think it was a bait and switch scam. I think I'll be contacting the Attorney Generals office and I would encourage everyone else to as well. I haven't been able to use this because I do not want top change my phone number. I'm tired of being promised something that may never happen. I too have had plenty of conversations with there live agents and they aren't in America and know nothing.

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    Charles V Feb 17, 2011

    My wife was contacted by these people 30 minutes ago again, and 3 times while at work yesterday at which time she was unable to talk, very bad connections, but money was mentioned and she hung up..I immediately looked them up on melissa data and found them to be a landline in nevada, where else do they get away with illegal activities.. Anyway this is just my suggestion-if your credit is outstanding as ours is and you have had no Identity theft, Ignore them..I am going to call, if i can get through and cuss them out..Whats wrong with this world...

    2 Votes
  • Kd
    KDelphi Feb 24, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am getting calls from the one in DC, saying they are with the DEA and that they have confiscated a package that I bought from Dominican Republic and they want $950...they even gave me a return number and tried to continue the scam...I am going to report them

    4 Votes
  • Ma
    magicjackass Apr 26, 2011

    I renew my magicJack for 5 years but now I cannot use it. Try to check their website for technical support but it's not "live"
    I managed to get Ymax Corporation's phone number but it's voice mail the whole day!!! Come on Daniel Borislow!

    Ymax Corporation (magicJack)
    5700 George Avenue
    West Palm Beach, FL 33405
    [protected]
    Daniel Borislow
    Chief Executive Officer

    0 Votes
  • Yv
    Yvoned212 Jun 30, 2011

    My old employer called me today because a man saying his name is Officer Tom Jackson from the Harrison Law Firm with phone number #[protected] saying he needed to reach me in regards to a fraud case I am suppose to be involved with. They have been calling me for the last 2 years and I have never taken a dime from anyone. I don't understand how these people get away with this sort of harrassment. I searched the same phone number on line and of course all I found are complaints about these people. I am overseas on business but as soon as I return to the states in 3 weeks I will be reporting them to the attorney general office in my state of Fl. SHAME ON THE US GOVERNMENT for not being more on top of these fraudulant companies. These people have the same phone number as they did 2 years ago. How is it that it has not caught up to them yet? ERRRR I am angry and I won't rest until something happens!

    4 Votes
  • Bc
    bcoday Jan 02, 2012

    Ymax Corp is magicjack
    http://www.ymaxcorp.com/

    4 Votes
  • De
    Debra Hegmann Apr 30, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also received a call from [protected] saying that they had papers to serve me I also receive dalls from [protected] [protected] THESE ARE ALL FRAUDS I DO NOT OWE ANYONE AND IF I DID I WOULD NEVER EVER PAY A DEBIT COLLECTOR. I CALLED THEM BACK AND TOLD THEM STRAIGHT OUT I WILL REPORT THEM TO THE FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION THIS HAS STOPPED THE CALLS PULL YOUR CREDIT HISTORY TO MAKE SURE NO ONE IS USING YOU SS # AND TO CONFIRM THAT YOU OWE NO ONE. THES GUYS ARE CROOKS AND IF THE FEDERAL TRADE COMMSSION CONTINUES TO GET COMPLAINTS THESE CROOKS WILL GO TO JAIL

    1 Votes
  • Da
    Dazz_it May 02, 2012

    May, 2, 2012 @ 4:10PM PST
    Just received a call from this number [protected]. They asked for my son by his first name. I told them he wasn't here (which btw is true, he's at work) & if I could take a message. No one answered. Then I asked who was calling & they hung up. So I decided to look them up online & "YMax Corp" & "YMax Communications" came up along with this site. Looks like they are up to NO GOOD, some kind of scam & preying on the young. Please beware & please warn your kids so they don't fall for this crap &/or scam.

    1 Votes
  • Qu
    qur May 16, 2012

    Our all family getting call from ymax [protected] that they are FBI agent and had a summan for some family member since last two weak

    1 Votes
  • Vi
    Virginia Drevlow Jul 05, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had a similar experience originating from a phone # [protected]. The same person called several times, each time using a different name, claiming I was being taken to court for defaulting on a loan. I knew this was false information but when I tried to get attorney contact number, or relevant information, the man got nasty and disconnected. I hope people won't fall for this scam. It is very unsettling, as the phone number they contacted me on is unlisted.

    2 Votes
  • Re
    Renee35 Jul 19, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was scammed by a man, Frank Benson. He said live in Euliss TX, phone number +[protected]. I have seen that this man don't live at the adress indicated and used a phone number of Ymax Communications in Nevada.
    Now he is, I believe in Nigeria, but he said to be in Benin Republic, with the phone number +[protected].

    1 Votes
  • Gi
    Gibralter Consulting Svcs Aug 03, 2012

    You get miles of runnaround on technical or regular business inquiries. Favorite on Chat Link, we will forward request/complaint higher up. Providing order # ; Email ID's ; Pasword cleared ; name ; etc., but never a reply for weeks/months till you give up. Twice discontinued purchased units W/3rd waiting in the wings on similar conditions. Occasionally a service is completed like " on when I feel basis ". Horrendous service from a Helpdesk connection.
    Another Intl Time add request, pending since June 27, 2012...hvs

    0 Votes
  • Eb
    ebonyk Nov 19, 2012

    the mans name was Eric Richardson and he told me i was approved for a loan and to show good faith i would need to obtain a prepaid card and put money on it and give him the number to secure the loan and i did, when i called him he hung up on me and had cleaned the card out of the money, he told me he was from capitol one bank. i got scammed at such a desperate time in my life and he stole the only money i had. how do i make a complaint?

    1 Votes
  • He
    Heywood Yablowme Nov 28, 2012

    11-28-12
    [protected] (Conn.) is another number these ###s are using. It was something unintelligible about a "civil" lawsuit. I told them the person was not at my (cell) number.

    1 Votes
  • 12
    12/18/12 Dec 18, 2012

    I looked up this #[protected], it referenced YMax Communications Corp. landline from Harrisonburg, VA. They stated they recieved my # in a drawing that went on from Easter to Now. The drawing was supposedly from Walwart, Kmart, Best Buy (these are the only ones I could catch that he said and the only places I recognized myself. This was the first call I can recall receiving. Also, let them know I wasn't interested. They didn't even say my name, they referred to me as ma'am

    1 Votes
  • Na
    Naitene Jan 07, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Purchased a standard magic jack on 10/29/2011 from RITE AID in Clayton, NC totaling $32.01. That does not include the additional years purchased which expire on 10/29/2014. Installed the item and it worked rather well while we lived in a single family residence however upon moving to an extended stay facility on 01/15/2012 we had nothing but problems and issues with incoming and outgoing calls breaking up badly. We got no resolve from magic jack for the numerous contact attempts and since we could not use the device when we called to CLOSE down the account on 01/04/2013 we got NO REFUND for the remaining subscription that did not expire until 10/29/2014 either. Would avoid this web site because of all the hype over a device that does not work properly.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    wifi8827 Jan 07, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    the problem with 99% of MagicJacks are not with the device itself, but with the internet speed it is used on. If you were using it in an extended stay facility, immediately I would assume it was because their internet was not stable enough, or fast enough to properly operate MagicJack. Complete internet stability (no drop-offs) is required or it will seem like it isn't working.

    I have been using MagicJack for years and have had 0 problems. But then again, my internet is fast and stable as well.

    0 Votes
  • Ly
    Lynne in TN Jan 23, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just got a call from this company stating my husband won 250, 000 in the Rhode Island Lottery. He would need to go to Las Vegas and sign the papers to get the money and also he would need to go to Walmart and get a visa check card for $240.00. They Guy said his name was John Berry, with the number of [protected] but the actual number that called in was [protected] and the caller id read JM Kingston. What a Scam this crooks have going on here!

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    LoriDawnS Jan 24, 2013

    So glad that I look up unknown numbers before I answer the call. If it's legit, I can call them back, otherwise why waste my time and minutes on garbage.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    briatsunrise Jan 25, 2013

    This happened to me as well. The number comes up as [protected]. His claimed name is Roger Wilson and he claimed to be with the Federal Trade Commission. He left a very threatening voicemail and told me that either myself or my attorney should return the call. When I looked this up it was the YMaxx Communication Corp in Providence, Rhode Island.

    0 Votes
  • Ci
    cindyw6 Jan 25, 2013

    I have received calls at work, on my cell and now my home phone. They stated that they were from a law firm... I was scammed 8 years ago and NEVER again will I let this happen. The thing that scared me is this man has my social security number. The number he is calling from is [protected] looked it up and it is Ymaxx Communication. I am now writing the Federal Trade Commission.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Daleboy Apr 03, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am continuely being harrassed by this organization for funds I was supposed to have received from a loan office. I have never received the funds. This has to be the fourth or fifth time I have been contacted and told that legal action will be taken against me. I have been informed that they will contact my employer and have me fired. I contacted our local Sheriffs Office and filed a complaint with them concerning this issue. The Sheriffs Office has even spoken to these people and informed them to quit calling. I have listed with two different Credit Bureau's and informed them to watch out for any action taken against my credit accounts. I did this because the people continuing to call me have my SSN, Birth Date, Address and Phone Number. Make sure everyone contacts all credit bureau's of the possibility for Credit Card Fraud by these people! I wish there was someway we can nail these people to the wall and put them away for at least fifty years.

    1 Votes
  • Ny
    nyartist Apr 09, 2013

    I've been getting calls from [protected] but as out of area. However, I was in a rush and told the guy who calls himself Allan Wilson but has an indian accent that I would return his call and he gave me the above phone number. So I looked it up on White Pages Reverse and YMAX showed up. This guy had told me he was with windows and just wanted to get into the computer to see what the problem was..that they were getting a lot of pings from my computer. I thought it was a bit odd but said I would speak with him later. I was not gone but 2 hrs and as I walked in the door he was calling yet again. Since it says out of area, how do I block the call and what is the best way to get them to stop calling?

    0 Votes
  • DeloresSmoke May 15, 2013

    Call my phone. Said I won money call me a B____!
    I said you Mothers one hung up, he call me back my voicemail took the call. He want stop calling me HELP!

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    CrickettNJames May 20, 2013

    My husband was called today with the number being [protected] out of Jacksonville fla, saying he had defaulted on a loan. He hasnt' got a loan, and was threatened with court and everything. Glad I found this, he was worried someone had stolen his identity. Now we know its a scam!!! Sorry ### need a ### whooping!!!

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    CrickettNJames May 20, 2013

    This is a fraud, and we had the same phone call today. Only thing to do is change everything you can. Even your computer. Don't ever EVER enter your info into your computer unless you know the cite is 100% legit. We are having to do this, they have all of our info also. Sorry this has happened to you as well...

    1 Votes
  • Ta
    Taken for a fooool Jul 17, 2013

    I applied for a Payday loan. I was kind of excited at the chance for an approval, So when it was suggested that in good faith I should go and get a Green dot Money Pak Card. I did so without hesitation. That cost me $350 then I was told that because Someone had gotten a prior loan in my name which they paid off. I was required to pay another $220. A little angered I paid because I really needed the cash. I was told that the money would be deposited in my account within 45 minutes. Needless to say it was never deposited. So the next morning I called back, and I was assured that they would be making the deposit in an hour. OK I call back because there was no deposit. I was told that they tried to make the deposit, and that in order for them to do so I would need to make an additional $200. At this point I realized that I had become a victim. I called my bank to find out what was going on, and of course they had no clue as to what I was talking about. When I inquired about a refund I was hung up on. I wish I had found this site a couple of days earler. I am now out $770... Any suggestions besides finding these scammers?

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sara Prue Aug 02, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Got a phone call from [protected] was told that I defaulted on a loan that I had never gotten. The man on the phone changed his name twice in a matter of minutes. Told me he was going to file a lawsuit but when I asked for proof he became violent, he also become angry when I asked to speak to a supervisor. Deffinently a scam.

    0 Votes
  • Mv
    MVallejos Aug 09, 2013

    they call threatening to send me to jail ... from the Fraud Investigating Unit ...
    I have no idea what they are talking about but they always say that I am going to jail and wish me good luck.
    Sounds like a pack of ### who try to scare people into paying something they don't owe...

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kathie Melanson Aug 20, 2013

    Received a call from [protected]...telling us to call Office James Brown or they will send an officer to our door...come on over...this is from YMax Corporation in Jacksonville, FL. SCAM!!! Caller ID on my cell phone is 911

    0 Votes
  • Pb
    pbare21 Aug 22, 2013

    Be careful of these scams. My mother is older and was taken in by the scam of being offered a half million dollars and a mercedes benz. She didnt know any better she was just excited. Credit card information was given and she was told not to tell me because it was a surprise. BS!!! i froze all the accounts and once i got on the phone and asked why he needed a money transfer he said for processing fees and would send rep over today. I said once you guys send the rep over we'll be more than happy to transfer the money... then he hung up . Please be aware of these scams .

    0 Votes
  • Rg
    rgwife Aug 22, 2013

    calling my cell phone every 2 hours, called the office today. Spoke with a scam artist and asked for his badge number and name. given phony both told him to hold on while I call the local pd and verify his information. had the nerve to dare me. while I had him on hold he disconnected when I conferenced the calls. they wanna play cops and robbers let them play with the real thing an see how far impersonating an officer in this day and age will get them.

    0 Votes
  • Ab
    AB2468 Sep 19, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just received two calls at my place of employment, first they said they were with some federal law firm based in Washington DC and gave a phone number of [protected]. They said they were processing a lawsuit over some loan I supposedly obtained with a company I never heard of. They would not give me any details. I first talked to someone named Officer Johnson and when I began to question him, he said he was going to transfer me to his manager, the "manager", which suspiciously sounded just like the other guy said his name was John Anderson, but both were very foreign sounding like from India. Anyway I told them to stop calling, I did not know who they were or anything about the loan they were talking about. We'll see if they stop.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    Nicolemarie3 Oct 12, 2013

    yes this I have also been a victim of this company! James white from "American Finance" the number [protected] called and said I was approved for 5000.00 they already have my checking account and he will call me w/ in 1 hour. He called me back and said that I need to go to rite aid and put 295.00 as a deposit on a money pack, at which time I was applying for a loan because my husband works for the gov and has been laid off w/ out pay so I need to pay bills w/ the 5000.00. so I gave Mr. James Write the #s on the back of the card. again he said he call me w/ in the next hour to verify the $ went through to my back. when he called back he explained that my SS# has a red flag on it and needed another 1000.00 to fix it. that's when I knew something fishy was going on. We started to argue on the phone he called me a, excuse my language but a "### ### ###" . I hung up the phone then he called back again and said ok, I will give you 2 options on how to get your 295.00 back. a. send me naked photos or b. have phone sex. my husband was audio taping him the whole time. He gave me 2 different email addresses to send the pics to James.[protected]@aol.com or [protected]@myself.com. I have 3 children and no income coming in the 295.00 was the only $$ we had. he has ripped us from food, mtg payment, doc aptts, eclectric, heat everything. this man needs to be put in JAIL!!

    1 Votes
  • Be
    Bent in Bama Oct 23, 2013

    Agent Harry Sommers Oklahoma City, OK, claiming to be with the DEA .[protected] is the number being used. Also a YMax source number. Why do so many scams originate from this company? Remember people, if the FBI, DEA, ATF, or any other agency of this type wants you, they ARE NOT going to call you and give you a "heads up" or tell you they have an agent around the corner waiting to pick you up if you don't pay. They will come get you with no warning. Don't be scared, don't be scammed!

    0 Votes
  • Xd
    xdcd Oct 26, 2013

    These people call about once a month. Once they said it was Indiana Health. Yesterday just showed they had called. They are bogus like all the rest of complaints regarding this name YMAX. If they call again I will file a complaint with FCC.

    0 Votes
  • Jr
    JRICCIARDI Oct 30, 2013

    I agree, I just recieved a call from the same company as you guys stating that there were from the attorneys office and someone filed a complaint and I was going to be arrested. I told the man that I read all about this scam on the internet that I was reporting him and not giving any of my information to him and he just hung up on me. This is redicoulous that people can be scamming people the way they do. The number they called from was {607}595-0392. This was also a landline phone, Maybe with all these complaints somebody will do something about their fraudalant attempts on so many people and the false impersonations they tell people they are.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem