Waltz VolunteerFraudulent NGO

W
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

This Organization is registered in the State of Florida, USA, since June of 2009, under the name Waltz Volunteers Inc. using the following Registration Document Number N09000006403 and EIN: [protected] and claims to design, develop and implement projects to serve communities in need and also to place volunteers from all over the world in those communities in need.

It is only ran by 1 man John Pertet Mugabe who created a website and at least 30 different email accounts to pose as board members, volunteers, donors, employees to scam many volunteers, employees, donors and partners, service providers.

He claimed it was created in 1990 by Rev. Antonio Waltz, a missionary from Florida, who supposedly rescued Pertet from the street. He also claimed that there were Board members from USA, UK, and the Waltz family, when none of them existed. The only people who actually exist, besides Pertet, are his parents who live in USA and helped him register the NGO in Florida last year.

He has been using his fake profiles to defend himself from accusations, reinforce his requests of funds and discredit any person’s complaints, and even to offer fake jobs to people in radio stations and government institutions in order to have them on his side. He also used the name of previous volunteers, in order to pose as board members or employees in the website.

He started partnering with NGOs’ in 9 different countries in Africa and 3 in Asia in order to get more volunteers. He has never sent volunteers to some of these countries and he might just have stolen the information of partners to offer programs on his website without a real partnership. He claims he owns projects when it doesn’t own any and just tries to get money using them and then disappears with any money he manages to get.

Volunteers (mostly Americans) are being scammed out of money: do not receive the service that they paid for, are asked to donate money to fake projects, are asked to loan personal money to Pertet and are never refunded despite numerous mails requesting for refunds, are sold extremely expensive safaris. Volunteers are being used as Guiney pigs and are placed in unevaluated accommodations and projects, are living in below standards accommodations, without proper food and safety standards. The majority of volunteers have had very strong complaints about mishandling of funds, misleading advertising, non-delivery of services, misleading information and others. Many of them are still waiting for a refund (from 50$ to more than 10000$ per victim).

Everyone who had reasonable questions, recommendations or complaints, were shut down and even threatened with fake emails from fake board members, fake employees or fake volunteer profiles.

All his employees quit and were not paid. They are witnesses of several lies and manipulative strategies, Irregularities in the handling of funds, inaccurate and misleading information, unsatisfactory service, Lack and delays in the payments, and others. He has given many excuses for not paying his debts, making the sending process overly complicated giving long-winded explanations, hoping the victims will frustrate and give up asking. Employees are being abused, are offered salaries and benefits that are not real, are asked to lie and are not paid for their jobs.

He also scams through the travel Agency “Waltz Tours and Travels” (www.waltztours.com) which sells extremely expensive safaris.

People in need are being used and set up with false expectations and promises of help.

Service providers are being ripped off and not paid for their goods or services provided.

He has been performing fraudulent operations and posing as fake people at least since 2005.

Responses

  • St
    STEPFATHER OF JOHN Jul 31, 2012

    HELLO WORLD MY NAME IS DARRYL J DAVIS AM THE STEP FATHER OF JOHN PERTET MUGABE. RIGHT NOW AM BROKEN BY THIS SCAM HE IS RUNNIG MY STEP SON IS A LIER A BIG ONE HE HAS STOLE MY I.D AND PASSPORT NUMBER AND SSN HE HAS USE MY NAME TIME AND TIME AGAIN SO STOP WORKING WITH THIS BOY HE IS A FAKE.. I SAY TO THE WORLD STOP WORKING WITH HIM. AM TRYING TO STOP HIM RIGHT NOW.. WHEN I WENT TO AFRICA TO SEE HIM NO WALTZ VOLONTEER.. AND NO JOHN AFTER ALL IV DONE FOR HIM THIS IS HOW YOU REPAY YOUR FAMILY, FRIEND AND LOVE ONES AND ALL THE LOVE, TIME AND LOVE AND MONEY AND CREDIT CARD YOUR MOTHER OPEN UP TO PAY FOR YOUR SCHOOLING HAVE GIVE..YOU. PEOPLE OF THE WORLD THIS A BIG A$$ SCAM AND A THIEF

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    magichiq Mar 04, 2012

    he sometimes uses Daryl Davis, John pertet but his name is Juma Mugabe from Busia, he is a luhya not a masaai like he claims...he has no soul and he works alone all the emails you receive working with him are from him, he also works with few people men and women who he also pays.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    magichiq Mar 04, 2012

    i find this quite true and am a victim too...i received a cheque from him with Raquel Ruiz which was fake...he is now conning women, and he is also a thief he stole my laptop among other things, he claims to be some ministers son in kenya and working as a secret agent for US Embassy, he lies too much and cons people here in kenya, he keeps changing his phone no.but the current one is +[protected]...he is conning people on facebook too beware his account is http://www.facebook.com/COQUIJ..

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    malal May 17, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello everyone. I tumbled upon this site during my routine confirmation process, and i'm glad i did. I had just received an email from John pertet mugabe with a queer letterhead. He is now operating under "humanities without borders" sometimes "Abroad bound volunteers inc" with a Raquel Ruiz as the human resource coordinator- ofcourse a fictitious character. What a guy!!! I'll explore avenues of bringing him down since I now know some office where he operates. I was so lucky, his scam almost worked on me.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    maryannek Jan 21, 2011

    Sure. I agree with the above comments. I supplied John Mugabe with car hire services only to default in payment. He kept on lying that funds were being sent from the donors and once they are received, he will pay in full. Two years down the line, I haven't received any money fom him. He is a real con man, donors should know that and stop funding him. John Mugabe should stop conning people and the government of Kenya should take action on such con mens/organizations.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Another Volunteer May 21, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I volunteered with this "Organization" in Kenya between August and October 2009.
    I was suspicious upon arrival of the alleged CEO of the organization due to my previous experiences in the country, and about two weeks into my placement I confirmed that it is a total scam. I confronted John Mugabe Pertet and was met initially with outlandish explanations and excuses, then with hostility and finally with threats and slander.
    I received e-mails from various "board members" - all of which were sent by John Pertet himself through fake accounts he had created to support his scam.
    I received threats of court and police even after I had left the country and also found out that he had been using slander against me to cover his wrong doings.
    Any other volunteer who was scammed and tried to speak up has also been met with threats and slander.
    He is operating on his own, using his mother's name as the President of the organization and her home address as "headquarters". He controls all e-mail addresses with the Waltz name.
    When a prospective volunteer tries to verify the legitimacy of the organization, he/she is given a list of "previous volunteer's" to contact. These are all fake accounts controlled by John Pertet.
    He has not only ripped off volunteers and donors but all his employees and the poverty stricken people of his country that he gives hope to only to clip their wings, pocket the money and donations intended for them and leave them stranded.
    I hope that he can be stopped.

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    pissedvolunteer May 17, 2010

    I've ALSO volunteered with WALTZ and all I can say is -- DONT DO IT!!!

    It is run by one John Mugabe Pertet, who I have met several times. He steals money from eager volunteers and does indeed control all of those e-mail addresses! I've been trying to get a safari refund from him for the past few months (nearly 700USD!!) and he is simply refusing to refund me. While I was in Kenya, I DID work at projects and have an incredible time, but the good times that I had had NOTHING to do with WALTZ. Everything John touches is a fraud. Do not trust him, do not trust WALTZ, do not trust any e-mails you receive!

    0 Votes
  • Bb
    BB MD May 06, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also volunteered in Kenya through Waltz Volunteers for 4 months during 2009 and think this is a fraudulent Organization. I became one of the main donors for Waltz and now I have found out that the money requests they made were based on either fake projects, for fake purposes or that the money didn’t reach the hands of its intended recipients.

    There are many Americans and Canadians, as well as people from all over the world, who are being scammed by this Organization, which is only ran by one man (John Mugabe Pertet).

    I was a victim of several lies to request for money and there are no clear answers to where exactly the money went, except for Pertet's pocket. I saw some shady maneuvers in the way Pertet handled money, but I did not have any proofs of corruption until now. My image was used to get more volunteers and Pertet told many persons that I was part of Waltz Board when I wasn’t. Among the excuses to get money from me were: orphanage floods, chicken pox outbreaks, dead employee, salary payment, increased fees in guest house, heart surgery for an orphan, etc.

    Before I arrived in Kenya, I checked references with other volunteers who I found out were fake and they were just emails controlled by Pertet. He also posed as the manager of a Guest House where I was supposed to stay in, in order to increase the accommodation fees we had previously agreed on. Having so many doubts, I asked Pertet to give me the phone number of a member of the board, but he gave me a fake email address controlled by him.

    He also requested me to send money to pay for employee’s salaries when almost all employees had quit because they weren’t paid, so they never received their money and it ended in Pertet’s hands.

    Its registration in USA improves its credibility and only helps him scam more people.

    There is no real Management Board. The members that pose as signatories in the Florida registration document (Pertet’s parents) do not have regular meetings, do not know what Pertet is doing in Africa and are protecting their son’s operation.

    I see, with a lot of worry, that John Pertet Mugabe is still trying to perform fraudulent operations and should be legally stopped by the corresponding authorities as soon as possible, in order to permanently prevent his recurrent frauds.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.