2000 SE Loop 410, San Antonio, TX, 78220, US

Reviews and Complaints

terrible scam!

I have never had charges taken out of my bank from Blockbuster for full price of item if not returned on time until recently. I was not notified by my bank on the withdraw of my bank account from blockbuster. Now my account is overdrawn due to the fact that blockbuster took money from my bank account with out my knowledge or permission. I am not going to pay overdrawn fees when Blockbuster took my money with out notice of this action. I have never known for any movie store to withdraw money (full price of game $45.00) from your bank account if the game or movie is returned on time. The money will be refunded when you return the game or movie. I am going to make sure this matter is solved. I will take further action if I do not see my money that your (Blockbuster) company has taken including the overdraft fees back into my account. My next step is to call claims Dept. and deal with them again. I have dealt with Blockbuster on another issue regarding my money taken out with out notice and didn't get a refund from the store which manager told me to call claims dept. I called claims and manager there did not understand why store manger did not refund my money there at the store. I am tired with dealing with poor Blockbuster customer service and the way you manage to take our (customers) money. I called the blockbuster and spoke to Mr. L*, said he was the General Manager and was rude talking over me while I was trying to explain the situation. He said that change of charges have been like that since 2005. Then he said if it happened before then I should have known to happen again. He said "SO BE IT" Oh my goodness, suppose to sound professional? He told me to call District leader at 1.800.940.2232 and leave a message. Blockbuster just lost my business. Still being charged full price for the game my son rented and it is not worth the price since it has been rented out numerous of times before I rented it. I have been charged $45.00 plus my overdraft fees.

  • Ja
    Janis Hardin Sep 28, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Blockbuster-Total Access mailed Three Movies to our Home,we returned them to our local store, they were not credited to our account! After opening my e-mail I found out they Deducted$65.52 from our checking Account!

    The movies were returned! This is Crazy for anyone to leave a credit card with Blockbuster Total Access... Just wait your time is coming! I've read about FRAUD but this is it in Capital Letters! They over charge anyway!

    0 Votes
  • Sn
    Snickers1111 Jan 07, 2008

    I had a price plan which had a monthly E-coupon. Suddenly the feature disappeared. There was no notification of this change. After repeated E-mail's to Bblockbuster online, the E-coupon was put back in with reassurance that the price plan would stay the same. GUESS WHAT - NOT!!!! Blockbuster increased the cost of my monthly plan, again without any notification whatsoever. I will cancel and never go back to these people. Customer service is worse I have ever seen!

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Tara Mar 02, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been trying to get $76.00 back because blockbuster took out money from my account from their online program, after I had ALREADY CANCELED IT. I have been trying to get it back for a YEAR NOW! HOW RUDE!!!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jon Ball Apr 08, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    File a Reg E complaint for an unauthorized electronic transaction on your account. Your bank will credit you the money back and send you forms to fill out in which you tell your story. A decision will be made by the bank as to whether the transaction was truely authorized. You only have 90 days from the transaction date to file so get going! -Good Luck

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    Netflix subscriber Jul 29, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been with Netflix since Oct 07. I am currently on their 3 at a time plan. I receive 3 movies twice a week, approximately 6 movies a week. There are a few times that a movie is shipped from a farther destination and has a longer transit time, there are times I have defective dvds that will not play, but are replaced if requested, thus lowering the amount I am sent per week. If this happens with a high demand movie and several times in a week, I receive bonus movies when I call customer service. I get on the average 20 to 24 movies per month. Blockbuster by no means compairs to Netflix. I wanted to try the so called "free" one month trial of Blockbuster Total Access, which I was charged 9.99 plus tax for and needless to say I am not the least bit thrilled. I subscribed a week ago and have received 3 movies to Netfix's 6. Blockbuster's distribution center is fairly far away from my home which results in a longer transit time, far from the one day turn around that is advertised. Also the return address to the distribution center is farther away, also a longer transit time so therefore YOU ARE LIMITED TO 3 MOVIES A WEEK (if you're lucky), not the unlimited or 6 movies I was hoping to receive. It took close to 48 hours to send my first movie, the 3 that were sent arrived (or were throttled out) on 3 separate days, in store returns are not removed from your queue until it is received at the distribution center and then there's another day or 2 wait for the one on your queue to be sent. Most movies I chose were boxed sets (old tv shows) and the majority of those were "a long wait" and you need to have at least 15 available on the top or your queue AT ALL TIMES or they won't ship at all!! I wrote customer service about the bad start this was and they didn't seem too concerned. I also stated I highly doubt if I would renew for a second month & they didn't seem to give a rat's ### about that either. Blockbuster is a bust!! I will stick to Netflix.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jake Aug 05, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My friend, no one ripped you off. First of all, BB requires a credit card on file if you rent games so if they don't come back, they have something to charge. Second, this policy is made clear on the contract you sign when you get your membership. Sadly, hardly anyone reads these contracts and signs anyway. So one of two things is happening here. You either know what you agreed to and are trying to weasel out of it OR you were too dumb to read the contract. Either way, it is not BB's fault. Now I have my own beefs with this shitheel company with their general lack of concern for customer well-being and quality of service. I rent online. That's smarter anyway. No spending money on ###-gouging gas etc. But for the record, you have to READ when asked to sign something and LISTEN when people talk to you.

    Also, why do you even have a bank account if can't keep more than $50 in it. Sounds like priorities are simply not in order. Again, not BB's fault.

    0 Votes
  • Wo
    woodbury Nov 04, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i agree with Jake, but i rent in store... i work in store. i get these complaints all the time, i would even have customers come in and tell me that my store manager said that their fee is to be taken off, and when i tell them hold on and call my store manager, they give me a disgusted look, and say never mind. i wish customers understand that they need to read the fine print, i always read the fine print and if i don't understand the fine print i will look for a friend that can help. always understand what you are getting into. when i was charged from my own online account (yes i am an employee who had the online account.) and i had only $4.00 in my bank account, i had 3 online movies auto sell and 3 overdraft fees. i was charged an extra $86. because i didn't pay attention to my due dates. so even i have had issues with that, but i just figured that it was my fault, and not blockbuster, i should have done my part.

    0 Votes
  • Ur
    Ursula Jan 05, 2009

    I ordered 16 Previously viewed HD-DVD's from Blockbusteronline.com After I placed the order, I realized that one of the items, 16 Blocks, was a new DVD, that carried the same price as the previously viewed HD-DVD, and was ordered in error. I quickly tried to call them to switch it, but their phone number is nowhere to be found on the website. So I emailed them about it asking them to switch it. They emailed me back telling me to return the item when I got it. Again I told them to switch the item before it shipped, and to not ignore my request, and again they told me I could just return it when I got it. This was not doing what I asked repeatedly, and instead just trying to place the workload on me, which is very lazy and could have been rectified with a couple of clicks of the mouse. After realizing they had no desire to help me at all, I canceled the entire order. They responded by shipping items. The only item that they shipped, was that new version of 16 blocks that I didn't want. I called them demanding to know why they sent items that I had cancelled. They kept repeating that the problem is that the item was already shipped. I asked for a manager, they hung up. I kept demanding that the rest of the order be cancelled, they refused saying that even though the rest of it wasn't shipped, they couldn't cancel, because it was in process. I was finally told that they would refund the 16 blocks if I returned it. I asked if I would have to pay shipping costs. They assured me that I wouldn't. There is no prepaid postage on in when they sent it, so it appears they lied to me. The rest of the order hasn't been shipped, yet they "assure me" that it cannot be cancelled. This is some of the worst business practices that I have ever seen, and should be illegal.

    0 Votes
  • Pd
    pd off Jan 19, 2009

    JUST FOR THOSE ON HERE WHO ARE TALKING A BOUT READING CONTRACTS. i HAVE THE CONTRACT I AGREED TO RIGHT IN FRONT OF ME. I HAD THE ONLINE MEMBERSHIP AND ALLOWED THEM ACCESS TO WITHDRAW FUNDS FROM MY ACCOUNT TO PAY MY MONTHLY BILL. HOWEVER I CANCELLED MY ACCOUNT MEMBERSHIP IN NOVEMBER OF 08. IT IS NOW THE MIDDLE OF JANUARY AND HAD 63.00 WITHDRAWN ELECTRONICALLY FROM MY BANK ACCOUNT FOR MOVIES NOT RETURNED. MOW MIND YOU YES MY LAZY A** HAS NOT RETURNED THE THREE MOVIES AND YES THEY HAVE EVERY RIGHT TO BILL ME FOR THOSE MOVIES. BUT BILL ME. THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS STATE ON PAGE 10 UNDER ELECTRONIC FUND TRANSFER AUTHORIZATION BY CHECKING ACCOUNT USERS " YOU MAY CANCEL YOUR MEMBERSHIP AT ANYTIME.THIS CANCELLATION WILL CANCEL ANY CHECKING ACCOUNT AUTHORIZATION THAT WAS TO OCCUR ON ANY DAY AFTER THE DATE OF CANCELLATION". THEY DO NOT HAVE LEGAL RIGHT TO YOUR BANK ACCOUNT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES AT THIS POINT. I FILED WITH, MY BANK AND GOT MY MONEY AND NOW THEY ARE UNDER INVESTIGATION. ACCORDING TO MY BANK THEY WILL EITHER BE ASKED TO REVISE THEIR TERMS AND CONDITIONS IF THEY WILL INDEED BE STILL WITHDRAWING FUNDS OR SEND A BILL. ALSO AS FOR MAKING FUN OF SOMEONE FOR HAVING NOT A LOT OF MONEY IN THEIR BANK ACCOUNT THAT IS JUST RUDE. PEOPLE HAVE DIFFERENT CIRCUMSTANCES. I FOR ONE HAVE LOTS OF MONEY IN MY BANK ACCOUNT AFTER PAYDAY, HOWEVER I ALSO HAVE LOTS OF BILLS TO PAY, SO IF I HAD 1000.00 FOR INSTANCE IN MY ACCOUNT AND MY MORTGAGE WAS 800.00 AND I HAD ANOTHER BILL THAT TOTALLED 120..0 AND I LEFT MYSELF WITH 80..00 FOR THE WEEK AND THEN THEY WITHDREW 90.00 UNEXPECTEDLY, OH WHAT DO YOU KNOW I NOW HAVE OVERDRAFT FEE. LOTS OF THINGS TO TAKE INTO CONSIDERATION HERE

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    HonestOpinion Mar 11, 2009

    I agree. Blockbuster has become a ripoff. They started out with decent plans, then lured customers to other plans which were later priced higher. Now, the premium subscription, which used to allow you to do an in-store exchange and which would right away send you more in the mail, now has a policy that you can only have 3 DVDs in your possession. They attempted to make this sound good by saying that the premium package now allows in-store trade-ins to be kept without a due date.

    This company is going to fail. I will be switching to Netflix at the end of this billing cycle. Netflix will give me the 3 DVDs, albeit without in-store exchanges, for half the price of Blockbuster. My recommendation to all: re-assess the value of your subscription with Blockbuster. I'm willing to be you'll find a better deal elsewhere.

    0 Votes
  • Cy
    Cynic May 05, 2009

    You said there wasn't a number to call, and then you called someone after it was shipped? I smell a big, fat, unhappy employee rat LOL

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Charlied72 Oct 25, 2009

    If you keep your movie 10 days past its due date it will charge to you. You are charged the current selling price of the item at the time of your rental. If a used price is available and is less you are charged the used price. You make no sense in your post. Return your game that is late and your money will go back in its not Blockbuster fault you cant return your movies/ games.

    0 Votes
  • An
    annoyedemployee Feb 20, 2010

    heres a thought... return your stuff on time. blockbuster is a business and will get the money thats due to them. some complaints are legit...these "you charged my card because I dont know how to return stuff on time" complaints are not.

    0 Votes
  • El
    Elaine2 Mar 18, 2010

    Blockbuster's online service is terrible. They will throttle your deliveries by at least 4 days to ensure you only get 1 DVD a week. They even do this to free trial users. Netflix on the other hand is not much better because they won't send you new releases after your 2nd month of service, they will put you in their computer as a frequent user and you will be stuck with movies 2 years old or older. I'm fed up with both of these online rental companies. I really wish a new one would come out of the woodwork to give them both a run for their money. I'm currently sticking with the Redbox for the time being because I can actually get what I want for a buck a night. If I can't find a movie out of the box I usually just stream it online since Blockbuster and Netflix both suck now. Also, don't even get me started on the $5.50 blockbuster charges for in store rentals---that is absolute abomination in this economy.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    madatblockbuster Jul 06, 2010

    I purchsed a brand new DVD from blockbuster. The cashier assured me i could return it if it was defective. The transaction was very pleasant

    One of the dics did not work and when I tried to return it (same day, I live down the street) I was laughed at (RUDE!) and told I could not get a refund or exchange the now open DVD because I most likely burned it to my computer. I was told that my only course of action would be to contact the manufacturer (the PO box on the back of the case) !?! REALLY?!?
    They refused to even test the DVD but were happy to toss harsh accusations my way until I left the store.

    I was shocked, I'd never pirated a movie in my life and here was some punk accusing me of ripping off a DVD I could have (should have) simply downloaded online (sex and the city season 5). I couldn't reason with the employees, it was simply not their problem.

    I know you're thinking "well she was probably rude". I can assure you that was not the case...I would not have sought out this website unless I really wanted to let of some steam.

    It may be Blockbusters policy to refuse returns of Brand New but open DVD's but it was not acknowledged on the receipt with the rental-return instructions, or verbally. Additionally the employee's refused to test my DVD and treated me like a scam artist. It seems strange to me that Blockbuster's policy is to refer customers with defective products directly to the manufacturer. I believe that the empoyees at the Central Sq location were messingaround with me and I just wanted to put that out there.

    Thanks!

    0 Votes
  • Li
    lilvixen69 Jul 06, 2010

    I just have to ask: why would you question the condition of the DVD? If it was brand new, chances are very unlikely that it was defective in any way. I'm not saying you were trying to scam them; I just understand their skepticism.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    Graber Jan 12, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The local Blockbuster store here in Grass Valley, CA claimed they would "work out" the problem I had with their "selling" us a video game my son had rented and returned after their 10 day grace period. So after charging us for a rental AND a sell of the same game ($70 total price) they offered to halve the cost for $30. Apparently they aren't any better at math than they are at honesty. My son had begged me to reopen an account in his name after we closed our account because of their requirement to be granted free access to our VISA account. No more. Let's put this ripoff company out of business.

    0 Votes
  • zombieheadsarah Jan 14, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Polices are put in place for a reason. Return the item on time to avoid these things...

    0 Votes
  • Re
    reddeeruser Jan 19, 2011

    Blockbuster changed the rating on the packaging of the movie "The Town" (staring Ben Afleck). The movie industry rates the movie as "R", however Blockbuster changed the rating to 14A.
    The number of times the characters in the movie swear should be reason enough to force an R rating. However, the frontal nudity and lesbian scene within the first 15 to 20 minutes of the movie should potentially push the movie to a XXX rating.
    Ratings are provided so that people can choose to watch a movie based on their preferences, tastes and who they will be watching it with. I don't expect that a movie rated 14A is going to have more swears than sentances in the first 5 minutes. This one did.
    I am not impressed.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Demon Jun 15, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Giftcards are all a scam. Why not use the universal giftcard...a $1, $2, $5, $10, $20, $50 or $100 dollar bill. (hopefully that will be good for awhile longer than a Blockbuster giftcard!.

    Shame on them for stealing our money!

    Run them out of town tarred and feathered for taking all the small video shops out before they left...

    And to top it off the giftcard was for a seven year old girl who tried to turn in her can money to get one she had been saving for several months. Just great we have to tell her that she wasted her money on it.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    wanderinghebrew Jun 15, 2011

    So your kid collected a bunch of cans and used that money to buy a blockbuster gift card? What was the logic in that?

    Gift cards are not a scam. I got my father a gift card to Bass Pro shop for fathers day. I couldn't decide what to get him, so the gift card will allow him to use it however he wants.

    You should get the parents of the year award for letting your child spend her money on a movie rental gift card. What was wrong with her putting that money in a piggy bank and taking out a few dollars every time she wanted to rent a movie?

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mark Nov 07, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been a customer of Blockbuster.Com for 2 years now.
    I actually have the max account of 8 out at a time for $39.99 a month.

    In December of 2005 someone jacked my card (the same I use at Blockbuster.com) and opened a new account at Blockbuster.com. So I was being charged $39.99 and 19.99 a month. They also opened an AOL account with the same card in Feb. Unfortunately I didn't notice these charges until late April. I called my bank and closed the card. I called AOL and even though they were a bit of a pain, they did refund me all the charges which was 3 months total. My bank says due to state laws, they can only refund me the first 90 days. Which means that they could give me back Dec, Jan and Feb charges from blockbuster. That meant that Blockbuster should be responsible for March and April which was a total of $38 bucks. So I called blockbuster.com and they said there is no refunds for fraud. WHAT? They open a second account with my credit card without my approval and start mailing movies to who knows where (and of course they won't tell me because they have to protect the rights of the people that stole my card) and they won't give me back the $38. AOL even sent me back my money. But Blockbuster.com won't do anything. They protect the criminal and penalize the honest person. I don't get it? So now I will be forced to close my account with them to prove a point. And the thing was, I was totally happy with them. Now I have to spread the word of how they are unfair to the paying consumer and protect common thieves.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    viggo's girl Nov 07, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Continued to worry the hell out of them. It is a liability THEY accept when they agree to accept credit cards any other way than in person. If it was a debit card that was used - is it thru MasterCard or Visa? You can contact either one the card is affiliated with and see if there is some sort of identity protection they offer if their card is used w/out authorization. I work at a bank and a lot of people are not aware that the actual credit card company the debit card goes thru offers a lot of perks for using their card (extended warranty, satisfaction guarantee, etc.). Good luck - don't back down on Blockbuster. It is true that there are many bogus fraud claims and they have to be cautious of falling for every claim - however they DO need to listen to someone who is persistent and realize that THEIR systems allow for fraudsters to take advantage of other people. They can use the "confidential" information they have on that individual and pursue recovery efforts.

    0 Votes
  • Mu
    Mudrivermama Jul 13, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I received an instant Speedy Rewards coupon for a rent one DVD and get one free rental from Speeedway gas station. I stood out in the cold and made my two selections, entered the promo code, and the machine stated the code was invalid. Needless to say that one bad apple spoiled the pie! I rarely use the Blockbuster rental machine and probably wont ever try again. I will just stick with the Redbox rentals even with the occassional frozen screens and breakdowns at least they honor their codes. I get lots of free rentals through Kroger's purchases. Redbox Rocks!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chirs J Jul 13, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Its really simple " Robin the manger has yet to say hello to me. Knowing its
    there policy to do so. I actually adopted it and use at my business. Everytime someone enters the my place The employees must speak to himher. But Thats not the case at this store. The first time it happen I asked if she saw me
    she said no" As i checked out I asked if she would remember next time she said
    yes> Today I went in and same thing So this time I said hello to her. To let her know I was in the store. I waited to see if she spoke to next customers that
    came in she spoke to all of them. So I can only assume it was racially motivated. Needless to say The more change The more they stay the same.
    I will pass it on to all my customers and employees at my barbershop.
    I am glad this site exists : Thanks

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Miss_Amor Jul 13, 2016

    So what if she didn't say "Hello".
    Get over it.

    0 Votes

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem