ADVERTISIMENT
9200 Estero Park Commons Blvd Suite 1, Estero, FL, 33928, US
Thu 8:30 am - 5:30 pm Working Hours
Sun:Closed
Mon:8:30 am - 5:30 pm
Tue:8:30 am - 5:30 pm
Wed:8:30 am - 5:30 pm
Thu:8:30 am - 5:30 pm
Fri:8:30 am - 5:30 pm
Sat:Closed

Reviews and Complaints

Lennar Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal

* Email sent to Lennar Homes, LLC.*

My whole experience with Lennar Homes, LLC has been extremely stressful and hurtful. After PCSing to the Fort Myers, Florida area back in February of this year, I immediately got on the hunt for securing permanent housing for myself. After a realtor referral from a family member, I found myself meeting my realtor every weekend. We went to many new developments in the Fort Myers area. I must say that the customer service experience received from Jeremy at Pulte homes was second to none. He was smiling, personable, and attentive. In hindsight, I should have gone with that first impression and purchased a home with Pulte. I didn't because I loved the Marsala model built by Lennar.

It is important to add that when my realtor and I walked into the Lennar model home in the Portico community, we did not experience the same treatment received at Pulte. No one was smiling, greeted us, or made us feel welcome. We even had to stand around and wait for someone to greet us even though no customers were being serviced upon our arrival. On a separate occasion when I returned to the community by myself, one of the new sales consultants literally looked me up and down, from head to toe as if to size me up. I found this very unprofessional and very unpleasant. Despite this treatment, I was determined to get the Marsala model home. After months of let's wait and see how much the price of homes go up before we can make a deal with you. I was able to pick a lot and put a deposit down on a house. This didn't come easy, I literally was deployed across the country and had to reach out to Lynn, the new sales consultant that I was working with for updates. She never once initiated communication with me after meeting with her on several occasions physically prior to leaving on deployment. Despite this, I signed a contract and put 3.5% earnest monies down on the Marsala model in the Portico community.

As an active-duty officer serving this country and banking with USAA. I made the decision to go with USAA for my mortgage home needs. Their customer service is superb and I have never been disappointed with their products. Therefore, over the last year, I have been very diligent with submitting the required documentation to USAA to secure the home mortgage loan. Initially, I was told by Lennar that I would be closing on October 19, 2021. Lennar was unable to deliver, and the closing did not occur due to construction issues. A new close date was set for November 17, 2021. It is important to add that my loan processer was in direct communication with Lennar informing them of paperwork missing but was needed for the new construction as well as for the VA appraisal. I must add that Lennar stalled with providing this documentation to my loan processor.

My loan processor also informed that the house would need to be 95% complete for a VA appraisal. Lennar communicated that the house would not be ready until the first of November. My loan processor then informed Lennar that this would not allow enough time for the VA appraisal to be completed in order to comply with the federal laws, regulations, and timelines.

It is important to note that availability dates were provided of when I could physically be available to close on the house. I have also been very diligent with going by the house to ensure construction was coming along by completing walk throughs. On several occasions I noticed plastic bottles, worker clothing, and food left at the worksite. These issues were brought to Lynn's attention. Not to mention a massive ant mound inside of the house. On last weekend, I completed another walk through of the house and noted several issues still pending with construction to include a broken bathroom window, windows not completely seated, broken tile in the bathroom, and various other items. The photographs taken during this walkthrough were provided to Lynn so that she was aware. She promised to have the issues addressed by Joe, the onsite construction manager. Just recently, I informed Lennar that I would be getting a third-party inspection.

On November 3, 2021, I received what I believed to be a threatening letter informing me that if I did not close on the house on or before November 23, 2021, that I would be in default of the contract and that Lennar would keep my deposit monies. On today November 4, 2021, I also received information from Lynn that the house was still pending items needing completion prior to the third-party inspection being conducted on November 10, 2021 at 2:00 pm.

I say all of this to say, that this home buying experience with Lennar has been completely disappointing. In my opinion, I have found you all to be truly in the money-making business and will do any and everything including stealing from customers. I have been more than accommodating but have not found the same reciprocity. Your actions and behaviors of sending a letter informing that I would be in default if not closed by November 23, 2021 was very concerning. Especially, when you all have failed to deliver on time from a construction standpoint. Not to mention the push to go with your lending company so that supposedly "the house will close much faster."

The house is currently pending a VA appraisal that hopefully will be completed so that I am able to close on time. I have communicated, my realtor has communicated, as well as my loan processor has communicated that a close date of November 29th or 30th, 2021 would also be feasible considering the current timeline of the appraisal as well as pending items with construction.

As an active-duty officer serving this country, it is important to add that I did expect better treatment. I have not received it; therefore, I made the decision to file a complaint with the Attorney General of Florida. I also will be filing other complaints as well as sought and secured legal counsel.

I look forward to continued business with you all so that WE all can see this project to completion and I am able to move into my new home but for some reason you all are making this very difficult.

In the meantime from what was communicated today, Lennar still has work to do. If it is ok, can you please update me on the completion of those pending items at your earliest convenience.

Regards,

Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal
Threatened to keep deposit monies if not closed on time / pending va appraisal

Comment Guidelines

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit
    1 Response
    • Rh
      rhtx3003 Feb 13, 2022
      This comment was posted by
      a verified customer
      Verified customer

      Was all/any of this resolved? That sounds like a one sided wrestling match and I'm sorry to learn you went thru / are going thru this. I'm curious about all the mismatched alignments and so on...

      -1 Votes
      Cancel
       
      Submit
    ADVERTISIMENT

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.