ADVERTISIMENT
333 Market St Ste 100, San Francisco, CA, 94105, US

Reviews and Complaints

HotwireCar reservation

I reserved a car through Hotwire, that was to be picked up at NU Car Rentals in LA, California for December 29, 2020 to January 2, 2021. Not long after making this reservation we were told that due to the pandemic there was a stay in place order for LA, California, and the number of Covid-19 numbers were escalating out of control there. There was also information stating that they were discouraging leisure travel. Out of safety I canceled my flight going to LA; that was also made through Hotwire for American Airlines. American Airlines was very obliging in changing my reservation for a small charge. I in turn contacted Hotwire to see if I could bank my money I paid for the car reservation to use when things got safer in LA, California. I was told that it was reserved with NU Car Rental and they couldn't do anything. I in turn contacted NU Car Rental to see if I could bank the money for a near future rental when I could travel there safely due to this pandemic. They told me that it was in the hands of Hotwire. Apparently, I have been getting the run around. I am not looking for a refund, only looking to book in the very near future when the pandemic in LA gets under control. How can a business honestly keep money for a reservation that wasn't used, especially when we are in the midst of a pandemic? This seems very unfair, and most businesses are obliging their customers do to this awful situation that we are all experiencing. I will not use Hotwire in the future if this is how they treat customers, and I will let others know as well.

Comment Guidelines

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit
    Respond

    HotwireCancellation reneging

    I booked a hotel for a stay on Jan 6th through the 10th, it was a hot price deal, which I get no refund ext. However, I attempted to talk to the represenative on 28th of December, who then offered me for a Fee of $40, which again the hotwire site says it does not do, to cancel the reservation. I however, could not decide at that moment, and within 24 hours called them back and spoke to Jenny ID 713, who is the supervisor at the manila call center, then told me they could not honor the original offer of the fee, because it was only good for that call, which was not mentioned to me. This is ridiculous, because for one that agent should not have offered me the cancellation option, when it supposedly is not available for such bookings.
    I am an avid user this site, but, I see the practices are immoral and in my opinion pose legal questions. From the lawsuits I have searched I see why they are sneaky. away. I will be sure to use other booking sites, and it will not be Priceline or any subsidiary of it, such as hotwire.

    Comment Guidelines

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      Submit
      Respond

      HotwireMisleading and unethical behavior

      Itinerary # [protected] In September 2015, I booked a trip on the Hotwire website for Nov. 5th - Nov. 8th, 2015. I purchased the offered insurance ($44.00) in case something happened. Apparently, Hotwire's itinerary links provided for my trip did not have the correct information. This was a bait and switch. I want Hotwire / Expedia to take care of the airline rebooking fees of $400.00. How this transpired: I called Hotwire on October 26, 2015, to change my trip and the first Agent told me that the rules I was given (via a link on my itinerary) are wrong. The rules of my insurance stated I could "cancel or change the trip one time for ANY REASON". It also stated that "if the airline had any rebooking fees that Expedia would pay the fees". However, the Hotwire Agent stated the only way I could cancel/change the trip was if I were sick and could prove it by providing proof from my Doctor. When I read the rules to the Agent (straight from the Hotwire itinerary/website) she again stated that it had to be due to illness - that the "cancel for ANY REASON" language was not going to apply. I then asked to speak with the Agent's Supervisor - again I was told the same thing by this Supervisor, even though I was accessing the 'rules' via a link from Hotwire. The Supervisor then said to me "I see that you were given the incorrect rules for your insurance - but I'll make sure I give this to my higher-ups so it doesn't happen again" How does that help me now, I asked...the Supervisor kept repeating "I appreciate your position and this is an unfortunate situation". Hotwire's Supervisor acknowledged there was a mistake made. I even repeated back to the Supervisor exactly what he had just said to me and his reply was "yes, and I appreciate how you feel and this is an unfortunate situation". Immediately the Supervisor then started acting like his phone line was having trouble and that he could no longer hear me - he then hung up. It was obvious this was an attempt to not talk to me further. I went back to my itinerary just a bit later to print off the 'rules' given and when I tapped the link - they were mysteriously gone! Please help. Respectfully - Misti Walker [protected] misti.[protected]@gmail.com

      Comment Guidelines

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        Submit
        Respond
        ADVERTISIMENT

        Hotwire.comMisinterpreted time of the flight

        Itinerary no: [protected]

        My flight depicted other time before I booked it but after I booked it, the timings were not the same. As it was a non refundable, non cancellable flight, I had my 332$ waste because of the misinterpretation on Hotwire website. I have a screenshot proof of how the timings were different and how I was trapped into not being able to change the flight.

        Misinterpreted time of the flight
        Misinterpreted time of the flight

        Comment Guidelines

        Add your opinion

          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

          Submit
          Respond

          Hotwire.comDeceptive practices

          We booked a hotel through Hotwire secret rates on 6/4/2015, but fought the charge as the hotel was misrepresented as follows:
          -Hotel was supposed to have a pool and indoor pool - it does not. The description I originally clicked on said last person got the Century Southern Tower hotel. The description fit that one - not the hotel I was given.
          -The hotel was supposed to be worth $197 per night - I paid special "hot rate" of $121. Found it all over the internet for $108 (see attached from Tripadvisor for same date). I checked with the hotel to see if I was given a suite or higher priced room, but they said the booking was only for an economy double room. They had the same room on their website for approx. $138/night for those dates.
          -Hotel was supposed to be in Shinjuku - is actually in Kabukicho - a red light district! and I am travelling with kids!
          -There seemed to be some issue with the Hotwire website that day (June 4, 2015). The original deal with the same hotel description and $197 value was listed as $89 night. I clicked to buy it - went through ordering getting total with tax etc., then website said I had to disable cookies to go further. I did so but then the site would not let me go back or complete the purchase. I called Hotwire customer support but they said they couldn't do anything or find my booking since it did not go through. I went back on the site and found the price had increased to $121. Feeling gypped but thinking I was booking the Century Southern hotel that the last client got or similar, I decided to buy it anyway. Once I completed the purchase it showed me that I had a hotel that did not fit the description given and was not worth the price listed (not the price I paid and certainly not the $197 it said it was worth).
          I called Hotwire and spoke to a customer service agent. They told me they could/would not do anything. I asked to speak to a supervisor. I said the hotel did not fit the description and I wanted to book a different one. They would not change or cancel the booking. I called again to ask to speak to an Express supervisor (I was a preferred Express member but apparently the benefits do not apply if you book under a different email.) They also would not change or refund despite fact hotel was misrepresented. I will not book with Hotwire again and believe this was deceptive and falsely represented. The hotel does not have the same rating as they had posted and lack the features that were listed on the hotel description. I have booked many other times with them with no issues - but I feel this was a complete misrepresentation and disputed the charge. Bait and switch methods of advertising are not legal and I am the victim of this practice by Hotwire with respect to both the price and description of the product they offered vs. the grossly inferior product they actually intended to deliver.
          I was not able to resolve this issue with Hotwire and felt they did little to assist, despite the considerable travel business I have given them and other providers. We ended up booking and paying for another hotel because we felt unsafe going to this one. They refused to change the booking or refund the $600 - despite the request being 45+ days before arrival.
          Do not book hotels with them - you have no options for changes, do not know what you are going to get and may not save money. We could have booked that hotel for $108 - paid more, it did not have a pool, was not in the area requested and did not fit the description. Basically a family vacation ruined by deceptive bait and switch practices.

          Deceptive practices
          Deceptive practices
          Deceptive practices

          Comment Guidelines

          Add your opinion

            By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

            Submit
            2 Responses
            • Fr
              Frank Earl Nov 03, 2018
              This comment was posted by
              a verified customer
              Verified customer

              If a given hotel is not as described, it's typically a violation of most US State's Deceptive Trade Practices Acts.

              It is explicitly **FORBIDDEN** to a business to offer something with no intention of providing the same or refunding the purchase. PERIOD. I think it's come time to highlight this to several States' AGs as they're doing this on a regular basis. (Booked a room for a Queen, described as having a pool, etc. in Snotwire's description of hotel Amenities. Well...the hotel believed there was nobody in the room I was put in (WRONG) and I was put in a Double Full. No pool EITHER. Better yet, the hotel's not *WORTH* the claimed rack rate. It's rack should be what I charged if at all (Floor had bad ink stains...) and their descriotions of modern lighting, etc. on the ESA site is laughable.

              0 Votes
              Cancel
               
              Submit
            • Ab
              AbhinavSh May 12, 2016
              This comment was posted by
              a verified customer
              Verified customer

              Going to New Orleans. Had the following similar experience:
              - Was promised a hotel in the French Quarter area and got a hotel in the Warehouse District. For the Hot Rates green shaded regions, they cut out a small part of Warehouse district and put it in the French Quarter area. Even their website lists the hotel as a Warehouse district. After talking to 4 people (3 of whom put me on hold for 10 minutes and then cut the call) and a supervisor, all I got was -- "Well, it is still on the edge of green shaded region. We can have different definition of areas in Hot Rates and regular Hotel tabs".
              - It showed 44% discount. In reality, it was hardly any discount with website offering same rates.

              Used to use hotwire regularly. Never going to use it again.

              0 Votes
              Cancel
               
              Submit

            We are here to help

            • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
            • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
            • Honest and unbiased reviews
            • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free
            ADVERTISIMENT

            IN THE NEWS

            Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
            If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
            One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
            A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
            ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
            You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
            Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.