Menu
The Great American Photo Contest

The Great American Photo Contest review: Scam 25

I
Author of the review
4:10 pm EDT
Review updated:
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I am a new proud parent of a now 7 month old baby girl! in October of 2009 i was contacted by a company called The Great American Photo Contest threw email telling me to submit my baby's picture to there site for a chance to win 2, 500$ they said that a new winner is chosen ever single month. of course i was going to enter her times were hard and my child is very beautiful. so finally i entered her and not even two hours later i get an email from them saying the judges think my daughter has what it takes to be the winner of a 25, 000 life saving bond. but there's a catch you also have to pay 20$. i paid the money thinking that they really thought she could go all the way only to find out that that's what they tell everyone to get the 20 bucks. i should have known something was off there but they called me and asked me to purchase a book called most beautiful babies in America. so when i got the call from "marry" i told her i wasn't sure and that i would have to speak to my partner before i could continue the transaction. she told me to just give her my account information and she would hold it until i could call her back and give her an answer. a flat out yes or a no! when i check my account history i see that she instantly took the money. when i saw that i called and i swear to you it was the same voice claiming to be Mary but when she answered she said her name was Hellene or something like that. so i asked to speak with Mary and she puts the phone down and when she returns its the same lady with the same voice claiming to be this "marry" lady. i asked her why she took money from my account and she assured me that i told her to go ahead. after that i was overdrawn by 205.00$ i asked to be refunded and they i couldn't receive anything until my book was sent to me and i returned it. my account is now closed. finally i received the book. months later after i had threatened to sue them for fraud i got it the very next day. the book is sloppy and is not worth 81.95 my daughters picture is small and her bio wasn't even posted in there witch they charged me 10 extra to do. also back to this 25, ooo contest when i asked to be refunded they told me it was too late she was already entered but after i had paid the money i still was receiving emails asking me to enter her into the same contest that i had already paid for please do not enter your child in this scam because you will wind up hurt someone need to shut them down and sue them! it might as well be me! its nothing but spam emails and advertisement they sell your email and that eventually leads to you shutting it down and making a new one!

More The Great American Photo Contest reviews & complaints

The Great American Photo Contest - Scam and cheating 52
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
The Great American Photo Contest - Unauthorized charges 6
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
The Great American Photo Contest - Total Ripoff 2
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
The Great American Photo Contest - Pet Photo Entered 3
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
The Great American Photo Contest - Scam 5
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
The Great American Photo Contest - No Complaint - Not A Scam
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
The Great American Photo Contest - Not a scam 3
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
25 comments
R
R
Rita Hargenrader Eulas
, US
Nov 13, 2023 5:21 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

American favorite photos disappointed me to. I made it to the semi finals. I was in 3rd place in my group. They just sent me a message saying I was disqualified for not following there rules. I had family voting every day. There saying by not voting there way I was able to get enough votes. By the way through out the competition I was either in 1st 2nd or 3rd.this picture means so much to me. 3 months ago we had to put our 16 year old Maltese down.😪 The first rainbow after he passed I took a picture and this is what I captured

View 0 more photos
F
F
furryface
Nepean, CA
Jan 12, 2011 2:18 am EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I received an email asking me to submit a photo of my pet and if they thought it was good they would include it in their book. A few days later I received a email telling me that my picture had been chosen to be included in the book. I was quite happy about that but a friend warned me to check it out and I did and found a lot of links complaining about this "company". People who got suckered in and never received a book or got their money back. I am sure glad I checked. How are these scammers allowed to operate? Aren't there laws against this sort of thing?

C
C
ClarissaTaito
Fresno, US
Mar 16, 2012 8:17 pm EDT

Please if any of you knows their number let me know because I wanna give them a piece of my mind!

H
H
hellomot
, US
Feb 22, 2012 1:02 am EST

this exact things happened i didn't know it was a fraud thanks.

H
H
hamb
Triagnle, US
Jan 21, 2012 5:03 pm EST

who ever enters automatically wins a lot of emails and solicitations to buy there book, your winning photos are in the book there selling to you !as far as im concern if your photo in the book the book should be be free! try it enter your photo i can asure you'll be a winner of buy The Great American Photo Contest book!

O
O
onethatis findingout
Fairbanks, US
Nov 06, 2011 1:55 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

HI I ENTERED MY DOG IN THIS CONTEST AND I GOT EMAILS SAYING TO PROCEED WITH GIVING OUT A CHARGE CARD AND ABOUT 20.00 I WAS LEARRY OF IT SO I DIDNT ENTER IT AT ALL. AFTER THAT I THOUGHT THIS WAS A SCAM SO I AM GLAD TO PROVE IT HERE ON THIS SITE HERE. I WAS ABOUT TO CALL THE BETTER BUSSNESS BROUGHE ON IT TOO SO NO NEED TO NOW SINCE THERE IS MORE ABOUT BEING A SCAM ON HERE THEN WHO IS FOR IT. GOOD I DIDNT LOOSE BUT MAYBE THEY HAVE SINCE I AM NOT GOING TO RESPOND TO ANY OF THERE EMAILS NOW I KNOW THIS!

C
C
catchinthecrooks
Pearblossom, US
Oct 25, 2011 3:50 pm EDT

Its a scam! This time in order to vote on babies...they will send you a text message with a code and when you put the code in your email vote box, you are actually agreeing to purchase ring tones for $10.00 a month.They tried to sell me the book as well, Im not buying it! If anything they should pay the parents of the children in the book! I feel really bad when the parents see they voted for theyre child 30 times! Hmmmm 10$ a vote times 30? You could of just bought a $300 savings bond and saved urself from all the crap your gona deal with when you find out its a scam.This should be illegal! But I guess in California nothings considered illegal anymore, hahaha.

D
D
dSTRANGE1
Crockett, US
Aug 27, 2011 6:52 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

All I can say is "Where are the WINNERS ? " seems to me there ought to be someone out there that has won, and want's to brag about it, I would!

J
J
Josie Dal
Pendleton, US
Jul 25, 2011 8:19 pm EDT

I like many others thought the picture of my dog could possibly win, so I submitted it, and in less than 2 hours I was at the top and my dogs pictures was going to be in the $10, 000 not the $1000, then all of a sudden my dog's picture was going to be in a bok which I had to pay a large amount to receive, then they offered me a plaque with my dogs picture on it, I never sent any money to them and am still getting e-mails from them, Josie is now in the $10, 000.00 Editor's choice.
I wouldhope that someone could put a stop to these scams, they don't realize how much harm they can do to a person.
You can bet I won't get suckered into any more contests without checking them out really good first.

L
L
litle46
Ashkum, US
May 03, 2011 6:54 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I just entered my baby goat..she is very speacial..its so cute because she is wearing a mommy loves me onsey, and winking..lol..but she is speacial because she was a very sick little baby at first, it took me many sleepless nights and alot of money I didnt really have to give her every chance of makeing it..but she is well worth all we'v been through.. shes doing great now, and she loves car rides, snuggles (hence her name snuggles..lol) and slurpys..(she kinda found one in the car :) ..shes my best freind.. it sure would be nice to win some much needed money :)...well good luck everyone! but yeah, its probably just a scam and wishful thinking... 5/3/2011

PatriciaO
PatriciaO
Thermopolis, US
Mar 25, 2011 11:26 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I also entered 2 of my cats, both got selected, and I was stupid enough to finally order the book on 1/25/2011 for a total of $91.95. I have yet to recieve the book or hear from them! I am on disability and my pets are my life and that money was hard to part with but I wanted something for my daughters to have as I'm terminal and I thought that would be a good way to have memories. I'd really like my money back!

J
J
jeanietonkin
Ashland, US
Mar 21, 2011 11:47 pm EDT

i entered my cats they are my babys i also voted everyday along with my friends and the one photo had 24 votes and i never won this is a scam and a lie they sent me emails everyday saying that the judges had picked my photo and wanted me to buy a book, also they said that my one cat bubba won a plaque and want me to send them 20.00 for this, so i did i little test i enter a phto of our show truck and called it our big baby and guess what they sent me an email telling me that my big baby was picked for the cutest pet and wanted to but it in there book so you see this is just a scam to get our money because you know they never even looked at the picture or they would of seen this was a truck. i sent them an e mail telling them they were scammers., anyone who hasn't sent photo's don't it's a waste of time

A
A
Ana Mercedes
New York, US
Mar 07, 2011 9:12 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

A few weeks ago I received an email to enter my pet in a contest, and if selected, I would win $1, 000 and the opportunity to be entered into yet another contest which if chosen, would win me an additional $10, 000, and have my pets photo published in a book titled "Most Adorable Pets in America." I thought that would be exciting so I entered my pets photo. A couple of days after submitting my pets photo I received another email informing me that Jax' picture had been selected and I was to follow a link. When I clicked on the link they instructed me to pay a fee (which I did not do) and ignored the email. I've since received several emails telling me that Jax' picture has been selected. There was a button to click and get a copy of the book, but I had to pay a fee of $59.99 I found it strange. I went to Barnes & Nobles website to search for the book, but it dose not exist. I can't believe that scammers are permitted to deceive the general public. Someone has to put a stop to these thieves. I'm one of the lucky ones as I question and research everything...I always trust my instinct. Below I have attach a photo of Jax.

A
A
ashleynh
harriman, US
Feb 03, 2011 8:26 am EST

i also put my pet in the contest got the same email so we know its a scam ur paying to get a book they put ur photo in ur book only so im glad i checked here first i was about to order one with my dog in it this gives other legit sites a hard time

J
J
Jessica!
Sewell, US
Jan 21, 2011 9:10 am EST

This is not a total scam...a friend of mine won the grand prize and got the money. I have little friends and family, so please do me a favor and vote for my very talented doggy, Bailey Blu. She can walk on water. See her picture! Please go to http://gapc-vote.com/?c=multi&p=301983 to vote and just click out of the ads right after you cast your vote. My doggy is really pretty and special and deserves to win! PLEASE VOTE FOR WALKING ON WATER, BAILEY BLUE!

E
E
Energy
San Bernardino, US
Dec 31, 2010 10:18 pm EST

I entered the contest as well with a photo of my dog. Immediately received 4 emails stating she was selected for a $2, 500 prize and another stating she was eligible for the $25, 000. When you click on the link you are instructed to enter a credit card number for $19.99. YOU NEVER NEED A CREDIT CARD to enter a contest. Anyways, I declined the book and the other contest but I still get 3 emails a day from them. Each one states that they understand I discontinued the emails but I am still eligible for the book and prize. They won't stop. Next step is an attorney because they are violating the spamming laws in CA.

M
M
mcveytr8207
greenwood, US
Dec 28, 2010 1:27 pm EST

i did purchase the book and submitted my chinese shar pie been for months! august no book! getting ready to call an ask for my 81.95 back! thats ridiculous!

M
M
Mtnmom3
, US
Dec 13, 2010 9:36 pm EST

Just got the book offer today and thought I'd research too! Sure could have used the $1000, but nothing ever seems to be what it appears! I'm sure my dog along with thousands of others were all the editors "top pick".
I never sent the "please vote" email to friends as I checked out the link first on a different computer and didn't want any of my friends having to go through all the questions, info., and ads, just to place a vote! Geesh!

J
J
jax13
Port Charlotte, US
Dec 11, 2010 3:24 pm EST

Im thinking SCAM...I just received the same thing. 59.99 for a book. are they out of there minds. I believe your picture will only be put in after you pay the money.

R
R
Rose in MT
Columbus, US
Dec 10, 2010 3:56 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I submitted a picture of my boxer and got alot of junk email - picture in a book, please buy it - another photo contest, please send 20 bucks to enter. It is a big scam. I wonder if anyone ever wins the $1000 or if that is crap too. That might be a legal way to stop this nonsense.

M
M
mollyshere
, US
Nov 07, 2010 10:23 am EST

I am glad to have found this...I just submitted a photo of my cat and am glad I have the heads up about this...Thanks

S
S
Sally DeSelms
Pocola, US
Oct 26, 2010 4:51 pm EDT

I agree. I wonder if they only put the pictures in a book if you pay the price? It's my pet and I shouldn't have to pay for a copy of a book that is probably third rate. They should at least send a copy of what the book is going to look like and then I could decide if I even wanted my pet to be in it. I am so tired of everyone making up things to scam money out of people. What has gotten into people?

P
P
PZW
, US
Oct 13, 2010 6:03 am EDT

AND I SUBMITTED A PHOTO OF MY BASSET HOUND AND THEY DID THE SAME THING TO ME.AND YOU GOT THAT RIGHT ITS YOUR CAT, DOG, OR ANY PICTURE WE SUBMITTED TO THEM IT MAKE ME SO MAD. THEY SHOULD GIVE US A FREE BOOK.WHAT ARE THEY DOING WITH ARE PICS NOW? AND MANY MORE PEOPLE GOING TO GET FOOLED? OUT OF THERE HARD EARNED CASH. I AM GLAD I DID SOME RESEARCH AND FOUND THIS SITE. THANKS WE SHOULD ALL SUE THEM

J
J
JoanMarsiglia
Macomb, US
Oct 12, 2010 9:38 pm EDT

I submitted a photo of my Persian cat to this. They said they want to put my pets photo in the book. But, I have to sign up to buy the book for 59.95 . Sounds like alot of money ! I thought they would give me one book, at least! It is my Cat, afterall ! Confused, J.M.

K
K
KMBW
Cincinnati, US
Aug 25, 2010 8:40 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Thanks for the heads up. Was checking before I did anything. This was a tremendous help.

Learn how the rating is calculated

Write a review File a complaint

The Great American Photo Contest contacts

Phone number
Website
Category

Most discussed complaints

Scam 1 (opinions to this review)