The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Textbook WheelOnline fraud

J

I thought I was being smart by shopping around for a textbook buy-back company that would give me the most $$ for my books. I sent 3 semesters worth to textbook wheel when I was quoted $248 for my books.

I thought that since they had a nice, legit appearing site and paid for me to ship them than they were an honest business.

So wrong! I mailed my books on 1/12/2009. I hadn't received any notification that they were received and no check. So I e-mailed them on 2/16. This is the response:

'On 1/23/09 we received your package busted open, broken and empty. We are very sorry. While the postal service has a good track record they do occasionally lose and/or damage packages. They hold all loose books from damaged packages for 30 days. We will file a claim with USPS to try and locate them. This claim will initiate a search for the contents of your shipment that involves back tracking from our local post office to which ever postal facilities your shipment would have passed through. We are extremely disappointed with the US Postal Service. We try to take as much responsibility for what happens, but in all actuality it is out of our hands until we are notified from the post office that we have received packages to be picked up. Packages are shipped USPS Media Mail which has notracking system at all. We will contact you if and when we hear back from them. Sincerely, Jenna Customer Servicetextbookwheel.com'

Does this even make sense? If they received an EMPTY package, you would think they would make a claim then, or at least notify me.

I called the USPS and they never filed a claim. So I filed one. I am so upset with myself for trusting these people. That was supposed to cover the electric this month.

Responses

  • Li
    Lisajm Jun 10, 2014

    They received over $600 of pre law books, no one cared. I have never received anything and they blamed the "old owner". I have proof of shipping and
    everything. Why can we not get someone to help us get out money?

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    claudia. Apr 02, 2012

    Very agree, lmao!!!

    They did the same with my :(

    I was going to failed a claim or call them but reading all this I better do not loose my time, Next time that I see a company so easy like this one I check the review first. Hopefully I only send one book, hehehhehehehe. After all I have to laugh, I steel waiting for my check of $ 40.00, on the mail. eheheh.

    This is a fraud.

    0 Votes
  • Ve
    Vernettidave Jul 12, 2011

    I sent books textbookwheel.com about a month a go. I got a email say they received them. Then a another email saying they sent a check. I still have not received any thing and it's July 11 2011. They don't answer there phones or emails.

    0 Votes
  • Ep
    e_p Jul 22, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I recently used textbookwheel.com and received an email stating my payment was in the mail. I received that email in May of 2010 and now at the end of July 2010 no check. I have emailed them and called. No pickup for their listed number or any response of any kind. They are a scam plain and simple.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    grad student Dec 09, 2009

    I have used this co. & so have my fiends with NO problems.

    0 Votes
  • So
    Sooly Sep 09, 2009

    I sent three books to this company and they said they would accept the books and put 82 dollars into my paypal account. I only received 5 dollars because they said two of the books were not received. However they were in the same, strong, tight packaging envelope, if one of them was received there was no way the other two were not. I sent an email which was not answered. Called and left a message which was not returned, and finally after repeated attempts at calling a woman picked up who told me often times the packages "bust open" and they do not receive some of the books. I said if it did bust open, they all would have fell out not just the two most expensive books. She said the post office will send "a buncha" books that had fallen out and they will try to match them up. I called her out on the ### and she told me they will try to find the books. I doubt it. I have used online book return services for a while and nothing like this has ever happened. There was no way the package "bust open" and was delivered by the US Post Office as a half open envelope with one small book inside. That just doesnt make sense. I will keep calling until I get the money for my books I KNOW they received.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    travelmiss Apr 01, 2009

    Thats why they can sell their books so cheap as they rip off the people that sell them back by saying they were never received. The do not return phone calls or answer emails. They should be shut down.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.