TEFL Online Proa potential fraudulent company backed by a fake tefl review site

O Feb 22, 2020
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

In the online TEFL space, there are bound to be a fair amount of unscrupulous characters and scammy programs out there. It appears there is a new player on the field, TEFL Online Pro, which might take the cake as being the pinnacle of a fraudulent company backed by a fake review site — Trusted Tefl Reviews.

There is mounting evidence that suggests that TEFL Online Pro's entire operation is poorly conceived scam, run by one individual pretending to be both graduates and staff of this made-up online TEFL company. This individual appears to also be the creator, and operator, of the potentially fake TEFL review site, Trusted TEFL Reviews, creating multiple fake personas to give the review site (and TEFL Online Pro) the optics of looking credible.
Even more troubling is that TEFL Online Pro and Trusted TEFL Reviews might indeed be the work of a man named Neville David Thomas, a past scam artist in the online TEFL space {proof below}.

Let's take a step back and unpack how we got here. Trusted TEFL Reviews — trustedteflreviews.com, appeared on the scene in mid-2019 as a credible review site that didn't accept advertising dollars. The owner of the site was a very active woman named Mia Williams. Shortly after this review site's inception, it became clear that this site was nothing at all to be trusted. The review site's real intended use is to prop up Online TEFL Pro and write fake negative reviews about legitimate TEFL courses. Evidence below.

i) Both TEFL Online Pro and Trusted TEFL Reviews were created in the same month (March 2019) within 10 days of each other. Both domains were purchased from the same website company, registered anonymously and registered in Panama of all places. This can be verified by searching the WHOIS records for these domains.
* Already this is quite a coincidence, surely a smoking gun. Why would a TEFL course pay extra money to hide the true identities of their owners?

ii) Mia Williams and Paul Murphy {the head trainer at TEFL Online Pro} do not exist until 2019. There are no LinkedIn profiles, company registrations, bios, pictures, blogs, work history, for either of them. If people have decades of experience + are active on the internet, it would make sense for them to have a teaching history/professional profile, wouldn't it? Well, there's nothing. They simply did not exist until both websites were created in March 2019 {within 10 days of each other}.
*Some people do not have LinkedIn, but 'Mia Williams' has been incredibly active on social media with over 280 posts on Quora since March 2019. Wouldn't it be reasonable for her to also have a LinkedIn account? Wouldn't the head trainer/owner of a TEFL course also have a professional profile? Neither of them does and that's because they are made up people.

iii) Shortly after Trusted TEFL Reviews was created in March 2019 (although they write and lie that they have been around for years) TEFL Online Pro just happen to win their fake Teachers' Choice Award. You can currently view those details on the review site. Ironically, TEFL Online Pro have no other reviews on the internet. There are no Google reviews and they are not listed on any other TEFL course review website. That's strange.
*It is so obvious at this point what is going on that it's kind of humorous.

iv) Negative reviews for other online TEFL courses begin to pop up frequently on Trusted TEFL Reviews.

v) Finding it peculiar to see multiple negative reviews coming from unknown graduates on a new review website, a few legitimate online TEFL courses questioned the authenticity of the reviews on Trusted TEFL Reviews.

Instead of offering proof that these negative reviews were credible, Trusted TEFL Reviews decided to attack the other online courses, creating both a scam and blacklisted section. You can currently view this content on their website. Needless to stay, the information in these sections is false and Trusted TEFL Reviews refuses to make any counter argument from the online companies public — they are not allowing us to add comments on the site. When an impartial review site creates a scam section about your company for questioning the legitimacy of some reviews you've received, you know there is something up.
*This is where it became clear what Trusted TEFL Reviews M.O. was. Review sites do not attack courses directly.

vi) While 'Mia Williams' {the potentially fake persona of Trusted TEFL Reviews} has created a scam section and blacklist section for certain courses who questioned the validity of the review site, she has gone out of her way to defend TEFL Online Pro on various forums and platforms on the net. So much so, that the mods at Reddit have banned all mention of TEFL Online Pro and have added both TEFL Online Pro and Trusted TEFL Reviews to their 'avoid like the plague' section. You can view this in the r/TEFL section on Reddit.

I think the case has been made that there is indeed something very strange about these two entities.

Connection with Neville David Thomas?

i) In an effort to find out the real owners of TEFL Online Pro and Trusted TEFL Reviews, a few online courses decided to do some research. It was quite easy to conduct. We just went on Facebook and searched for these terms in various TEFL/teaching groups. Low and behold, a man named Neville David Thomas kept popping up recommending both TEFL Online Pro and Trusted TEFL Reviews, saying he was the owner of TEFL Online Pro.

A quick google search of his name brought up a history of Neville creating multiple fake review sites for fake TEFL courses in the past.

Search for yourself: Neville Thomas TEFL, Neville Thomas Scam... etc.

These go back as far as 2012. There was even a review site {circa 2015} where he created another female persona as the creator. You can view this evidence for yourself here — https://teflonlinereviews.wordpress.com
*Note that this review site uses the word 'trusted' in its description and is managed by another female persona. There is also a scam and blacklisted section as well.

So, there you have it. All of these claims can easily be thwarted by Trusted TEFL Reviews and TEFL Online Pro. All that is asked is for Mia Williams and Paul Murphy to prove that they are real people. This can be solved immediately by a link to a LinkedIn profile (something created before 2019) or official registration docs/articles of incorporation of their companies.

We believe that neither of these entities will produce this basic information and that proves that these websites are at least lying about who they really are. We would also ask that Trusted TEFL Reviews provide proof of the many negative reviews that other legitimate online TEFL courses have received and remove the scam/blacklisted sections on their review site. At the very least, they should allow us to add comments and defend ourselves. They won't, because they appear to be lairs.

Responses

  • Ia
    Ian Leahy Dec 18, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ian Leahy didn't write the post above or any of those comments, but I did write this:
    https://www.eslinsider.com/blog/is-trusted-tefl-reviews-tefl-online-pro-a-scam

    That "Teacher's choice award" is fake.

    Paul Murphy=Neville David Thomas
    TEFL online pro=Neville David Thomas
    Mia Williams=Neville David Thomas
    Trusted TEFL reviews=Neville David Thomas

    He used to have another scam too.

    ITTP TEFL=Neville David Thomas
    teflonlinereviews.com=Neville David Thomas

    1 Votes
  • Pe
    Peter Shankar Sep 23, 2020

    Hi

    It does seem a bit suspicious. Below is the complete history of my interaction with them. Start from all the way down where I try to submit my initial experience.

    Thanks

    Peter

    Peter.

    Try contacting other schools then and see if you can get better answers from them instead.
    I think you will find though that every school you contact will react in a similar way.
    It's worth a try though.
    Trusted TEFL Reviews can't help you any more because we only publish reviews from customers of online TEFL courses.
    There are lots of TEFL courses out there. Good luck with your search!

    Mia Williams

    On Tue, 8 Sep 2020 at 13:51, Peter Shankar wrote:
    Mia

    The whole point of the review was that I wasn't allowed to do the course because not enough information was given. The review should be based on anything from the first interact to last experience not just completing the course or not.

    Peter

    Sent from Yahoo7 Mail on Android

    On Fri, 4 Sep. 2020 at 12:14 pm, Mia Williams
    wrote:
    Peter.

    Trusted TEFL Reviews only accepts reviews from people who have completed a TEFL course.
    When you have completed a TEFL course, submit your review.

    Mia Williams

    On Fri, 4 Sep 2020 at 04:10, Peter Shankar wrote:
    Hi Mia

    I will be happy to submit the extra words. I have not completed a course from pro tefl. This review was based on my initial course inquiry experience with them.

    Thanks

    Peter

    Sent from Yahoo7 Mail on Android

    On Fri, 4 Sep. 2020 at 12:05 pm, Mia Williams
    wrote:
    Peter Shankar.

    Reviews need to contain a minimum of 300 words to be published.
    Resubmit your review and attach a copy of your course certificate.

    I have published your content as a comment:
    https://trustedteflreviews.com/2020/08/31/teaching-english-online-tefl-online-pro/

    Mia Williams

    On Thu, 3 Sep 2020 at 15:06, Trusted TEFL Reviews wrote:
    Name
    Peter Shankar
    Email
    [email protected]

    Comment or Message

    Sounds very good on the phone. Won choice awards as well. After exchanging a couple of emails and having a phone conversation with Paul, I wanted to know where my course would take me in terms of working hours. I explained this in a email to Paul. At first he didn't even bother replying. When I sent him a reminder email he said they don't 'provide job guidance' to international clients and that I should enroll in the course first. When I told him that this could hardly be considered 'job guidance' and was part of the initial course inquiry, he again chose not to reply. Unfortunately, this guy prefers to ignore emails rather than dealing with them directly. Coming from the education industry myself, I dare say he's more a business man a educationalist.

    Peter

    2 Votes
  • In the same article, Neville David Thomas promotes his “award winning” “#1 course” on a previous fake review site he created with a different alias

    The pattern shows similarities with the current scheme perpetrated through Trusted TEFL Reviews to promote TEFL Online Pro as an “award winning” “#1 course” and “special discounts”.

    Mia (Neville), where is the next gala for the awards? Would be my honour to meet you in person.

    Comments

    1 Votes
  • In this screenshot we see Neville David Thomas trashing his Czech competitor when he run ITTP TEFL.

    Comments

    2 Votes
  • Te
    TEFL Online Pro Jul 30, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dear Ian Leahy from ESLinsider,

    Thank you for such a professional response.

    As we can see, you have continued to spread misleading information about TEFL Online Pro - just like you have with other successful Online TEFL/TESOL certification programs.

    How do you, btw, sleep at night - knowing that you are responsible for the arrests of North American English teachers in China?

    https://chinascampatrol.wordpress.com/2016/02/11/warning-fake-diplomas-to-get-3000-china-foreign-esl-tefl-teachers-arrested-great-job-eslinsider/

    https://trustedteflreviews.com/2020/07/29/tefl-tesol-in-japan-scam/

    It appears to everyone reading your responses to this complaint (a complaint that you, yourself created) that you are doing just dandy fine.

    We would like to politely suggest that you try focussing on your customer service, instead of using your time to attack any of your competition that you feel are doing far better than your own program.

    Happy customers = happy business.

    Kind regards,

    Paul Murphy

    Operations Manager
    [email protected]
    www.teflonlinepro.com
    Teachers' Choice Award winner, 2019 | 2020

    -2 Votes
  • Te
    TEFL Online Pro Scam Jul 30, 2020

    More proof here about Neville David Thomas and his connection with TEFL Online Pro.

    Comments

    4 Votes
  • Te
    TEFL Online Pro Scam Jul 30, 2020

    Here is proof that Neville David Thomas is the man behind the Trusted TEFL Reviews and TEFL online Pro scam

    Comments

    4 Votes
  • Te
    TEFL Online Pro Jul 29, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dear readers,

    This complaint has been written by one of our business competitors - either MyTEFL or ESLinsider.

    For verified reviews of the TEFL Online Pro international TEFL/TESOL certification course program, please refer to Trusted Tefl Reviews and/or our company Facebook page:

    https://trustedteflreviews.com/category/tefl-online-pro-teachers-choice-award-winner-2020/
    https://www.facebook.com/pg/teflonlinepro/reviews/

    Kind regards,

    Paul Murphy

    Operations Manager
    [email protected]
    www.teflonlinepro.com
    Teachers' Choice Award winner, 2019 | 2020

    -1 Votes
  • Fa
    faketeflreviews Apr 10, 2020

    TEFL Online Pro is a total scam run by the fraudulent Neville David Thomas. See for yourself how he advertises TEFL Online Pro and Trusted TEFL Review on his Facebook (Yes, under his personal account) and Reddit (See comments under u/teflonlinepro where he talks about depression and shares his personal El Camino de Santiago blogs).

    TEFL Online Pro and Trusted TEFL Reviews were both created by Neville Thomas. Totally fake TEFL reviews site to promote TEFL Online Pro and defame competitors.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    TEFL Online Pro Jul 29, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @faketeflreviews Dear readers,

    This complaint has been written by one of our business competitors - either MyTEFL or ESLinsider.

    For verified reviews of the TEFL Online Pro international TEFL/TESOL certification course program, please refer to Trusted Tefl Reviews and/or our company Facebook page:

    https://trustedteflreviews.com/category/tefl-online-pro-teachers-choice-award-winner-2020/
    https://www.facebook.com/pg/teflonlinepro/reviews/

    Kind regards,

    Paul Murphy

    Operations Manager
    [email protected]
    www.teflonlinepro.com
    Teachers' Choice Award winner, 2019 | 2020

    -4 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.