The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Sutherland models, ModelWork, TorontoScam

S

Sutherland models is a scam a ripoff. No matter what they say to you! 90 % of their models get nothing. Some of their models get jobs there and the rest just get a piece of paper for around $ 1200 - $ 2500. They lie to you, everyone is accepted, if you have more than one family member who auditioned, one of them WILL get accepted, unless you are wealthy, which they determine by your occupation on the initial application you fill to 'audition.' If they know you can pay for both children, they will squeeze everything out of you.

I am a victim and everyday I regret loosing my money for nothing. They don't even train you properly, they make you sit in a small room with a bunch of chairs along side the wall and talk. There are people who have been in the school for years and are still there today. Sutherland models is just for rich people who just want their small children to have a hobby, they will NOT get any where with this company! I learned the hard way, and I promise if you join this company you will see the same or even worst than me. First you have to pay for training and then again pay to become a model with their modeling division Model work.

The only thing they want is MONEY, MONEY, MONEY!!! I want to prevent what happened to me from happening to any other young girl. Sutherland crushed my hopes dreams and spirit and them took my money. I do not recommend Sutherland models at all. There are other means of getting training and getting in the show business. Please beware!!

Responses

  • St
    stagemom Aug 23, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    To the people upthread discussing "outgoing" children -- cute kids are a dime a dozen. Finding a kid who, at the age of 3, can walk into a casting room full of strangers, take direction from said strangers, and then do the whole thing over and over again for an 8 hour day on set -- that's what "outgoing" means, and from the age of about 3 on -- that's what expected (no parents in the casting room during auditions.) There are plenty of adorable, sweet, photogenic children who cannot do those things, who will REFUSE to do those things if asked, and talent agents can spot them within a few minutes of a meeting. You can have the most beautiful child in the world (and really, it's not beautiful children who are largely in commercials/legit anyway) but if they lack confidence with strangers, can't take direction from strangers, and lack charisma -- they won't get signed by any reputable talent agent.

    I don't know anything about Sutherland, other than Kamera Kids is a division of Sutherland and their kids do audition and book. My daughter does not do print (Kamera Kids does a lot of print) and is with a major Toronto talent agency.

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    AD68 Jun 10, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello. I realize I am posting more than 5 years later since the original post, perhaps things have changed since. I must admit I researched Sutherland Models for days and days before taking my daughter in for an interview. Coming across this posting I was extremely skeptical about Sutherland Models. HOWEVER, after actually having an interview, I AM VERY IMPRESSED with them and don't agree with anything written on this post. I think its IMPORTANT for everyone to do their research and meet the agency personally instead of just listening to angry internet posts. My daughter and I were treated with nothing but respect and complete professionalism. I read on another posting about how rude they are etc etc etc. Totally did NOT experience this. The reception welcome was warm and the person I met with was very knowledgeable and helpful with all of my questions. Even took the time to show me around. They are very interested in my daughter and we are interested in them. We said we would not do anything for a couple of months and they were fine with it, Did not push to sell their classes etc. They respected my situation.
    About having to pay up front. Nothing is life is for FREE. I am completely okay with paying for a class for my daughter because she wants to do commercials etc and is very experienced. What she could learn in this class with only benefit her in teaching her what she needs to know. Even if she does not make it in this industry, the class will help her socially.
    My point is, FIND OUT FOR YOURSELF about Sutherland Models instead of just reading negative reviews on the internet. I was so wary with these posts but I am very happy that I took the time to meet them myself and form my own opinion. I am very happy with this agency and will not go to another.
    Good luck to all!

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Rebecca J G Apr 21, 2015

    When my son was about 3 years old he worked as a model with aka era Kids of Sutherland Modelling. He did a segment of a morning TV show called Get Set for Life on CBC. It was a recorded segment which played every weekday morning for 3 years. He was the main child focused on with his loose blonde curls on this animated segment while the children appeared to be flying through the air while holding on to the bed with other kids. He was paid a total of $50.00!! I was told that it was considered a privilege to be on the segment and to be on CBC! He had also won a modelling contest with another agency around the same time. Nothing amounted to anything other than free Comp Cards and a few ad sessions. It is a total waste of time and can be harmful for children's self esteem for those who go for the auditions and never get selected. Now he is 18 and is very slim with the typical model features with chiseled cheekbones, jaw line and very broad shoulderes and still has his blonde hair. He is now turned off the aspect of modelling after bad memories.

    0 Votes
  • El
    Eleanor's girl Feb 04, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    In the 1980's there was an agency called Eleanor Fulcher (http://eleanorfulcher.com) and it was located on Yonge Street near Wellesley and every Saturday afternoon I would go to the modelling school. I learned to apply make-up, walk the run way and how to walk in heels, do my nails, how to conduct myself in an interview for a job/modelling interview and even remember a 2 hour class on manners and how to sit in a chair. These lessons stayed with me for life, (now 50). We had opportunities to go meet with photographers and get headshots and meet other young girls going through their awkward teens. I was tall, slim and pretty but I was not model material. The reason I was sent by my father was so that I could realize that I was all those things and needed to find some confidence to realize that and like myself when I looked into a mirror. I never wanted to be a model but the classes gave me something that I would have never gain on my own at that age. I plan to send my daughter now 15 years old to Sutherland for classes and will make sure that she understands that whether she get work in the end or not the experience of learning the skills of modelling will be used in life in other ways. It is true that if you are unique and can be discovered then people including agencies will invest in you to then make money off of you. The majority of us are not unique but we all have potential and going to modelling school if you can afford it is a good investment into your self esteem. Don't be naïve it is a business and a tough one that means nothing comes for "FREE".

    0 Votes
  • An
    ann sutherland Jan 15, 2015

    It is a shame that you feel this way. Sutherland has been in business since 1985, and our reputation is extremely important to us.
    Many of the top models seen on magazine covers and campaigns are graduates of the Sutherland Academy. We are very proud of those young women and men who invested in their future by learning skills from our professionals, and we are told time and time again that their experience in our program helped them immeasurably in their modeling careers.
    Even though only a small percentage will go on to model professionally, all of our graduates are offered the opportunity to be represented in our student division ModelWork, where they may gain some experience doing hair shows, small fashion shows, or unpaid photo shoots for new designers.
    But don’t take our word for it. Here is what some other students have to say about the program http://www.sutherlandacademy.com/testimonials
    Should you care to discuss further, please feel free to give me a call at [protected].

    Carole Reynolds
    Agency Director
    Sutherland Models Inc.

    1 Votes
  • Mo
    MOMMY1974 Nov 27, 2013

    The COURSE was a giant preschool baby sitting session!!!
    Nothing of value was learned! A giant WASTE OF TIME, MONEY AND ENERGY. JUST PUTS $1000 in the owner's pocket, while she laughs all the way to the bank at your gullablility
    NOT WORTH even $100!!!
    The so-called "professional" are a bunch of amateur nobody's!!!
    The agents are rude, and a bunch or liers!!!
    The owner is MONEY-HUNGRY!
    DO NOT TAKE THIS COURSE! YOU WILL NEVER GET WORK!!! THEY LIE TO YOU!!!
    WENT TO CAROLYN's AGENCY AND FOUND WORK IMMEDIATELY!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Maplehigh Feb 28, 2013

    I attended this program when I was 15 and it upsets me more and more to think I was naive enough to waste so much money. It started out with me sending e-mails to modelling companies seeing if they would maybe set up a meeting with me or take a look at my portfolio. Shortly after applying, a lady named Lynne Bent from Sutherland called me back. Over the phone, she sounded rather pushy and arrogant and she came off a bit rude. Nevertheless, I agreed to meet her in an appointment to see whether or not Sutherland would consider me. When we got to Sutherland, we waited for quite a while even though we were right on time for our appointment with her. When I met Lynne, she took a look at my portfolio and almost instantly suggested that I attend their camp. Not only did she outline the benefits of what they taught (how to walk, how to dress, skincare, makeup, fashion, and a photo shoot) but she made it sound VERY promising that the company would add me to their roster after completing the course. When I specifically asked her whether or not I'd get jobs through Sutherland after completing the course, she vaguely stated that I would. Fast forward about a month and $1000 later, I found myself sitting in a course where they taught me things I already knew!! Not only did the teachers not seem to care (they honestly looked like they were there because they were getting paid) but they also showed up late a lot. The photo shoot was done in a VERY VERY sketchy area at some random apartment with people who were acting less-than-professional. If it wasn't for the other girls I wouldn't have felt safe. And finally, the big piss-off of this whole event: the last day. As a finale, we were supposed to put together a fashion show in front of friends and family. Right before the show, one of the teachers requested to speak to two girls individually. The fact is, these girls got contracts and the rest of us didn't. The fact that she asked to speak to them in front of everyone was totally heartbreaking. I was disgusted at the way they went about doing so and especially because Lynne made it sound like we'd all get contracts. For the rest of us, we had to pay an ADDITIONAL $140 if we wanted a contract with Sutherland (this contract didn't guarantee jobs).
    Overall, I was totally disgusted with the way these people went about running their business. They are sketchy, unprofessional, and a total scam. Avoid this "modelling bootcamp" at all costs.

    0 Votes
  • No
    NoelNoir Apr 27, 2012

    Ugh that was completely unintelligible. When I was there, they blew off a little boy around 5 or so. They said he is a bit too shy and that the client wanted someone more outgoing. But it was the same thing, everyone was smiling the entire time. I thought it was a bit strange that they would bring someone out of the private room in front of everyone to tell them they did not want them, but I just ignored it.

    0 Votes
  • No
    NoelNoir Apr 27, 2012

    @Divine100%

    That's really weird that you would say that, because there was a little boy they were "blowing off" when I went in there. They brought him outside and said that he is too "shy" and that the client wants someone who is outgoing.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Divine100% Oct 29, 2011

    I agree that Sutherland models is a scam, I wish I had have brought a video camera to that interview, all I would have to do is forward it to head office and the woman doing my interview would be fired for doing such a pathetic job of trying to scam me. Like when she said that they will kick people out if they are steeling the clothes... I'm thinking, if people are taking the clothes, they must feel really ripped off. The put a little production on for me in the waiting room while they pretended to blow off this little girl for being to shy... it was obviously an act because non of them could act. The little girl was smiling, the parents were too, and why would they come out and do this all in front of me. They wanted to make it seem like they don't just accept everyone. None of the women working there seem to really take modelling seriously because they all had fat ###. Lets just say that when I came back home I felt as if they all thought that I was stupid.
    From the comments that I have read on this site, I am certain that all the supporting arguments defending Sutherland models, are all from the people working there. I mean, if I wanted to entertain my kid I would pay for them to have horse back riding lessons, not build their dreams and have them crash down. Also, look how angry some of these comments are, who would care soooo much about what is being said by the company as to get angry. Honestly, this is just another example of how stupid their staff is.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    dorothyismad Jun 06, 2011

    Sutherland models is a scam! All they want is your money. I went there for a meeting and they told me everything i wanted to hear. That i will be a model if i work hard and then in the end when I'm hooked, they tell me i have to pay $997 for training in some tiny room with like 14 other girls. I called to say that i couldnt (even though i could) all of a sudden i get attitude. When Im not paying them the fake niceness goes away. she even said that im going to give up modeling.! your not even sopposed to pay for your pictures! but i would have to. sutherland is a total SCAM.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    britbrit Jun 02, 2011

    Omg is this a scam or not? i dont know if i should pay the 997$ for the training. i thought you shouldnt pay for anything?! does this get you anywhere? and there id never a guaranteed job for you. any great experiences past the training??

    0 Votes
  • Sq
    Squidny May 26, 2011

    Ah I am so confused. I have an appointment with Sutherland. The lady said she loved me but wants me to take the course because I have no experience. It is true I still need to learn to walk in heels. She even said she would give me a discount making the price $897 instead of $997 Would the course help me with other agencies as well?

    0 Votes
  • 3m
    3mom3 Apr 02, 2011

    We recently went in to check out Sutherland only to have the lady tell us that my 12 year old would never walk the runways because she is not going to be tall enough (I had never mentioned that I even wanted her to be a runway model)...but then dove right into the whole speech about their upcoming summer camps that she should take and how there was only 4 spots left...all for the low, low price of almost $1000 for a single week! What a joke! She then told us all about the things they teach at the camp from nutrition to walking...I noticed a large group of teenage girls there that day who must have been in for some training or something who all left and came back with McDonalds...meanwhile I am listening to this lady's speech about the nutrition part of their training and how they only encourage healthy eating habits and would never let the girls there go to McDonalds...Ok...whatever...nice try...I had previously heard that this place was a scam but thought I would go check it out anyways...atleast I know now it is and I am glad we didn't sign up with them!!

    0 Votes
  • Un
    UniStudent Mar 15, 2011

    This is interesting... I only have one experience with Sutherland Models and that was when I entered their monthly photoshoot competition. I didn't send any photos, and yet they called me twice over the next two weeks asking if I was interested in modelling. Even though I am interested in modelling, and believe that I could definitely do it (tall, thin, long neck, big eyes, naturally wavy hair, perfect complexion, graceful, clever, confident, etc. :P haha also, a little full of myself) I instinctively said no. I could tell that she was just going to pitch some overpriced summer modelling school to me, and considering she never saw my photo, I felt that it was a scam. It's kind of like those job advertisements that are all over the place, where you are able to phone in and book an interview, and they just take advantage of you (desperate students, usually) in the end.

    I think that there is truth to not having to pay an agency... there isn't a big difference between 980$ and 1200$... a thousand dollars is a thousand dollars, and that can buy you a laptop for college or university... I have a friend who was approached by a modelling agency on a day out... I don't think that she ever paid them anything, she gets paid for the work that she does.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    JuliaW Feb 18, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Guys, i do not really understand what all of this hype is about. If the agency insist that you that you HAVE TO take classes ( and that it is has to be the same agency to you are signing with as a model) then it is a scam. Training always has to be optional not mandatory. If you think you would like to get training then it is up to you. It is true that eventually you need to have a decent portfolio consisted of 4-5 different looks, but you can do it for FREE. There are many photographers who are looking for models to improve their own portfolios and will give you photos and disks in exchange for your time (TFP). Go to www.modelmayhem.com and browse "casting calls" and you will see dozens of reputable photographers and make up artists who will get you photos for free. Regarding training- yes you should have some experience, but you can either pay to the agency to get one or get one on your own ( practice at front of the mirror, tape yourself, do TFP, etc...). If you choose to take modeling classes you should understand that there is no guarantee that you will become a successful model. It is the same as taking tennis classes and being upset that you are not playing in Wimbledon- well, you just do not have what it takes.

    1 Votes
  • Ha
    Happy user :) Jan 23, 2011

    By the way, I have personally sent three couples with adorable kids to KameraKids and they were told the kids were too shy... so stop making stuff up saying it's an act!

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Happy user :) Jan 23, 2011

    Wow, it's crazy how bitter people get when their dreams get crushed.
    I took the Sutherland course 5 years ago and was with their Modelwork divison for two years after that. The course was a good experience, I learned a few things and met some amazing people. I was constantly booking work through Modelwork by calling in every week for casting information.. the agent would send me e-mails with opportunities as well. I did tons of photoshoots and shows that got me the experience I needed; worked almost full-time throughout the two years! and I also earned a few thousand dollars being with them, so the people that say they don't provide you with paid work.. please, I am a readily available example that they DO. After my contract finished, I did not renew it - the only reason being me realizing the need to excel at school. However, I am still modeling on the side, and a lot of clients I worked with when I was with Modelwork have been re-booking me ever since.
    Obviously I had the dreams of becoming a supermodel when I originally signed up, and the agent made me feel like it was possible.. however, after learning more about the industry, I realized my look is commercially marketable as opposed to fashion/editorial where I lacked the stong face features and height. Also, I by no means wanted to have a career as a model. I am now in business school and loving it. You have to analyze your advantages and disadvantages and realize where you have potential and where you don't. Stop looking at exceptions (i.e. Kate Moss) - they are exceptions for a reason.
    For all aspiring models - read newmodels.com top to bottom, extremely helpful industry website. Follow models.com and modelresource.ca - realize what's going on in the industry! Register on modelmayhem.com or onemodelplace.com - you can get a ton of experience from these websites! And be honest with yourself in regards to what you can do and cannot do.

    0 Votes
  • No
    NoelNoir Jan 05, 2011

    Divine100%: I had no idea that was an act! The EXACT same thing happened when I was there. A couple came in with a 3 or 4 year old boy. She told them that the "clients want someone more outgoing". No one should trust them, they are scam artists through and through!

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Divine100% Dec 28, 2010

    I went there for an interview, and it didn't take me long to realize that this was a scam. They first told me how busy they were when I called, and that they may not get me in for a while, then they say come in at 4:00pm... what a convenient time. Then while I am in the waiting room, they put on a little show for me. A couple come in with their child, sit at the table, then a woman comes in to interview them, takes the kid into the other room, and within a few minutes comes out and says, sorry your too shy to the kid. The parents are smiling, and the kid is smiling, while they are being blown off, they really sucked at acting. Then I was called in... well my god, what a bimbo. She starts laughing and putting down the experience and training I have with other agencies. She was the lousiest actress. She mentions how they had to get rid of some models for steeling clothes... well there is a big red flag, people are steeling cloths because they feel ripped off. She practically gave the whole thing away. Had the person who hired her to scam me listened to what I listened to, he/she would fire her.
    Then she says that I am going to be charged over $1000 for training... they are going to charge me money to train me to work for them... how dumb is that!

    I walked away and never considered it again.

    0 Votes
  • No
    NoelNoir Dec 18, 2010

    I'm a bit surprised at how hostile some of these posters are getting... I mean the ones who are defending Sutherland. I can understand the indignation of those people who paid for the classes since that is money lost. But why are the people who are claiming "Sutherland's classes work" so angry? Are you a supermodel yet? Didn't think so. You're just pissed off because you realized you got duped too, but refuse to admit it.

    modelfirlf: I think you are a bit mistaken about Addison Gil. Addison Gil was apart of Chantale Nadeau's model placement competition. I also had a friend who was the runner up to that competition. I could explain it to you, or you just just go to this link: http://www.chantalenadeau.com/about.htm.

    And here's an excerpt if you're too lazy: "The agencies I place you with, give me a commission for bringing you to them (there's absolutely no cost to you). The catch is this - I'm pretty picky about who I will develop!

    What I do, is search out potential models, and then work with them to develop their look. If I think you're ready to take the next step, I'll put together a top photographer, stylist and hair & make-up artist to do a shoot with you. Once I see the results, we sit down and decide whether it's worth it for you to pursue a career in the business - I don't want to waste anyone's time. If it looks like you have what it takes, the next step is to place you with agencies - in Canada as well as internationally. My experience in the business gives me a unique edge in sorting out which agencies will be the best for each model."

    Addison Gil won the damn competition!!! So I really question the validity of her taking the mass produced modeling classes. Could you honestly see her with a bunch of short, fat girls? Here's what probably happened (because my friend was the runner up and this is what happened to her): She won the competition, Chantale Nadeau worked with her, sent her to Sutherland and then Sutherland worked with her. So it sounds like the people who took the modeling classes and think they were a benefit are really the delusional ones. You lost your money, you made a dumb decision, get over it. Anti-Sutherland is at least trying to keep other people from making the same costly and dumb decision. I applaud you for that Anti-Sutherland. I think it's even crueler what Sutherland does and frankly humiliating. If any of these girls went to Elite or NEXT or Ford, they wouldn't hesitate to tell them to their face that they will never model. Modeling is a cruel, vapid industry and it's not about building self esteem but about marketing a fantasy. If you tell some sort, pockmarked girl that if she pays $1, 000 then she can be a model, then that's mean.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    savana29 Dec 10, 2010

    Took their course in the early '90 s...paid $1, 100...knew of another girl in the same class, she was paying $1, 200. She was an Argonaut cheerleader and she complained that Sutherland Modeling Agency did absolutely nothing for her...she received her jobs from the exposure of cheerleading. I think the classes can provide a guidance towards a better self-esteem, but, the cost is quite steep. Go on-line...learn how-to for free by u-tube, Googling, etc...I saw many girls who wanted to be models and did not look like model material. I found my experince to be less than adequate. One of the few reasons I will mention was the photoshoot. The photogragher whose name is Allan was unprofessional and distant. Very unhelpful especially if this course claims to assist in aiding self-esteem. I was not the only person who noticed his character traits either. To summerize, save your money ! If they really believe you have potential, they won't take your money. Find self-improvement courses elsewhere for a much less cost ! Keep in mind..beauty begins inward out...

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mandidolle Sep 30, 2010

    It is actually only considered slander is she is stating untrue facts, that does knows are untrue. She is stating her own experiences that she has lived through and knows to be accurate information. What you're doing is trying to put fear into stephanie so that she stops exposing the truth, which she seems just a little bit too intelligent to fall for.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    modelfirlf Sep 18, 2010

    omg ok first, what do you expect from taking modelign classes, OBVIOUSLY not everyone who takes classes turns out as a supermodel.. if they did, their would be millions of supermodels. its pretty much the same as singers and actors/actresses, their are millions and billions of amazing singers and actresses, but are they all famous, NO. Addison Gill, a new supermodel, took sutherland's modeling classes. they didnt just "sign her on" when they first saw her, anyone can have the mosat perfect apperaence and face and body but they could be the worst mode lever! just because someones perfect on the outside doesnt mean they will be perfect at runway walking, posing, ect. everyone who says sutherland models is a scam is obviouslyj ust mad that they didnt get far in modeling because their obviously not model material.. i can garuntee you that the people writing these rude comments are not 5'10, are not as skinny as a pole, and are not pretty whatsoever. so just suck it up and stop [censor]ing off at somethign that your not good at. your just jealous that YOUR not a supermodel like tyra banks or kate moss or addison gill.

    0 Votes
  • Gp
    gpl Aug 24, 2010

    I'm a little confused. My daughter was a Sutherland / Kamera Kids model when she was an infant. She received work weekly - with little to no cost to us - and it was a fun experience. Now my daughter is older (9 years) and she has chosen to pursue modeling. I'm taking her for an interview this week at Sutherlands and I am encouraged by the agency as it is one of the best in Toronto.

    0 Votes
  • No
    NoelNoir Jul 13, 2010

    P.S Did anyone notice that they changed the ModelWork website? You now need a password to look at the models.

    1 Votes
  • No
    NoelNoir Jul 13, 2010

    Anti-Sutherland: It's been awhile since I posted anything on this form. I just read that some people are still defending Sutherland. Here's what it should look like. I'm not a fashion model but I still have a commercial look so I decided to try a different agency that specialized in glamour modeling. I recently signed with an agency and within the first week, I was sent on a casting. I participated in a photo shoot and they will be using my pictures to market me. You know how much money I spent? ZERO DOLLARS. I didn't pay for modeling classes or even a photo shoot. Lets be clear here, I'm not 5'10'', Eastern European, and 15. I am someone that Sutherland wanted to sell "modeling classes to". Before my agent signed me, she made me send her some pictures to make sure I looked good in front of the camera. If I don't have a look that'll get me jobs, then she doesn't want to waste her time with me.

    Bottom line if you meet very stringent guidelines (5'8'' and above, perfect skin, under the age of 20, skinny), then go try out for Sutherland's international division. No one is stopping you. If you don't have the look for runway modeling, try glamour modeling (promotional ads, commcercials, music videos). If you have none of the above then take acting classes and work on your skills. If that doesn't work then maybe this industry isn't for you. Just don't pay $1000 and waste your time on ModelWorks. Because Sutherland is trying to make money like anyone else.

    1 Votes
  • Ca
    CarlyCruise18 Jun 09, 2010

    Steph, and or anyone else this may concern. It is obvious that some models will make it, and some will not. Every girl is given a chance at the beggining which is why you may notice a large amount of girls not getting anywhere or having to pay alot. This is a dream for many. So it kind of seems to me like you are saying only the most beautiful and talented girls should even get the classes or an opportunity. Its just fact that if a less talented and less attractive girl doesnt have guaranteed money and potential within the company they will have to pay. The comany wont risk losing money over nothing. And why is no one looking at the fact that THROUGH SUTHERLAND Tuns of models that had to pay these same amounts as everyone else and take the SAME classes do become sucessful.
    Do not depend souly on the company for your every job and daller. It is up to you if you got the talent, the confidence and the looks to become someone important in this industry. My name is Carly and I have a meeting with Sutherland models this tuesday
    even though I have not met with them yet. Im confident, talented and beautiful. I will pay the required money and I am smart enough to know that if I get nothing and go nowhere It will be completley because of me and the fact that no one wants to hire me due to lack of talent or required and desired look. Thank you for reading ~ Carly. C

    0 Votes
  • Fe
    Fezz Jun 01, 2010

    Anti-sutherlands,
    Everyone learns through mistakes and accidents in life, that's what makes us become smarter and stronger. Money talks [censor] walks, that's the way society is now a days. Money isn't everything, so I'm sure you'll take this as an experience in which you'll know not to be deluded the next time you interact with another agency, despite being a scam or not.

    1 Votes
  • Fe
    Fezz Jun 01, 2010

    I was a male model with sutherland/modelwork as well.. and I was a bit disappointed.
    The cost for the training didn't really add up.
    And what really got me was.. if you did get a job/signing somewhere.. you'd have to give 20% to the agent. Now the funny part was.. if the agents really believed in you and wanted money, they would look auditions for you, instead you would have to call in every saturday or so, and ask if there were any auditions. Sometimes I recieved no reply. So if they really wanted money and and signed you up for a reason, they would put effort into getting your feet on the grounds and start somewhere, and the rest is yours. Unfortunately, this wasn't the case. Scam or no scam, this isn't really a good foundation to start your career if you're interested in modelling. So I don't recommend it.

    Oh, and the funny part was they cancelled my contract despite paying for a whole year.. they cut me off I believe 8 months - in.

    Scam? I informed enough for you to decide.

    1 Votes
  • Le
    LESource May 13, 2010

    It all depends on who you make nice with in this industry. I finished the classes less then a month ago, it’s a good experience and honestly ladies that are doing the classes now don’t be mad or worried because other girls are saying it’s a scam. Once you finish your last class it’s a fashion show which I thought was a fun idea everyone had an awesome time. They give you a form and you’ll receive an e-mail about modelworks, I didn’t join it because I don’t have the money, but that hasn’t stopped me Don’t think high of yourself if there are some bigger or less attractive girls there because that will DEFFITNLY not help you in this business you need to be self-motivated and nice to get noticed! Also don’t just depend on the agency to get you jobs, get to know people and find work yourselves. If you’re using the internet for work just be careful! There are so many weirdo’s and honestly you don’t want to step into the wrong studio for something bad to happen. Good Luck Ladies

    -1 Votes
  • Cs
    cstg.asst May 04, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am a casting assistant, and I know for a fact that Modelworks models are brought in on castings, as I see them in the room. An agent cannot guarantee you work, (and if they do, you should be leery), but can provide you with opportunities to get work based on your ability. They can also guide you toward furthering your ability.

    -1 Votes
  • Lo
    logicalthinker May 04, 2010

    "anti-sutherland" get a life. These posts are seriously dilusional and riidiculous and someone needs to shut you up.. "anti-sutherland" we are sorry you dislike sutherland and your life, apparently. But you are ruining it for everyone else! Everyone else that will never get into sutherlands international division, ford, ellite, etc because we are not the perfect model icon. i am in modelwork and i appreciate it. I appreciate getting job oppertunities to get some work---we wouldnt get a chance otherwise!! ive been in modelworks for 4 months and ive gone on a few auditions and booked a few things---i was also informed thatr the industry is slow right now. thats the bottom line. did i think i was going to be in the next guess ad? it would be nice but NO! i did not and would not think that "local work" would consist of a guess ad. To be honest? you know alittle too much about the industry, ...do u work for sutherlands competition??? that would totally make sense. everyone is intitled to posting their experience and thats what im doing. Iv taken and paid for the training and am IN the local division...i CAN SPEAK FROM EXPERIENCE. not everyone has the availability and not everyone goes out to the auditions that are available...and, some of those people go to the auitions but are not getting booked...thats no ones fault. thats the business...

    -1 Votes
  • Je
    jennifermarkham May 03, 2010

    "phyco" anti-sutherland is BACK!
    Ive been watching these posts for awhile now...and I must say my opinion.
    I took training and am in model works now.
    I do free work
    I do creatives
    AND I GET PAID WORK!
    I do it all...and Im having FUN doing it.
    Live your life people. Do your own research--THIS is not "resourcesful". Call ACTRA, Call Sears, look on their website--those are sutherland models. I am the first person to complain when needed (especially when Ive put money into something!)
    im a happy camper! ( and i've taken training and am being rep'd by them!)

    -1 Votes
  • Ke
    Kerri-Lynn May 03, 2010

    I'd like to disagree with the complaints about ModelWorks. I attended the training session a few years ago for two weeks during the summer and it was an amazing opportunity. I met so many new people and learned a lot from the classes, whether I should choose to go on with Sutherlands or not. I signed up with ModelWorks after those two weeks and have been with them ever since getting booked for lots of creatives and having many work opportunities. I was also monitored by Sutherlands and was called in for a meeting with them to potentially move up. The actual program was great for a young girl's confidence and was a good way to show me what the modeling business is like. Before ModelWorks, I was with another agency and can definitely say that my time here has been far superior. Based on my experiences, the people that I worked with and the results that I got, I don't think ModelWorks is a scam but a very fun and useful modeling experience.

    -1 Votes
  • Ka
    [email protected] May 01, 2010

    Sutherland agents are RUDE...and it is a SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM

    1 Votes
  • Sm
    smokeandfire123 Apr 29, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    As for those parents with glowing compliments for Sutherland about how they were told that the course is for self-improvement and the parents are happy about their daughter's classes - please note the following:

    When you walk into the interview, the Sutherland sales rep can immediately and shrewdly assess that your daughter is "not" model material. And they know you know that too. So they turn it around and state the course is for "self improvement". The parent is then pleased with the rep's "honesty" and forks out the $1, 000 fee. Sale complete - sold.

    The majority are not necessarily there for "self improvement". They hope to model and the overwhelming majority will not. They are misled. A lot of money and time spent on courses, photo shoots etc. It's unethical.

    1 Votes
  • Sm
    smokeandfire123 Apr 29, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Whenever people enter a contest to be a "Top Model" the thousands of applications are sold and bought by businesses such as Sutherland. It provides them with "leads" so they can call people up who hope to be models and sell them expensive courses. The few who have potential will then have to pay for expensive photo portfolio shoots, which requires regular updating and comp cards etc. The costs continue.

    1 Votes
  • Sm
    smokeandfire123 Apr 29, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Sutherland hosting a TV show is a business decision. They get a lot of publicity and one winner (who obviously has the qualities to be a model) gets a contract with them. Big deal. It's all done to give them legitimacy so their scam continues. This gives them a chance to say "we represent a supermodel and we're on TV, so we must be good". Wrong. This is tactic to get students to handover $1, 000 for classes with confidence. End result zero, tough luck. Ann Sutherland has her sales staff on quotas. They must sell courses and photo shoots for her. An interview with them is a big sales pitch. The training school is their main source of revenue. Not booking models for work. Top modelling agencies don't sell courses. They don't need to.

    Just because the staff sounds nice and appear to care doesn't change the fact that its all a cash grab where gullible people walk in with ambitions and later walk out disillusioned. If you want to burn your money, then go to Sutherland Models or any other modelling school.

    1 Votes
  • Ek
    E!Kitty Apr 16, 2010

    I just finished up my year with Model Work, and they basically did nothing for me. They never gave me any castings, told me where to meet photographers, or set me up for any jobs. Every job I've done, I've gotten on my own.
    I really wouldn't recommend them, at all. I loved my classes, sure, but it was for the girls I met there as opposed to the actual class, what they taught was basic ### you learn from the internet. The photographer was garbage, can't photoshop, and was way over priced. I had my friend with Elite help me get my original pictures, and They told me they were bad and to use the pictures THEY took and said I wouldn't know anything about what a director is looking for.

    Thinking about how they tricked me makes me feel sick to my stomach, because I always told myself I would know better. They sweet talked me into believing it was a good idea and worth it.
    Now all that's happened for the past month is me wondering if I'm just not good enough.

    I'm getting off my bum at the end of the month, and heading off to NEXT to see if I do have real potential, or if Sutherland was just feeding me ### to get my money

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.