Spirit IncentivesFor off season travel only!

C
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

My husband and I got married in May, for our wedding present my friend was going to send us on a cruise through Spirit Incentives. I was very excited, I had never been on a cruise and my husband and I weren't exactly going on a honey moon, we were traveling overseas with both our families, so we figured we could use this cruise for our first anniversary and have a real honeymoon.

I sent in all the information, my travel dates and what not, about a month later I received a notice saying that my dates did not meet the Terms of Agreement, so I called them to see when I could go on this cruise, they then told me that my certificate was only valid during the off season months: September- April, which that is the time of the year that I cannot take any vacation time from work until May. My husband and I were quite upset, as we were looking forward to a few days alone, and our friend who gave us the tickets was also upset.

This thing is a SCAM, please do not book travel through them its more hassle and time consuming than anything!!

Responses

  • Sp
    Spirit Incentives May 07, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Spirit Incentives Rep:
    We take customer service very seriously from the million customers we service yearly. Spirit Incentives fulfills travel for all our customers that follow the Terms of Participation outlined on the back of the certificate. Customers who have followed the Terms of Participation are not declined travel. Please make sure you have reviewed the terms and conditions provided on your offer. Please send us your contact information to [email protected] and we will have a customer service agent reach out to you to see if your issue can get resolved. Thank you and we look forward hearing from you.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    kendebcam May 07, 2012

    Took a tour of a Las Vegas time share and was offered a trip as incentive. Spirit Incentives turned out to be the company offering the trip. HA!! It has been over a year and I have not heard from them. I checked the website a few minutes ago and got a message that my dates are being looked into!! We sent them a $50 deposit immediately and that was the last contact we had with them. They are a horrible rip off and the perfect description of "you get what you pay for". Shame on you time share and other companies who are allowing your potential customers to be ripped off so badly. We will never again visit any of these seminars. SCREW YOU! Spirit Incentives!

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Fred or Fred Apr 17, 2012

    Attended a Timeshare Presentation in the Wisconsin Dells' Glacier Canyon Lodge (http://www.wildernessresort.com/) (for which I was quoted a 120 minutes presentation). Instead I was there - face to face - not presented to - discussed with - for 3 hours. Sales rep was fine I guess, he admitted he'd only been there 4 months, Sales manager at the end (who my wife identified as "the heavy hitter") was greasier than pure oil. Here's the price, no there's the price, oh that's the price, look at the price, up here's a price, down there's a price, down low a price, to the right a price, to the left a price, now do a little dance. That's how that went. So we declined all the crap, then get passed on to a checkout girl who offers us two ADDITIONAL price options !!! But what's funny is the first option she gave she said this is the best I can do, then when we said no she said how about this one? It's the same crap I went through with the sales manager. Needless to say I'm a Wyndham Rewards member and credit card holder. And after this presentation I no longer will be. Probably not what Wyndham had in mind regarding brand integrity when they contracted with Spirit Incentives.

    1 Votes
  • Ki
    Kim Springer Apr 09, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    After a little struggling I was able to book and fully enjoy my vacation. Here is all of the contact info. that I obtained to do so... Hopefully this will help people to better contact this company, since it seems that they try to hide their contact info.

    [email protected]

    [email protected]

    tel:1.954.525.3606

    *If you got the certificate thru Wyndham, contact:

    [email protected]
    Christina Lambert
    Marketing Administration Coordinator - Urban Marketing
    Wyndham Vacation Resorts, Inc.
    1000 2nd Avenue South, Suite 305
    North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
    843.281.3473 / fax: 843.281.3402

    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    BIGBOY 23 Jan 31, 2012

    THIS COMPANY IS A ###ING JOKE. ANYONE ATTEMPTING TO TRAVEL WITH THEM GIVE UP, BECAUSE THEY DONT ANSWER THE PHONE. THEY BATE YOU IN GET YOUR MONEY AND NEVER RESPOND AGAIN. SOMEONE IN FLORIDA IS GETTING RICH SELLING FALSE VACTIONS AND IT SUCKS. AND THE PEOPLE SAYING YOU HAD A GREAT TIME YOU MUST WORK FOR THE ### COMPANY.

    SIGNED: ONE PISSED OF MOTHER ###ER

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brigid Guarino Jan 07, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I recieved a free cruise offer and sent in my 100.00 deposit and recieved all the info. Got no. to call for reservation. Spent from 2- to -5pm on the phone getting cut off every 15 to 20 minutes, Finally got to talk to an agent who put me on hold for to check for availability which she said would take 35 to 45 minutes. I waited and waited and finally someone hung up the phone. Very poor customer service.

    0 Votes
  • Sm
    smith_jg Sep 28, 2011

    Anyone that has a CRUISE certificate that has not been registered yet, I will buy it from you for a crisp $20, if you think it's a scam. My email follows, just drop me a note, mail me the unregistered certificate and I will send you cash. By UNREGISTERED, I mean you have taken the tour, have the certificate in hand, but have not called or logged on to register it. If you think it is a scam, I am offering you a way out, BEFORE you send them the $100 deposit or any more money, let me take it off your hands. Email me at smith_jg(at)yahoo(dot com).

    0 Votes
  • Sm
    smith_jg Sep 28, 2011

    Anyone that has a 7 DAY CRUISE certificate that has not been registered yet, I will buy it from you for a crisp $20, if you think it's a scam. My email follows, just drop me a note, mail me the unregistered certificate and I will send you cash. By UNREGISTERED, I mean you have taken the tour, have the certificate in hand, but have not called or logged on to register it. If you think it is a scam, I am offering you a way out, BEFORE you send them the $100 deposit or any more money, let me take it off your hands. Email me at smith_jg(at)yahoo(dot com).

    0 Votes
  • Sp
    Spirit Incentives Sep 22, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We are glad we were able to create a memorable travel experience for you and your daughter.
    Spirit Incentives Representative

    0 Votes
  • Ts
    T Sneed Sep 22, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I received two free vacations for participating in a timeshare presentation in Irving, TX. I was awarded a 4 night hotel stay in Puerto Rico (I had other choices, but this is the destination that I picked) and a 7-day cruise. I was required to place a deposit on each. I took my daughter on the Puerto Rico trip to celebrate her 13th birthday and we had a ball. We stayed at the Rincon Beach Resort (another choice that I had to make...I could have stayed in San Juan) and it was amazing and the staff were VERY accommodating! Our arrival time and departure time were 2am (Spirit Airlines) and I only had to pay an additional $75 to get a room early and leave late. My daughter didn't want to go home. She truly adored the resort and had a marvelous time there. I had to cancel my reservation for the cruise due to work commitments and I received my refund check within a week. I don't have ANY complaints about Spirit Incentives and I can honestly say from personal experience that it is not a scam. You will have to pay a deposit and a few fees, but the amount you pay still doesn't compare to the total amount of the trip so I was ecstatic. I do have one suggestion for the company...decrease your hold times for customer service and the reservation hotline. Other than that - I look forward to using Spirit Incentives in the future.

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Sp
    Spirit Incentives Sep 21, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We sincerely apologize for any issues you had with our company. Please send your contact information to [email protected] and we will make sure we will not book that hotel again. We look forward to hearing from you.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lisa Huntley Sep 20, 2011

    my daughter and I were given a trip from Spirit Incentives to Ft. Lauderdale, Fl. We booked the trip and PAID $159.00 for a three day 2 night trip. When booking we were given a late flight that got us in @ 9:30 pm. There goes day one, we checked in to "resort" that was a whole in the wall ! 3 people total staying in the bug bed infested, 1960 deco "MOTEL". Our 1 st room, yes our first, had no TV that worked a graffiti written on bathroom mirror. Which by the way was the size of a closet. After dealing with the hotel clerk, we were moved to another room on the same floor. That room had a TV, but the bathroom light did not work, and the lights next to the bed either. We were then moved to a third room, a "suite" if you could call it that. It had a kitchenette, but the carpet was missing in spots, there were holes in the walls around window air conditioners. Paint chunks out of the walls and the bathroom was horrible. We would not remove our shoes in the room in was that bad. By midnite were were settled. The next day of our trip we spent a hour or so on the beach which is BEAUTIFUL ! Then went back to the motel to get in the pool. The TRAVEL person did not inform us that the motel is under construction ! There were guys hauling out furniture and busting it up with a hammer on the balcony overlooking the pool. We had shrapnel hitting us in the pool. Not only hat the were gawking at us most of the time. Went for a great evening down to the pier and had a nice evening. End of day two... 4:00 am we were getting ready to go back to the airport for our 2 1/2 hr plane ride home. End of day 3 !!

    I travel ALOT and by far this is the worst experience I have EVER had !!

    0 Votes
  • Go
    Governorcf Jul 06, 2011

    I attended a travel presentation (Become a travel agent0 nothing more than a time share, and for sitting in, we were supposed to have received a free vacation. you had to send in certificate within 60 days, or register via email, which I did. Then I received a letter stating that the certificate had expired, and this was the final communication that I would receive from SPIRIT..i tried to call them, but their phone goes unanswered. What a scam. not only was the travel thing a scam (become a agent for 10-15 thousand dollars???), but they don't even honor their so called promises of free incentitives. They need to be put out of business ! Beware

    0 Votes
  • Go
    Governorcf Jul 06, 2011

    I attended a travel presentation (Become a travel agent0 nothing more than a time share, and for sitting in, we were supposed to have received a free vacation. you had to send in certificate within 60 days, or register via email, which I did. Then I received a letter stating that the certificate had expired, and this was the final communication that I would receive from SPIRIT..i tried to call them, but their phone goes unanswered. What a scam. not only was the travel thing a scam (become a agent for 10-15 thousand dollars???), but they don't even honor their so called promises of free incentitives. They need to be put out of business ! Beware

    0 Votes
  • Go
    Governorcf Jul 06, 2011

    I attended a travel presentation (Become a travel agent0 nothing more than a time share, and for sitting in, we were supposed to have received a free vacation. you had to send in certificate within 60 days, or register via email, which I did. Then I received a letter stating that the certificate had expired, and this was the final communication that I would receive from SPIRIT..i tried to call them, but their phone goes unanswered. What a scam. not only was the travel thing a scam (become a agent for 10-15 thousand dollars???), but they don't even honor their so called promises of free incentitives. They need to be put out of business ! Beware

    0 Votes
  • Spirit Incentives is a a big spam!!! First they raise your spirits high and then all shattered!! Lot of fradualant gimics. Certificated experies on one day, but bookings need 30 days prior reservation, and when you try to do that, that needs a crazy certificate registration which again takes 7-14 days for confirmation and then we send a letter back requesting dates which will be rejected, and then we reappply and then game continues until it reaches exp date and chapter closed!! SO Basically a BIG SPAM!!!

    0 Votes
  • De
    Destin Fl Hoax May 16, 2011

    Attended a 2+ hour high pressure sales presentation for time shares in Destin Fl. For attending the tour of the resort, a 3 day 2 night package at a similar resort would be our gift. After months of submitting dates that could not be met by the company, I was offered a refund. I wanted the 3 day 2 night package we were promised. We wanted to go back to Destin, on the beach, or in a similar resort as we were told. After all the dates and locations were no longer available, on our last date before my offer expired, we were offered 2 nights in a $50 Days Inn in downtown Daytona Beach. Not quite the resort we were expecting. The entire deal was to get people into a high pressure sales area to sell time shares. A complete hoax.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kate56789 Oct 21, 2010

    I followed their process for my free 3 night cruise plus airfare. When the time to book my cruise came, I called and went through the start of the booking process.

    First problem is the itinerary. We wanted a 3 night cruise from LA to Mexico. The only option they gave us was a cruise from Port Canaveral to the Bahamas.

    Second problem (and the deal breaker) was the total for my "free cruise": $800.00.

    I have no problem with the upcharge for room ($150.00.)

    I have a problem with the following:
    1) The only date they offered us happened to be January 7th. Which means we have to pay $200 in upcharges for "high travel time." We never would have picked this date if we had know that it was considered a peak travel time. The only "advice" we were given when picking dates was that summer and early fall is considered peak.

    2) The "taxes, port fees" came out to be $442.00. When looking at the same exact cruise online, the total taxes and such for the cruse was only $118.00 for 2 people. Add on an additional $50 for airline taxes and that comes to less than $200. How they got to $442 we don't know. I wish I had asked the representative to break the costs down even further.

    I believe that they drastically inflate the taxes so that they make back the $$ they are "spending" on the actual cruise.

    0 Votes
  • Fh
    Fhamilton Apr 02, 2010

    All I can say is stay clear of any Spirit Incentives Awards Offers. I managed to make it all the way to Montego Bay only to find out I was booked in a "Bates MOTEL! We politely got online and check in at another hotels at a cost of $1200. Just called Spirit Incentives and they told me to write a letter...HMMMMM Lesson learned!

    0 Votes
  • Fe
    Feeling duped Feb 19, 2010

    I just canceled my "free" cruise with them today. They don't tell you that the room is one with bunk beds and to get a regular room with 2 twin beds is an extra $150. Then they tacked on an extra$150 because the date was during spring break/peak times. My total for me free cruise came to $707 after taking out my $100 deposit. Then after being on the phone for over an hour, I was told that because I took too long to decide, that the flight was no longer available and they couldn't give me my 2nd or 3rd dates so all I could get was my refund. All the while I got attitude from the rep. Just plan the vacation yourself. You won't be forced into any date and I think it's ultimately cheaper. Spirit Incentives is waste of time. I feld like I was being swindled.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Ann Mims Jan 31, 2010

    Spirit I feel is ripping us off as well. We went to the Timeshare presentation last year, and decided to take the cruise. We paid our 100.00 and have yet heard anything from them. We chose our dates, and that was the last we heard from them. It shouldn't take a year or more to hear if the dates were accepted. I agree it is a rip-off and I plan to contact them to request my 100.00 back. If I don't get it back in a timely manner I will seek legal help to resolve this matter. The Better Business
    Bureau will also be contacted.

    Johnnie and Cheryl Mims
    [email protected]
    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Re
    readytocruise2010 Jan 06, 2010

    Well I'm getting ready to see what my Spirit Incentive vacation is going to enail and I hope its not a negative experience as I've been looking forward to this since August of 09. If indeed it is, I too will be contacting everyone I can and believe me they will wish the office wasn't so close to me; I live outside of Cleveland, Ohio and the office is located in Independence, Ohio.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Frustrated Cruiser Nov 25, 2009

    I just tried to book a cruise. We had sent in our $100 and it was only supposed to cost us the taxes. It would have been about $250 more with taxes. So the "free cruise" is in a cabin with bunk beds. To upgrade it would be another $75 a person., but of course they didn't have any of those rooms available. The next upgrade would have been $150 a person, but they didn't have those rooms available either. To get a cruise that was available for us it was going to be $1000 total. I can get a cruise were we can go anytime we want for that price. I just cancelled the certificate and they are supposed to be sending out $100 back. We will see about that.

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    michaela c Jul 26, 2009

    There is some information I can give to you all. It is your choice on what you want to do with it.
    Class Action Lawsuit;
    A class action law suit is if one or more people on behalf of themselves and a group of others who have the same, or similar complaints, may file a class action law suit. Class action law suits apply in a variety of situations, such as automobile defects, drug products liability, false advertising, price fixing, toxic chemicals, violations of the Fair Labor Standards Act, and faulty or unnecessary medical treatments.
    Class action sits are governed by rule 23 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. To file a class action lawsuit, the rule requires that the number of people in the suit is large enough that it is impractical for each to sue separately, that there are questions of law or fact common to the class, that the claims or defenses or the representative parties are typical of the the claims or defenses or the class, and that the representative parties will fairly and adequately protect the interests of the class. The majority of class action suits are filed for compensatory damages. However, a class action may also be filed to seek a declarotory judgment, injunctive relief, or to settle disputes over limited funds. Class action suits may be civil suits, which usually result in compensatory damages, or criminal suits, which usually results in prison or community work. Provided that the court agrees to certify the complaints as a class action suit, all of the members of the class will have equal say and rights to any damages or solutions ordered by the court. If a member of the class wants to participate as a named party, h/she may seek their own counsel and participate directly in the class action lawsuit. Seeking legal representation for a class action lawsuit is central to the success or the case.

    0 Votes
  • Lr
    lrk2000 May 17, 2009

    can you tell me what ever happened with your cruise? I am in the process of trying to book through SI but I am leary about it. I received an email stating that the 4 day cruise through Galveston ( which is the only one I wanted) was not available. Can you tell me what cruise line you were booked with? Thanks for the info.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Sunshine Girl May 07, 2009

    We were given a certificate for a "free cruise" through Spirit Incentives by our timeshare, after taking a tour. We followed the instructions, sent in $600 for port fees/taxes and never heard anything back.

    Finally, we contacted them again, and they did book us on a cruise down the Mexican Riviera. My husband paid another $200 to upgrade our room. We registered through the cruise line's website, and everything was taken care of, we thought. Then, of course, the Swine flu hit and all the cruises to Mexico were being rerouted. Our cruise line stated on their website that all cruises affected could be rebooked. Therefore, we made alternate plans for the week. However, when I tried to speak with the cruise line and rebook our cruise, they stated that they did not have access to our reservation, but that we would have to change it through Spirit Incentives. I asked her again, to make sure...so, if Spirit Incentives is willing to rebook us, then you will allow us to be rebooked for a later date? And she said...yes, that is what is stated on our website.

    I called Spirit Incentives back, and I was told repeatedly that according to the contract, they do not have to rebook us or cancel or cruise. I explained to them that the cruise line was willing to rebook us, but they would not make any provisions.

    Today, I called back and asked to speak to a manager. I was told that he was not available but that I could leave my name, number, and certificate number, and I did. However, I called at 2:30 my time, which is 5:30 their time, and surprise, surprise, I did not receive a call back today, which was necessary, because the cruise line wanted all changes to itinerary called-in by today. The cruise line is up all night, but Spirit Incentives closes at 6:00 eastern time.

    Therefore, I would be VERY wary about using them.

    0 Votes
  • Sy
    syrina Feb 25, 2009

    i went to listen at spirit incentives in cininnati also. all i had to do was listen to their pitch on packages for one hour. i was there for three. i now have this registration coupon and have registered but am not sure if it is a scram. after reading the complaints i am afraid to go through with it. is it really free? execpt for the 100 dollar booking fee and 100 dollar taxes fee. it is for a 4 day 3 night vaction to either mexico or bahamahs. supposedly everything is free and taken care of no flight costs or transportation costs or "resort" costs. thats its in a resort not a hotel and someone will be with me whereever i go to assist me with everything. i am so confused on what to believe some one please give some advice to what you think. is this for real?

    1 Votes
  • Ri
    rita Feb 19, 2009

    I sent in my 3 dates for a cruise to Mexico and was told I will be getting a bill for govt fees and port charges. I waited about 3 to 4 weeks before they sent me the amount to pay saying that after I pay I cannot change anything. Meanwhile I have no dates confirmed but they want their money. I wen on line to check out this company and found all those horrible reviews. I am throwing it away and not even going to respond. I found cheaper cruises on line. I also have a 5nights 4 day trip with them I dont think I will be sending it out. Thanks for your comments. That really helps.

    0 Votes
  • An
    angry angry angry Feb 10, 2009

    Spirit Incentives is a RIP off!!! I submitted my certifcate to redeem for a "free" criuse for 3 days/nights. I called after 16 days of not recieving anything (thinking it was a scam) and she said that it is standard mail to take 16 days!!! And I received an EMAIL! I was getting more and more aggrivated and the customer service rep was rude and put me on hold for 10 minutes (long distance) to try and add up the days I had waited to receive the email, which was completely wrong. After I sent in the $100 trip deposit (which they said would be returned- yeah right! I'm not holding my breath!) I waited another 16 days and still heard nothing from them. I called back and spoke to another customer service rep, who continuosly raised his voice with me and told me to wait another 10 business days. It's almost going on 2 months and still no cruise! I went to the time share presentation for 3 hours did my part, and they scammed us, people that just want a nice mini vacation!!! This is absoultely ridiculous, my next written letter is to the Better Business Bureau. Please DO NOT fall for this scam! Save your money and your time!

    0 Votes
  • Kj
    kj1414 Feb 05, 2009

    They screw you over stating they never received your letter and that because of this the trip was not valid. They suck!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John Jan 28, 2009

    I won a trip through Sunrise Vacations to lure me into a travel club. I gave my daughter the trip to use. She had great difficulty scheduling the trip and then they asked for a deposit, which they assured her would be returned and not even cashed. I sent her a $50.00 check, which was immediately cashed. She was then told she would be required to attend a sales pitch for two hours. She couldn't do that as she has a small child in tow. So she canceled the trip. She tried many times to get my check returned to no avail. I called and emailed with no response.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    biddybo Nov 09, 2008

    Nicole, you go girl!!

    PS Thanks for the info. I have 2 vouchers from them as we speak- one for a cruise and one for a 3 day-2 night vacation!! They will go into the shredder immediately. Well no- on second thought, I will have a little fun with them. I will try to get a hotel reservation first and when they start their little games THEN I will send the vouchers directly to my Atty. Gen.'s Office for further investigation. Don't EVER think that your complaints are taken lightly- they are not. It may take awhile but, believe me they will look into it. BE PATIENT!~

    Doesn't it figure that this is the company that Blueturd uses. I guess scammers of a feather really do flock together!!!

    0 Votes
  • De
    Dee Nov 03, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I received 3 different Spirit Travel Rewards from 3 different timeshare. Ended up with nothing from any of them. First rewards was 3 days, 2 nights, plus air fare to Vegas. I was to pick 3 different dates. Naturally, none of my dates were available. In order to choose other dates, I was to pay $50 per person with no promise that those dates would be available. Second reward was for a free cruize. We were asked to pay over $500 for port fees, taxes, etc. I reported them to the better business bureau. A lot of good that did! If you get a Spirit Incentives award, throw it away. They aren't worth the paper they are printed on.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John Sep 23, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We had a successful experience with Spirit. For taking out a Hilton rewards credit card there was a free companion air ticket as part of the rewards package. Now to redeem the reward it was a three step process of requesting the form, getting the certificate and then redeeming the certificate, and each step did have a time limit associated with it. After carefully following all of these steps we were able to get our free ticket to go to Hawaii which saved us about $700 from the total cost of buying two tickets. You did not get the best price for the one ticket you bought but the second companion ticket was free, you only paid the taxes on it.
    Keep in mind that these incentives are just like rebates that are offered by stores. They know if they make it hard enough most people will either give up or will no longer qualify. Thats how these time share companies, credit card companies and anyone else who offers these incentives can afford to to it. They are only paying pennies on the dollar for these rewards because Spirit knows most people will never be able to get the full value out of it.
    So rather then getting mad, read the fine print carefully, follow all the instructions, be flexible with your travel schedule and you will get the reward you want.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    Nicole Sep 20, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Giving us a "Free trip to the Bahams" and leaving us without a place to stay...
    I just had to let you know what Spirit Incentives has done this time and boy
    are they in trouble now... We finally got our trip to the Bahamas and low and
    behold they left us stranded in a forien country with no place to say, we had a
    package deal and got the flight but they never paid for the resort. So when we
    get there they tell us that we have to pay for the resort and then told us to take it up
    with the agency that booked us... it was just a way to get our money, because I
    called the resort the day before we left and they said oh don't worry it was
    part of a package deal so you won't have to pay... well we get there and
    they tell us we have to have our credit card and they are going to charge
    $135.00 a night, lol I went off on them and said HELL NO!!! if I'm going to
    pay that price I will go to the Westin and stay in luxary... they put us once
    again out in the middle of BFE with no way to get around and no way to eat
    unless we walk to god knows where... so we ended up in Port Lacaya and stayed in
    the Sheraton we got a good price and the people there were great and we were
    within walking distance to everything didn't even have to take a cab any
    were...So please be aware if ya'll use them that they can put you into
    a forgien country with no place to stay... And if you don't have a credit card with enough money on it you could be sleeping on a beach somewhere...We have reported this to the
    Minister of Tourism in the Bahamas so that he knows what this company is capable
    of and that the people at the resort tried to trick us into staying there and
    paying for it all our self... I got and email from him and there will be an
    investigation... I'm just tired of them thinking that we are easy prey...
    so please be aware if you use them...

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    Nicole Sep 14, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had the same problems with Spirit Incentives. we did have a problem with booking the stay in Jamaica, but when we got there our resort was in the middle of nowhere and we were not offered any kind of transportation to any of the attactions... We basically had to make our own fum since it was so expensive to take a cab everywhere we wanted to go. We were lucky in that there were others from our home resort that we connected with and split the cost of a cab so none of us had to pay the outragous price.. Now here's the kicker... we booked our trip to the Bahamas the package was airfair and hotel included well when we went to confirm we had our flights but not a place to stay because they claimed that our reservation was cancelled because of non payment... so now we have a flight that we leave on in less than 24 hrs. and no way to contact Spirit, because they are close on the weekend and no place to stay when we get there so we will have to pay for our own hotel there... I also have my certificate in for a cruise and am waiting for results on our dates so far we have been turned down for the first date so we'll see for the rest... I also was told for our Bahamas vacation that we had to except the date and hoetl of thier choice and was given a place in a really bad area on the island and a very shoddy hotel so I went to my Silverleaf rep and they made some phone calls for us and we were given better accommodations, but now we have to put up with not having a place to stay because they failed to pay for our hotel reservations...

    0 Votes
  • So
    Sonja Sep 11, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We had the same problem. We had four of the gas rebates of $10. I got the first two and never got the second two after sitting through one of their mega stupid "presentations". I hate these friggin people!

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brenda Swinney Aug 31, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My husband and I went to a Time Share presentation in Atlanta, Ga. that was supposed to last 1.5 hrs. and ended up being about 4 hrs. Long story short we traveled 2 hrs. there and 2 hrs. back with a promise of a free 2 night vacation. We have already been denied 2 of the dates we requested, first one not meeting their requirements and the second one for lack of accomadations. We feel they are giving us the run a round and have no intentions of honoring their promise. We are requesting they proceed with the next requested date but do not believe they will follow thru as promised. We feel this is a scam and should be stopped. Spirit Incentives should be put out of business.

    0 Votes
  • Si
    Simmons Aug 23, 2008

    Just needed to write this complaint so others would not waste time with Spirit Incentives. This process is a scam. I went to a timeshare presentation last year at Silverleaf Resort Office in Dallas Texas and was awarded two free giveaways from Spirit Incentives for attending the presentation. The first one was a 5day 4night free hotel stay at various locations. One of the locations was Montego Bay Jamaica. I followed the process on the form and submitted the three dates to Spirit. I received two letters in the mail stating that my first and second choice of dates were unavailable. So I called for the status of my third date. The representative told me that before she can confirm my last date I needed to show proof that I have an airline ticket for the date before she can confirm a booking. Anyway, even though this seemed strange I went ahead and booked the ticket and called back in for my hotel. She took a while and then told me that she had availability for a particular place in Montego Bay. I started asking questions only to find out that this place was a dump. I had my computer and so I was able to look at the pictures on the internet while she was talking. So I asked her if there was another choice. Of course the answer was "NO". You only get this one chance to accept the hotel. I asked her if I can call back to see if something better would come available. The answer was "NO". You only have one chance to book the hotel. So where does that leave me. I am holding confirmed reservations for air, and Spirit is forcing me to accept a dump for my hotel accommodation. Anyway, this whole process is not worth the effort. I just told her to forget the whole deal because it was just a waste of my time. I know I will have to get another suitable place on my own since I cannot cancel my airfare but I just wanted to write this note to warn others that winning a Spirit Incentive is a total waste of time and energy.

    Anyway, the second offer was for a cruise and I have been denied the first date already, so I am waiting to see if and when the next date will be available. This one I paid 100.00 to secure the reservations so basically I am expecting the same treatment and most likely a refund of my 100.00 after all the excuses but we will see.

    This is also a message to Silverleaf timeshare company to stop advertising free stuff from Spirit. It just makes you look bad too. But then maybe you all are cooking up a deal to scam innocent people. For what reason, I wish I knew.

    Once again all... BEWARE of SPIRIT INCENTIVES and also remember nothing in life is FREE so when you attend these timeshare presentations don't get too excited about the FREE stuff advertised. Its just a waste of time and energy.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carrie Aug 19, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was told only that I had to use it within one year. I called to make a reservation and was told it was too late as well and that I needed to register the certificate 60 days after the issue date. Deception is what they are about.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.