The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
SimpleFilingsUnauthorized billing

Simple Filings.com is an aka of Hermeris Inc. They are at the top of the search engine list when searching for IRS services and EIN numbers. (Shame on Google for allowing this to happen). They take your money as soon as the submit button is pressed. They don't tell you how much they will charge until you are finished giving them all your most personal information on what seems like an actual IRS internet form.

BEWARE simple filings! I am not even sure I received a legitimate EIN number from them.

RESOLVED

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Responses

  • To
    Tone Rösberg Jul 18, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    STAY AWAY!!! This company charge 177 $ in the end, no where did they show how much they was gonna charge and you don't even understand your cheated before after you get the email from them. STAY AWAY from this scam company

    0 Votes
  • Si
    Simple Filings Mar 24, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    While there is not enough information for us to identify the account that the latest complainant is referencing, we do wish to advise that our all advertisements and our website provides the potential client with information about how they may obtain an EIN free of charge. To evidence this we have attached screen shots of our advertisement page that one arrives at when they follow any link on a search engine. We also offer a Service Fee Calculator in all of the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) page for each service which allows our clients to review their service fees before placing the order.

    Also, please be advised that a third-party designee is a company or individual that acts on behalf of the taxpayer in communication with the IRS to obtain a Federal Tax ID number. The IRS presents the option to use third-party designees to simplify the process for both the IRS and the taxpayer as most third-party designees are well-versed and experienced with the process. Hiring a third-party designee can be compared to hiring a tax professional to assist with tax forms. While both processes can be handled by the taxpayer free of charge, most individuals find it easier, quicker, and less stressful to allow a professional to assist them with this. Since the IRS does allow third-party designees to represent taxpayers the SS-4 application does designate an area that the chosen third-party designee must prepare to identify themselves and the company they work for, if applicable.

    Furthermore, please be advised that hiring our company to serve as a third-party designee is a multi-step process that each client must go through before we will provide the services. The client must first provide the required information on the one-page application that we offer and agree to the below statement which appears directly at the bottom of the page by physically checking the box before they are allowed to proceed.

    I agree: that filling out these fields acts as a signature agreeing to the Terms of Service. I hereby authorize SimpleFilings as a 3rd party designee to submit my SS-4 form to the IRS, answer questions on my behalf if necessary, and receive my EIN to deliver to me.

    On the payment page that follows the client must then provide the payment information and elect the type of services they wish to receive. All clients must pay the standard filing fee of $128; however, the optional Instant Processing fee of $49 is not required. Additionally, even if a client reaches the payment page they are still not obligated to place the order if they are dissatisfied with the purchase price. We have included a screenshot of our EIN Checkout page to evidence that the service fee is present before payment information is provided. Lastly, after submitting payment each client is immediately directed to the page where they are able to review the prepared SS-4 application and it is at this point that they must provide their electronic signature. Please note, that our company name, the name of the agent within our company that will handle your application, our company's address and phone number are all listed on this form directly above where the client must provide their electronic signature to proceed.

    Due to the process that we have implemented to allow an individual to hire us for this service, we believe that we provide ample information to allow a client to make a well-informed purchase and apologize for the opinions that we do not.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Rex970 Mar 23, 2016

    This company is horrible!! They have their website to look very official so you think its an irs site and they will give you an ein. After taking my money and then telling me that they could not get me an ein they wouldn't give me full refund!! They kept most of my money for doing nothing but telling me they couldn't get me the number!!! I agree with a previous complainant, why hasn't the irs shut these crooks down?? They should be ashamed of themselves!!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Cacm Mar 06, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Beware: this is the site that comes up first on google when you time tax id

    Tax ID Number (TIN) - Get your Federal TIN in minutes‎
    Adwww.gov-tax.com/‎
    Fast, Secure, Easy.
    LLCs & CorporationsEstates & TrustsIndividual & PartnershipsRush Processing Available

    This is actually a link to simplefilings.com...

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Cacm Mar 06, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am very upset with the website... it was the first site that came up on google when I typed in "tax id" and I went unknowingly and completed the process, and was charged $177 with an instant processing fee of $50.00... I never received the tax id as the site indicated. I will be calling tomorrow during their business hours and demanding my money back/ tax id. Since the instant processing is a total sham.

    0 Votes
  • Em
    Emili Lauble Nov 13, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was in a hurry...went to Google...typed in IRS and somehow was lead to Simplefilings but did not notice right away...I've been on IRS in the past but still didn't realize bc again I was in a hurry...these people charged me $177 for an EIN I was trying to get through IRS.com once I realized this wasn't correct I had already processed my order. They gave me a refund for $127 and kept $50 for their greedy business...I feel like they stole $ from me...they should not come up on Google when you type in "IRS" since they are not associated with the IRS at all. I'm disgusted, if anything this situation will help me to read more carefully when I try to search for anything...Google is also to blame...greedy people never get too far in life...

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    jacqueline kupersmith Jun 29, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree with all of the above. They charged me $177 for a EIN number that I could have gotten for free from the Treasury Dept. THIS COMPANY IS A RIPOFF & A FRAUD.

    0 Votes
  • Rj
    RJN#3 Mar 11, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This company is a total rip off that is true. Unfortunately their slick web site fooled me into thinking this was legitimate. I totally missed the disclaimer at the very top of their page stating they were not government affiliated. Anyone going to this site should beware!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    madcustomer1955 Dec 05, 2013

    A total rip off. I filled out forms for LLC their online price was 30.00 less than legalzoom. wish I went there. They took my money for forming LLC transferred the application data into EIN application and filed for EIN form. That is free from IRS. They offer free 30 day no question asked refund at 25 days we called and got forming an LLC takes a little longer everything is going fine. on 35th day EIN shows up in mail. A return phone call to Linette who was hard to get to this time, stated you are past the 30 day refund period to bad so sad for you. Run from this rip off company

    0 Votes
  • Th
    Thorgon Jan 08, 2013

    I'm hiring a nanny to care for our children. I needed a federal EIN number. I was mislead to the Simplefilings.com website, where I was charged $128 to obtain it. I then find out that I could have gotten it online from the IRS website for free! Simplefilings provided ZERO service!

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Disappointed Customer. Oct 16, 2012

    Simplefilings site is very misleading at best, if not intentionally deceptive.

    Simplefilings claim to assist with the filing of documents and other filings at the local, state and federal levels, however they provide no value added services at all. Take for instance their Social Security Card Application Preparation "Service".

    Before they state the price of or even what the "service" consists of you are required to enter all the same information that you would be required to enter at the Social Security Administration web site. Once you have done this they display a "Service Fees" screen which "details" their "service's" costs
    This is what it states:
    "Preparation Assistance Services for Application for a Social Security Card
    Includes preparation of application document, customized filing instructions delivered by e-mail, and support by phone or e-mail. $37.99
    Instant Processing
    Your prepared application document and customized filing instructions are displayed immediately after checkout. +$10"

    One would assume based on the fact that they stated they are preparing the application document that they providing a service for the $37.99 they are charging you. Then they give you the option of paying an extra for "Instant Processing".

    Well it turns out that there is nothing to do, you have entered all the information required and the "processing" is merely emailing you back what you already entered with reformatted instructions that the SSA provides you.
    So although they are not doing anything illegal, Simplefilings is a highly unethical business, as they fail to disclose what they provide and infer that they actually providing a value added service and then you are not told what the service even is receive until you have received it.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Tarkose Aug 14, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Simple Filings passes themselves off as part of the Social Security Administration. Basically they provide a form which you fill out on line, I paid $58 for expedited services, and mailed the form myself.

    I was later informed by the Social Security Administration that THIS IS A SCAM!

    I basically paid $58 dollars to fill out a form and mail myself.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Tihaman Jun 18, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I went on line to get a replacement card for Social Security and was charged $48.00 for a form, which I discovered was free! Went SS Office was told I was scammed!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mike86 Apr 15, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    SimpleFilings.com offers help in making your tax papers. I am completely lame in tax reports so I decided to use their offer and make everything fast. But it turned out that they scam people… I was charged but after that nobody even contacted me… Scam detected.

    0 Votes
  • Sm
    smilely27 Jan 25, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They scammed me. I've applied for social security card, but they never sent me one. Used 2 different services, both cr%p. Don't use them it's a waste of time!

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Company_Employee Nov 04, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It is unfortunate that there are disreputable companies doing business on the Internet but we are absolutely not one of them. We are an independent document preparation and filing service that strives to succeed by providing intuitive proprietary forms, clear help content, quick processing times, and quality customer service. We aren't affiliated with any government agency, so we work only for you, and only to improve your filing experience. And our services are explained multiple times and in multiple places before any information or payment is accepted.

    We assist customers every day with documents and filings at the federal, state, and local levels, including LLC Formations, Incorporations, DBA Registrations, Federal Tax IDs (EINs), S-Corporation Elections, Entity Classification Elections, and more. People can conduct any business filing on their own, or they can enlist the help of a third party company that has performed that same filing many times before.

    A call to our office or visit to our website would have confirmed all of this. Our contact information is not hard to find. You can also learn about our various security practices and credentials. Data is never used for anything other than to complete the specifically requested service.

    Regardless, we apologize for any negative experience. We will take it to heart and always strive to continue improving.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.