The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Shophive. comThey stole my camera

D Review updated:

I placed an order online for a camera (Panasonic Lumix FS5) online to SHOPHIVE (www.shophive.com), an online shopping portal, on 25th August 2009. They promised free delivery and same day shipping through UPS Ground.

I was promptly replied through phone/email by the shophive people; they confirmed the availability of the item and asked me to deposit the money (Rs. 13990) through bank transfer. Same amount was transferred to their account

Next day I called Shophive to confirm the details. It was then that I was told that black camera is not available so either I have to wait or accept silver colour camera. I didn’t want to wait so accepted the available one. I was confirmed that the camera would be dispatched by TCS and I would receive it within a day.
On 28th August, 3 days after booking, no deliveries were made and when I contacted Shophive, I was told that camera was shipped through AMS Couriers, a lesser known company and was given their contact number and consignment number. I called the courier office and I was told that they do not deliver, I have to pick up the parcel. On the same day I picked the parcel from AMS Couriers, Moti Plaza, Murree Road Rawalpindi.
When I reached home and open the parcel, the camera and battery were missing from the parcel. The camera box was present with leads/cables and booklets/CDs but the camera was missing. I immediately called Shophive and later sent them an email.
[Emails transcript available]
I was asked by the company rep to contact the CEO Shophive, Arslan Nazir. I called him and he said that they are investigating the matter and camera was “hastily & erroneously” sent through this unknown “shady” company. I bought the story and asked for the next step. I was told that “Board of Directors” have decided to offer me 25-30% off if I still want to get another one. I was also asked to send the box back as they would use it for further investigations and filing a case against the couriers. I sent them the pack through TCS on 4th Sep 2009.

After lot of correspondence with Shophive CEO over weeks, through which he was hesitant to reply and always have to be prompted many times to get one, I agreed conditionally to book another one and get 30% off. My conditions were that if they think that the couriers stole the camera, Shophive should take up the case and inform me.
When I agreed to send them money again, they raised the price of camera to Rs. 15690. Even then, I sent them the money again through bank transfer. But after receiving the camera, for which I paid Rs. 10980 again, the Shophive plainly refused to follow up the case or return the lost camera remaining accessories which I sent to them.

In the end, I lost Rs. 10980, paid extra to get the camera. On retrospective analysis, I am sure that the “lost” camera was not sent by the Shophive people in first place.


Dr Muhammad Babar Khan
Islamabad
[protected]@gmail.com

Responses

  • Dr
    drbabarkhan Oct 22, 2009

    I have already filed complaint with CRCP and am sending them a legal notice through my lawyers.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    geeky Oct 24, 2009

    Hi, my name is Arslan Nazir and i am CEO of shophive.com, i just want to give my 50 cents on this case so that you people can judge shophive better after this.
    Shophive.com is running since 25th January 2006, its been almost 4 years since our operation and we have experienced beautifully in this business.
    We faced 1.4 million credit card frauds, we have faced cheque frauds and damage products delivered to customers, late deliveries and ample lot of stuff.
    But in the end we always try to make our customer happy and satisfied.

    We are not just going to prove ourself right but also would want to satisfy our this customer as we tried settling this by offering him 30% off.

    This is the first time we have faced this kind of case in which there was nothing inside the package. To make this case short I will write in short steps to clear things up between everyone.

    > customer ordered online
    > customer paid online
    > we dispatched package
    > courier company opened the package to check what’s inside (all courier company do it after high alert in our country)
    > they checked the camera took money from us and dispatched
    > customer called courier company
    > they said they cant deliver at that specific premises
    > customer and courier company rep had argument on phone for delivery(courier company rep got pissed)
    > customer went to collect package
    > customer opened the package when he got back and package was empty
    > customer didn’t go back to courier company to claim (I wonder why not)
    > customer called us and it was a surprise
    > we took action against courier company (which is still under process)
    > We asked our customer if he want himself to take action against courier company, he said NO.
    > We offered him to get new camera 30% off just to settle this case
    > he got the offer
    > we sent package again
    > customer received happily
    > we paid 30% just to satisfy our customer with MUTUAL CONCENT ( I wonder why our customer agreed if he wanted to be like this, we just wanted to settle this)

    Now we have filed a case against courier company and waiting for the result, if we get the claim we will GIVE CAMERA BACK to our customer

    As a proof we have that receipt of Courier Company, on that receipt basis they CANNOT deny that we didn’t dispatch the camera. (I can upload picture)

    We wanted to satisfy our customer and we thought he got the offer and its fine now until the case is resolved, BUT looking all this it seems that he is NOT.
    Now I guess we have to satisfy them, as Customer is always right.

    I would appreciate if anyone else has complaints against shophive, they should speak here NOW. I am sure I will solve all the problems as long as customer will be satisfied.

    I will also appreciate if I get good testimonials from our old customers, please share your experiences here to prove shophive.com is a reputable company and it is CUSTOMERS company.

    I also request readers of these forums/blogs not to judge one sided story and make up mind, here we try very hard to make things happen and change the thinking that all online companies are fraud, and try to convince shoppers to buy online as it saves fuel, money, parking, time and lot of stuff. We need your support and prayers.

    Thank you


    For feedback and suggestion please email at [email protected] or [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    drbabarkhan Oct 24, 2009

    Through a private mail, Mr Arslan has appologized, explained his position and promised the refund. Just being candor, I would accept that, not merely because he is refunding, but because he admitted and acknowledged. I hope, the lessons are learnt.

    Also hope that this turns out to be a positive turn for shophive to improve the flaws.

    1 Votes
  • Ya
    YaqoobkHan101 Dec 17, 2009

    Shophive.com are just scammers who buy from the market and then sell for a much higher price to customers and then at times just run away with peoples money !!

    Online Shopping in Pakistan from Shophive.com is not safe so please be very carful while shopping from them

    0 Votes
  • Ze
    Zeshan Sarwar May 18, 2010

    I live in USA andI was going to order a LCD Monotor from them for my girl friend, who lives in Multan Pakistan. After reading the whole situation the Dr. above, got into. I am afraid to place order. I tried to check them on www.resellerratings.com and found no review what so ever of this company. Thanks fot the hands up Dr Muhammad Babar Khan.

    Zeshan Sarwar

    0 Votes
  • Mu
    Mutahar Jun 13, 2010

    Two simple questions for Mr' arsalan
    1. Why they are projecting themselves as "payment on delivery" online store! His argument is suggestting they are missguiding and doing false commitment.
    2. Being such a big company why are they saving just 20 rs. On product of 10, 000 rs.Which may be difference of TcS and Ams charges just because they already recieved the money and they damn care of customers product and save 20 rs.!? ([email protected])

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    geeky Jun 14, 2010

    http://www.pakwheels.com/forums/non-wheels-discussions/119176-shophive-shopthieve-they-stole-my-camera


    please read the complete thread of 6 pages, matter has been resolved!

    we really listen to our customers!

    2 Votes
  • Za
    Zain Khan Aug 06, 2010

    I live in Canada And Checked Safe Online Shops In Pakistan The Best Site is Shophive and other Myshop and vmart. But I Like Shophive Because Shophive All Team Effort Great For Saafe Shopping And Sealed Pack And Faste Delivery. I Always Order Online Shophive. The Whole Story Of Dr Muhammad Babar Khan I am Not Agree With Becasue This Is Fault Of Courier Services Not Fault Of Shophive.

    2 Votes
  • Ehsanji Sep 16, 2010

    I was going to place an order for Nokia 6300 but after reading all this stuff, I'm going to look for the alternatives. I'll order one from the agency myself. I mean I don't want to get into trouble, I don't want empty packets with just Bluetooth and headsets etc. I mean come on! They are supposed to be delivering products through TCS, not some [censored]bags who get pissed when they get calls for support from the customers of Shophive.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    Arshad Jamal Nov 01, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    First of all Mr. Nazir does not understand that delivering the goods purchased from his Website is Shophive's responsiblity. Customer is not suppose to collect his delivery from the courier company unless he/she lives in a remote area where no courier service is available and if this is the case they should have informed the customer in first place.

    Secondly Mr. nazir has no idea why a customer purchases online? ofcourse to make purchasing easier by avoiding travell, time wasting, bargaining etc. and if these things still exists in an online purchase then either the system is really poor or the system management does not know what online purchase/customer servise is all about.

    The Way this specific customer has been treated by Shophive.com it clearly shows that the company has no standards, no professionalism and no honesty in them and this a pure sign of a small struggling company. I am not sure if should call it a company.

    0 Votes
  • Ab
    AButt Nov 24, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    guys be careful of this website and its dealings. i have sent the following email to their CEO just now.

    Hello,

    I just placed an order on your site for a Segagate External Hard Drive 500GB for Rs 6990. I also received an email stating that order is confirmed. When I called to find out when I will receive it, I was told that HD is no longer in stock and if I want one I can buy another one for a higher price.

    1- How come your website says stock is available and your people say it is not?
    2- Why I never received any call or intimation that my item is not in stock?
    3- Why is your staff unhelpful over the phone?

    I saw the notes on complaints board forum and I will, like others warn other people to not use your site as it seems shady.

    0 Votes
  • Sg
    SGul Feb 07, 2011

    I've made several purchases from shophive over the past four years. The very first time I purchased a laptop from them they sent back my bank draft, the reason given was that the laptop they had in stock (the only one) was not functioning properly and the manager there did not want to release it to me and end up with an unhappy customer. This caused a bit of a hassle as I had to get the draft cancelled at the bank, but I did appreciate the honesty of the company. Afterwards, I tried them again and over the course of the years have purchased a netbook, a printer, and two laptops and I've been very happy with the service and delivery times of the products. The only thing I do is call them to confirm the order before sending money and call again to verify that the wire transfer has been successful. I would recommend them highly. As far as the price is concerned they tend to be a 1, 000 higher than the market but I get the item at home and don't have to worry about getting scammed so it's worth the little extra for my perspective.

    1 Votes
  • Ge
    geeky Feb 08, 2011

    Now they have Cash on Delivery for Lahore, Islamabad, Rawalpindi and Faisalabad, they are safe and doing the best job then the rest

    1 Votes
  • Ka
    kashif kayani Feb 11, 2011

    I just called them today regarding a query about Samsung LE40c630 LCD. I asked the person about the warranty information. Samsung outlets in RWP/ISB said that this model is not marketed in pakistan and must have surely arrived from abroad and another thing is that samsung (orient) pakistan is offering two years warranty on all Lcd/Led tvs so howcome shophive is offering 1 year service.
    The person on the phone was not clear about what this warranty means or in other words he put me into doubt about their service and warranty. I just held back on my order and would rather buy from somewhere else.

    If any of shophive representatives read this then please feel free to explain.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    maqsood99 Mar 04, 2011

    Mr. Babar, please immediately get an FIR registered against the perpetrators of shophive, especially the CEO. Its important to get these people by the neck ! Dont listen to his bloody excuses. And people, be careful, no first pay and deliver later business. Always, COD or bank guarantee.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Rabbi Bashir Jun 19, 2011

    I am a happy custumer of shophive ... They have akways been fair... But in the particular case of Dr. I think they both are responsible and I think shophive is more rezponsible cause they should devise some system of sealing the product after courier pple check the product... And for the long ptospective of the business shophive should have offered him free product ...the business is for long view not to loss in a short view... I think shophive would learn the lesson and Mr. Arslan would act as good businessman

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Sharukh101 Mar 19, 2013

    Shophive.com is a scam . Friends got two iphones and they were repacked and they said they are factory sealed.

    1 Votes
  • Fe
    Feisal Rahimtoola Jun 12, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Shophive or whoever claims to be online store, is responsible for delivery at customer address, unless agreed otherwise! Insurance up to delivery point is normally sellers' responsibility. If at all seller insists on some payment before shipment, for small items a ten or fifteen percent advance is appropriate. Buyers should avoid making advance payments.

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    fahad sameer Apr 12, 2014

    HELLO,
    this is omer and my experience with shophive is v good... i think many comments here are from the competitors of shophive who run online business... i did not use cod but i made payment from my alfalah account and i got the order.. it repeats 4 times.. the problem here is that the doctor is a bit psycho and manupulating facts.. its just like " i went to restaurant ordered a pizza, eat half and put a cockroach in the plate and askd the manager what the hell is this.. in the end he said we will made another for you and we will not charge for this one.. so judge rightly and thoughtfully.. how the hell i am gonna accept a 30% off offer if i have already paid 100 %? it means i am paying 170% rather than 100%.. i would never accept that or i will accept it if i am a fraud like dr babar khan.. i ask dr babar psycho khan to attach the complaints he made to the authorities so we can see here .. i am sure he is a liar and he go two cameras, one with 30% off.. shame on you fake dr...

    0 Votes
  • Eh
    Ehsan Ahmed Farooqi Jun 02, 2014

    I was about to purchase led tv from shophive. Now i am confused. Dam i thought they are good.

    0 Votes
  • Jf
    jfdhvhdsjhvjkhsai Sep 07, 2014

    that so expensive pathetic ### you cheap people

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shahzaib ramzan Nov 13, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i enter credit card no. but they say that payment failed...what is your problem???

    0 Votes
  • Eh
    Ehsaan May 23, 2017

    I planning on going to buy 4k samsung tv model ku7000, since its cheap af on shop hive but the good price and all your comments make it suspicious. Idk what to do pls help.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    Moiz Akhter May 23, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi my name is Moiz. I purchased a laptop asus model no. Gl553vd from shophive.As i received the laptop it was gl553v on the box and when i called them to refund not only for the product i asked was not sent but also it was without bag so it was not complete they say that the product doesn't comes bag and for the product it has same serial number so its the same i asked...

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sajjadxml Mar 29, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i want to purchase a camera from shop hive after this i have ordered an other website https://www.shoppingbag.pk/
    i hope they will send me Original Item same as at Amazon to Pakistan

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.