The Right One Complaints & Reviews

The Right OneStay away from this company

On the day i had called the customer service to complain about the service i had recieved after i paid 2500.00 for my membership, they were like not really helpful in anything but excuses. This place is a big scam. Just to take money from you and that's it. I owed 22.00 dollar balance on the account. Then they used another scam company (collection agency) called Universal Data Service to collect more money out of me. Stay away from this company!

The Right OneDating Scam

STAY AWAY!!! The Right One is a scam. The short story:
1) I found The Right One through a website called singlesofsaltlakecity.com only to find out that their company name was different when I showed up so I couldn't do research prior to their interview.
2) They promised me introductory rates and presented me with the options $5350 and something higher than that. I felt I negotiated well and found out later that I was ONLY scammed of $800.
3) I signed a contract and they told me that the next day someone would be calling me with referrals.
4) I cancelled my contract the next day by email when no one called me. When they responded to my email, they told me that they were either too busy or sick to call me with my referrals and to give them another chance.
5) They wouldn't cancel my contract so I could get half of it back and they rejected my registered cancellation letter TWICE! I complained to the BBB and filed a dispute with my credit card company.
6) In case it was an honest mistake, I held off taking further action until I received their rebuttal (from their corporate office) saying I had received two referrals before I cancelled my contract, which is a big fat lie. (They couldn't back their lie with proof, and I had the emails where they admitted to not being able to send the referrals.) When they lied, I knew it wasn't an honest mistake, and they were liars and cheats. I filed a complaint with the attorney general's office.
7) The complaint with the BBB is still in the second round and I have yet to hear back from my credit card company. I hope to hear from the attorney general’s office soon.

Keywords: Salt Lake City Singles, Singlesofsaltlakecity, Utah Singles, Utah Dating, Utah Matchmaking, dating scam, dating service, TRO

The Right OneNot very loving

The Right One is a dating service that has apparently changed their name a couple of times, now known as elove. I signed up, went on one date, realized this was a mistake, because this girl was nothing like i had requested. So i asked for a refund but they refused, saying it was past the grace period in which refunds were allowed. You would think if they truely were interested in people they would be a little more reasonable with their customers and realistic about refunds. Should have known they only cared about money when they told me how much it was going to cost, but they are very convincing in making me think i was going to meet someone i had soething in common with.

The Right Onenot true, i am getting married

This actually is not a complaint. I joined with The Right One Denver and I have had an amazing experience. I know that they are a franchise office, so I can only assume that most of the complaints are from a different office because I have had a fantastic experience. My matches are what I've been looking for, not all of them are perfect, but that was explained to me in some detail. I have met fantastic men and I am getting married August 5th. I recommended the service to 4 of my friends and they have all had similar experiences. I highly recommend this business and I am sad that more people do not write the good things because these people do a great job.

The Right OneFraud

When I joined at 7:30 pm one night this past January & left them a message cancelling a few hours later, they insisted that I still owed them $1, 000 for no service. I sent a certified letter the very next day & they claim that I didn't cancel within 24 hours. I recevied absolutley no service from them & they ripped me off. They then claimed that I didn't cancel until 2 days later when I tried to charge back the transaction on my credit card. The company is fraudulent & I do not recommend anyone using them.

  • Valerie May 16, 2008

    I wish I found this sight before joining the Right One. They suck you into purchasing the most expensive membership they can which for me was $4000. They are nothing more than used car salesmen looking to make the score. After you spend 2 hours telling them who & what you are looking for and what attracts you to someone, they promise you quality singles who fit your stated preferences and characteristics. This is ###!!They sent me nothing but loosers. They match you with uneducated people who still live with their parents because they aren't able to make it on their own. They send people who are still married, are alcoholics and just plain dumb. Some months you get no matches at all. All they care about is making you pay the big bucks up front & then continue to charge you monthly dues as well even if they send no matches to you. I called & wrote letters to them expressing my concerns and they don't want to hear it. They say I'm being rude, unprofessional, and unrealistic using language like "looser" & "bum" to describe the matches that they have sent to me and calling them a fraud.

    Don't waste your money with this company. I wish I new then what I know now. You WON'T get your money back & that's exactly how they plan it. Complaints are all over the Better Business Bureau website as well which The Right One doesn't respond to. The Right One will never respond to you & your complaints. They just brush you under the rug & go on to their next unsuspecting victim. DON'T BE NEXT!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ri
    Richter17 Jul 24, 2009

    The Right One is a complete fraud. They will make no effort to match your profile with someone similar, so you will pay thousands of dollars for the potential to meet someone with whom you have zero chance of developing a relationship. Call to speak to a counselor and you are told that this is a "process" and it takes time to find the proper match, and then they try to sell you on renewing your contract for more introductions. A company with supposed skill at match making and with an extensive profile inquiry should be able to make reasonable matches the first or second time out, not 12th or 20th time out. Don't waste your money on this loser organization.

    1 Votes
  • Do
    Don't fall for it Sep 14, 2009

    I've read several complaints about this company but feel it necessary to add a very real warning. Unlike most people, I was able to get a refund from this company but that is because they matched me with someone who committed a first degree murder less than two weeks after being given my telephone number. Not only is this company atrociously bad at actually matching people with compatible matches, but they don't even do adequate background checks to insure that they are not risking the lives of their members. DO NOT RISK YOUR LIFE on this service that will not work. If you really want to use a dating service, use an online service that charges a fraction of the cost. Most people are naturally more cautious about online connections than they would be with someone introduced to them by a company who allegedly does background checks.

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    John4321 Dec 26, 2009

    Just wanted to add to the comments about the dating service known as The Right One.

    Now this service claims to own all the other dating sites for one. This could be so, but some how I got the feeling something was up with this service.

    Things that should concern you:
    #1 - You never get to see a picture of the person until after agreeing to be matched. They assure you they have good taste and won't match you with someone that is not "your type" which you go over in the initial interview.

    #2 - After a certain amount of time, matches are matched to you without your confirmation b/c they feel confident that they now know your heart and mind.

    #3 - Money will never be an issue. I didn't pay nearly the asking price, they just want your money.

    1st Date: Now I'm a good looking guy, but I know a woman who is outside my level. First date she was unbelievably, beautiful woman who was actually not looking for a relationship and made some excuse for why, even though we hit it off we could never be an item. She almost read like she was a plant. She even went on to warn me about continuing service with The Right One.

    #2 - Second match, sounded great with the details and she was so far outside my criteria for matching. By about 50 lbs to start with. She and I have not yet met and I am seriously considering throwing that one back and canceling the service.

    If anyone has tried any form of Class Action or law suits against The Right One I'd be interested in hearing more about it.

    1 Votes
  • Warning!! Do not get involved with this business. It is a deceptive fraudulent company.

    The Company, The Right One, uses very professional advertising without disclosing their name to the consumer. The ads lead you to believe they have professional, educated singles for you. After I filled out the questionnaire, an employee contacted me to schedule an appointment for a free consultation. The employee sent me an email to confirm the appointment using the name TRO. Only until I arrived at the appointment on Friday, March 5, 2010, did I ever see the Company's real name. I spent two hours with a high pressured sales Director promising all these great educated professional singles that make over 100K. At the end of the meeting, he showed me the prices which range from 5000 to 15000 depending on the number of referrals. After reluctantly agreeing to sign their membership for $5, 695, I found myself getting rushed into signing and initially their agreement. I left the office at 8:00 pm.

    The next morning I researched the Company, since I now had their name. I saw all the fraudulent, deceptive, situations numerous people had experienced. In the membership agreement it states that if you cancel services prior to the Company running a background check or sending you a referral, they will refund half of your money. On Mach 6, 2010, at 5:49 am., I sent a written cancellation by email as I knew they would have not had enough time to provide any services at this point. At 9:20 am., I get a call from Robert, Director, acknowledging the receipt of my cancellation. I called him back and ended up talking to him at 11:40 am.. He tried to tell me that they had already processed my background check and had referrals for me. At this point, I knew he was trying to get out of refunding half of my money. Finally, on Tuesday, March 9, I get a call from the Company stating they will refund half of my money since I did cancel before services. I have yet to see if they follow through. Even if they refund half, do they really think paying $2847.50 for two hours spent talking to a Company employee is a fair business practice?

    1 Votes
  • Ur
    Urbanguy Mar 09, 2010

    You should check with your local law enforcement or spend a few minutes with an attorney. You may find that your state has some laws in place that protects consumers from high pressure sales and would allow you to receive a full refund. Do it now, most times these laws are only good for a short period of time.

    1 Votes
  • Lm
    L_M Jan 19, 2011

    I've experienced a very similar situation with The Right One. Now they have terminated the company, thus it will be hard to go get the money back. But I would be part of a Class Action anytime.

    0 Votes

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

The Right Onefruad

when view web sites the right one dating service would keep coming up on a pop up. the site said younger women want older men. so I filled out the questions asked. phone calls keep coming for months day after day
until 10pm at night telling me how great the service was and the women who they have that want older guys
and when I joined they would show me all these great photos. after so many calls and I was on medication for
depresion I needed some help with life so I went in to speak with them. I told them I was on medication and was
so very hurt by my ex girlfriend . I was spoken to from 5pm until 10pm with very hard sales and told they had been in business for 32 years. and all the great women in Las Vegas they had. after giving 6 thousand dollars. I looked them up and found they had only been in Las Vegas a year, I sent a letter and called them
to cancel. they never sent me anything or set me up on one date. however they charged my credit card the 6 thousand. no photos and the manager the signed me up and the girl that kept calling me quit a few months later. this is a scam and no one should ever go though this. I will now have to spend money on lawyers for law suit.

  • Ve
    vegasson Mar 13, 2011

    The right one in Las Vegas charged me $6k promised photos of younger ladies did nothing . please stay away.
    very hard sale, 4 hours of on going harrassment for being single and how much better I would be.
    no photos, and 6k loss. going to court

    0 Votes

The Right OneACCUSATION: & A form of terrorism &

This is a follow-up complaint to my previous complaint against The Right One of Woburn, Ma. charging The Right One of not performing proper and compatible matchups that I expected when I paid $1595.00 for their "services". After several refusals /negotiations to give me back 1/2 of the $1595.00' I was forced to go to Woburn District Court.
The Magistrate found in favor of The Right One but in addition to the ruling against me The local director of The Right One Ann Marie IN THE COURTROOM in front of the Magistrate said : Mr. DiScipio has committed " an act of TERRORISM " because I freely put up messages to the BBB and also to The Compaint Board. I have these remarks on official court tapes and I will continue to press on until TRO gives me money back.
William R. DiScipio Sr.

  • Se
    Seraphim77 Jun 19, 2010

    An act of terrorism? My understanding of the definition of terrorism is that it is acts of violence intended to cause fear/harm/injury/death. If you have only complained in writing online and to the BBB, how does that fit the definition? Interesting...

    0 Votes
  • Th
    The Right One Jun 20, 2010

    Many complaints have been filed with the Complaint Board about The Right One, a nationwide " dating service." These complaints range from matching up a client with a person just out of jail to an act of TERRORISM against a client in a courtroom no less by management.
    These complaints are nationwide. I would like to initiate a full class lawsuit against TRO, but this takes work and money. Any lawyers, former or current clients, or former employees can help. Lets get together and put a stop to this irresponsible fraud and deception.
    [email protected]

    0 Votes

The Right OneFraudulent

Warning!! Do not get involved with this busines. It is a deceptive fraudulent company.

The Company, The Right One, uses very professional advertising without disclosing their name to the consumer. The ads lead you to believe they have professional, educated singles for you. After I filled out the questionnaire, an employee contacted me to schedule an appointment for a free consultation. The employee sent me an email to confirm the appointment using the name TRO. Only until I arrived at the appointment on Friday, March 5, 2010, did I ever see the Company's real name. I spent two hours with a high pressured sales Director promising all these great educated professional singles that make over 100K. At the end of the meeting, he showed me the prices which range from 5000 to 15000 depending on the number of referrals. After relunctantly agreeing to sign their membership for $5, 695, I found myself getting rushed into signing and intitially their agreement. I left the office at 8:00 p.m.

The next morning I researached the Compan, as now I had their name. I saw all the fraudlent, deceptive, situations numerous people had experienced. In the membership agreement it states that if you cancel services prior to the Company running a background check or sending you a referral, they will refund half of your money. On Mach 6, 2010, at 5:49 a.m., I sent a written cancellation by email as I knew they would have not had enough time to provide any services at this point. At 9:20 a.m., I get a call from Robert, Dirctor, acknowledging the receipt of my cancellation. I called him back and ended up talking to him at 11:40 a.m.. He tried to tell me that they had already processed my background check and had referrals for me. At this point, I knew he was trying to get out of refunding half of my money. Finally, on Tuesday, March 9, I get a call from the Company stating they will refund half of my money since I did cancel before services. I have yet to see if they follow through. Even if they refund half, do they really think paying $2847.50 for two hours spent talking to a Company employee is a fair business practice?

  • Lm
    L_M Jan 19, 2011

    I've experienced a very similar situation with The Right One. Now they have terminated the company, thus it will be hard to go get the money back. But I would be part of a Class Action anytime.

    1 Votes
  • Ad
    adennis Aug 25, 2012

    I used to work for TRO... I have lots of information regarding this company. TRO filed bankruptcy on the SLC and colorado offices. TRO is now doing business in Dallas as Dallas Singles and is still owned by Ted and Rachel Law!

    1 Votes

The Right OneThe Right One can get you killed!

I've read several complaints about this company but feel it necessary to add a very real warning. Unlike most people, I was able to get a refund from this company but that is because they matched me with someone who committed a first degree murder less than two weeks after being given my telephone number. Not only is this company atrociously bad at actually matching people with compatible matches, but they don't even do adequate background checks to insure that they are not risking the lives of their members. DO NOT RISK YOUR LIFE on this service that will not work. If you really want to use a dating service, use an online service that charges a fraction of the cost. Most people are naturally more cautious about online connections than they would be with someone introduced to them by a company who allegedly does background checks.

  • Ap
    Apple Pie Oct 21, 2009

    Folks,
    It's a small 6 step process... and it's fun.. go to http://www.ftc.gov/
    File your complaints against "The Right One" aka TRO... and get your money back; the more people that complain, the better the chances your refund check will show up in the mail one day...

    I'm so pissed off right now

    0 Votes

The Right OneStay away

Since I had singed the contract I was told that They would deduct $1, 000.00 they deducted $500. Because I had a good relationship with the consultant. Before i was given the discount i had to sign a Statement that I would not give them "Any Bad Press". Since then I still remain angry that they use these "tactics". STAY AWAY FROM THE RIGHT ONE.

  • Do
    Don't fall for it Sep 14, 2009

    I've read several complaints about this company but feel it necessary to add a very real warning. Unlike most people, I was able to get a refund from this company but that is because they matched me with someone who committed a first degree murder less than two weeks after being given my telephone number. Not only is this company atrociously bad at actually matching people with compatible matches, but they don't even do adequate background checks to insure that they are not risking the lives of their members. DO NOT RISK YOUR LIFE on this service that will not work. If you really want to use a dating service, use an online service that charges a fraction of the cost. Most people are naturally more cautious about online connections than they would be with someone introduced to them by a company who allegedly does background checks.

    0 Votes

The Right OneAwful experience

In 2006, I went to small claims court to reclaim money from the Right One in Dallas, TX. Mr Ted Law, the owner, represented his organization and the court ruled against my claim because I had only given The Right One a chance to match me with three of the thirteen people promised.

Mr Law, upon hearing the ruling, told the judge and myself that he would personally refund the money. He promised, if I gave him the chance to redeem the to-date ineffectual efforts to introduce me to any viable friendship or relationship candidate and he failed, he would refund my money.

Three years later in 2009, when I reminded him by letter of his promise and his company's ineffectual efforts to find a match, he first called then sent a letter stating that he would refund at least half my deposit at this point and continue his efforts to find a viable candidate to meet my criteria. When Ted Law personally called me, he wanted to ensure that I understood his dedication to finding a viable match for me and the validity of the organization's promises. He did, at that time, strike an agreement with me to refund half the money since his organization had made over eight ineffectual matches during the three years since my original agreement with them.

I signed and returned the agreement for a half-deposit refund in March 2009. In early June 2009, I called to check on the status of the payment and asked for Mr. Law. The receptionist informed me, at 4:20 PM, that everyone was out to lunch and she would check on the status of my claim and have Mr Law get back to me.

I will mention that I am now over 60 years old and an unemployed woman who was duped by a group of apparently unsavory and fraudulent business people. Ted Law and the employees of his organization seem to prey on elderly and professional people in the Metroplex and make empty promises about refunds and ethics.

If, and when I receive my promised payment, I will retract this report. Until then... the type of organization the Right One and Mr. Ted Law represents is obvious.

  • Ci
    cindill Jul 06, 2009

    I also joined the Right One in Dallas and such a rip-off. The matches were totally wrong and the high pressure sales was terrible. And I fell into their trap. I complained to the Better Bureau about them and they instantly stopped my account and put it on suspension but still made me pay out the contract! They only made 4 matches within an 6 month time frame and not one of them was right.

    Oh they definitely make empty promises that is for sure. They prey on people and don't think twice about it. These people are scam artists and definitely have no morals or values. Definitely stay away from this place. I hope your promised payment comes through. I feel your pain.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Don't fall for it Sep 14, 2009

    I've read several complaints about this company but feel it necessary to add a very real warning. Unlike most people, I was able to get a refund from this company but that is because they matched me with someone who committed a first degree murder less than two weeks after being given my telephone number. Not only is this company atrociously bad at actually matching people with compatible matches, but they don't even do adequate background checks to insure that they are not risking the lives of their members. DO NOT RISK YOUR LIFE on this service that will not work. If you really want to use a dating service, use an online service that charges a fraction of the cost. Most people are naturally more cautious about online connections than they would be with someone introduced to them by a company who allegedly does background checks.

    0 Votes

The Right OneFraud, Scam, Sales Pressure

After reviewing your site as well as consumeraffairs.com, it is rather obvious that there is a serious problem with this company. I have fallen victem to the same scam, just like so many others. Complaint details? I concur with all of the postings that I have read as my complaints are the same. The only positive I had was dealing with Ray in the King of Prussia office. Very nice, pleasant, and helpful. However, Ray was replaced by a rude, crude, socially unacceptable "director" who was also down right nasty! My strong advise; Don't deal with these creeps. As mentioned, I concur with all that I have read on this site as well as consumeraffairs.com. If anyone should hang by the balls it is the owners of this outfit. I, like all the others, have been ripped off by these creeps. Their faces should also be posted on Americas Most Wanted!!

  • Je
    Jennifer Brown Mar 07, 2009

    I have been contacted by the Right One constantly since filling out an online form about meeting someone (for marriage). I finally agreed to set an appointment to meet them today, so went online to remind myself of the address. I then ran across the plentiful complaints about them, so called to cancel the appointment. When I did, the clerk harrassed me about cancelling the appointment, and that I was wasting the counselor's time. I told her I was going to end the call, and I did so (she actually kept talking at me as I was hanging up). She then called back my cell phone twice from a local number, then twice under a Restricted number. The final time she left a message saying, 'only cowards hang up'. And I was a potential customer, proving what was said regarding the complaints being correct. Evil always comes to the fore.

    Interestingly, years ago, I was put through the sign on the dotted line thing, then cancelled the next day, and they wouldn't let me out of the $3, 000 charge (and I hadn't even begun to use their services). This was a company called Great Expectations. I shared this information with The Right One in the earlier days of them insisting on setting an appointment. They said absolutely they were nothing like that, yet they refused to discuss costs over the phone. And this was during the time I was unemployed. Knowing full well I wasn't going to be able to pay at all at that time. I shared with them that I couldn't even afford to bus fare to come out to their office, but they kept calling every few days.

    Thank you for your help in advance of getting involved with them!

    Jennifer Brown

    1 Votes
  • Do
    Don't fall for it Sep 14, 2009

    I've read several complaints about this company but feel it necessary to add a very real warning. Unlike most people, I was able to get a refund from this company but that is because they matched me with someone who committed a first degree murder less than two weeks after being given my telephone number. Not only is this company atrociously bad at actually matching people with compatible matches, but they don't even do adequate background checks to insure that they are not risking the lives of their members. DO NOT RISK YOUR LIFE on this service that will not work. If you really want to use a dating service, use an online service that charges a fraction of the cost. Most people are naturally more cautious about online connections than they would be with someone introduced to them by a company who allegedly does background checks.

    1 Votes
  • An
    Angel in San Diego Mar 25, 2010

    I too have read the many many numerous comments on this company and unfortunately, I have to agree this company to be a complete rip off! Like the others on this site and on Consumer Reports website, I too was promised quality matches by the agent, only to meet guys who do not meet anywhere near the criteria I requested. I told the agent that I wanted to meet men 5' 11" and over and the first guy was much shorter than I am!! (Perhaps their measuring criteria is different than standard measuring and they mistook 5 foot 4 inches as 6 feet???) I know that this situation is far more pathetic than funny, but if anyone out there is considering doing business with this company, please save yourself hundreds and/or thousands of dollars because all this company will do successfully is debit your bank account on time each month while it avoids your phone calls! If it is too late and you - like the rest of us - have already been duped into paying, then get your money's worth and let others know the type of company The Right One really is! Write a review daily, weekly, or even monthly. If nothing else, we who have paid for this so-called service can get gratification out of knowing we are saving many others from the same ripped-off - robbed - cheated - disheartened - duped - hoodwinked - vamboozled feeling that the rest of us are experiencing! Word of mouth is a powerful tool! Let's utilize it!

    2 Votes
  • Ev
    EvelynTRO Aug 24, 2010

    I’m a female counselor for The Right One and have been for the past 3 years.
    I’ve read the above comments and complaints and can validate that there has never been a Ray that worked in The Right One in the King of Prussia Office in the past 3 years. You may think it’s silly for me to state this being that the only positive comment was about “Ray”, but the fact is I pride myself on honesty. We are NOT for everyone & it is impossible to make everyone happy when dealing with emotions. We are not perfect, nor are any service out there whether it is a matchmaking service or even a cable or internet service. However we pride ourselves on doing the best we can to provide a safe way of meeting quality singles. If you’re truly interested in finding someone that meets your morals, values & interests than contact us & find out the information first hand from our company. We must be doing something right if we’ve been around for over 30 years across the U.S., but focus only on the King of Prussia office because the franchises are individual owned. We enroll upwards of 30 new members per week within a 60 mile radius of the King of Prussia office… do the math… there are plenty of successful matches and marriages that out way the few complaints that are posted. Unfortunately it’s a known fact that people will always post unhappy results rather than the thousands of happy & satisfied people that are now living happily ever after.

    -1 Votes
  • Tr
    TRO Blows Chunks Sep 10, 2014

    This company... I've been fighting off and on with them for over 10 years just to get them to match me with a few people who fit my very basic requests (no kids, and don't want any). You can read the entire saga at TROBlowsChunks.tripod.com.

    I have the direct contact information for Paul Falzone, the slimy rat who started The Right One, Together Dating, eLove, and who knows how many other scammy dating websites. If you have been taken by this company, please contact me at [email protected] Right now I'm collecting stories, as an effort toward a possible class action lawsuit against this man.

    0 Votes

The Right OneMisleading service

I joined The Right One after 5 hours of interviewing(at 11:30) at night on May 5th 2008. I put down $1, 500.00 and signed an agreement for a remaining balance of $4995.00. I was told if I cancelled within 72 hours, I would only owe $95.00 processing fee. I called customer service the next day to cancel (left a message) and sent a certified letter of cancellation on May 7th. The person who interviewed me called to find out why I had left a message on their recording and I told her I sent a letter to cancel and I wanted my $1, 500.00 back. She stated the "agreement" says I don't get it back. I have two problems with that statement. They gave me a packet of information. On the "agreement" the $1, 500.00 is called an "Initiation Fee" and the total price I owe is $5995.00. On the form they filled out for the direct debit from my bank, the $1, 500.00 is a "down payment" and the total I owe is $4995.00. How much do I REALLY owe? Was it an "initiaion fee" or a "down payment" I gave them? They have yet to answer that question. I would NEVER have signed a document nor written a $1, 500.00 check if I didn't for a moment think I wouldn't be able to cancel and get my money (or a portion) of it back. I wasn't even a member for 24 hours before I called to cancel and officially cancelled well within the "72 Hours" I was told I had. Now, they are telling me that based on the "agreement" I signed at 11:30 at night, they don't owe me any money. Heck, they cashed my check 2 days AFTER they knew about my cancellation. I fully expected for them to have me pay the $95.00 I was told I may have to pay and refund the rest. Boy was I wrong. I received a letter from them on May 19, 2008 and they will NOT refund my $1, 500.00 because of "services" they provided to/for me and the "agreement" I signed. They haven't done anything for me.

  • Do
    Don't fall for it Sep 14, 2009

    I've read several complaints about this company but feel it necessary to add a very real warning. Unlike most people, I was able to get a refund from this company but that is because they matched me with someone who committed a first degree murder less than two weeks after being given my telephone number. Not only is this company atrociously bad at actually matching people with compatible matches, but they don't even do adequate background checks to insure that they are not risking the lives of their members. DO NOT RISK YOUR LIFE on this service that will not work. If you really want to use a dating service, use an online service that charges a fraction of the cost. Most people are naturally more cautious about online connections than they would be with someone introduced to them by a company who allegedly does background checks.

    1 Votes
  • Lm
    L_M Jan 19, 2011

    I've experienced a very similar situation with The Right One. Now they have terminated the company, thus it will be hard to go get the money back. But I would be part of a Class Action anytime.

    1 Votes
  • Tr
    TRO Blows Chunks Sep 10, 2014

    Hi Valerie,

    I'm sorry you got scammed as well. I've have been fighting off and on with this putrid company for over 10 years. Right now I'm collecting stories from people in the hopes of submitting them to attorneys general in several states where this company did business, and possibly bringing about a class action lawsuit.

    Anyone who has been scammed by this company can contact me at [email protected], and read my story (it's long!) at TROBlowsChunks.tripod.com.

    I have the direct contact information for Paul Falzone, the shyster who ran this operation. Before TRO it was Together Dating, now it's eLove. He seems to dissolve his company every few years and make a new one, to make it difficult to sue or prosecute him. Maybe if we all band together we can get some attention.

    0 Votes

The Right Onefalse statements

The Right One is a matchmaking service. I am a dissatisfied member. I met with their rep and asked how many available members were in my age range in the immediate area. They told me prior to signing a contract that they had numerous matching members currently available to meet that matched my desired criteria. In fact I re-asked the same question 2 more times to be sure and was assured each time that there were numerous matching members immediately available. They also indicated I could purchase an option to put my account on hold temporarily in case I wanted to continue to see a particular member since without the hold option I would continue to receive matching member referrals every 30 days, or sooner if I desired. This further reinforced the idea that they had numerous matching members immediately available. The contract does state that referrals are made on an as-available basis. Since I lived in a highly populated area and the representative made it quite clear that there were numerous immediately available matching members I believed them. I joined to receive a total of 10 matching member referrals. I promptly received contact information on a matching member. I decided to move on to my next match and requested info on another matching member. Then I was told that there were no other available members and regardless of what I was told the contract states member referrals will be made on an as-available basis. I requested a refund and told that no. My mistake is that I believed what they said. Had they indicated that referrals really will be on an as-available basis as stated in the contract I never would have joined as opposed to making false statements I would not have joined. After a verbal complaint I sent a written complaint to the right one and to the Better Business Bureau for assistance. So far the Right One has not replied to my letter or to the BBB.
As a consumer I suggest you avoid this company since you cannot believe what they say. I also see that there are numerous complaints filed with Consumer Affairs.

  • Valerie Jun 04, 2008

    I joined this dating service almost 2 years ago and have had nothing but poor customer service and a sincere lack of interest on the company's part to provide the service that I have paid for. I have left numerous email messages for the past 2 months and still cannot get a response. The "matches" they have provided me are complete opposites of what I have requested (divorced, have kids, etc.). This service is a waste of money. I cannot see how they have a marriage every day when they won't even respond to a customer in over 2 months. I want my money back and have no place to turn. I have filed complaints with the BBB and that did not help anything. Stay away from this business.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jolyn Jul 09, 2008

    I was so sorry to here of your experience. Hopefully more people will check this company out before even going in for an interview. They use very high pressure sales tactics, and they definitely do not have all of the members that they claim to have.

    0 Votes
  • Jg
    JG Aug 19, 2008

    Contact me if you want. I'm exploring a class action suit against Together. They are not honoring the spirit of the contract with me, either, as I requested caucasian women and I have been round and round and round with these lowlifes and the latest match was an Indian woman. The one before that was hispanic. A couple of matches prior to that was a mother of two. I requested no children.

    No matter how much I complain, they CONTINUE to send me matches outside even the most BASIC criteria that I told them I wanted.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    Scot Aug 05, 2009

    I paid a great deal of money in 03/08, with assurances there were several men out there who matched who live in Milwaukee/Waukesha Counties. After several weeks, I received one referral; a person I already knew, the other was not what I was looking for. I called 3 times, and they told me "to be patient." It's June, and I'm sick of this. I have been scammed! Now, according to the contract, they tell me they will not refund the money. I'm going to small claims court.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Don't fall for it Sep 14, 2009

    I've read several complaints about this company but feel it necessary to add a very real warning. Unlike most people, I was able to get a refund from this company but that is because they matched me with someone who committed a first degree murder less than two weeks after being given my telephone number. Not only is this company atrociously bad at actually matching people with compatible matches, but they don't even do adequate background checks to insure that they are not risking the lives of their members. DO NOT RISK YOUR LIFE on this service that will not work. If you really want to use a dating service, use an online service that charges a fraction of the cost. Most people are naturally more cautious about online connections than they would be with someone introduced to them by a company who allegedly does background checks.

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Garrett Jun 28, 2010

    I went to The Right One in 2017 because I was living in Salt Lake City and wanted to find a non-religious wife.

    I was warmly received and filled out the paperwork as the first stage of their qualification process. For the next stage, I was brought into the rear office of a "matchmaking counselor, " who interviewed me in minute detail about whom I was looking for and all pertinent aspects of myself (including my income level) for about two hours.

    Throughout this interview, I received several strong, explicit assurances that they had precisely what I was looking for "in stock."

    Finally, they brought out the price list, which had different packages at $5000, $7500 and $10000, or thereabouts. We spent half an hour discussing this, the "counselor" using her high-pressure sales tactics, leaving the room several times, etc. I talked her down to $2500 for 10 referrals, which I felt was worth it based on her promise of already having just the one I described.

    A few days later, someone else called, introducing himself as my new matchmaking counselor. He stated that he had someone ready for me to meet, and read off her description. I was surprised that she met only a few of the criteria I had given during the interview. Indeed, she was religious, which I had strongly emphasized I didn't want. He then suggested another girl, who was an even worse fit. I said I'd wait for a better "referral."

    After speaking with this guy, I realized that my initial "matchmaking counselor, " whose intimate interview with me had given me the distinct impression that she would be my actual matchmaker, was simply the company's high pressure sales negotiator whose job was to apply pressure and tell lies in order to make the sale. In actuality, her "matchmaking" job was to determine whether I qualified as a good "match" for the company -- personally and financially. She just filled out my profile papers and gave them to someone else to manage who never met me. It was subsequently apparent that the new person was just going off her scribbled notes and checkboxes.

    A week or two later, I got another call from him, this time with someone who fit about 80% of my criteria. We went on a date, but without much chemistry. This happened a couple more times until I relocated from Salt Lake that same year.

    Another absurdity was that no photos of "referrals" were provided, with them only giving you vague descriptions of how beautifully attractive everyone was. Then, of course, you go through the trouble of a wasted blind date, and The Right One checks off the number of your remaining "referrals."

    0 Votes
  • Sm
    Smarter Than Average Bear! Nov 30, 2010

    This is almost funny. I am a professional bookkeeper/administrative person in Dallas. I was sending out my resume and saw a great ad for "Member Relations Manager". Sent my resume and received a call from Mr. Law (went to my voice mail). Before I called him back I thought I would do a background check on the company. I have since read everyone's complaints regarding the company. Needless to say, I don't believe I need a job that bad! Can you imagine having to deal with all the unhappy clients that he has accumulated??? Talk about a miserable workday! Thanks to all of you guys for your comments and no thanks to Mr. Law! By the way, I am a single, attractive, humorous female that would rather take my chances of meeting someone at a convenience store than to work with him!!! LOL!

    1 Votes
  • Lm
    L_M Jan 19, 2011

    I've experienced a very similar situation with The Right One. Now they have terminated the company, thus it will be hard to go get the money back. But I would be part of a Class Action anytime.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    TRO Blows Chunks Sep 10, 2014

    Hi Steve,

    I'm sorry you got scammed as well. I've been fighting off and on with this putrid company for over 10 years. Right now I'm collecting stories from people in the hopes of submitting them to attorneys general in several states where this company did business, and possibly bringing about a class action lawsuit.

    Anyone who has been scammed by this company can contact me at [email protected], and read my story (it's long!) at TROBlowsChunks.tripod.com. I have the direct contact information for Paul Falzone, the shyster who ran this operation. Before TRO it was Together Dating, now it's eLove. He seems to dissolve his company every few years and make a new one, to make it difficult to sue or prosecute him. Maybe if we all band together we can get some attention.

    0 Votes

The Right OneFraud!

I am writing this because I feel a moral obligation to warn any potential employees or customers of The Right One about what I know. This Dallas company owned by Ted Law is a dating service that charges an estimated $500 per introduction, with memberships ranging from $500 to $15, 000. First and foremost, they make their money by keeping you SINGLE. As long as they can bamboozle you with their charm and fast talk they will continue taking your money. Second, if they were truly good at what they did and genuinely cared about helping people find the one they are looking for, it would not take 30 introductions. During my last week as an employee there, I was reprimanded for not setting up an appointment for a 58-year-old Nigerian man who wanted to meet a 20-year-old white or Asian woman. Even though I knew for a fact that kind of match was unattainable, the only thing management was upset about was losing a potential client with over $150, 000 annual income. Although I would be paid a hefty sales commission, I could not, with clear conscience, accept that client and set up his appointment.

In 1988, when my daughter was born, I made a decision to treat everyone I come in contact with, the exact same way Id want them to treat my child. With that said, dear Mr. Ted Law: I wish for you ALL that you deserve. I will pray for your children because no amount of money can buy true peace of mind. This company's lack of ethics does not end with the clients. Lets examine the way they treat their employees. When a person just starts the job, the company will make sure their first two or three paychecks will be calculated correctly, just to see if they can make them money.

After that it will forever be: I am sorry, we will fix your check next week, or the next week. Or, Sorry, its actually your own mistake; you did not keep accurate records. On three separate occasions, I found out that the sales I made were not properly reflected on the books I had access to. Ted, the $3, 700 that you screwed me out of in a 4 month period keep it! Money made off preying on people weaknesses is the kind of business I want no part of. I suppose if you are a small time drug dealer deciding to become legitimate, this job might be a step up. It is still legal for now, but its just NOT RIGHT!

Peace and love!

  • Me
    Melissa Jun 25, 2008

    I completely agree with this comment. They use a book to train you and expect you to memorize the book. If you happen to go in for a consultation you will see them walk in with a book. The packages range from 3600-15000 which is ridiculous. Oh and if you cant afford the packages...they leave the room talk to Ted, Shane, or Lonnie and then they go off the sheet that has all your financial info on it to see what you can pay. They get you to trust them and then they ask you what you have in savings, checkings and credit cards and they really do expect you to max your card out. They never have the people they say they have. If your between 20-40 and your a female dont even bother paying...you can get in for free! If your a black female/male find some other place to go. They lie to get your money and then put you on the backburner and never match you. Ted Law and Shane Weisberg are the owners and by the way...it does not take a couple of weeks to do a background check. They use publicdata.com. It takes 2 seconds to run a background check and its not 300 its like .10. Your getting screwed on that too. Anyone can do the matching in any office. They just match you by the compatability profile numbers. If your an older gentleman looking for a younger woman...good luck! If your lookng for a slender woman...good luck. Non smoker...sorry about your luck! you will never deal with the same team member more than three times because they are always firing their staff. They have the highest turnover rate. The employees are let go because they are not swindling enough money out of their "members". Your better off finding someone on your own. The Right One is the wrong one and you will regret signing anything with this company.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Sharon Oct 15, 2008

    I called channel 2 news in NYC and had them to my house to do an interview about this 'scam' service. I feel like I may have done some good by warning unsuspecting singles (like I was when I spent 3K and signed up). Too much to write about how the service was disappointing and also told legally, I have no case. Anyhow, would like to see this place go under.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Darlene St.John Jan 30, 2009

    Has anyone filed a class action or anything on this company????

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    Craig May 07, 2009

    I was completely scammed by them just as the rest of you say. They had a tap to my checking every month sucking out the funds. I learned immediately after being pressured to sign up right then and there with their intimidating sales pitches what a mistake I had made. I starting checking them out on the web and have found nothing but complaints like these. I didn't think I had a way out, so I've paid for the last year, despite ceasing to use them for anything. This month I had my bank stop their automatic drafts with another 2 years left on my "contract". I don't know what will happen as a result of just cutting them off, but I will fight tooth and nail to give these people another dime of my money. They've felt like a leech stuck to me for the pat 12 mos...

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    trog Jul 30, 2009

    I have had a very bad experience with "The Right One"... These people are crooks and should all be in jail. Never in my life have I delt with the most un-honest and ruthless people. High pressure ...and no for an answer... is not an answer. Unending baby crying ...demanding of your money. WE ARE HUMAN...and after being hounded and repeatedly asked to do what they want...us nice people give in and become prey for those "Right One" folks to totally rip us off. SHAME ON ALL OF THOSE " RIGHT ONE" FOLKS...GOD WILL JUDGE YOU... YOU WILL PAY... I am a nice loving person and I did look into the service the "THE Right One" had to offer... BIG MISTAKE...I have been brought up in a family who does offer trust...with the hope that people will not take advantage of you. I still want to believe that...but after dealing with these people, I have a new view of what ### is out there. And yes..."The Right One" is ###...TOTAL ###. I was high pressured into joining the club...to start...$1000. Within 2 hours I changed my mind and asked to cancel the enrollment. I was sent home with the enrollment papers half filled out...and asked to send the information to them in the mail...once I agreed to join, it was " GIVE ME YOUR CC NUMBER. AND BE ON YOUR WAY. I was literally walked to door and asked to complete the paperwork at home and send it in...The sales person said they had another appointment and I had to leave. I left feeling I had just been scammed. I was...and I knew it...so much for that trust thing I spoke about. I called "The Right One" when I got home...about an hour later and said I wished not to continue their enrollment process...and please refund my CC the $1000...that is when the ### hit the fan...I was told 'NO" I signed a document...and they wanted the remaining $1500 for a total of $2500...I must say I am a nice guy...but I WILL NOT STAND FOR FLAT OUT THEFT OF MY HARD EARNED DOLLARS...PERIOD. I got to work...I contacted the Texas attorney general...where this company originated...I contacted my state attorney general...explained everything...made a BBB complaint...and then called the head quarters of the "THE RIGHT ONE" and gave them HELL...day after day after day...people...DO NOT LET THESE PEOPLE ABUSE YOU...STAY TRUE TO YOURSELVES... CALL AND COMPLAIN EVERYDAY...WITHOUT END...STAY ON THE BBB... CALL YOUR LOCAL NEWS OUTLET...LET PEOPLE KNOW ABOUT THESE CROOKS...PLEASE USE YOUR IMAGINATION...A WRONG OR THIS TYPE OF THEFT MUST BE EXPOSED...GET A LAWER WHO WILL HELP...THE PEOPLE ARE LIARS AND CROOKS...THEY MUST BE STOPPED...I never stopped until I got the message to them that I was not going away...until I got my money back...3 months later...I got my $1000 back...and ALL of you fine folks should as well...I'm telling you GET MAD AND DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT>>>>I WILL NOT STAND FOR FLAT OUT LIES AND THEFT OF MY MONEY AND YOU SHOULD NOT EITHER..."THE RIGHT ONE" ARE FLAT OUT CON ARTISTS AND MUST BE STOPPED...NOW...UNITE PEOPLE...WE ARE TO GOOD TO BE TREATED LIKE THIS...SCREW YOU..."THE RIGHT ONE"

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Don't fall for it Sep 14, 2009

    I've read several complaints about this company but feel it necessary to add a very real warning. Unlike most people, I was able to get a refund from this company but that is because they matched me with someone who committed a first degree murder less than two weeks after being given my telephone number. Not only is this company atrociously bad at actually matching people with compatible matches, but they don't even do adequate background checks to insure that they are not risking the lives of their members. DO NOT RISK YOUR LIFE on this service that will not work. If you really want to use a dating service, use an online service that charges a fraction of the cost. Most people are naturally more cautious about online connections than they would be with someone introduced to them by a company who allegedly does background checks.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    Never here Jan 26, 2010

    They truly are a bunch of money hungry, unprofessional, immorral, disrespectable, cold blooded and ruthless people specifically the (dallas) location's supervisors; Erin Judge and the Owners TED and RACHEL LAW, where I was unfortunate enough to go looking for a job. Thinking I would make good money and that the company is so called amonst the many of the oldest match making andhelpfull to many people I came to a conclusion that I wil work for it. But it only took me a week to understand what they truly are.Their way of doing buisness irritates me they basically scorn people and mislead people they are truly hungry for money and they keep on harrasing people who ask not to be called. And their pitch that the agents use is very unprofessional and is used to identify what they are looking for YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY!. I will suggest all the people who are looking for other alternative's rather then meeting people at places like school, your Church, work or your social gatherings to never look upon this comapany, PLEASE it's a scam I know it.They even tell the employees during their 3 day intmidating training class (but the guy who trains BRAD seems like the only genuine personality there) that they are more lenient towards individuals who make more money and they bash at people who make less like under 45k or lets say they get there little money they have, and then totally ignore them and put them off and focus on people who put more money in their pockets. And I would advise all you out there who are eligable to get a job somewhere else and well qualified individulas and NOT in any of these categories: simply a bum or a loser, or a drug dealer, or on drugs, or really desperatly needing a job bc you need some money plz don't work there or apply to this company. And specially if your young they treat you like crap. I'm 20 and a college student I applied here because my sister worked for them and I knew the money she made so I gave it a try, because I really needed the money and retail jobs were just not enough anymore, and I was tired of working in retail because I wasn't getting enough hours basically getting paid less like $8.00 hour. So I applied and called and got called for an interview and then evetnually got hired becuase they obviously don't have too much critera considering how bad there reputition is, and besides I was a perfect fit at the time to them probably becuase I have a sweet girly voice and I'm bubbly and more importanly a young girl who can again fill thier pockets by bringing in needy men. But as soon as they realized I will do no good because I showed up to thier point less unmotivational and truthfully harsh meeting a MINUTE late they said "we have to part ways" like just like that, litterly a minute late. I'm so pissed and mad that I'm actually taking out time to write all of this because I don't want somone else in my shoes their terrible they dont even care if your young.And in a very unethical and criticizing way they told me that I was a bad fit, and that not only being a minute late was counted against me but they counted something against me that totally blew me away they said that I had left something that belonged to me on another persons desk and that I was careless, I mean seriously like stuff happends, and to top it off they counted something against me that also is usually something very small and a lot of employers would overlook is the time sheet, Okay first of all just because I asked that SUPERVISOR whos very corky and fake ERIN that I don't remember seeing it and if they could show me it again she counted that against me too, people are forget full and its there job as "supervisors", or whatev they are they truly could only be qualified for such a small irrational company anyway.They just dont care but why would they care all they really care about is MONEY from naive people. So PLESE don't ever apply if you have morals and don't ever use them if you care about where your money goes. Thank you! :)

    0 Votes
  • Mc
    MCR730 Jul 02, 2011

    I recently just quit working at the Salt Lake City location. I was there for only two weeks but I could tell they are scan artists. No one sign up for This service because they don't have people to match you with!! They are all liers! I did not even get paid!! First BRAD says that I will certainly get paid on time and thatmy check is on it's way, well pay day comes and all he does is give me the run around " oh it will be here at noon, ok 2:30, ok 4:30 at the latest, ok 7:00 pm, ok tomorrow I will have it etc.." they are crooks I am going to my local news about this because they have 6 other employees they haven't paid and about 9 other people just that I know of trying to sew them. Anyone out there know If we could get a warrant to seize their belongings because the owe us money? I heard of a guy doing that he would auction off the companies things unless they paid him and he was escorted by the police! If anyone has input I would really enjoy it please!!!

    0 Votes

The Right OneScam and cheating!

I went to their Austin based location and was met by very nice people until you sign on the dotted line. They take your drivers license, your banking information and your credit card and go to the back to verify that you are eligible to become a member. What a lie. They offer you dating packages starting at $3,000 to $5,000 and the such for a promise of 10 matches. They tell you that the dates are not blind. They told me I would have access to hundreds of people in my area and that also was a lie. I got 3 calls and all of them did not call back once they found out I was an hour away from their location and they acted like they were not interested in meeting anyone anyway. The home office called for a follow up and I told them I was not happy and that I no longer wanted to do this for fear of it not being what they said. I got referred to their home office which never ever returned my call when I said I wanted to cancel my membership. All the time they were not calling' they were debiting my checking account every single month for $200. You never get a return call until I finally decided to simply close my bank account they were drawing the money from. Then the phone was ringing off the wall. Ohh the really sleazy tacky part is when they call anyone on your personal reference sheet and tell them you are a bill skipper and that they cannot find you. When you fill out the long personal information sheet, they also call your ex-wife and anyone and everyone that has nothing whatsoever to do with you being a member of their little club. The person named ASHLEY from their office called my ex-wife and then called me non-stop and accused me of being a liar and everything else. She said that I owed them money even when I have not had one single date from any of their phantom dates or not one single phone call from them in 2 months. She is a complete liar. You have no recourse or anything else and they threaten to sue you and take you to court and ruin your entire life. This has to be the worst business I have ever seen in my entire life. If anyone would start a class action suit, I'd be the first to sign up. Ohh they also don't sell your membership if you want out you have to list it on Ebay or something like that with no results. They should be shut down and ordered to pay back every single dollar they have conned people out of. Total and complete rip-off!

  • Ca
    Carolyn V. Apr 03, 2008

    From their illigal signs that are posted all over the country... to their deceptive promises, The Right One is DEFINITELY The Wrong One. I have paid $2, 000 and in one year, I spoke to 3 men and got calls from 2 others, and they were LAME. I asked for 1/2 of my money back and they refused. It is an absolute SCAM! DON'T ever trust this company. They took my photo and said it was "just for our files" and then told a prospective date that he could "pay a little bit of extra money to look at women's photos." Give me a break! Where is John Stossel when we need him! C.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jeff bebernes Jun 03, 2008

    All true; A dozen calls to right one to find out what is going on; and told eleven times they would call right back but never did. One call I was hung up on. My first and only match was not interested in long term relationships which I am; so did not meet. The right one promised as many dates as I wanted the first month. I have now been a member for a month with no dates. I will join any class action lawsuit against this co. They do not deliver what they say at all; not even remotely close ! I quit paying them any money as of today. Sue me if you want; but expect a counter suit! Strength in #'s.

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    jim Nov 22, 2008

    The right one is definately a rip off. They put up signs all over the place in your city and tell you they are a lot of singles there. They tell you that you will meet 15 people guarenteed in 24 months. I have only met 3 in 14 months. I only met one this year. They told me there are a lot of singles, but now tell me they dont have anyone. Then they say my word against theirs.

    Dont sign up! You will get ripped off!

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Complainant478667534 Mar 05, 2009

    I joined for $300 because I'm an attractive woman making 6 figures with very little time to date. I only got 3 dates in a year and one in person. I didn't use the membership after a couple of months because of the lack of dates.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    ScrewedbyTRO Dec 16, 2009

    I cannot tell you how much I wished I had done my homework before letting those scam artists con me into thinking they cared about me and would help me find the right person. Please, read these reviews and give your money to a company that cares about their clients.

    0 Votes
  • Lm
    L_M Jan 08, 2010

    For starters check this: http://www.consumeraffairs.com/dating_services/right_one.html

    One star is even too much for this scam company. I've contacted them in December 2008 and they immediately promised me great contacts, and their consultants sounded so very confident about what they do and about their experience and knowledge in the metier. I was positively impressed and thought "why not, let's give this guys a chance. Let's see what this can bring".

    Their price was $7, 000 but I got an amazing discount, thus I had to pay only $2, 600. What a great deal ... someone would think, right? I still had a little of mistrust, because everything sounded so great and if I were born yesterday and didn't know the way the world works, maybe I would have trusted them 100%. However, I wanted to give it a try and I paid within 1 week in full.

    So, I had to fill out their "detailed" questionnaire and I really trusted them when they said "we know exactly what you are looking for and we have many women of that type". Thus I was very interested to start meeting the first ladies.

    Short time after I got the first introduction and when I met her I couldn't believe my eyes, she was chubby, had bad teeth and had some real mental issues. I was shocked. This has put me on the defense and questioning this companys' skills and their professionality. They seem to have completely disregarded my preferences, because they take them just as "preferences", but nothing serious. How stupid.

    They sent me another candidate who was a fun person to talk to, but after exchanging some pictures with her, I realized that she wasn't at all the type of woman I was looking for. AGAIN this company completely disregarded my preferences.

    Months later I got another introduction who I talked on the phone with once or twice, and that's it. No more calls, because she "was busy" ... how weird. How dishonest. And what a very poor service from TheRightOne.

    Now, after almost more than one year after I've signed the contract and some messages from me telling them that I will hire a lawyer and file a lawsuit against them, I got another introduction of a person who NEVER answers her phone. How weird again.

    I'm not sure if this company is run by imbecils, or maybe they just think I'm completely dumb and it's good enough to just send out some contacts, time will pass and everybody will be happy.

    I think that their system would work if they would have enough people in their database, which I strongly believe they don't. At least not in my preference group. And this is a huge problem since they have promised to deliver.

    They should have let it be and aknowledge that they don't have anyone who would fit the preferences I'm looking for. It's that easy. But they were hungry for money, they got it, and now they fail completely to deliver and fulfill the contract.

    0 Votes
  • Ph
    phaedrus3 Jun 27, 2010

    I went to The Right One in 2006 because I was living in Salt Lake City and wanted to find a non-religious wife.

    I was warmly received and filled out the paperwork as the first stage of their qualification process. For the next stage, I was brought into the rear office of a "matchmaking counselor, " who interviewed me in minute detail about whom I was looking for and all pertinent aspects of myself (including my income level) for about two hours.

    Throughout this interview, I received several strong, explicit assurances that they had precisely what I was looking for "in stock."

    Finally, they brought out the price list, which had different packages at $5000, $7500 and $10000, or thereabouts. We spent half an hour discussing this, the "counselor" using her high-pressure sales tactics, leaving the room several times, etc. I talked her down to $2500 for 10 referrals, which I felt was worth it based on her promise of already having just the one I described.

    A few days later, someone else called, introducing himself as my new matchmaking counselor. He stated that he had someone ready for me to meet, and read off her description. I was surprised that she met only a few of the criteria I had given during the interview. Indeed, she was religious, which I had strongly emphasized I didn't want. He then suggested another girl, who was an even worse fit. I said I'd wait for a better "referral."

    After speaking with this guy, I realized that my initial "matchmaking counselor, " whose intimate interview with me had given me the distinct impression that she would be my actual matchmaker, was simply the company's high pressure sales negotiator whose job was to apply pressure and tell lies in order to make the sale. In actuality, her "matchmaking" job was to determine whether I qualified as a good "match" for the company -- personally and financially. She just filled out my profile papers and gave them to someone else to manage who never met me. It was subsequently apparent that the new person was just going off her scribbled notes and checkboxes.

    A week or two later, I got another call from him, this time with someone who fit about 80% of my criteria. We went on a date, but without much chemistry. This happened a couple more times until I relocated from Salt Lake that same year.

    Another absurdity was that no photos of "referrals" were provided, with them only giving you vague descriptions of how beautifully attractive everyone was. Then, of course, you go through the trouble of a wasted blind date, and The Right One checks off the number of your remaining "referrals."

    0 Votes
  • So
    Sohang Dec 02, 2010

    I live in Salt Lake City too, and was also taken in by this scam outfit. I, too, was looking for a non-religious person with whom I could hopefully develop a relationship and I didn't want to go online. I thought that dealing with people in person would provide more suitable match-ups, and I felt the expensive price would weed out people just looking for a cheap date or a quick marriage. I agree with the other posters - high pressure sales tactics, deceitful promises, and I won't even get into describing the losers they set me up with. And no pictures either - you'd think that would be the first thing a dating service would provide clients. Expensive lesson to learn.

    0 Votes

The Right OneTake money and leave without resorce!

Dating services have it made. They take our money and then provide poor service and leave us with no recourse. I signed on with their serivce to provide nine dates at a large sum. I told them my specific criteria and also that another service would not take my money as they did not have enough quality dates in my age range. They assured me that they did. The first three dates were older than I set for my limit, out of my income criteria, and in my profession that I clearly stated I did not want to date. In the end the mangaer told me that I needed to broaden my age requirements as I was not going to find dates in my age range. They have refused to refund my money and I am being told by lawyers that I can sue them but that I won't win. I say enough is enough these agencies get away with it and there must be a recourse. If enough of us complain we can get some lawyer interested in our complaints. I say let's go for it. Until then if anyone has gotten money back from these people let me know.

  • Valerie Nov 02, 2006

    I'm sorry to read that Ms. Palmer believes dating (or matching?) services have it made....at the expense of their clients.

    Nine years ago I, too, signed up for the Right One's matching service (guaranteeing 12 matches, or 'in-person' meetings). At almost $2,000, it was a lot of money then...and still is now.

    My first match WAS a bit disappointing. However, I never got beyond the second match. I was 50 when we married in 1999, and Brian was 53. (And I was his 11th match!) I decided to add my two cents here, because the Right One did work for us. I believe each of us can create some of our own destiny!

    0 Votes
  • Jg
    JG Nov 28, 2006

    Sorry, they rip you off. I'm sure they get lucky every now and then, but they provide you with numbers that don't work, matches who don't return phone calls, and customer reps who get defensive faster than polar bear spit freezes. Six months into my "contract" and I've talked to three girls. Out of at least 15 numbers. I'm doubting if some of the numbers were even real since they went straight to a "full" voice mail with no human greeting.

    Boy I feel like an idiot for paying these thieves.

    0 Votes
  • Jg
    JG May 07, 2008

    This dating service won't work IF THEY DON'T SEND YOU MATCHES. I know from experience with TRO/Together Dating. That and $5, 500 down the tube. They can't even find someone within 150 miles, despite claims that there were "tens of thousands" of matches in my area.

    They are thieves, nothing more. I also received non-working numbers.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Don't fall for it Sep 14, 2009

    I've read several complaints about this company but feel it necessary to add a very real warning. Unlike most people, I was able to get a refund from this company but that is because they matched me with someone who committed a first degree murder less than two weeks after being given my telephone number. Not only is this company atrociously bad at actually matching people with compatible matches, but they don't even do adequate background checks to insure that they are not risking the lives of their members. DO NOT RISK YOUR LIFE on this service that will not work. If you really want to use a dating service, use an online service that charges a fraction of the cost. Most people are naturally more cautious about online connections than they would be with someone introduced to them by a company who allegedly does background checks.

    0 Votes