ADVERTISIMENT

Sonic Cash Net Complaints & Reviews

The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Sonic Cash NetAwful company

This morning I received threatening voice mails from a person named 'Michael'. This person had a very thick foreign accent. The call was made from a Verizon phone which, when called back had been disconnected. The 818 number was left to call back.

The caller claimed in the messages that he represented someone I owed money to and if either myself or my attorney did not call 'post haste' that Officers of the Law would appear at my door to arrest me the next day. At the end of the messages the person said, 'If you do not comply, I can only wish you good luck for the safety of you and your children!'

When I called back I was put on hold for more than 15 minutes. So I hung up and called right back. I received a busy signal. Later in the day I was able to get through. The party at the other end of the line claimed to be an attorney representing Sonic Cash Net and proceeded to tell me that I owed them money -- he would not give the amount-- he would not give me the company's phone number so I could verify the authenticity of this claim, but told me that if I did not cooperate with him, I would be hauled off to jail and charged with bank fraud and other federal crimes. I hung up on him. My husband and I reported the incident to the FTC immediately.

After filing the FTC report, we 'Googled' Sonic Cash Net and found massive numbers of postings about their disreputable 'collection' practices. This is a scam run by foreign nationals attempting to coerce people into sending them funds through Western Union to 'absolve' themselves from the bogus charges being made against us by these people.

Don't cave in, don't give them any personal information. Report them to the FTC (Federal Trade Commission) and your local police department.

This is terrorism against individuals. Advise everyone you know to be aware and not fall for these tricksters.

Comment Guidelines

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit
    4 Responses
    • Jt
      Jt09:7 May 23, 2014

      I did too but I reported it to local authorities. They made very rude threats and even called my job I hope those ### get whats coming to them.

      0 Votes
      Cancel
       
      Submit
    • Vp
      VPC Mar 13, 2009

      I just received a very similar call from someone named Shawn. He stated my references on the loan would be arrested because I had not paid the loan back and I should show up in court on Monday (3/16) to answer to the judge. He also stated this was a federal loan so I could not file bankruptcy on the loan. He refused to give me any specifics; I asked him to fax me the alleged loan documents and he refused. I pushed him for the name of the company I had gotten the loan from and he said the loan was given to me by a company named Cash Net. I never head of Cash Net much less have gotten a loan from them. However this guy did have access to accurate information concerning me. The phone number he called from was [protected].

      I plan to file a complaint with the FTC immediately!

      0 Votes
      Cancel
       
      Submit
    • Ca
      cathi conaway Jan 16, 2009

      Received a call from David Walker stating I have a payday loan that I have never paid back. Wrong said i took this out in March of 2007.

      0 Votes
      Cancel
       
      Submit
    • Ge
      Geri Jan 08, 2009

      I received a call on my home phone from a gentleman with a heavy accent who said his name was John. He stated I was to return the call as soon as I received the message, telling me I was going to be arrested and go to jail because I owed for a payday loan. I tried to call him back but got no answer. I called again the next morning and was given to a man by the name of Scott Miller who told me the same thing. That they were sending the sheriff to my home with a warrant for my arrest because of a payday loan that I did not pay. I admit that I owe for some loans but I am making payments on them and have paid off some. He would not tell me the name of the company that I got the loan from just that Sonic had many companies they sent out loans for. I have no objections paying off money that I owe, but I do not like any one calling my home and telling me I'm going to be arrested.

      0 Votes
      Cancel
       
      Submit

    The complaint has been investigated and
    resolved to the customer's satisfaction
    Resolved
    Sonic Cash NetUnsolicited phone calls

    I received a phone call @ 9:23 am. I did not understand the caller the accent was very thick. I was told I was going to be indicted for internet fraud. I kept saying i did not understand, so, another person got on the phone.
    This other person started yelling at me that I took out a loan and did not pay it back.

    I informed this person that I had filed for bankruptcy. I lost my house and I included the payday loans in with the bankruptcy. the person said he did not care and continued to yell at me that I had better pay back this money or I would go to jail. I hung up.

    This man then called my neighbor who has just come home from the hospital. He threatened her and said she better give me the message. He told her she was in the middle and she was going to be in trouble.

    The next morning at the same time I received another call I asked what did he want and what company he was from. he quoted my #SS and told me he was prepared to call my employer, neighbor and myself everyday If I did not pay. I told him I was going to call the attorney general and my lawyer. He said he did not care and he was going to call me anyway as well as file charges against me.

    I am attempting to get back on my feet. My neighbor has been very ill. She has nothing to do with the loan she was only a contact person. I feel as though I am being stalked by a loan shark I do not know what they will do to me.

    Comment Guidelines

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      Submit
      1 Response
      • Ca
        calfaro Feb 04, 2011
        This comment was posted by
        a verified customer
        Verified customer

        i got a phone call today a male who he said it was an attorney john thompas stading he was calling from sonic cash net and that i owe money and that if i dont paid it by today i will be arrested tomorrow. he wanted my account # and my social . to everyone be aware getting a cash loan . Their was three man with evy accent by the name steve, atty kelvin turner, and atty john thompas . Go to the police station right away.this happend in norwalk, ca

        0 Votes
        Cancel
         
        Submit

      The complaint has been investigated and
      resolved to the customer's satisfaction
      Resolved
      Sonic Cash NetFraud / harrassment

      I received a call first from an "Officer William Hammil" but when I called back, spoke to a "Scott Miller" (both of these gentlemen had Indian accents) also, alot of noise in the back ground. Alot of echo on the phone line, indicative of a phone call to/from India/overseas.

      Anyway, told me I had a loan with Sonic Cash Net and was going to be prosecuted for Corruption of Check charges (bogus charge) theft by deception (bogus charge) and something else, can't remember now.

      Anyway, he had my home address, my place of work name and my bank name. Nothing else. Told me that I would be arrested "tomorrow".

      I was startled to say the least. I did have a payday loan a few years ago, but it was paid in full. He couldn't give me the account number I allegedly had with this company. He said it was "confidential" and he could only release it to my attorney.

      Folks, I'ma paralegal - I deal with this type of stuff al lthe time and he had me so rattled I began to doubt myself. As fate would have it, I was at work and because of the holiday, our servers were down for cleanup/repairs, so I couldn't search the company or any BBB fraud websites.

      I kept coming up with "wait a minute..." revelations and called him back.

      One phone call I asked him in which jurisdiction they charges would be filed. He said I didn't need to worry about it that a representative from the California State Sherrif's department would be at my house tomorrow to arrest me. He rushed me off the phone before I could ask more questions.

      As soon as we hung up I remembered:

      Sherrifs are COUNTY jurisdicitons, not STATE.

      So then I called back and asked what their Bar# is (Law firms have lawyers, lawyers have to be members of the bar to practice). He actually yelled at me and said I have no right to ask him these questions.

      (????)

      He then told me that God was the only one that could help me now. Really? WHO says that???? Honestly, if these guys are going to be crooks, you'd think they'd be smarter about it.

      Before he hung up on me, I was able to say "Scott, you know this is a hoax and a scam. I know it, you know it, the man in the moon knows it".

      He said "We'll see when you are arrested tomorrow".

      I was able to get home a few minutes later and log on to the internet and found all these scam websites.

      I searched under Sonic Cashnet and the phone number used: [protected]. Both searches turned up fraud websites where everyon else had the same experience, nearly word for word.

      What they want you to do is panic and say "What can I do so I'm not arrested". That's when they politely ask you for your banking info and they'll simply take a payment over the phone and clear the whole thing up.

      BULL!!! DON'T FALL FOR IT.

      I actually called them back and told them what I found just by doing a search of their name and their phone number. Suddenly "Scott's" accent wasn't so thick and he asked me who I was.

      I told him it was somoene who will be reporting them to the CA Attorney General. He hung up quickly.

      Unfortunately, since these guys are calling from outside the US there's probably very little that can be done.

      Comment Guidelines

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        Submit
        9 Responses
        • Ln
          Lnherder Mar 17, 2011

          I just received a call this morning. That idiot refused to give me any information. He so called tranfered me but no one came on the line. The number that he called from is [protected]. I am in Maryland and he said I would be arrested tomorrow also. But again refused to give me any information at all

          0 Votes
          Cancel
           
          Submit
        • Va
          valid number Sep 15, 2009

          here is a valid number [protected], they claim to be a investigation unit and that you are talking with a officer... i was very upset and let them know directly that i was calling the local police department because they were impersonating a police officer which IS AGAINGST THE LAW, and also for harrassment and i would be pressing charges immediately, they stated that they would remove his name from the calling list ????????. The impersonator has a deep accent and it sounds like a call center in the background with echoing voices when you speak. I hope this valid phone number helps all that are also being harrassed.

          0 Votes
          Cancel
           
          Submit
        • Je
          jennie Jun 18, 2009

          I work for an attorneys office who help people resolve debts with small loan companies like cashnet, payday, universal cash advance, etc... and lately alot of my clients have called in stating they have recieved calls from these people as well. stating all the information/harrassment that was posted here. I informed my clients to tape record this messages and converstion for your protection. You can actually sue the companies calling you since it is false that you can be arrested for not paying your debt. The only thing they can do is tell the company to persue the matter in court, at which time you will be contact by the county district to report to court at a certain date for a judgement hearing. This company is breaking a lot of laws and should be sued. Do not let them step on your rights! Stand up to them so they can not do this to anyone else. If I was an attorney myself I would file a class action lawsuit.

          Sincerely,
          Helping you out

          0 Votes
          Cancel
           
          Submit
        • Io
          ionesky_24 Feb 11, 2009

          I was contacted by them today, they are a fraud, in fact they operate outside the USA. They are not based in LA because they are using a fraudulent number. Sonic Cash actually admited they are not affiliated with them and have had manyof these calls. If they call again, tell them that you have contacted the Secret Service in your area and not to call you again, the calls will stop.

          0 Votes
          Cancel
           
          Submit
        • Co
          Connie Jan 27, 2009

          I agress something must be done about these people. They need to be stopped now! Stop being aloud to threaten people. We must all do what ever it takes to stop these people!
          Connie, Oklahoma

          0 Votes
          Cancel
           
          Submit
        • De
          Denver Jan 11, 2009

          I was scammed by this place like an idiot!! I wish I would've seen this website in time. I received a call from a MAX CARTER, threatening me to get arrested, the guy was rude and persistent. THen he would supposedly transfer me to someon else but they all sounded like the same person, there was a BRAD, JOHN, and i kept think how do they have american names when it's clear that they aren't even from here!! ph# [protected]. Fax #[protected]. It is a Verizon Wireless phone. I had to report it to the police, FDIC, BBB, Homeland security, secret service, NCUA, Federal Trade, financial crimes bureau! to FBI, and Spanish chanels and all the news chanels!
          I have sent emails to everyone, hopefully something is done about this I had to call the credit bureaus the banks. The bank stated that I would have to dispute the transaction along with the case # of the police report that I made, so I did immediately!! The bank stated that they would request for my funds to be returned if not that they would initiate a investigation, but if these crooks return my money they won't be able to do anything to them. I plan to make flyers and send them to all churches, businesses, and everywhere i can think of!

          0 Votes
          Cancel
           
          Submit
        • 2k
          2kids25 Jan 08, 2009

          They are actually in California!!!

          They love to harass!!!

          0 Votes
          Cancel
           
          Submit
        • Kf
          k farr Nov 26, 2008
          This comment was posted by
          a verified customer
          Verified customer

          These people keep calling and telling you that you are going to be arrested and reported as a thief for a loan that doesn't exist.

          -1 Votes
          Cancel
           
          Submit
        • Ra
          Ralph Nov 25, 2008
          This comment was posted by
          a verified customer
          Verified customer

          I have recieved several nasty calls trying to get me to give them money or they will download affidavit to have me arrested. i called sonic cash and they have no record and to stop giving them money. They are being investigated through homeland securityand the secret services i was told from sonic cash net.

          0 Votes
          Cancel
           
          Submit
        ADVERTISIMENT

        Sonic Cash NetFraud

        I got a call today from this same Max Cotter with a very heavy accent saying that I had taken out a payday loan and refused to pay it back. He kept trying to get me to verify my social security number. I kept telling him that I was not verifying any information until he told me who he was, what he wanted and who he represented. All he kept saying was that he represented "The law firm", but couldn't tell me the law firm's name. Then he proceeds to tell me my address, my email and my employer's name. He told me that I was going to be picked up on Monday by a law offical and taken to the court house to be arrested. I was going to be charged with check fraud, theft by deceit and some other bogus mess. And that my job was going to be notified of "what I had done". When I told him that I wasn't talking to him any further until he could provide me with some type of documentation and proof that I had ever done business with this company, he hung up. I tried to call the number back and I got a recording saying the Verizon wireless number I dialed has either been changed, disconnected or is no longer in service. Please be very careful when people call claiming to be debt collectors. I think he was trying to get the rest of my personal information for some kind of indentity theft scheme. BE AWARE OF WHO YOU GIVE YOUR INFO TO!!!

        Comment Guidelines

        Add your opinion

          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

          Submit
          5 Responses
          • Su
            sue65 May 25, 2011

            sonic cash net called and said we owed money on a payday loan we did not have. they are scammers. they went as far as to call my husband place of work. i spent the day calling every number i could find on them and harassed them. they don't like it. they block my number, so i guess i would be hearing from them any more. they are not in the us, so i really don't think it does any good to report it to the police. fight back you will feel better and maybe they will stop calling.

            0 Votes
            Cancel
             
            Submit
          • Nu
            Nuney Dec 03, 2010

            What brought me to this site is that, I received this same call today 12/02/2010 my callers name was Shaun Richards, with a heavy accent as well, he had all my information and last 4 digits of my SS# work address, home address, and my amount that I so called needed to pay wa 9741.00 dollars but it could be settled out of court 1492.83 with 3 payments with a visa or mastercard. I was given 2 hours to pay the 1st 500.00 dollars or the Sheriff will show up at my work by 9am Friday morning 12/03/2010. I was told to send per fax [protected] a letter allowing them to take out from a visa or mastercard 500.00 for 3 months. I said I do not have the monies, and we went into a yelling stage and I hung up. I called Cashnet because there is no such business called Sonic cashnet and I showed a Zero balance from 2007 to current. I only had a 250.00 payday loan from them back in 2007. Cashnet had warned me regarding this fraudulant scam and not to send any monies over the phone etc. I was given a toll free number CashNet fraud department [protected] to place a report and I did a number change as well, free of charge per my wireless carrier. This is scary because they say that you will be arrested at your place of work or home, if I did not pay up the owed amount, oh ! yes and the caller said that "I will not be able to enjoy my Santa Claus day" I feel if a so call name Shawn Richards was his name he would of said "My Christmas Day", but please I am a added story and hopefully many read all of these reports because we do not want anyone else tormented by this fradulant Attorney service.

            0 Votes
            Cancel
             
            Submit
          • Js
            jstaggs Nov 24, 2010

            Today I received a call from a Daniel and a Ralph who both calimed to be working for some law firm that represents a place called Cash Net Express or some crap. appearently I never paid back some internet loan. They had a lot of my info but were calling for my attorney's info so they could send him documents regarding this case. i told them I knew nothing of any case and therefore had no attorney. These guys told me they would be sending "legal officers" to serve me documents regarding this case (including court dates, ect...).
            I asked for the number for this loan place and they gave me a number which was answered by another foriegn guy with an American name. He said he could'nt talk to me about the loan because it was being handeled by their attorney. I told these people I have never signed any paperwork for any kind of direct deposit loan and waqs never contacted by any such company. They hung up on me.
            How can you get in trouble for not repaying a loan you never got or that you never signed for? Even online, dont you have to send proof of income and fax paperwork with you signature to get a loan? If not< anyone with my info could take out a loan in my name. Besides, would'nt my bank contact me about non-sufficient funds in regards to such an event?
            The whole thing is just strange. If its a scam, why did'nt they ask for money right then. Perhaps I will learn more if they send or serve me with these "documents".

            -1 Votes
            Cancel
             
            Submit
          • La
            Ladie D Jun 16, 2009

            A gentleman with the same accent called me last evening leaving a voice message stating that he was trying to help me but if I did not call their lawyer back at [protected] then I would have problems. Since I did not understand the nature of the call and it was late I ignored it. I figured that if it was important they would call again. The following day I received a call on my cell phone at work from the same gentleman asking me my name and the last four of my social. He rambled of some stuff and that is when I let him have it. I am so glad that when they called me I went off on them. The guy kept saying he was representing a law firm for a pay day loan company called Cash Net Express and Sonic Cash Net. I asked them a lot of questions in regards to the case#, file number, company's contact number, and site that I supposedly took the loan out. They told me that it was against the law for them to give me this. Then we got into a screaming match. He went on by telling me that my boss would receive a call tomorrow and the police would serve me at my job. Then he went on by sayin I would be arrested, sentenced, and would have to fight my case with the judge. I told him until they sent me the documentation of where I signed for this loan then they can kiss any thoughts of me sending them money goodbye! I told him that he was not making any sense. Why would they come to arrest me for something I am not aware of. He was like we don't want any money we just want to teach you a lesson. I asked for a supervisor. The supervisor told me I took the loan out in 2008 but just before that another gentleman told me it was in October of 2007. Go figure! I tried to get as much info from them as possible. So I proceeded with telling them I was willing to work with them and pay off the debt. His whole demeanor changed. LOL! He kept apologizing and asking for my forgivness. He kept putting me on hold so he could tranfer my call to his financial department. He went on by saying to fax him a notarized document with my account information stating that I give them promission to withdrawl money. In these days and time people can get your information and call you with all kinds of scams. I worked to DAMN hard for mine and I don't plan on giving it to someone over the phone with some bogus information.

            0 Votes
            Cancel
             
            Submit
          • Pr
            Princess May 14, 2009

            I too, received several calls yesterday from a guy with a heavy accent named Alex who indicated that I had taken out a payday loan and had the funds deposited into a bank account that I didn't even have during the time they claim I took out this loan. They had quite a bit of my personal information, however, much of it has changed due to a recent relocation so they were caught off guard by that. They kept saying they had my SSN so they could track me down. I then asked to speak to a manager or supervisor because Alex refused to provide me with a number for Sonic Cash or for the specific date that I took out this alleged loan. He then puts his supervisor Jacob on the phone and I inform him that if they don't provide me with any details then I refuse to speak with them any further. He claimed he would call me back in 30 minutes and hung up in my face. He didn't call back in 30 minutes. I got a phone call from them early this morning but the phone only rang once. I'm glad I woke up and decided to Google this because these people are out here trying to clearly steal innocent people's information.

            0 Votes
            Cancel
             
            Submit
          ADVERTISIMENT

          IN THE NEWS

          Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
          If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
          One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
          A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
          ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
          You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
          Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.