Real Del Mar Complaints & Reviews

Real Del MarNo accountability

I agree that buyers have to be aware that the sales agents at development sales offices are not accountable for what they say to buyers. I found out that the sales staff at Real Del Mar are not considered agents of the Frisas Group, or any of the developers who are building in the development. That is the other thing many do not know, there are many developers building there. There have been so many problems. Frisas, the company who bought the property and subdivided it is from Mexico City and has no ties to Tijuana, and do not care about the area or the people. They are there strictly for what they can get out of it. There are so many other places you could go and get better value for your money. It is too bad that this group is tarnishing the reputation of the whole area, even the entire country of Mexico.

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    • Ke
      Kerri Simson Jul 28, 2007
      This comment was posted by
      a verified customer
      Verified customer

      This is from Sign On San Diego: http://www.signonsandiego.com/news/mexico/tijuana/20051002-9999-1n2rush.html

      "When Americans go to Mexico, they should do their due diligence," said Jorge A. Vargas, a specialist in Mexican law at the University of San Diego. "You are entering an alien legal world, so don't be so trusting with people. The conveyance of property is completely different from the American system."

      The Baja California peninsula can be particularly problematic. Many parcels suffer from lingering land title disputes, which are a legacy of the region's distance from Mexico's ruling center and decades of little development. Inaccurate land surveys are only now being corrected as parcels are being developed and sold.

      "There are a lot of issues dealing with conflict of title all along the coast from Tijuana to Ensenada," said attorney José Larroque, with the Tijuana office of Baker & McKenzie, an international law firm. "For many years, these properties were vacant. Now that they're being developed, all these owners pop up."

      Buyers have ended up on land with multiple titles, or without services or have built in the restricted federal maritime zone. A mistake can take years to correct.

      Without proper precautions, "this boom can create a new wave of problems," said Silvia Perez-Thompson, a real estate consultant in Rosarito Beach. "I think it's a great investment, but you have to understand the laws."

      0 Votes
    • Ke
      Kerri Simson Jul 27, 2007
      This comment was posted by
      a verified customer
      Verified customer

      The housing market in Baja is slowing down.

      0 Votes

    Real Del MarNot what they show in a model

    I visited Real Del Mar with a Realtor last year. They showed us a model. Then they say, but you have to put in your own kitchen, but you have to put in your own closets, but these fixtures are not what are in the bathroom. In other words, the model is not what they are selling. I got out of there fast. You have to ask, about every little detail about what actually comes in the house. I have never seen anything like that. You basically get a shell, you have to put in any wood finishing yourself, they give light bulbs, but no fixtures. So it seems relatively inexpensive, but by the time you finish it you will be as expensive as the other developments in the area. Oh, and look at the plumbing. I have never seen anything so CHEAP. It was as waste of time to go there, except what I learned about Mexican real estate, and how bad the construction can be.

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      • Ke
        Kerri Simson Jul 27, 2007
        This comment was posted by
        a verified customer
        Verified customer

        I read an article in a newspaper in Baja about how much the Baja market is slowing down. It is not a good time to invest in Baja real estate. Americans cannot take the equity out of their regular homes to purchase second ones. So, if you buy you need to plan on keeping what you get for many years because it is a slower market. There are also heavy tax liabilities on homes that you don't live in for two years, so think about what it will cost to unload it.

        0 Votes
      • Ke
        Kerri Simson Jul 21, 2007
        This comment was posted by
        a verified customer
        Verified customer

        I disagree that it is not good to live in Baja. I have lived there since 1996. Sure, it is different than the US side of the border. But that is what makes it less expensive. The police in San Diego don't have to subsidize there incomes with bribes, they make a lot, and it is tax payers who pay them. In Baja it is the bribes, and drug dealers who pay the police. You just have to be realistic about what is going on. Same thing with water, trash and sewer issues. Since we don't pay high property taxes to take care of these things, they aren't taken care of. So you have to adjust your thinking when you smell things stinking. That is just the way it is.

        0 Votes
      • Ke
        Kerri Simson Jul 21, 2007
        This comment was posted by
        a verified customer
        Verified customer

        I had the similiar experience. Don't fall for the hype in the media. I visited with people in the hotel after playing golf with friends at Real Del Mar. I talked to a man who is building his house there himself. He told about problems with the sales office and other issues he was fighting with them about. Does not sound like anyone gets what they are promised form those people.

        0 Votes

      Real Del Mar&Bait and Switch&!

      I was taken to Real Del Mar by an agent who knew I was interested in houses. I was shown a model at an area called Almalfi. I was told my house could be ready in six months. Well, I never bought it, I just felt uneasy. They were not putting my deposit into an escrow account, they did not have inspections and other basic checks and balances. I have been contacted continuously about this, or a condominium. I went there again, and over a year later the house they tried to sell me is not there, nor are any condominiums. I just want the agent to quit calling me to follow up again. I can see why people who have bought there are upset. The "amenities" they promise, pools, rec rooms, barbecue areas etc. are not in yet either. I would be afraid to own a home in a development that runs business this way. Condo ownership is even riskier, because all repairs and maintenance depend on the integrity of the developer. STAY AWAY from Real Del Mar.

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        • Ke
          Kerri Simson Aug 11, 2007
          This comment was posted by
          a verified customer
          Verified customer

          Best advise is to buy a house you want, not as an investment. Just as a car, that depreciates in value, you buy it because you like it. If it suits your lifestyle, go for it. Think about the money we spend on entertainment, clothes, meals out, etc. Why can't the house we have just be for fun and for our lifestyle? That being said, you don't want a lemon so if you have to buy, do it wisely. Otherwise, just rent a house for the time you have a vacation and be free of the hassles the rest of the year.

          0 Votes
        • Ke
          Kerri Simson Jul 28, 2007
          This comment was posted by
          a verified customer
          Verified customer

          I looked at a condo around Puerto Nuevo last year, and almost all the units had deposits holding them in pre construction sales. In May I was there and most buyers had pulled out, and so most units were now available. Since they can't begin construction until they have most of the down payments I don't believe that development will be built for many years. This is indicative of the Baja market, sales are less than flat, they are plumiting. In two or three years there will be great bargains to take advantage of but right now owners are in denial about how bad it is and trying to get all the money they can from potential buyers. Real Del Mar will have even more existing houses available at rock bottom prices. Now is not a good time to buy in two or three years the prices will be like they were in the nineties.

          0 Votes
        • Ke
          Kerri Simson Jul 27, 2007
          This comment was posted by
          a verified customer
          Verified customer

          The real estate market in Baja, and in Mexico is going down the toilet. It was booming because Americans were pulling money out of their houses which were going up at sky rocketing rates. Well, with the American housing market going flat,or even down, the Mexican market is busted. On top of that Americans who now realize how substandard their construction is, in developments like Real Del Mar, they are trying to dump them. They do not have to disclose the problems with the instability of the land, moving foundations, sewer problems, and polluted streams and beaches. Any problems a buyer discovers after turning over money is the new buyer's problem. The positive stories you read on the Internet by people who have a vested interest in selling properties in the area are for their benefit, not to inform potential buyers about the problems across the border.

          Stay away from Real Del Mar, Baja, and Mexico in general. Invest your money, don't gamble with it.

          0 Votes
        • Ke
          Kerri Simson Jul 21, 2007
          This comment was posted by
          a verified customer
          Verified customer

          I played golf there, and stayed at the hotel. The construction of the hotel is enough to tell me not to buy their houses.

          0 Votes

        Real Del MarPoor service!

        Some complaints make it sound like Mexican real estate developers are targeting foreigners, but this is not true. I was staying at the Marriotte in Real Del Mar with friends on a golf weekend and met a woman who is buying there, but having to rent because her house has not been started yet. She was told her house would be ready in the summer of 2005. When it was not, she was told that it would be done in November. She and her husband have rented for over two years because they believed they would have their house. They are Mexicans. The people at Real Del Mar lie to everyone. Also, if a house is being resold and the salespeople in the Real Del Mar sales office are involved you could still have trouble. They don't give buyers all the right paperwork, and don't follow the real estate law. Don't deal with them. Go to an outside realtor. Get an independent lawyer. Be careful. It is better not to do business in Real Del Mar.

        Add your opinion

          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

          • Ke
            Kerri Simson Aug 11, 2007
            This comment was posted by
            a verified customer
            Verified customer

            When you consider the expenses in buying, the closing costs, and the 35% capital gains taxes, with the interest rates being higher in Mexico, it would be difficult to make money flipping one as an investment. Now that the economy has turned, and the prices are going to be going down for the next few years it would be wise to rent and wait. I would not ever pay what someone is asking.

            0 Votes
          • Ke
            Kerri Simson Aug 06, 2007
            This comment was posted by
            a verified customer
            Verified customer

            I found that they have such a bad reputation with professionals that they have had to bring in different developers to try to look like others are doing the building now. An example is Pacificare at Real Del Mar who is now going to market the condominiums. It is important, do not let them put the word tentative in the sales contract regarding the date. Have a specific date. If you sign a sales contract with them without legal advice and they do the same thing, they are using Real Del Mar's legal department to draw up the contracts the same way Real Del Mar did , you will have the same problems others who bought before had. You need penalties for late delivery of your property too. Also, make sure they are not depending on money from sales to build. That is another problem Real Del Mar had in delivering houses to buyers. If they do not have the construction funding, you will not get your condo until they get the money from buyers. Now the market has come to a standstill you could be waiting years. I would avoid anyplace in Real Del Mar no matter who is marketing the homes.

            0 Votes
          • Ke
            Kerri Simson Jul 27, 2007
            This comment was posted by
            a verified customer
            Verified customer

            I drove through Real Del Mar, and noticed a lot of houses for sale through .com sites. I don't understand how they are trying to ask for more money than last year when the bubble has burst. On top of that, who wants to buy in a place that is using plastic plant containers of dirt stacked together as retaining walls to try to shore up unstable ground. It is so Mickey Mouse.

            I agree rent in a place for a while before making a financial commitment.

            0 Votes
          • El
            Elizabeth Hernandez Jul 10, 2007
            This comment was posted by
            a verified customer
            Verified customer

            I am so glad to see this. My husband wanted to go down there and start looking at lots and wanting to move. We live in San Diego now, and I don't want to have to cross the border everyday. It looks like there are a lot of problems with real estate in general in Baja. The people selling want to make it seem like there aren't problems, but it is important to listen to the ones who are complaining, they are the ones who know best. The don't have building inspectors, they don't have licensed realtors. There is no board of realtors to complain to when they are not doing things right. Who enforces real estate laws there? Does anybody know?

            0 Votes

          Real Del Mar — Condominiums not built!

          Along with not building promised houses, they have sold rights to condominiums that have never been built. ...

          We are here to help

          • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
          • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
          • Honest and unbiased reviews
          • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

          Real Del MarFailure to keep contract!

          Because Frisas Construction of Mexico, the parent company of Real Del Mar, did not test the soil in areas of their development, they sold houses that have become unstable, and are failing to deliver other houses sold. On top of this, they have failed to deal honestly and fairly with the customers they sold homes to. Instead of working to solve the problems they have created, they have lied repeatably about the situations effecting numerous home purchases in the northern Baja development. The project manager, Jose Luis Corona, has failed to treat customers ethically. This is resulting in ongoing law suits. They have tried to stall and make clients so angry they would just take the money back and forget about the homes. The problems are that most these homes were purchased in 2004 and the prices have risen, so some buyers are being priced out of the market by these mistakes and poor business practices. Until you see postings from the people who are involved stating that they have resolved the problems and been given the homes they hold contracts for, do not do business with Real Del Mar, Frisas Construction, Jose Luis Corona, Pedro Corona, Coldwell Banker-Mexico. I know until I see that Catherine Gladen, the first person I saw that wrote about this posts that they gave her what she was promised, I am telling everyone I talk to about Mexican Real Estate in Baja to go somewhere else.

          Add your opinion

            By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

            • Ke
              Kerri Simson Jul 29, 2007
              This comment was posted by
              a verified customer
              Verified customer

              I just learned that because Frisas bad reputation has hurt sales in Real Del Mar, the condos are now being built and sold under another developers name. Pacificare at Real Del Mar, yeah, they care for themselves. They are trying to get around this by saying someone else is now doing this. Get a very good lawyer and make sure you are protected. Maybe they will have to change the whole developments name next. Just remember it is still in Real Del Mar. Actually, it is still in Mexico. Read about baja and mexico complaints, and then you will run to the border, and not go back if you want to buy. It is easier to buy there than it is to sell. Think about that.

              0 Votes
            • Ke
              Kerri Simson Jul 28, 2007
              This comment was posted by
              a verified customer
              Verified customer

              I got sales promotions in my e-mail about the great values of Baja Real Estate. I did a search on line and read all great things, so I decided to drive down and see it for myself. Real Del Mar is only about 25 minutes from the border, and I went there to check it out. There were some homes for sale that I looked at in an area called Almafe, and the construction was a mess. The floors are uneven. The worst part was the plumbing. I looked at the plastic stuff they used for drain pipes and it was so flimsy. The houses are shells. They don't have closets, any wood trim, or a kitchen. Areas where the ground is unstable have containers you see plants sold in, those black plastic tubs, filled with dirt side by side, to create what they call a retaining wall. I saw one house that had hundreds of cracks throughout. The sidewalk around the house was higher than the driveway, and the driveway had sunk lower than the garage floor. The ground was definitely unstable and had moved a lot in the year since that house was built. If you looked at the exterior of other houses in the area it was evident that they were having ground movement issues too, and the foundations were compromised. When I asked about the problems, the sales person said they were secured and would not move anymore because of the retaining wall. I think the lack of government regulations allow developers to buy hillside and oceanside property and build without any inspections is putting buyers at jeopardy. The people who write about all the great values are those who are making money off of gullible Americans. It is important for those who have lost money to alert others. The problem is those who fell for the sales pitches are trying unload the troubled properties, and for them to talk about the problems leaves them unable to sell. The law does not require them to disclose problems with the houses or lots. It is a good idea to rent there before ever committing to a sales contract.

              0 Votes
            • Ke
              Kerri Simson Jul 27, 2007
              This comment was posted by
              a verified customer
              Verified customer

              If you buy a house in Baja the seller does not have disclose problems like they do in the United States. Buying real estate in Baja, or in Mexico is very different from the U.S.A. If you have foundation problems like the ones in Real Del Mar and the seller does not tell you, you are stuck. Many of the homes in Real Del Mar have foundation problems. The properties that are for sale by current owners are very risky. A good lawyer will have the properties inspected by an architectural engineer. If you buy a property without having an independent inspection with your own expert, you could be buying a house that will be moving because the ground is not stable under it. Real Del Mar is very shaky ground.

              0 Votes
            • Ke
              Kerri Simson Jul 19, 2007
              This comment was posted by
              a verified customer
              Verified customer

              I have written many organizations in Baja, and companies asking about how true these complaints are, and I have not gotten any responses. I was hoping someone would at least attempt to dispute the problems and give me a reason to pursue Baja real estate. I guess the problems with Real Del Mar are systemic of the entire area, if not country. Until the government gets a handle on this, and there are regulations and regulators no investments there sound safe. Anyone who can rebut these issues, please do. Have the houses in question in Real Del Mar been built? Have all buyers gotten properties on time as promised? Are the contracts worth the paper they were written on? I am very interested. Retirement planning is something that can make the last years of one's life enjoyable, or hell. Choosing a place based on biased hype by those who are able to make money, then being left with unfulfilled promises can turn into a nightmare. These are things that need to be taken seriously when thinking about buying a property anywhere, but in Mexico. One place for information is:

              http://www.thesqueakywheel.com/complaints/2007/JUL/complaint15574.cfm

              Another is the Gringo Gazette, norte for Rosarito and TJ, Sur for Cabo. You will get more of a feel of what problems Americans who have moved there are living with.

              0 Votes
            • Ca
              Carmen Bardano Jul 12, 2007
              This comment was posted by
              a verified customer
              Verified customer

              I was at the lounge in the hotel at Real Del Mar last spring. I met a man who was building a house in the development. He said he had tried to buy the lot next to his house, but that the problems the sales office caused made it impossible. He warned us to stay away from Real Del Mar's sales office. He said that they had tried to get him to invest in the condos when they had a party, and he is glad he did not because that was s few years ago, and they still are not built. He also told us about having a stroke, I would not be surprised if the pressure of dealing with that sales office did not cause his stroke, it sounds like they are high pressure. I am not surprised to see these postings.

              0 Votes
            • Ca
              Carlos Jul 06, 2007
              This comment was posted by
              a verified customer
              Verified customer

              A couple of years ago I saw a program about buying homes in Baja. It sounded good. I visited a few developments and did research on the Internet about them. Real Del Mar was one, and at that time I never saw any negative postings about them, or Frisas. I bought a condominium in another place, one that was already built. However, after living in the area for a little over a year, I have met people who have had serious problems getting the houses they bought in other developments, including Real Del Mar. I have not met anyone who got the house on time there, most delays go over six months, closer to a year. I did hear that some homes can never be built. I am glad to see people using the Internet to get the word out. Overall, I do not recommending buying in Mexico. It does not live up to the media hype. The developers are not reliable, and they do not try to make up for the problems they cause. I know you can not get the ocean views in the U.S. at the price, but you will pay other prices for doing business with companies like Frisas, and Real Del Mar.

              0 Votes
            • Va
              VacationBreezesScamers Jul 03, 2007

              I believe I saw a letter to the editor last February, in the Gringo Gazzette Baja Norte about this situation. I used to think Real Del Mar was reputable, but now am hearing more when I am in the Rosarito Beach area about the problems they are having. It is too bad, it seemed like it was a good place. I don't like hearing about Mexican scams, it hurts everyone who is trying to improve the quality of life on the south side of the border. I hope the people involved continue to update about the situation, if it is resolved favorably, or if this is another reason not to purchase anything in Baja.

              0 Votes

            Real Del MarNot honoring contract

            In December of 2004 I went to Baja to purchase a retirement/vacation home. I entered into a contract with Pedro Corona, a business man from Tijuana to purchase a home in the development, Real Del Mar. The sales office of Real Del Mar handeled all the process. I was supposed to get the home in July of 2005. Pedro's son, Jose Luis Corona is the project manager. He has lied to me over the last two years about getting the house. Pedro was going to get me a house that was already built, then Jose wanted more money. He told me in Mexico they have a saying, " A bad deal is better than a good fight." Anyway, I heard from others in the same situation, and am suing using the same attorney. I want anyone interested purchasing a home in Mexico to be aware that the company, which is part of Frisas Construction, has a very bad reputation. Do not do business with REAL DEL MAR. They do not respect women, Americans, and tell us what we want to hear. There are many good developments, but the sales office at Real Del Mar, Baja, is not ethical.

            Add your opinion

              By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

              • Jo
                Jo reen Knox May 07, 2010
                This comment was posted by
                a verified customer
                Verified customer

                They sold to us in 2006 and will nto talk to us

                0 Votes
              • Ma
                Max Dec 25, 2007
                This comment was posted by
                a verified customer
                Verified customer

                There are reasons for the laws that protect buyers of real estate in the United States. It does not surprise me that many of the developers in Mexico and real estate agents are from the U.S. and ripping people off in ways that aren't allowed here. I was going to buy a timeshare in Mexico, then researched it and found out the scam it was. I looked at a site that was mentioned in complaints about Mexico and found that the U.S. state department actually does warn Americans against signing contracts in Mexico. We are not given full protection and it is important that we understand that before making any legal agreement.

                0 Votes
              • Ke
                Kerri Simson Nov 23, 2007
                This comment was posted by
                a verified customer
                Verified customer

                I just found out that the man who ran Coldwell Banker in Rosarito has filed bankruptsy. He filed in the U.S. with a list of creditors who put down deposits in Baja. This is why no one should give anyone cash. They should demand the use of escrow accounts as there are in the United States.

                0 Votes
              • Ke
                Kerri Simson Aug 07, 2007
                This comment was posted by
                a verified customer
                Verified customer

                I had thought Real Del Mar was good. We used to refer buyers to them. In the last two years they have done some things that have caused us to break ties. We don't use attorneys for our buyers, we are afraid of the higher fees. It already costs around $15,000.00 in closing costs for a buyer on a $200,000.00 property. If they get into hiring attorneys, and inspectors then it gets even higher. The taxes when selling are governed by strict regulations so it is expensive to sell too. We try to do it for as small a cost as we can, we only hope the buyer is happy and does not want to sell soon, because it is not cost effective to "flip" houses in Baja.

                0 Votes
              • Ke
                Kerri Simson Jul 30, 2007
                This comment was posted by
                a verified customer
                Verified customer

                Because their reputation is so bad they are trying another strategy using different contractors to finish building in the Real Del Mardevelopment. One of these is Pacifica at Real Del Mar. They are taking over the defunct condominium project that was supposed to be built two years ago.

                The important thing is to follow the guidelines by the United States State Department and some states attorney's generals offices: Get competent legal advice to guide you through the contract process. An example of this is to make sure the word "tentative" is not inserted with the projected delivery date. They were putting this in mine and my attorney made them take it out. This word gives the seller years to deliver the house. A good attorney would catch such tricks and make sure you have a solid contract with teeth. This is only one example of wording a good attorney will know to look at. In the end we decided the development was just too risky. We also noticed that there are a lot of units and houses back on the market because of the real estate slow down. We are going to rent for a while and when we see that the prices have bottomed out we will buy, if we still want to. Some friends of ours rented for a few months and decided that the ocean view in a country of poverty was not that much fun. I am still going to try to rent in a development that shields me from the poverty and the smells of the sewage most of the time. It is pretty sad.

                0 Votes
              • He
                Henry Crabtree Jul 09, 2007
                This comment was posted by
                a verified customer
                Verified customer

                I visited Baja a year and a half ago, thinking about retirement. I went on a bus tour of areas sponsored by Coldwell Banker. To hear them you would think everything would be so easy. I stayed at the Marriott in Real Del Mar, with some friends who were playing golf at the course there. I visited their sales office. They told me if I bought one of the last houses available it would be ready in a few months. Well, my friends go there and play golf, and where they said my house would be is just a pile of dirt. I just did not feel comfortable dealing with people who are pushing their stuff and forgetting about basics, like inspections and title insurance. I am glad I did not buy at Real Del Mar. I think it is best to rent down there. When you want to leave, is is so much easier. From the dealings I had with the sales staff I am not surprised that others are being lied to and cheated.

                0 Votes
              • He
                Henry La Couture Jul 04, 2007
                This comment was posted by
                a verified customer
                Verified customer

                I am a resident in Mexico, and hear hundreds of stories a year about companies and people like this. Visit the United States Department of State and read the warnings about doing business in Mexico. They have had thousands of complaints. The reason the Mexican economy is so bad is their business practices are bad. Could you imagine what San Diego would be like if it still was in Mexico, dah... TJ. Mexicans claim California, but thank God it is part of the United States of America, they would have ruined it too. Why are people thinking they can have a good life in a country where so many of their people are fleeing. They don't like Mexico either. I am going back to France as soon as I can.

                0 Votes
              • Un
                Unsuspecting Vacationer Jul 02, 2007
                This comment was posted by
                a verified customer
                Verified customer

                I know of others who have had similar problems with Real Del Mar, Jose Luis Corona, and Coldwell Bank Baja. My advice is go somewhere else to avoid a long and nasty fight. Jose Luis Corona says that in Mexico there is a saying that a bad deal is better than a good fight. Now isn't he clever. He likes to insult his victims of scams and fraud by implying you are being screwed and should be happy about it.

                0 Votes

              IN THE NEWS

              Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
              If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
              One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
              A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
              ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
              You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
              Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.