Missouri Department of Conservation Complaints & Reviews

Missouri Department of ConservationAbove the Law

My wife is disable and she has a crossbow permit to use a crossbow at bow season. She killed a deer around 7:00 am and 5:00 pm an agent name David Ingram showed up. He knocked at the door and asked for my wife she was working up the deer meat so she put it in the refrigerator and came out. This agent David Ingram asked her if she killed a deer she said yes and then he said can i see you shot your bow. She said yes but I have to get my husband to ### the bow for me and he said you have a crossbow permit she said yes and then he asked to see it. So she went in the house to get it I asked him what was going on he said he did not believe that she killed that deer. So my wife came out and showed the permit to the Agent David Ingram and then my wife asked him if he still wanted her to shot the crossbow and he said no. Then he asked to see the deer meat and my wife went in the house and got it and came out he looked at it and said it was not marked or labeled and then he that he was going to write her some tickets. We said for what and he said he did not believe my wife killed that deer he said I did and we was lying but if I would say that I killed the deer he would not write her the tickets. Then i told him I could not do that and he said are you going to let me write her the tickets and then I told him this is not right to do this and then he called us liars again then I told him to get off are land. This is not right for an Agent to do I sent a letter to his boss and talked to a Mr. Ripperger in Jefferson City and told him that this Agent is not to be on my property and if he comes back he will be trespassing on my land. Out laws with a badge.

  • Vi
    Vivianvolka Aug 13, 2012

    Haha you deserved it. Just be happy that you and you tard wife didn't get hauled off to jail.

    0 Votes

Missouri Department of ConservationAbuse of power

In the past, I have had positive encounters with conservation agents. This year was far from positive. I was accused of shooting a 4 pt. buck and told at least 10 times that I was lying. I have never, and never would shoot a 4 pt buck. The conservation agent, officer Bishop in Shelby county, was abusive accuistory and very rude. And continued to call me and my hunting buddy liars. This completely ruined our hunting trip. I have always abided by the laws and have, in the past, turned in poachers. I will pursue this problem and black eye in the conservation department. This type of badgering and accusations should not be allowed and should be completely illegal. From now on, I will carry a video recorder and record the conversation with the agents as well.

  • In
    intheweedsandwoods Feb 11, 2012

    I have also run into Agent Bishop. The man has no busness being in a public contact position. Although the Conservation Dept. in our state is top notch in many ways, I have been turned off and totally against any contact with any agents in the future because of him. Agent Bishop likes to two man team hunters with other agents and they play the "good cop bad cop" game. He does more harm in pulic relations than any numbers of MDC programs can correct.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    passi36 Jul 02, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was highly disappointed & ashamed of the instructors that taught the hunter safety class i attended. They talked about one of their friends getting hurt while hunting but none of them new their friends wives name - just his girlfriends name. That was so inappropriate for the youth in the class. I would like to know what kind of background & criminal record checks your do on your joker volunteers!! Because I know the man that just had a write up in the Examiner about what a great youth leader he is. Well that's ### because he never spent that much time with his own family because he was to busy trying impress people so they knew he had no faults. He is an alcoholic, cocaine & meth user, pot smoker & has recently been accused of sexually abusing two young girls. So before I go any further & public about these issues, the conservation department needs to start screening their volunteers soon. I've even known him to try to make meth in his own home. People are not always appear to be what they really are!!

    1 Votes

Missouri Department of ConservationAbuse and Lies OUT LAWS WITH A BADGE

My wife is disable and she has a crossbow permit to use a crossbow at bow season. She killed a deer around 7:00 am and 5:00 pm an agent name David Ingram showed up. He knocked at the door and asked for my wife she was working up the deer meat so she put it in the frigerator and came out. This agent David Ingram asked her if she killed a deer she said yes and then he said can i see you shot your bow. She said yes but I have to get my husband to ### the bow for me and he said you have a crossbow permit she said yes and then he asked to see it. So she went in the house to get it I asked him what was going on he said he did not beleave that she killed that deer. So my wife came out and showedthe permit to the Agent David Ingram and then my wife asked him if he still wanted her to shot the crossbow and he said no. Then he asked to see the deer meat and my wife went in the house and got it and came out he looked at it and said it was not marked or labald and then he that he was going to write her some tickets. We said for what and he said he did not beleave my wife killed that deer he said I did and we was lieing but if I would say that I killed the deer he would not write her the tickets. Then i told him I could not do that and he said are you going to let me write her the tickets and then I told him this is not right to do this and then he called us liers again then I told him to get off are land. This is not right for an Agent to do I sent a letter to his boss and talked to a Mr. Rippenger in Jefferson City and told him that this Agent is not to be on my property and if he comes back he will be trusspassing on my land. Out laws with a badge.

  • Ya
    Yada Yada Feb 24, 2010

    As an avid hunter myself, I've encountered several Conservation Agents over the years. All encounters were positive and professional, thus it is hard to believe the vague story above which by the way is full of typos and grammatical errors. Maybe someone should write a complaint about their English teachers as well.

    -2 Votes
  • Sl
    sledgehammer6363 Nov 13, 2011

    In the past, I have had positive encounters with conservation agents. This year was far from positive. I was accused of shooting a 4 pt. buck and told at least 10 times that I was lying. I have never, and never would shoot a 4 pt buck. The conservation agent officer Bishop, in Shelby county, was abusive acquistory and very rude. And continued to call me and my hunting buddy liars. This completely ruined our hunting trip. I have always abided by the laws and have, in the past, turned in poachers. I will pursue this problem and black eye in the conservation department. This type of badgering and accusations should not be allowed and should be completely illegal. From now on, I will record the conversation with the agents as well.

    Just a note...just because someone cannot spell, or be a grammatically correct as you are, doesn't mean that they are not telling the truth.

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    Russ Tina Flowers Feb 01, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My spelling might not be the best but here it go's. One day i'm going off to work one morning and as i was driving I saw agent Dave Ingram headed out my area. I get at work and clock on and five min. later agent Dave Ingram shows up at my work. He gets out of his truck and ask me a name and if I new him. I respond to him yes, that's my uncle. He asked where is he at? I said don't know. Dave said he has your address. Yes and i told him several times to get his address change. Dave asked where does he live? I said some where over by St.Roberts why? Dave asked when was the last time u seen him? I said yesterday. Dave asked was any one with him I said his boy and a friend of there's. Why what's going on? Dave said that my uncle got pulled over yesterday for speeding and the state patrol found turkey breast, beard, and feet. So he's wanting to talk to him. Dave asked what was he doing over here in Salem? I said he is cleaning out his storage unit that he had here. Dave asked did he have a turkey in the truck? I said no, he had his truck full of his stuff out of storage. So we stood around and started talking about the past. We had a few laughs about the past. Then he got back on the main subject again and ask did your uncle live with you? I said no. He works in Illinois every day. There's weeks go by that I don't see him and his daughter lives with us. My wife and I get her off to school every day. Then Dave ask do you have a phone number to reach him? I said yes and gave it to him. So he asked Why did he move. Well he came and got his stuff and picked up his daughter one day. It happened over a little incident in Ill. that could of been solved. I seen it and confronted him it was no big deal. But he had to stretch it out. So Dave was like wow. So he shook my hand and I asked him how did u get the address? He said its on his drivers license. So Dave Ingram left. I gave my uncle a call because I've told him several times to get the address changed. I was so angry when I called him and I told him on the phone to change the address on his drivers license I am tired of people showing up looking for you because you get in so much trouble. And left it to that and got off the phone. Oh it was probably a week or so when I get a call from a cousin far away asking me about being a witness on back of a ticket that my uncle got from agent Dave Ingram. I flipped, WHAT? My cousin has a pic. of it on his phone I asked him to send it to me. When I received it, I Just dropped What the hell is going on. I tried to call my uncle several times he, s not responding. I was and still to this day getting threats and called cop caller And a hole lot more. So i'm searching to find how to call Dave Ingram. I call him and left a message. Well here I'm waiting for him to get back with me and nothing. One day I saw him in town [Salem] at the S curve he pulls over and said "I here your wanting to talk to me about the ticket?" Here he is out of uniform in his truck and I said [being angry] What the hell is my name on the back of the ticket as a witness? He yell, s back"because u called him" "U called him didn't u" I said yes I did because I don't want people showing up looking for him at my place. So he put his hand up and left. Now I get home and the phone rings. Its agent Dave Ingram. I answer, he ask if he can come out and talk. I said sure. Here he is pulling up in the drive way. We start talking. Why is my name on the back of the ticket? He said you called him I seen his phone he showed me. I said yes i called him what does that have to do with my name on the back of the ticket? He said "you warned him that I was looking for him" I didn't warn him crap I called and told him to change his damn address on his drivers license I'm tired of "PEOPLE" looking for him. So he listen to everything I was saying and apologize. That's great now what about my name on that ticket. He tells me don't worry about it he will take care of it .And he went on his way. So now my uncle" sister" starts calling, texting just totally harassing, threatening just turned psycho. I tell her quit calling and texting me just stop. So I will shorten it up. I've been to the Dent co. sheriffs twice. I've lost a lot of family and friends over my name being put on a ticket as a" witness". Something that caused so much chaos, stress, depression, been in and out of hospital on the heart. Had two heart attack. It put a hole lot on me. No one would ever know until something like this happens to you. I've changed phones. I've stayed home more than I have ever because of what people say to me or how yr friends look at you and your on relation. This is my life thanks agent Dave Ingram

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Karen Hill Apr 21, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My husband and I have only been in Missouri for less than 3 years. The first hunting season we were here we had only been here for 3 months. On Thanksgiving my husband went in the back yard to hunt. We had a feeder back there that had been empty for a week and we did not fill it back up. But my husband was out back and I looked out my bedroom window because I heard someone talking, when I looked out there was a man with a gun pulled and pointing at the hunting blind that my husband was in. I was so scared. I went down stairs and went outside. There was a game warden out there. He came up to the house and explained to us that it is against the law to hunt over baited field. The feeder was empty. But then he began to explain to us the laws here in Missouri. He gave us a ticket for $350.00. He was such an [censored] and I wished we never moved here. We have never been hunting here since. I do hope he is happy. Why do these people have to be so mean. If they can give someone a ticket for not knowing something then they can afford to put signs up where you can not go.

    Then today we were out and saw a road and the sign said Missouri Conservation, so we drove down the road. Never been there before and there were NO signs that said we could not be there. When we were coming out there was a conservation agent that stopped me. He asked us if we drove off the gravel road. I said yes. He said that is against the law. I said there are no signs that said that. He told us that they can not afford to keep putting up signs because people shoot them. I am sorry but that is not my fault. If we are not allowed to drive in places then it is your responsibility to put signs up not mine. I am so mad because these wardens and agents are so mean. I was not doing anything wrong. The agents name was Zachary White and he said he was going to give me a warning. I got a little angry. He said he could give me a ticket. I told him I can guarantee that I would never set another foot on that property. He said he did not want me not to come back, he wanted us to enjoy it. How the hell can I enjoy something that I have been made so mad when I was there. These people are young and and do not respect people. I know they have to deal with a lot of mean people but not everybody is mean. Stereotyping people is wrong. I will not go back to that place. To many people tell what you can and cannot do but can't be nice enough to explain it to you. God will get you mean people

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Hayes1970 Oct 10, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree some agents on Missouri are horrible. They take the authority to far. If someone has done something wrong then they should be explaining the law. I have recently experienced a situation with Shannon Smith in Schuyler County and now I have had to hire lawyers. This agent may of been just having a bad day but to come to our farm and accuse us of lying is inappropriate. We tried to explain what happen and he wouldn’t even listen. He decided in his mind before he even got to the farm what he thought happen and it was far from the truth. The ticket may of been under $100 and now lawyers have cost us thousands but I don’t like to be accused of lying and I will fight this to the end no matter what I have to do. Agent Shannon Smith is a liar. Any conservation agent that cannot tell the difference between a deer shot with a arrow and a deer shot with a bullet should not be a agent. You can clear tell the difference. I even have pictures to prove it. I am also will to pay for specialists to review the pictures and test the deer. I am so disappointed in system. I have never had an agent been so rude as Mr. Smith. I will also be sending letters and emails to the conservation department and anyone else that willing to hear my story. I am giving Mr. Smith time to admit he jumped to conclusions and he’s was wrong before I explain what happen on social media. Mr. Smith everyone makes mistakes and it’s time for you to own up to yours.

    2 Votes

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem