Bell Express Vu Complaints & Reviews

Bell Express VuPVR Rental Scam

In May of 2010 I noticed a large jump in my Bell Express Vu bill. When I checked it, it turns out they started to bill me for the rental of two PVR's. I called to see why, and they said they did an audit of all PVR's and determined that mine were rentals that I wasn't being billed for and that they were being generous to me by not back billing me for the previous two years. Yeah, that is nice I thought, but wait a minute...I bought those PVRs! "Well, you'll have to show proof of purchase." I was told. I couldn't locate the original receipt. Turns out they have it on file because they ask you to send in the original receipt for a promotional rebate (but I don't find this out for another 7 months). I did have my VISA statement from 2 years ago showing the 2 separate PVR purchases and asked them if that would suffice. They said yes. This is now August. They told me it would be 4 to 6 weeks after they received my proof of purchase. September I was still being over billed and countless phone calls later still no resolution. So November I called into cancel my service. This is when I am told that they do have my original receipts of purchace filed on their computers and again no problem, my money will be refunded in 4 to 6 weeks. Well I wasn't going to fall for that again so I asked him to suspend my service til they sorted it out. Just received the Decemember bill and they still have not corrected the problem but also over billed for the suspension. Frustrated because I can't seem to get my money back and they keep taking money from me, I called the CRTC to see if I could complain to them...nope, not their mandate, told to call Consumer Protection... not their mandate either, told to call CCTC (consumer complaints for television services) nope, not their mandate, told to call CRTC. You get the picture. I called the executive offices of Bell 3 days ago and left a message, still no response. I have called several times more, but they don't answer their phone. (That is step 3 of Bell's advice on how to escalate a complaint).It is now December16th, 2010. EIGHT months after they started over billing me and still no resolution. I wonder how many other Bell Express view suscribers are being charged for rental of the PVR they purchased, but can't prove it 2 years later because they forgot they sent their original receipt to Bell. This is quite the scam Bell has going.

Bell Express Vuoverbilling

We were supposed to move to Montreal but ended up not going. We put our service on hold which is $15 a month. We had a hard time getting our service reconnected here as they were supposed to send us a smart card and they sent it to Montreal instead of here and we kept calling and they kept assuring us it was on the way. We finally got service but the bill they sent us was astronomically high and they can't send us an itemized list of exactly what these charges are for. All they can say is they see the final amount and that is what we owe. Plus they have no records of all the times we've called and it's like starting from square one every time we call. I refuse to pay their amount!

Bell Express VuUnjustified Charges

In 2007 I ordered Bell Express Vu, was happy with the services but was getting too expensive so I cancelled the contract early 1 year into the contract I had asked if I can terminate. They agreed with the condition of paying $50 for each model 3100 receiver since they were in the 2 year contract deal. I've paid monthly extra for a HD unit so it wasn't part of the 2 year contract so that unit can be returned at any time. This is what I was told, having this knowledge they told me to pay $99 for the first receiver and $50 for each additional that being 3 units at total of $149. That being said $100 for early cancellation a total of $249. I agree with this since I didn't want the service anymore and having a bill that was way to big for me to handle since it was bundled with phone service and internet which I cancelled also. I had asked for some type of payment arrangement because the bill was around $600. They sent return labels and having gone to purolator and had it shipped out before the 15 days they required in Nov11. I had the shipping labels marked with the references numbers of each box. It went out for return, it is now Jan6, and I received a bill from Bell totalling $425. It turns out they charged me for a non returned item totally $509 and only credited $160 from the returned items $349 added to my current Dec. bill of $73. What happened to my previous payments why was the $509 added and credited only $160 from all those payments I made back in Nov6 to Dec31, seems that no one payment has credited this account yet they say I have a $28 credit and then they added $425 for TV services, what the hell!

Bell Express Vufraudulent billing

I cancelled my account with bell express vu services in aug 2004 when my home was sold. I arranged via canada post a forwarding address.
Now more than 3 yrs later, I have a collection agency calling me that I owe from the bell express vu account over 200.00. I have never left any bills ever unpaid and i have not recieved any correspondence from bell express vu in three years. And now I am harrassed by some collection agency. I feel tbell vu must have fraudulent billing practices or very poor company communication when service is discontinuesd.
What a rip off company.

  • Ys
    YSS Jun 21, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Express Vu, and all the companies under Bell's umbrella offer the worst service and the worst customer service. I heard that they reconnect the service three months after the disconnection. I have a different problem: we get our services interrupted all the time and therefore the PVR records only 10 minutes of a program. We consider ourselves lucky if we get a TV show recorded in full. And now it has been 4 days without service. The customer service just told us that all the PVRs of the same model as ours are not getting signals. Everywhere. And they don'y even bother to send an email to apologize.

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    Drew Aug 15, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The same thing happened to me. When a credit report was run on me is when I found out that I supposedly owe them money! What a rip off!

    0 Votes
  • Fu
    f up billing Nov 21, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had my ExpressVu service cancelled due to the bad reception for months, just too busy to call in to cancel. The stupid customer service agent told me the final amount that I am to pay for the cancellation of service. Sure enough, I've received a bill with that same amount, I've made that last payment and I did not received any signals afterward that. A month after, they send me another bill for 25 dollars as if I've never cancelled the subscription, there's no way I owe them anymore money, so I've ignored it! It's been at least a year since that 25 dollars bill, and they sent a collection agency after me? WTF!!

    0 Votes
  • Tu
    TUrs Sep 15, 2009

    I cancelled Bell satellite years ago, when I couldn't get service in my house from a move. They said they would credit my account fully . Two weeks later...three calls from Bell saying I owed them money still. WTF. So they said they would clear it. Two weeks later..I got another bill...they cut it in half...well ain't that the cats a$$

    Well, another call to bell...two hour hold. They finally said we cleared it for sure. Ok no calls from collection agency.

    Two years later, my bank does a credit check on me...says I owe Bell the full amount they mentioned. It's affecting my credit big time...one measley bull$hit company...who is full of lies. Don't let them put you on hold. Record conversation, but tell them you are recording it.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    satsucks Oct 28, 2009

    Same issue here. Wanted to cancel Bell TV in June, they told me that I was under contract until August 2009 and would have to pay an early disconnection fee, however if I kept paying until August I could avoid the fee. I kept paying, I sent back the receivers, and then they still tacked on the 150$ early disconnect. I've called every month so far...e-mailed every month. All I get is a call center person who doesn't understand what I'm saying, or an e-mail back that's cut and pasted from stock text. Their customer service is the worst I've ever dealt with. They've set up a huge call center to field calls from people like us that can't get what they ask for. I don't see how that saves them money. It's almost November, they keep sending me the bill and asking for payment.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    vickster1 Oct 28, 2009

    A couple of months ago I signed up with BELL internet and then a couple days later decided to go with Bell TV. Taking advantage of the Bell Bundles. Because everything was on two orders they were unable to bundle my account right away and had to wait for the first months bills.

    I called a CSR to get onto the One bill and take advantage of the bundling. Everything seemed good to go. However, since then, I started to receive further bills notifying me that I have an outstanding amount owing, phone calls (No messages left). I continued to monitor my online acount and my balance was 0.

    The other day I picked up my bill to find a Disconnection Notice if the payment was not made. I called a customer service rep. to get an explanation on this...passed over a few time to different people with no resolution. I told them I wanted to cancel my service - both TV and internet. That would cost $150 for the disconnection charge.

    I am so pissed- I don't understand why I have even received a disconnection charge in the first place and now I don't even want to deal with BELL.

    0 Votes
  • Sk
    Skippystan Jul 12, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We had Bell Express for around seven years and then we moved. Called Bell and cancelled for about four months. We called and resumed service. About a year later the bills started coming in. Two hundred, four hundred and the last one being over seven hundred dollars. I must have been on the phone with all these idiots who did not a thing to help out. Finally I got to speak with this smart ### supervisor and told him I wanted compensation for my time. The big jerk give us one month free cable. Last month I tried calling Bell and I give up and my wife called and told them we had enough of their poor service and bad attitude. We now deal with Columbia Cable which has a office right in town. Great service. I had trouble hooking up the DVD and they sent a guy over within hours who hooked it up and no charge. Bell Express, NEVER again
    Wayne in Nakusp

    0 Votes

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem