24ProtectPlus Complaints & Reviews

24ProtectPlusDeducting fees for something I never signed up for!!!

Needless to say, I once went on to intellus and puchased, not signed up for a phone to name search, one time fee of 9.95 and if unable to find I would be refunded the 9.95. I then noticed a fee of 19.99 coming out of my account, spoke with intellus and they accounted for their mistake and refunded me the 19.99. They were unable to perform the phone check and sent me an email refunding me the 9.95. I have only order this service twice once in October and once in April and used two different cards on these two seperate occasions.

TODAY 06/21/2010 I am reviewing my bank statement and I notice a charge for 24.95 for this something called 24PROTECTPLUS - I'm like what the heck is this. So I call and I spoke with a rep name Sherry, I ask my questions and she does state she is doing a refund for the "24.95" charge, so I ask why and how this service came about and she states that I supposedly signed up when I click on a rebate offer intellus and they are connected. Well I knew I never did that because they were unable to perform the services i requested and in order to receive a rebate int he first place you would have to have purchased something and I HATE this credit protections services, taht try to scam you on so I would never sign for something I didn't read the fine print to. So she stated "whatever" here is your reference #...UNACCEPTABLE I asked to speak to her manager, Cornellia who was somewhat pleasant but at this point I was aggrevated, stated they are not part of INTELLUS and when I entered my credit card to purchase the service it linked to there promotion...well nothing on INtellus website states anything about 24PROTECTPLUS, so why am I being charged without the knowledge and why would you attach yourself to a link behind the scenes to SCAM poepl out of money. I never received anythign int eh mail to sign for, so you would think - if all other services like that require you to sign why wouldn't they.

So then Cornellia tells me it goes back to october...OCTOBER I SAY...what???? LIke I said earlier I have used intellus twice, in OCT and April and have used two different cards so why am I being charge on my bank statement card that I used in APRIl for something back in October...doesn;t make any sense except a SCAM...and then she states it will be 9 months at 24.95 thats 224.55 that I should be reibursed...224.55!!! Thats no measly one-time 24.95 charge. It took her forever to tell me that it would be reimbursed at the 9 months all at once...all she kept saying is 24.95 for each month so was that everymonth for the next 9 months I would be reimbursed 24.95 or all at once in the full amount??? FInally she stated IN TWO BUSINESS DAYS I should be receiving the full amount totaling 9 months but she couldn't give me a calculation as her system doesn;t allow it...BS...I am sure you knew exactly what I would be reimbursed, thats just to cover your rear-end when they try not to reimburse me the full amount. Well...I am not one to lay down and to be walked all over and I am not naive and believe the BS lines that were given, your system is capable and you should have been able to quote me exactly what I would be reibursed - so if I do not receive I will call back and I will get to the bottom of these scams.

Comment Guidelines

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit
    5 Responses
    • Ji
      Jim Jul 25, 2009

      I went for one of those "free" credit reports. After an avalanche of screens and forms I stupidly gave them my credit card number. It has been 5 months trying to get them to stop billing me. This has to be sheer FRAUD. But where does one take it.

      0 Votes
    • Re
      Rebecca May 29, 2009

      I recieved two different charges and I never approved the account. And when you call to cancel they never let you talk to a human.

      0 Votes
    • El
      elwood Oct 08, 2008
      This comment was posted by
      a verified customer
      Verified customer

      Ths is a SCAM product, that will hit you if you search on certain pay sites looking for people. You have 7 days to cancel and then they start billing you! Call them & cancel and demand credit for any payments made, threaten with BBB & Law!

      0 Votes
    • Gn
      gnat Sep 12, 2008
      This comment was posted by
      a verified customer
      Verified customer

      4 unauthorized charges to my credit card; i have no contact with the company. They sought out my info and simply used it. To hellfire and dungeons with them.

      0 Votes
    • Fr
      Frank Jun 21, 2008
      This comment was posted by
      a verified customer
      Verified customer

      A charge appeared on my credit card for $19.95. It was NEVER authorized by me. I called the company and they agreed to refund my charges. The complaint is filed in case they do not credit my account... this company is "shady" at best.

      0 Votes

    The complaint has been investigated and
    resolved to the customer's satisfaction
    Resolved
    24ProtectPlusUnauthorized Credit Card Charges

    On May 20, 2009 I had to use a people finder website in order to get the address of a friend to send him a package of his belongings. Upon finding the person a fee was required of just under $1. I paid the without thinking much of it only to find that there were also hidden fees involved that I was later charged $19.95 for on May 28, 2009. The company charging me, Intelius.com, said that I had signed up for the subscription of 24protectplus.com which was the company that was now going to charge me $19.95 monthly. Somehow 24protectplus had stolen my credit card information from Intelius and intended to charge me without my knowledge. I had never heard of this company and it seems that, upon searching google for this company, hundreds of others are being scammed by these same people. I'm amazed at how far back the dates of complaints of this company go and how nothing has been done to stop them. After spending a lot of time making phone calls I have now cleared my credit card "purchase" and cancelled my "subscription". But I wanted to follow up with a complaint because there needs to be something done about this company. They are siphoning funds from people all across the country and when caught make it out to be my fault for signing up for something that I have never heard of. Another thing that was extremely disturbing when I called my bank to dispute the charge was that Chase Bank actually advertises this 24protectplus company. Along with this I have also read complaints that Bank of America and AOL have had associations with this company. Although I am supposedly going to be refunded, I am still deeply disturbed that a company like this can operate in America for several years. Something needs to be done.

    Comment Guidelines

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      Submit
      6 Responses
      • In
        Intelius_Customer_Support Nov 02, 2009

        It sounds like you have accepted a third party company’s offer that is advertised on the Intelius website. If you no longer wish to be enrolled in that third party company’s service, please call [protected] Monday – Friday 4:30am – 9:00pm PST. We will be more than happy to assist you.

        0 Votes
      • Sa
        Sadcommentary Jun 01, 2009
        This comment was posted by
        a verified customer
        Verified customer

        Read what you signed up for next time it is clearly stated on their site that you will sign up for this other service if you agree to the lower price at that time.

        0 Votes
      • La
        lavern Jun 01, 2009

        IK9*PRIVACY MATTERS what kind of company is this that takes money off your debit card without authorization?

        0 Votes
      • Ro
        Ross Burke Apr 01, 2008
        This comment was posted by
        a verified customer
        Verified customer

        24ProtecPlus is a membership program manged by Adaptive Marketing LLC, a subsidiary of Vertrue Inc. Vertrue specializes in negative option marketing in which internet buyers are deceived into agreeing to a membership program during the check-out process. I was stung the same way when I used People-Finders from Intelius; Intelius has partnered with Adaptive Marketing, and they realize a kick-back on each of the memberships sold.

        Vertrue has been sued by the AG's of at least six states for deceptive marketing practices. It typically agrees to reform and then goes on the same way as before. Vertrue and Adaptive Marketing both tend to flood the Internet with releases announcing how eco-conscious and employee-friendy they are, and how good their memberships programs are. This is just smoke, since the Internet is rife with complaints about these companies.

        Trilegiant (formerly CUC) and WebLoyalty are also players in this business although Vertrue has been attracting the most attention these days.

        Banks are complicit in this racket. For instance, there is currently a class-action suit against Wachovia for facilitating fraudulent transations from Vertrue in spite of internal memos from its own executives warning about the fraud.

        0 Votes
      • Ca
        Cathy Wang Feb 14, 2008
        This comment was posted by
        a verified customer
        Verified customer

        AP9 24PROTECTPLUS charged my credit card 6 times. I didn't know what charges were for.

        0 Votes
      • El
        elizabeth Dec 11, 2007
        This comment was posted by
        a verified customer
        Verified customer

        24ProtectPlus charge my credit card $14.95 that i did not made. I dont even know this company!!!

        0 Votes

      24ProtectPlus — Fraudulent charges

      Associated with using Intellius. Found the charges on my bank statement and then researched back and saw...

      The complaint has been investigated and
      resolved to the customer's satisfaction
      Resolved
      24ProtectPlusunauthorized charge

      I was just charged $14.00 for "ordering" 24ProtectPlus through my Intelius account (this is a people-search engine). I did NOT order this service, and was very surprised to see this charge to my bank account. I contacted 24ProtectPlus, and they refunded my money and canceled my account (after trying to sell me something else!), but I wanted to let others know to CHECK YOUR BANK ACCOUNTS on a monthly (or more often) basis, as this kind of thing can happen. I will contact the Better Business Bureau, as well.

      Comment Guidelines

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        Submit
        2 Responses
        • In
          Intelius_Customer_Support Nov 05, 2009

          It sounds like you have accepted a third party company’s offer that is advertised on the Intelius website. If you no longer wish to be enrolled in that third party company’s service, please call [protected] Monday – Friday 4:30am – 9:00pm PST. We will be more than happy to assist you.

          0 Votes
        • Ro
          Ross Burke Apr 01, 2008
          This comment was posted by
          a verified customer
          Verified customer

          24ProtecPlus is a membership program manged by Adaptive Marketing LLC, a subsidiary of Vertrue Inc. Vertrue specializes in negative option marketing in which internet buyers are deceived into agreeing to a membership program during the check-out process. I was stung the same way when I used People-Finders from Intelius; Intelius has partnered with Adaptive Marketing, and they realize a kick-back on each of the memberships sold.

          Vertrue has been sued by the AG's of at least six states for deceptive marketing practices. It typically agrees to reform and then goes on the same way as before. Vertrue and Adaptive Marketing both tend to flood the Internet with releases announcing how eco-conscious and employee-friendy they are, and how good their memberships programs are. This is just smoke, since the Internet is rife with complaints about these companies.

          Trilegiant (formerly CUC) and WebLoyalty are also players in this business although Vertrue has been attracting the most attention these days.

          Banks are complicit in this racket. For instance, there is currently a class-action suit against Wachovia for facilitating fraudulent transations from Vertrue in spite of internal memos from its own executives warning about the fraud.

          0 Votes

        IN THE NEWS

        Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
        If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
        One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
        A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
        ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
        You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
        Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.