RecordsArea.comInformation not available!

P
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

After paying $29.95 no information was available. How can a site be allowed to do this? After realizing I had been ripped off, I started looking for complaints and found plenty of them.

Responses

  • Jo
    Joe Stratton Jan 03, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was scammed as well. I too wish I would have done a few minutes of due-diligence of researching this company before charging $29.95 to my credit card. Here is the recourse that I took:

    a. I purchased their "service" on my American Express card as I do with all on-line orders. AMEX is the best for handling disputed charges. AMEX credits your card immediately, and will attempt to contact recordsarea.com to settle. (very nice).

    b. Also, recordsarea.com uses "clickbank.com" as their merchant for handling credit card orders, I also sent them a threatening email demanding a full and immediate refund. They responded within one business day promising a refund. (email sent to: [protected]@clickbank.com)

    As far as legislating against companies like this, it is difficult but not impossible. Like myself, I was happy to simply get a refund with a lesson learned and move on. Eventually, a politician's spouse will be burned and perhaps legistlation could happen!

    Good luck.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    cameron dolbin Jan 11, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was not able to access any information on any of my searches. Should have flushed $29.95 instead of letting this bunch have it.ifa98

    0 Votes
  • De
    declan mitchell Jan 11, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    nothing from records for irish people mitch45 rip off

    0 Votes
  • De
    declan mitchell Jan 11, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    rip off mitc45

    0 Votes
  • De
    declan mitchell Jan 11, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i put in the name mitchell no records of mitchell what a joke mitch45

    0 Votes
  • Ce
    cecil ramirez Jan 15, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This website is totally useless! They should not allow this.
    My worry is... is it possible for them to illegally use my credit card? Because when I entered my credit card number and 3 digit code, the number is still readable unlike the usual online transaction that I had wherein after encoding such number, the asterisks will appear (it is being encrypted)..

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Tracey Feb 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also fell victim TWICE to this website. They promised Australian Court Records and they did not give access to them.

    I then went to another website www.australian-records.com which promised the same thing and subscribed there and guess where they sent me after they took my money ...... that's right www.recordsarea.com

    I believe another affiliated website is www.australiarecords.net.

    So be wary ... VERY wary as they seem to have mutiple websites set up which all link back to www.recordsarea.com

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tony Feb 29, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    No info, no info, no info! Totally useless site! They got my 29.95 and i received NOTHING!!!Beware!! Do not join.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Tracey Mar 03, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Update!

    www.recordsarea.com operate through another business called clickbank. Upon very strongly worded emails, clickbank will refund all money.

    Luckily I had paid through Paypal and had their support when asking clickbank for a refund.

    The other website
    www.australian-records.com
    I sent MANY emails to and they agreed to refund my money minus $9.95 handling fee as per their terms and conditions. I then rang them and informed them that because they charged me the amount in US$ when I had agreed to be charged in AUS$, the transaction was considered fraudulent and voided their terms and conditions. They then agreed to refund the full amount.

    Contact them and argue strongly to get your money back!

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shocked Mar 06, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The info. you get if you can get any you can go to the web. I was very shocked that they can do this and get away with it. But i know that there are people who live with lots of money they gain by hurting others and fraudulent claims this is why we cant trust in this life without terms and agreements . As we all have reasons for paying to get info. be it to find loved ones and friends I am sure they have all of theirs close to help spend the money they have taken from people. I didnt find myself on their website and I can bet who ever came up with this is on there. At this point I am glad to know they dont have info. on the people I looked up wounder what else they could do with it if they did. Truly shocked.

    0 Votes
  • Jj
    j. jenkins Mar 07, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I threw 39.95 down the toilet for this web site. I have tried at least 50 times and have NEVER found any information on peolpe that definitely should be on record. This situation places a bad name on all sites for this typeof research.

    0 Votes
  • Cm
    c.macniven Apr 21, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I immediately e-mailed these people firstly to say that "no records" came back for something I had already from a different source & was accurate & also to say that I found them advertising all Australian records but most is from U.S.On reading your comments here I am now about to ask for a refund.Hope everyone does the same as not only is a taking our money falsely but I think we are anxious just to discover more information which is dear to us.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Ramon May 06, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also felt to this major scam. How can this site continual to do business without anyone putting a stop to this. I even put my own name for a search and nothing came up. I thought, I was doing something wrong, because I wasn't getting any result on anyone. What a big joke.

    0 Votes
  • Ms
    m salvatierra May 13, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I subscribed to Gov-resources and they immediately deducted the membership fee of $39.94. I haven't been able to utilize the services as it is not recognizing my password. I am not getting any results from the tech support or customer service, EITHER!!! I'M JUST GETTING THE RUN AROUND.

    0 Votes
  • Ly
    Lyd May 22, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I subscribed to RecordsArea.com to try and locate a missing person.
    It was advertised at a discount for a five year period at $29.94. I was charged $39.94.. I ran the search it said they found 93 records with this name. I could not access any of them.. I then put
    in someone I knew.. They came up with some records only one
    his address was available.. On his marriages. Theysaid they had
    111, only 3 were availabe to vew and they were in the 1800's
    And he was a man I was married to for 18 years..
    This is in no uncertain terms a ripoff.. And I am contacting every
    person of authority I can think of.. Senators, Congressman, and
    Representatives. Oh, and my lawyer as well.. I darn Angry..
    Lydia Shmitt

    0 Votes
  • Di
    dian Jun 21, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    records area .com RIP OFF NO SERVICE THERE EITHER!!! I HAVE SEVERAL CONFIRMATION CODES NONE WORKS!!!

    0 Votes
  • We
    Web Support Jul 18, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi Lyd,

    We apologize if you have experienced difficulties with your membership. While there were a few glitches in the software, our technicians have been working hard to perfect the software. I am confident that together we can make sure you are happy with your membership.
    If you have any technical issues, please feel free to contact me through email or telephone in and speak with a representative for any issues. To make the process easier for you, please have your 21 digit Order ID, the email address or the telephone number that you put on your account ready so that we can easily find your account and assist you.

    Email: [protected]@marketbill.com
    Telephone: [protected]

    0 Votes
  • La
    Larkay Aug 14, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree with all comments. Its only been one week, and I have not been able to access anything. It keep telling me I have to wait 24 hrs. This is a scam and I am truly upset. I am going to call a lawyer, and the BBB to see if anything can be done about it.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    harry Aug 18, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    paid 29.95 tried to do an adoption search... no results even put in my own name birth date and state is was born in . came back with no results, afet that I put in 2 or 3 searches that I even knew the answers to.. no results.. This site is a total ripp off and should be shut down... I did some research and this company has been ripping people off since sept 2007 and hasn, t been shut down yet WHAT IS THE DEAL SHUT THEM DOWN STOP THEM FROM RIPPING PEOPLE OFF

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marion Foster Aug 27, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I, Marion Foster agree fully that these people are 'scamers' and should be taken out and shot-I VOLENTER-for the job.
    C/BANK says "SOFTWARE DOCTOE INC is the publisher of this site.
    I have asked C/BANK for a refund and also called my credit card
    co.will have more to say after this is setteled.

    0 Votes
  • Ve
    Vera Nov 13, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Unfortunately I have experienced exactly the same and could not get any information. The email I sent came back as unknown address

    0 Votes
  • Gw
    Gwendolyn Clarke Nov 15, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I paid by credit card in April, 2008. I didn't try to use the service for about a week. Then I emailed People-Records telling them I couldn't find anything I was looking for. They said someone would contact me. I emailed them again and got no answer. Then I realized that this was a scam. Now I asked for my money back, no answer, cannot even sign in after being able to do that at first. Now I cannot get an email to go through to them. We all need our money, especially disabled seniors on social security. I really couldn't afford this, but needed information about deceased spouse. Thought this would help get info I needed. They will take on a different name and come right back, watch and see.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Justin Nov 21, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I cannot believe that this sight still exists, I just looked at the first date on the complaint 1 year. I just got ripped off, same thing everyone else is complaining about. Can not find no one, not even myself.

    0 Votes
  • So
    southphillywilly Nov 22, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I spent $39.99 on a lifetime membership with Government Records. when I was able to access the website, instead of giving me the requested information, I was refered to other websites that wanted more money. on their site. when I tried to access prison records, it said access is prohibited.
    This should not be under the freedom of information act. I also have 15 credits that I don't know how to use.
    As it stands now, I can't get on their website. All i get is page not available. Try search.
    I am not looking for a refund, just the service and ifo that I paid for. William Prince [protected]@aol.com

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    sharon Nov 23, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i wish i had found this site before i paid --same happened to me got a site said oop!!!
    i called credit card com now have to wait for statement for dispute --just what i wanted to do in spare time nottttttttt

    0 Votes
  • Lm
    LMH Nov 27, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    OMG what a scam, here I am a victim of unknowingly marrying what turns out to be a dead beat dad to my children and all I want to know is about an arrest record on him I know exisits. I find a website I thought would help after searching and trying to decide how to go about this and when I can't access their website I finally emailed her (Jennifer), she gave me links I already had but still no clearance, so i emailed again threatening to give their names to the BBB-holiday or no holiday I expect results.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mike Slovinski Nov 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was just wondering if anybody has there phone number or address so I can contact them.Mike

    0 Votes
  • De
    Derrick Nov 29, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I did the same thing as everyone else. I paid them $29.95 for what I thought was legit and recieved nothing back. N0 Records were found on my own marriage. What a total rip off I would think with so many people complaing someone could be able to do something about this.

    0 Votes
  • To
    tom powers Dec 01, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Both companies, (People-Records.net) & RecordsArea.com are scammers. I will find them and close them down.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    john fletcher Dec 02, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    RIP OFF THEY JUST TAKE YOUR MONEY AND OD NOT PROVIDE ANY SERVICE THEY SHOULD HAVE BEEN PROCICUTED LONG AGO I AM FILLING A COMPLAINT WITH THE ATTORNEY GENERAL

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    josefina Randal Dec 04, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I paid 19.95 for a one year membership to recordsarea.com. I could never access the website. i already asked for a refund.

    0 Votes
  • Gu
    Guyth Jaber Dec 14, 2008

    i payed my money to this website as they promised me that as an employer i would be able to check the criminal records and civil records of potential employees. this however never happened. they took my money and non of the services they promised available. i even tried to search myself but i couldn't a single shred of information and i have been taken to court and taken others to court a few times. NO RESULTS FOUND should be the name of this website as it is what you get every time you try to use it. I WANT MY MONEY BACK!!!

    0 Votes
  • Lj
    LJsKittten Jan 12, 2009

    I fell victim tothis site last night. after paying the money and reciving confirmation e-mail I went back to the site and could find no place on it to sign in. I sent several request for tech support and kept being sent to blank pages or the same start uppage. My payment is still pending at my bank so I called the bank to report fraud. I then CALLED Clickbank since they never responded to my e-mails either. I am told that a refund will be processed in 3-5 days. I'll just have to wait and see. If its not then I contact my bank again to file dispute of charges.

    This is the number to reach Clickbank : [protected]...I truly hope it helps everyone...GOOD LUCK TO ALL

    0 Votes
  • Gl
    Glenna Feb 01, 2009

    I ALSO HAVE BEEN RIPPED OFF, CANNOT GET INTO THE INFO, ACTUALLY WHEN I E-MAILED THEM THEY SENT ME http://.recordsarea.com/account when you go th ere it comes up saying "blank page" how convenient, I wil not stop until they refund my money, I paid the $39.95, because I wanted to check war records and parents relitives, but I couldn't even get a report on me, da, nothing on any of my siblings who are still living, no dates of my father or mothers marriage (which I already knew) or their deaths, which I also knew but the site said no RECORDS, CAN YOU BELIEVE THAT, I THINK WE SHOULD ALL SEND OUR COMPAINTS TO THE ATTORNEY GENERAL, BECAUSE A HUGE SCAM. BIG AS WALL STREET GOING ON HERE.

    0 Votes
  • Jb
    J. Brandner Feb 02, 2009

    I never got the service. They e-mailed me after receiving the $39.95, that the service would be ready in 24 hours. Never could get the service. Cannot get
    access to to their site, or their support area. This is absolute fraud. I am writing a letter to the Attorney
    General of my State, and my elected representatives.
    Until there is some legislation to prevent this kind of
    rip off, this victim will never again order anything
    on line . They were very slick about this. When I tried
    to get some information on my property, I was informed that I needed to pay $39.95 and link up to recordsarea.com to gain the information

    0 Votes
  • La
    lala Feb 02, 2009

    i have tryed and tryed i want my money back or theirs going to be seriouse problems i will sue for everything.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kelly Feb 08, 2009

    What the HELL is going on? This is a much needed sight in this day and time for both men & women. Why does this need to be another scam? I can't afford to throw away money! But I would like to know who lives in my area or who I am dating! Why hasn't this been looked into and stopped? They are still collecting money from people in good faith and not delivering!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Maggie in AR Feb 12, 2009

    Total rip-off.

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    Gina Feb 24, 2009

    I was scammed as well. After you put your information in you are not directed to the website. I sent emails to the company requesting my money back. I have not heard anything back from them. Someone needs to close down this business immediately. They're Scam Artists!!!

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    Gina Feb 24, 2009

    I was scammed to by this company. They are a total fraud!!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions