The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Publications Unlimitedhorrible magazine we did not order

C

My husband began receiving the magazine - maxim. We are a very religious family and it caused my husband and i problems until we called maxim to cancel the subscription. . . And when we asked who ordered this all they could tell us was that it was paid for in full buy publications unlimited. We never ordered this magazine. We are not the type of family that looks at trashy magazine's!!! When we call the 1 / 800 / 267 / 2611. . . That we were told to call to get in touch with publications unlimited. . . It goes directly to a operator saying to call back that there hours are from 9 - 5 eastern standard time. . . Well there time and my time must be very different because it doesn't matter what time of day or when that you call. . . They are always closed and i even tried pressing 0 and it sent me to a voicemail system that i am not even sure saved the message because i sure haven't heard back from them. It is sad that people have to do this to families. . . It is hard enough working all day, raising a family, trying to work hard to keep a marriage together and then filth comes out like this that is not even wanted in the home. I am going to contact every agency and law advisiors that i have to try and make this company stop. My 10 and 7 year old should not have to go the mail box and ask why daddy is getting a magazine with an almost naked woman on the front of it. My family has values!!

Responses

  • Yr
    yrual1234 Jul 09, 2015

    THE USPS HAS A FORM YOU CAN FILL OUT TO FORCE THE SENDER OF EXPLICIT AD MATERIALS TO STOP. It is called PS Form 1500 PDF ›Application for Listing and/or Prohibitory Order (2/2009) and it is on the USPS website here: http://about.usps.com/forms/all-forms.htm
    You must provide the post office with the original material (a photocopy will not suffice) when you turn in the completed form. Yeh, it's a bit embarrassing since the material is vile, but they know you don't want it. I did this years ago when an explicit men's magazine sent me an unsolicited postcard. The USPS contacted them and commanded them to remove my name and address from their mailing lists. It worked, never received anything from them again.

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    Bubba the Grump Jan 06, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    OK...here's the paper trail for this circus. First I called the magazine company to find out why I was getting 4 rags I don't want. THEY sent me to Priority One Clearing Svc [protected]). P.O.C.S. sent me to Publications Unlimited [protected]). P.U. said the subs came from something called Graspy Media [protected]). Google it and you won't find it. Graspy Media told me my subs were cancelled on 1/2/2015. When I asked why, I was told it was because of a billing error. When asked what the M.O.P. was, they told me a VISA, and gave me the last 4. Turns out that VISA card was part of the Home Depot data breech. So now you know...the rest of the story.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kimberlyrrobinson Jun 04, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Thank you all for posting your complaints I too am dealing with the same thing. I too am filing a complaint with the BBB. Phoenix, az

    0 Votes
  • Tk
    T K Miller May 31, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The same thing happened to us. I work in mailing, especially bulk mail, and I know the rules about this. It is illegal, especially mailing anything to a minor without the parent's permission. Please, all of you, contact the USPS Postal inspector's office at USPIS.GOV and the phone is [protected] 8AM to 4:30 PM in all time zones. This is the law enforcement branch of the US Postal Service. The more reports the better.

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    Educator in AR Mar 14, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My 90 year old mother has begun receiving women's health magazine, Men's Health magazine, and Star magazine. I contacted W H magazine and was told her subscription would be cancelled. When I asked for a refund, I was given the name and number of Publications Unlimited. The representative, Serita, was rude and uncooperative. I asked for a refund. All she would say was, "The subscription has been cancelled." When pressed about a refund, like a robot she kept repeating, "I am advising you to check your bank statement. If there are charges after today, contact the number on the statement." I asked for the name of the company that charged my mother for Star (the 2 health magazines were promotional and were free)...for 3 years????), only to hear the robotic phrase. I asked to speak to the manager; Serita said he was unavailable. This business of Publications Unlimited is a SCAM. I am contacting my lawyer in the morning!!

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    tiff10 Jan 02, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I will also be contacting this company. My 7 yr old son has been receiving Maxim, Mens Health and Playboy all inn his name. Magazines that we have never subscribed to. My 7 yr old checks our mail and I have had to answer questions as to what he has seen because of these magazines. Questions that should not have to be answered at his age. If I do not receive any contact from this company I will be going to papers and news stations in regards to them corrupting my minor child because of the filth that they have sent to the privacy of his home. Any tips or suggestion would be appreciated and helpful. You can contact me at [email protected] Thank you for reading.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    tiff10 Jan 02, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I will be attempting to contact this company as well. My 7 yr old son is receiving Maxim, Playboy, and also Mens Health. I have had to answer questions from my 7 yr old in regards to what these magazines had in them. He checks our mail and now I had to explain to my 7 yr old things I would not want to discuss with him at this age. If I do not receive the responses or get in touch with this company I will be going to papers and news stations to discuss how this company is corrupting minors. Any info on the steps that need to be taken would be helpful. You can contact me at [email protected] if you have any advice. Thank you for reading.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    bigboy5 Dec 19, 2012

    I just started receiving Mens Heath and ESPN the magazine. Called Publications Unlimited, operator was very friendlly and asked me right away if I would like to cancel them, Yes I would. She told me I would recieve two ro three more and they would stop. Mens Health is a worthless magazine in my opion, mostly advertisements. You people getting Maxim need to chill out... geez. How is it possible for anyone to be charged with procurring child pornography becuase they took a magazine out of the mailbox with scantily glad women on?? Lighten up Francis.

    1 Votes
  • So
    Southeast Minnesota Nov 20, 2012

    I have been getting Maxim in my deceased father's business name, along with Playboy. I called the 800 number listed at the end of the Playboy magazine (for subscription related issues). Was told the magazine must be a complimentary issue. Was told to call Consumer Marketing Solutions at [protected]. Got voice mail and left a message. Hope someone returns my call! Really would like both to stop as we have no use for either...both go straight into the trash...which costs ME money to dispose of! Those of you who are getting Maxim, try Consumer Marketing Solutions also.

    0 Votes
  • Jm
    Jman1212 Jul 17, 2012

    I'm not sure why the above post has all those numbers- they are suppose to be quotation marks. I will try again:
    So I called "Publications Unlimited" and the woman said they are a customer service department of Maxim...so my thought is that they are a company "made up" by Maxim to send these "promotions" of magazines to people. It seems it is Maxim, or the magazines themselves, sending out these magazines and pointing to "Publications Unlimited" as the one who has signed a person up for the subscriptions- when it is the magazines themselves. Anything to get their magazine to the doorsteps of our homes...pathetic.

    0 Votes
  • Jm
    Jman1212 Jul 17, 2012

    So I called 'Publications Unlimited' and the woman said they are a customer service department of Maxim...so my thought is that they are a company 'made up' by Maxim to send these 'promotions' of magazines to people. It seems it is Maxim, or the magazines themselves, sending out these magazines and pointing to 'Publications Unlimited' as the one who has signed a person up for the subscriptions- when it is the magazines themselves. Anything to get their magazine to the doorsteps of our homes...pathetic.

    0 Votes
  • Jm
    Jman1212 Jul 16, 2012

    This is crazy- we've had the same problem with the Publications Unlimited company! My husband and I are newlyweds, Christian, and would NEVER subscribe to a magazine like Maxim (which is what we received), so upon seeing it in our mailbox, we were shocked! I emailed Maxim and the representative was very helpful and said she cancelled our subscription- we will only receive the September issue before the subscription ends (ugh..great:/) Maybe other people on this thread could have some luck contacting Maxim or the company of the magazine they got directly to end those subscriptions, because the had fairly good costumer service at Maxim.
    Hopefully that is the end of this, but I am concerned regarding how publications unlimited got our information...I am going to try and call the numbers above to talk with someone at publications unlimited, but I'm not sure I'll get in touch with anyone. This "company" is obviously a fraud and should be stopped.

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    Blkjewelz8960 Jun 18, 2012

    Funny, when I called the magazines to complain they all said they could not cancel the subscription because a third party company ordered them. Well when I called on Saturday the name of the company was Subco Inc. (who I promptly reported to the BBB and FTC). So today when I call I get the name of Publications Unlimited upon calling them they quoted off about 8 magazines that where being sent to my home. They said they would cancel. I guess so as I had sent email to Subco Inc with my BBB and FTC case numbers to let them know they have been reported. That I want my name and address out of ALL of their databases and those of their affiliates. I am not playing with these people the magazines were unauthorized and verge on ID theft. How are they going to say something fraudulently ordered in my name cannot be canceled by me?

    1 Votes
  • Up
    UPSET IN COCOA FLA Jun 16, 2012

    I HAVE RECEIVED AT LEAST FIFTEEN (15) MAGAZINES THAT I DIDN'T ORDER OR AUTHORIZE ANYONE TO MAIL TO ME THERE MAGAZINE.I HAVE BEEN CALLING ALL THE MAGAZINE COMPANY TO CANCEL THE ORDERS FOR THEIR MAGAZINE. I HAVE BEEN TOLD BY LATEST MAGAZINE CRUISING WORLD TO CALL PUBLICATIONS UNLIMTED AT [protected] KNOW ONE ANSWER THE WHEN CALLED. THIS IS A SCAM THAT HAS TO BE STOP. I AM GOING TO FIND A WAY TO PUT AN END TO THIS INSANITY. THE STATE OF FLORIDA SHOULD HAVE A FRAUD DEPT.

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    buckeye12 Jun 11, 2012

    Just received 2 issues of "Shape" magazine in the mail today. I was pretty surprised as I certainly didn't order this! Got the same runaround when I tried to call publications unlimited to cancel this order. Well if they aren't going to bill me, I guess I'll keep it lol...free magazines.

    0 Votes
  • Cx
    CX502 May 04, 2012

    I have been receiving Women Health Magazines for at least 3 months now and I could not figure out when, where and how I subscribed for this. Well today in the mail I received a Prevention Magazine, so I contacted both companies and cancelled the subscription with them but they told me for all other matters I will have to contact a third party that signed me up for this magazine. I called the Publication Unlimited and got a message to call back during business hours [protected]. So I did some research on this company and came across nothing but complaints and another phone number [protected]. I then went to contact that number and the phone just rang and rang. I will attempt to contact the company again Monday morning in hopes that I can cancel these subscriptions that i did not sign up for! This is such a scam and waste of paper!!

    1 Votes
  • Lo
    LON2 Feb 16, 2012

    I agree i just had a thirty minute argument with my girlfriend over a magazine I didn't order. I to have called the magazine an d they have also told me that the order was placed by publications unlimited. I'm not sure that this would be enough to satisfy my girlfriend though. I will have her call The magazine herself. I to have tried to call publications unlimited and the number isn't any good.

    0 Votes
  • Ry
    RyanB Aug 19, 2011

    I also received an unsolicited subscription of Maxim which my girlfriend was not happy about and i had no explanation why it was arriving at our home. I called Maxim to cancel. It was 'courtesy' of Publications Unlimited. They gave me the [protected] phone number which didn't work. The number listed above worked and they cancelled my subscription.

    Not sure how they got my info or signed me up but it was not appreciated.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Cowboy 123 Aug 05, 2011

    This same thing just happened to me. I started receiving Women's Health Magazine which I did not order. When I contacted Women's Health, they told me that my order was placed through Publications Unlimited and that I would have to contact Publications Unlimited to have my order canceled. The phone number I was provided was not working, and I could not find any further information regarding the company online, except for these disgruntled posts by people experiencing the same thing as me. I did what Eric J B above did and sent a complaint in online through the Florida Better Business Bureau. I received a response in about 1 week from Publications Unlimited letting me know that my subscription has been canceled. Publications Unlimited stated that my order was placed to them by yet another company... I'm not sure what kind of scam is going on here, but it seems pretty intricate. I wanted to post here to let people know that contacting the Better Business Bureau seems to be the way to get your problem resolved. Also, the most recent phone number for Publications Unlimited that I received is [protected]. I received that phone number in my response from Publications Unlimited, but not from anywhere else... it seems that Publications Unlimited changes their phone number from time to time. I hope this helps someone who ends up in the same situation as everyone who has posted complaints regarding this company online.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    Wildiemom Feb 26, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too have been receiving the magazine Maxim, which I did not order. I have children along with my husband. And I was surprised when my daughter checked the mail and was too embarrassed to show me the magazine.I have contacted Maxim and like the other complaints I read above, they too said it was order for me by publication unlimited. My family is Christian and it seems to me people(Publications Unlimited) are going to a lot of TROUBLE to send a Magazine none of us want>> just to harass us. Odd how it is so provocative and not in a covered packing sleeve. I too want the BBB to investigate. This is uncalled for and disgusting. What company has this much money that they would want to order this many subscriptions for people they don't even know. I want this investigated.
    JDB

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    boners Feb 12, 2011

    I just started received the first of twelve unsolicited issues of Maxim. I contacted Maxim (human operator [protected]), who cancelled the subscription, and told me that the telemarketing agency Publications Unlimited placed the order. I know I didn't order this magazine for two reasons: one, I don't answer the phone unless I know who is on the other end, I'm too cheap to subscribe to any magazine. I filed a complaint against Publications Unlimited with the BBB.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    montana.matt Dec 27, 2010

    I started receiving Mens Health magazine and when we called Mens Health, they said it was from Publications Unlimited. Well, we called Publications Unlimited and they said they were "told" by Mens Health to send out a complimentary subscription... for 3 years! After speaking to a very rude operator at Publications Unlimited, I advised I was going to contact the BBB and she said "Do what ever you want"... so I will. I also started receiving Rolling Stone magazine, which I also have no interest in... Wonder if it's from the same shady company.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mr Balls Johnson Jul 13, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Has anybody had any success dealing with this horrible company? I'm trying to get to the bottom of these magazine subscriptions set up by them, which I never authorized. Attempting to contact them by phone and email yields no results.

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    Blcormier Jun 03, 2010

    I am a Southern Baptist born and raised and not to mention married for 11 years with three children. I recieved a Maxim magazine today and was shocked.
    This material is unacceptable in my house. My wife kinda questioned if I had ordered it.
    I assured her that I didn't and thank God we have a ton of trust between us.
    I did find the number to Maxim customer service on the inside of the front cover of the issue. I called the number and after verifying who I was they say that the subscription is cancelled.
    After a few questions of my own I found out that Publications Unlimited ordered this filth for me.

    I will try calling them but my hopes of actually getting down to how they got my info is very low since I have read some of the other complaints.
    The # to Maxim customer service is [protected].

    God bless!

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    keke5656 Feb 10, 2010

    I called and cancelled this a couple months ago and it is still coming. I just called again and they said they had no record of me calling. BS! This is so irritating and annoying. I dont know what thier scam is but I do NOT like it.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Matysiks Dec 04, 2009

    We are having automatic withdrawals for magazines we did not order and are not receiving. We want the charges stopped, our money back. They are not helpful and have even told us we cannot cancel. We never ordered to begin with. Are not receiving the magazines and don't want to receive them.

    -1 Votes
  • Si
    Sickening Oct 17, 2009

    This exact thing happened to me. My husband and I are newlyweds and to find this material in my mailbox is UNACCEPTABLE. Not only that, but what about when I am babysitting and the kids find this in my mailbox? They should be charged with procuring CHILD PORNOGRAPHY. We as a couple are LIVID at the fact we have received Maxim, Esquire, Men's Health (should actually be call Men's Sex.) I am calling the BBB on the publishers of these magazines for even allowing these third party companies to even do this.

    Outraged in St. Louis, MO

    0 Votes
  • Er
    Eric J B Sep 17, 2009

    I received my fourth issue of Men's Health. They won't cancel, so I googled the
    Florida Better Business Bureau and filed a report.

    - Eric

    Thank you for contacting Men's Health customer service.

    We apologize for the inconvenience. Our records show that your subscription is under a third-party agency. Please contact the following agency below for them to cancel your subscription.

    Agency Name: PUBLICATIONS UNLIMITED
    Address: 3557 NW 53RD COURT
    City: FT LAUDERDALE
    State: FL
    Zip Code: 33309
    Telephone: [protected]

    If you have any further concerns, please feel free to contact us.


    Sincerely,

    Men's Health Customer Service

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    Arvella Rickman May 15, 2009

    I have received three different magazines that I didn't order. I called each to cancel and was told, 'a third party ordered them and they are unable to cancel my subscription, the only thing they could do was suspend my subscription.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.