Prestige Sales USAdoor-to-door book/magazines sales scam

L
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Well, I hate to admit it but I just got scammed! I was already distracted by trying to care for my severely disabled son, and a young man (approx. 20 yrs old) knocks on my door. He said he was a neighbor and pointed in the direction of a house that has sons about his age, whom I've never met. Long story, short..."Philip Fremento" said he was earning a trip to London. He looked "clean-cut" enough. I noticed tatoos on his forearm and ankle, but so many people get those these days; it's no longer just the "hoodlums". He said I could donate the books to Texas Children's Hospital and get a tax-deduction---said he tells people that because the hospital has helped his brother who has autism. I then told him that I stay home with my disabled son, so I couldn't afford much but would help him out. I really should never answer the door when I'm not expecting someone--especially when I'm already preoccupied. Luckily, he only took me for $55; I've since read stories on the web where people have gotten taken for hundreds of dollars!! The worst part is that he convinced me to send the books to Texas Children's, so now I realize that I'll really never know if the books were sent there. Likely not! This guy was a very smooth liar. I just hope someone reads this "before" they get taken.

Responses

  • Sc
    scott Oct 26, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Sales man lied that there would be a refund of half the purchase price with in 5 days of sale.
    Told me his mother would be calling to make sure he did a good job.
    Asked if he could do some chores around the house.
    Told me he was going to school at the U of M for broacasting.

    ALL LIES. I have not received a refund 15 days later.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lina Oct 27, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I spent over $100 and was told that $50 would be returned to me in the form of a visa or mastercard gift card. ($25 for each book I purchased)

    3 months later, I haven't received them and I contacted Prestige Sales and they have no idea what I am talking about.

    My salesperson was a young girl and she also told me that her mother told her she would have to donate her time to her purchasers and do chores as a thank you! Never showed her face again. With your experience being very similar, I wonder if that is something they are coaxed to say.

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    KRISTINA V. AMARAL Nov 04, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I SPENT OVER $100.00 ON BOOKS FOR AN( INDEPENEDENT CONTRACTOR) STUDENT (INITIALS J.A.) WHO CLAIMED HE WAS GOING TO A SCHOOL IN LOUISIANNA FOR BROADCASTING.OVER 3 MONTHS LATER AND I STILL HAVE NOT RECIEVED THE BOOKS. WHAT IS GOING ON?? WHERE ARE MY BOOKS? IS THERE ANY WAY TO TRACK THEM? I HAVE MY RECIEPTS.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MARLENE TRUAX Nov 10, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    1On 10/21/08, I wrote 2 checks, each in the amount of $110.00 and was suppose to receive all but $60.00 back, and as of today, 11/10/08, have not. He told me that the books would be given to the U. of M. Children's Hospital, and I believed him. Also, could use this as a tax deduction. After reading complaints of other people who got "stung", I realize I was believing a liar and this is a scam. The same story is given to all, the way it sounds: his mother, and boss were going to call to see how he did with the sale, never did, he was going to come back the next day, to rake leaves, clean windows or whatever, never did, He was very excited cause this was going to help him earn money to go to London, to perform in a play and that he was going to be on TV, and left the times and channels, but I never watched it. PLEASE, PLEASE,
    REFUND MY MONEY, WITHIN THE NEXT WEEK, OR I WILL TAKE FURTHER ACTION AND REPORT YOU TO THE BBB!!! Please send it to 8152 Peony Lane N.
    Maple Grove, MN. This young man sure was taught to lie and what a shame!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    nicole Nov 17, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i use to work for them but they were called, Integrity Sales back then...anyway..they are not trained, to lie to you.. they are trained to tell u exactly what it is, and its a contest... basically, they earn points for every magazine/book sold.. and earn commisions on sales, which honestly its a very low commision, they are getting just as robbed as the people they are selling too..anyway they can win a trip to hawaii.. but they have to sale ALOT!! Most will never make it.. as for the magazines, in most cases you will get what u ordered..(but u are overpaying, the subscriptions are a lot cheaper if u get them directly from the magazine company) when i say 'in most cases' you are more likely to get the magazines you ordered it you wrote a check...because.. these kids.. are making about $20 a day if there lucky..soo u hand them $50 in cash... they probablly wont turn in the order and will keep the cash..OHH and if u opted to donate the magazine... they do honestly have an address for the army...and a childrens hospital..soo they may/or may notget the magazines, i guess it depends on how shady the sales person is..and the reason they lie to u about being in school or doing it for college is because most ppl are a hell of a lot more likely to buy them, if they think its for school, rather then some kid doing this for a living, and trying to win a trip. i did it for almost 2years.. it really is an awful environment...i sold as 'clean' as i possibly could.. anyway just thought id try to make clearer...to all of you what exactly the company was about., oh and one last thing.. the magazines take an extremely long time to come through.. sooo it may be a couple of months before you get them..
    i hope the best to all of you.. and remember your best bet is to never buy anything at your door, no matter what they tell you...be polite and just tell them your not intereste or cant afford it.. and never let them in your house..

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Pam Dec 11, 2008

    2 college boy from Northwestern college said they where selling books to earn money. I did not receive what I ordered which was 3 cook books for $55.00.
    I instead received a My first 1000 words. I wouldn't be so upset except I have no way to contact them because their website does not work.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    momof2 Feb 18, 2009

    I got scammed too on 12/3/08 by a guy that sounds very much like the guy she mentions in this complaint and told me a similar story about living in my neighborhood. I was scammed of 49.00 that was suppose to be books for my little girl for Christmas.
    Others be aware!

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    lonsgirl Mar 08, 2009

    My husband and I spent about an hour with a very "nice" girl saying she was trying to earn money for a trip to England and she, too, lived in our neighborhood. I was very choosey about the book I purchased and which hospital it would be sent to. Ha - looks like we were really taken for $100.00. I found this out now when I was online researching about Prestige Sales for my tax info. Well I guess I should be happy I didn't invest with Madoff too.
    Nobody but nobody better come to our door.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    NACHO Mar 13, 2009

    Happened to me
    AZ 85021

    0 Votes
  • Ai
    aimie lou Apr 23, 2009

    Beware. Do not open your door to peddlers. I was taken for $110 from a girl that says she was chosen out of 100 applicants to be an intern for National Geographic in Africa. Wow-they sure are crafty. You have to give em that. I should have trusted my gut on this one but the sad part is that she said part of the proceeds would go towards children at our local Children's Hospital and the other sad part is that my kids really were looking forward to the books I thought I had bought from her. I am just disgusted that these people think it is okay to treat others this way and steal which is exactly what they're doing. Our neighborhood is mainly retired folks but we are in our 30s. Regardless of age, to take advantage of anyone is despicable. Unlike honest folks who earn their living, these freaks have to make up lies and steal. It all comes back around, hopefully sooner rather than later.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    nicti May 10, 2009

    OMG, I got taken too, not by one, but two different students. Very smooth and as of today have not received any books. The thing is they had all the printed matter, etc. for "Prestige Sales". I am not happy and they haven't seen the last of me.

    0 Votes
  • Du
    duckdummy Jul 15, 2009

    I "purchased" a magazine subscription and never received the publication...of course. I contacted Prestige Sales USA through the contact email on their website inquiring about my order. In turn, I received an email from them telling me that the magazine I originally ordered is no longer available (J-14) and to make it up to me I could order 4 magazines from their attached list. I email back that I would prefer a refund. I then received an email asking me to email or fax a copy of my receipt along with front and back of my canceled check. Sound too fishy for me. I'll cut my losses. No way will I send them my account number!!!

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    GibsonUSA Jul 23, 2009

    Maybe if you people weren't so trusting and stupid you wouldn't be scammed out of your money. But hey, if you're dumb enough to give to these people, you probably don't deserve the money in the first place.

    0 Votes
  • Il
    Illinois - Taken Aug 13, 2009

    Us too. Same deal. I found this 15 minutes after I gave them my check. I called the cops to make sure nobody else in the neighorhood was taken. I will try to cancel on their site and will likely do a stop payment on the check. $49.00 8/2009

    -1 Votes
  • Mm
    MMES Aug 18, 2009

    Just had a girl come to the door trying to get to London to continue her education. Selling books to be donated to childrens hospital. Very friendly very fast talker, said she was in town for the summer from Tennessee. Tried to tell me my neighbors had bought 2 to 6 books at $55.00 a pop. Told her that was a bit steep and said no...new it was a scam. Came out here to check, sure enough, everyone beware. Don't fall for it. MM Wauconda, Illinois

    0 Votes
  • Jw
    J. Williams Oct 04, 2009

    PLEASE NOTE!!

    For all of those people, like us, who were bilked by these criminals, please send a complaint form to the Arizona State's Attorney General either by email or mail. The receipt said Prestige Sales, but we traced them to MFS Book Fufillment Cente in Arizona.

    You can find the information and forms by checking into "azag.gov." When we asked why these people have not been prosecuted for fraud, the person at the State's Attorney Office said that they need to hear complaints from the individuals who were scammed.

    0 Votes
  • Cp
    cprevatt1017 Nov 14, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Wow this is crazy. I got scammed too and they cleared out my account. I was approached by a young man who also said he was earning credit to go to london. He explained the process to me and had me write three checks for the books. He told me though that at the same time I could cancel them with and never get charged and he would still get credit. So we together filled out the cancellation forms and put them in an envelope. He claimed he lived in my apartment complex, so I believed him when he said he would put the cancellation forms in the mail...well he didnt and a month later they cleared out my account. I have then had to open a new one and thank goodness my back reimbursed me. He was a smooth talker and new everything to say. So be careful..

    0 Votes
  • Ci
    CINDY B. Jan 18, 2010

    I TOO HAD ORDERED POEM BOOKS, HE CLAIMED IT FOR A SCHOOL TRIP THEY WERE TAKING TO SPAIN, SO WE TAKEN FOR $55.00 ALSO. I NEVER PAID ATTENTION THERE WAS NO PHONE # TO CALL OR FAX NOTHING. WOW

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    mike860 Jun 14, 2010

    We got scammed too. Same story... going on a trip, needed to make money. Thought we were buying children encyclopedia for $49. Never received them.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Sue McCanne Dec 31, 2010

    Prestige Sales sounds very much like the Team Extreme con which happened to me ...elderly couple in Calif

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    whitekong18 Apr 04, 2011

    I disagree b/c i used to work with Phillip Fremento and we dont scam people we are simply helping kids that are refused help by the communities who think they are to good to help now im not saying that is this situation i quit b/c this job was not for me and i came back to normal society so before yall judge talk to someone who knows and understands the product and placement of everything you assume to quickly we are trying to screw you over and take your identity or some stupid crap so if you would look at it the right way this is our job we do it all around the country and you will never kjnow us from anyone else...now on the fact that they come to your door they dont just make sure you send them to the hospital and not to your house we take the books to the kids before we live town

    0 Votes
  • Ya
    Yarabi Molina Nov 13, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Prestige Sales/ telemarketing are extremely annoyingly! They call nonstop in the early hours and into the night, if you call back or stay on the line for over 5 minutes to please ask them nicely to take you off their calling list, they rudely hang up! i am on the do not call list! I will be filing a complaint !

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Alisam Aug 02, 2016

    After reading complaints re: this Company, I had a similar incident yesterday. Approached by young man who said my neighbor, who was his Grandmother, had sent him here. Immediately wanted to enter my home by asking where he could sit to write. His sales pitch was that 20% was going to LIttle League and the magazines were being sent to the military in Iraq. Had 3 plans: 2, 4 or 6 magazines. After listening to him for a few minutes and being gullible to support our military, I decided on the 2 mags; I did not select the mags to be sent to Iraq, he did. So I then gave him a check for $98.00. He also tried to get me to change my mind to the 4 or 6. And then he suggested 3 mags and he would wash my windows, clean my car, bathe my dog, etc. He made it a point to tell me that one of his Grandmother's neighbors had purchased the 6 magazines. He also stated that his Grandmother would be baking brownies today to give to the people. And like other complaints, he said there would be a follow-up call to see how he did. Well guess what? He doesn't have my phone number so this was another lie. I looked at the receipt and there is nothing for Subscriber or Subscriber Address; it's blank. It wasn't until this morning that I realized this was a scam when I saw the woman who he said was his Grandmother and lo and behold, she does not have a Grandson and has never baked brownies in her life. This woman has medical problems and was very upset that this person had implied that she was his Grandmother. I will be putting a stop payment on this check and I hope I can find out who he is. The only name on the receipt is Michael. I should have said no from the beginning but I did not want to offend my neighbor who he claimed was his Grandmother.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions