The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Porter LLCcraigslist ad scam

This looks like yet another ### traffic trolling for free credit report.com. That's where the link goes to, anyway. More info after the blah-blah.

>Hey XXXXXXXXX, it's great to speak with you.

Thank you for e-mailing us. In case my ad was not clear, the responsibilities of this position are as follows: you will be answering our main phone and taking messages when necessary, you will work on scheduling our company meetings, and errand running for the company for things such as purchasing office supplies and making our bank deposits (you will be provided with a company car). While you are running errands, you will also be given one of our company credit card(s) for all business purchases.

You are definitely qualified for this job position, and more so than the other 21 applicants I have received emails from. I want to find an available time to take the next step with you. However, before I am able to schedule an interview, Porter will require that you attain a recent(past 7-10 business days) credit report. We started this because the company unfortunately had a couple bad experiences with former employees exploiting access to a company credit card.

Both Porter and I strongly suggest it that you use http://2010-freecreditscorenow.com to attain your report as they are currently offering a credit report, at no cost to you(unlike other places). Porter has also found that their scores always report the most accurate information.

After you submit all of the required information, their company will show your personal report. Afterwards, you will e-mail me the reported credit score, a daytime phone number, and your availability schedule to schedule an interview.
We ask that you do not email me the entire report, as it will most likely have private information. If you currently have a lower than expected credit score, it will not prevent you from a position with us. I had a fairly low score when I started here.

If you don't wish to send in a recent credit check, unfortunately I will need to contact our second choice.

Personally, I am hoping to fill this position with a friendly face and looking to your quick reply.


Have a great Tuesday,

Emily Wood
Human Resources Division


Porter, LLC
Telephone number: [protected]
Fax: [protected]
E-mail: [protected]@Porter-LLC.com
Web Presence: http://Porter-LLC.com
<

Particulars? Registered in the Bahamas, via Internet BS, on Monday of this week. The link redirects to http://www.freecreditreport.com/pm/default.aspx?PageTypeID=HomePage127&red=1&s_tnt=18248:15:0

Oh, by the way, Emily? Tuesdays always suck and thanks for proving it.

Responses

  • Un
    Unemployed Mar 01, 2010

    Complete scam. If any of you are as sad as I am to say that I fell for this, CHECK YOUR BANK ACCOUNT. I was billed for $84 for this "free credit report." So far, I was promised that the money would be deposited back into my bank account after 3-5 business days. If it is not I will post again with the results. If they do not comply, I will be having my personal friend, who is also my attorney give them a call. I was given a phone number to contact them from my financial institution. Here it is [protected].
    I am also sad that people prey on folks in my circumstances, as well as yours. I am unemployed and was rather excited to hear back from someone so quickly. All to have been scammed by ###.

    1 Votes
  • St
    steffies Feb 17, 2010

    Never click on websites attached to respondents of your resume...It's so dangerous it could be a VIRUS..If a company is sincere, they will forward their direct telephone number so you can get in touch with them. Why would anybody give personal information about your credit history to a respondent w/o even meeting them in person and being completely comfortable with that reputable company. People we know the economy is really weird right now, but we have to save ourselves from these MONSTERS...Think B/4 opening any attachments or websites...

    0 Votes
  • Rt
    RTZ Feb 09, 2010

    So I'm pretty sure this is a scam from what I read here, but what happens if you go through the phone verification? I understand the scams where they get you to sign up and pay for the credit score, but what about this phone verification?


    Hey ******, it is great to speak with you.

    I appreciate you e-mailing us.

    You are definitely qualified for this job position, and more so than the other 24 people I have received applications from.

    The hiring process is almost done. RDY only asks for a phone interview to see what you can offer to our company.
    Please confirm your phone number here: http://clphoneverification.com
    Honestly, I am excited to get this position filled with a friendly face and am looking to your quick response.


    Have a fantastic Tuesday,

    Erin Sims
    Human Resources Dept.


    RDY, LLC
    Phone: [protected]
    Fax: [protected]
    E-mail: [email protected]
    Website: http://RDYLLC.com

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jess1129ica Feb 04, 2010

    Hey ********, it's fantastic to speak to you.

    We appreciate you e-mailing us.

    You are very qualified for this position, more so than the other 21 people we received resumes from.
    Our hiring process is almost complete. Pruman only asks for an interview on the phone in order to see what all you can give to our company.
    Please verify your personal phone number here: http://clphoneverification.com
    Personally, I am wanting to fill this position with a new friendly face and looking forward to your quick response.


    Have a great Wednesday,

    Lindsey Matthews
    Human Resources


    Pruman, LLC
    Telephone: [protected]
    Fax line: [protected]
    Contact: [email protected]
    Website: http://PrumanLLC.com


    This message was Re-mailed from jobsruei76325021
    2/3/2010 11:16:39 PM


    This is b.s! the one i had the other day about the credit report I didn't even respond and definitely did not fall for the credit report scam! So look out for them! If you apply and get the first email there is a second bound to follow! What a crock! I thought that craigslist was trying to get this scamming under control! We are real people looking for real jobs and do not need to get our hopes up by getting emails like this and then it ending up being a scam!!

    0 Votes
  • Tl
    tlowery Feb 02, 2010

    I got the same responses, but I didn't fall for their scams.

    I think the main thing to be learned here is that I am NOT responding to any posting that does not include a legit email and or company name INSIDE the job posting.
    Some jobs are legit--those will have specific information about the company and contact information. I am not responding to anymore blind listings.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    nessabapp Jan 31, 2010

    OMG why didnt i see this before I just signed up for the whole credit report thing!!! I am cancelling it as we speak. what a joke!! they need to be sued for misrepresentation!!! this is bs!! I have children to support!! CRAZY!!! craiglist needs to review all their postings!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Harvester Jan 30, 2010

    Other warning signs of the scam:

    If you attempt to contact the "human resources" e-mail, you won't be able to. Your message will be returned with an error.

    If you attempt to call the phone number, the name of the company or the human resources person is never mentioned.

    If you leave a message on their "voice mail", they will e-mail you. It just won't be the same company or human resources person at all. How lame.

    ----

    Hello [Your name], it's wonderful to hear from you.

    I appreciate you e-mailing us.

    You seem very qualified for our job position, and more so than the other 13 applicants we have received applications from.

    Our selection process is almost done. We only ask for a phone interview in order to see what you can offer to the company. Please confirm your phone number here: http://clphoneverification.com
    Personally, I am hoping to fill this position with a new friendly face and am looking to your quick reply.


    Have a wonderful Friday,

    Mariah Richardson
    Human Resources Dept.


    Pruman, LLC
    Telephone number: [protected]
    Fax: [protected]
    Email: [email protected]
    Web: http://PrumanLLC.com


    ---

    By the way, both web sites are down. Please be on the look out for these guys!

    0 Votes
  • Jj
    J.-J Jan 28, 2010

    you're right, 100%
    got the exact same e-mail.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    bohab86 Jan 28, 2010

    I got the same thing. It is so sad when people try to mess with other in such a bad time. It sucks being unemployed and having this encouraging information sent to you only to find out it's a scam!

    0 Votes
  • Ug
    ughhhhhhhh Jan 27, 2010

    the humor in this site is, look at who the ads are for at the top of the page...hmmmmmmmmmm

    0 Votes
  • Ug
    ughhhhhhhh Jan 27, 2010

    Sadly, I should've read this first. But I was able to cancel my "membership". So we will see if I get charged anything. Hopefully not seeing how I am unemployed and looking desperately for a job because I have two children to support. When are these people gonna get it and quit ripping off the public.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.