The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
PERCOMOnlineUnprofessional, lazy and incompetent instructors

J Review updated:

Percom's online paramedic school guaranteed assignments would be graded and returned within one month. My instructors took 2-3 months to grade assignments, despite my regular inquiries on the grading status. In the midst of my program, one instructor fell behind due to health reasons and transferred me to a new instructor who as it turned out would be on a Caribbean cruise. (no joke). The program is a total joke. This program in no way will prepare you to become a competent paramedic, and many other students have agreed to this. I have worked on ambulances before, and know through experience that this program does not have what it takes to fuel students with the skills needed to practice medicine successfully. Powerpoint slides and a book is all you get, so assignments are virtually self taught, because the instructors don't care whether you succeed or not since they've already received their pay check, Average response to a simple emailed question was 1 week. Upon asking my instructor whether percom transfers or may be used as continuing education units I was met with an abrasive email not from my instructor, but from the program coordinator, stating that if I was planning on getting a refund, I absolutely did not meet the requirements because I was too far in the program and that there would be no exceptions. The instructors and staff at this program, are rude, unhelpful, and care very little for their students to succeed. If you desire to be neglected, and treated in an unprofessional manner than this is the program for you.

Responses

  • Cl
    cleartalk Apr 07, 2020

    BE VERY CAREFUL.
    This program only wants your money. Once they have it they are very unhelpful. Also lots of their program is outsourced to other companies and if you have any problem with one of those companies PERCOM will not help you out they will just drop you from the program and take your money.
    They look for any reason they can to drop you so they don't have to do anything other than keep your check.
    The instructors are hard to contact and their phone answering system still doesn't work right.
    I wish I never took this program.

    1 Votes
  • My
    Myg Cu Aug 22, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been trying to contact someone at PERCOMOnline for almost two weeks now and have left several messages. Up to now, I still haven't received any call back. I have several questions that I'd like to be answered by a live person over at PERCOM. I'm starting to have second thoughts about registering with this online EMT course.

    3 Votes
  • Di
    Dick Adams Nov 11, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I would like to give my 2 cents worth of opinion about PERCOM Online. I have been associated with Percom from the beginning. Yes, the program has grown immensely but this is due to the quality of the program. The company maintains a 1st time pass rate on the National Registry examination in all areas, EMR, EMT-B, AEMT, and Paramedic. This is far above the National average of 70%.

    In 2016 there were some problems with the online access and other areas related to the Internet. The company quickly got on this and the course has been rewritten and is top notch now. One of the course authors/editors has been a paramedic for more than 30 years and has taught EMS for that length of time. All of the instructors are highly experienced in the field and have been teaching for many years. One instructor is a lawyer who is also a paramedic and another faculty member is a physician and a lawyer. The program director has over 30 years experience in EMS and is highly qualified to teach all areas of EMS. She, too, has college degrees.

    I am simply telling the PERCOM story from my personal experience and know the program to be a quality program.

    There is no one there for your to make you study. This is a self-paced, self-study program. Quit the whining and start reading you book. I mean all of your book. You can pass the National Registry exam without any problem if you will only apply your self to that goal.

    Have a wonderful day.

    -2 Votes
  • Pe
    PERCOMOnline, Inc Aug 28, 2017

    I am very dismayed to see this recent set of posts, PERCOM listened to multiple students/clients who have good input and suggestions and made numerous changes to the school and company structure over the last couple of years based on those suggestions and comments. Those changes included replacing some administrative personnel and a graphics and advertising company, replacing some faculty, and adding graders, making curriculum changes and learning management and also other site and live interactive changes - ALL of which have greatly increased client satisfaction while maintaining the integrity of our highly successful program. Our students typically do extremely well on the NREMT exams and in post employment, entering the workforce as competent EMT's, AEMT's and Paramedics. We recently went through our reaccreditation site visit and the site visitors verbalized the following terms about the academics in our program during the post review - "excellent", "Impressive", and other terms that indicate that our students are given every opportunity to achieve if they truly want to and that the outcomes are over and above the average program.

    There will always be unhappy people with ANY program or business and in today's day and age, it is easy to go out and voice those "opinions" online without any repercussions for half-truths, untruths, etc. While some may have some merit, most do not if all the facts were made available. And there are always two sides of every story but unfortunately, companies sometimes have legal reasons for not being able to voice their side or their evidence. Suffice it to say that we do pay attention, and if a complaint has merit, we do make changes. But no matter what a company does, it will never please everyone. But we are an extremely good school with outcomes that are over and above many programs nationwide. We are not easy. We are not a "gimme" school. And we don't respond positively to "I want what I want when I want it and the way I want it" type attitudes as those behaviors do not exhibit what it takes to be a professional EMT, AEMT or Paramedic that we will be turning loose on the innocent public. We expect better out of our students.

    The most recent post in May of this year was posted by a representative of a contractor company we were using who was terminated for business reasons related to their performance. They were not happy with the termination and were owed nothing. They have since launched a social media campaign against PERCOM that demonstrates their complete lack of professionalism and integrity. We cannot say more due to potential pending litigation by us against them. But we hope that our clients and potential clients can see through these negative and untrue posts by this company and others who choose this environment to voice their disgruntlement in twisted and unprofessional ways. We thank our students who have seen through these posts and have enrolled in the program and who are finishing the program and passing NREMT to become employed in EMS. You are what makes EMS great! And we appreciate you very much!

    1 Votes
  • No
    NO78 Mar 01, 2018

    @PERCOMOnline, Inc "Excellent" example of how to not run an EMS program
    "Impressive" that a company this poorly run can stay in business this long

    2 Votes
  • St
    Story Straighener Aug 28, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Revision for Previous Reply to Comment - First Note: That was not a PERCOM student writing the previous comment.

    @They owe me money The previous post was created by a representative of a contacted company whose contract was cancelled and was replaced by the Admissions guy. This company has a reputation of attacking prior clients who cancel their agreements on social media and other sites like this one, in an attempt to discredit and damage the company out of retaliation.

    This comment shows the type of mentality of the contact company that left them without a contract in the first place. The Admissions Director is the "fool" that replaced this company, who also happens to be married to a Latin woman ( real racist huh? )! Question, if a "fool" takes your job, what does that say about you?

    Legal options against this accuser are currently being pursued.

    3 Votes
  • Th
    They owe me money May 02, 2017

    Awful people. Horrible business. They just take advantage and twist and lie. The program director is a selfish pig. The admissions fool is her son and a huge sexist racist fake. They deserve to be shut down they just fool students into purchasing and after seven days it's too late. They got ya!

    -3 Votes
  • St
    Story Straighener Aug 27, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @They owe me money This post was created by a disgruntled ex-employee who is very upset that she was replaced by someone more capable of doing her job. This comment shows the type of mentality that left this person jobless in the first place, yet she still cannot figure how that all works. The Admissions Director is the "fool" that replaced this person, who also happens to be married to a Latin woman ( real racist huh? )! Question, if a "fool" takes your job, what does that say about you?

    1 Votes
  • Ke
    Kelly Millican Aug 23, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My name is Kelly and I am a Texas EMS Coordinator. I have students who have had similar issues with Percom. I would like to ask you a few questions if you don't mind? Here's my email address and my phone number.
    [email protected]
    [protected]
    Thank you.

    4 Votes
  • Tj
    TJ Falake Jul 06, 2016

    I am not of the option the owner of the school set out to make life miserable for the students . The problem they have right now is that of administrative and set up . In this age and time, I don't expect students to be given paragraph long essay as an assignment . That alone is extra work on a part-time instructor . I took my emt-basic class 10 years ago with a different school while working full time on an assembly ( I work as control systems engineer now ) but I can't remember getting homework of work of any kind . All we had was multiple choice quizzes and exams which were graded instantly without instructor input . I mean there are programs automatically grade exams. Homework is necessary in my own opinion . If you don't know the material, you can pass the quiz . The management should self itself the head ache ; the part-time instructor already have too much teaching the class .

    2 Votes
  • Ru
    Ruben R. Jul 01, 2016

    It's worth noting that I am posting this review under a false name, because I am absolutely certain, based on their behavior so far, that they would take punitive action against me if they were to discover a negative review attached to my real name.

    This has been a nightmare from day one. The instructors I have dealt with - with very few exceptions - have been lazy, rude and borderline incompetent. The student guidelines state that "most of our instructors are part time, please allow them a week or two to return graded assignments." One month, two months go by, and when you inquire as to the status of your work, you are either ignored entirely or briskly reminded that "we are part time, you'll get it when you get it." When you do finally get your work back, who knows what grade you are going to have, because odds are by halfway through the first term, you've been bounced around between three, four, or five different instructors, all of whom have vastly different ideas on what your grade should be - and it isn't like you can refer to the original assignment for a clear standard, because there aren't any. Assignment descriptions are typically "read this and write a summary." That's it. So you ask for clarification, but you are ultimately ignored, so you just do your best, write a summary and try to cover all the key points. Four weeks later when you finally get it back, it's ungraded and "needs to be redone" because you didn't cover this long list of highly specific points that you had no way of knowing you were ever supposed to address. So you keep your mouth shut and redo the assignment, and another four-six weeks later when you get this version back, it's still wrong because, without your knowledge or consent, this time it was passed off to and graded by yet another different instructor, who - surprise, surprise - also is using a totally different standard to grade by.

    This kind of treatment is only the tip of the iceberg with these people. I didn't write this review until I had already made four different attempts to politely and professionally bring these concerns to the attention of the instructors and program directors. At no time was the content of my complaints ever addressed - I was instead told to "lose the attitude" and "stop being unprofessional." I was expected to shut up and just deal with whatever bare minimum effort they elected to expend on me.

    I have already given these people $2, 600 of the total $6, 000 cost of the program. I have been ready to take the first term final for nearly two months, and here I sit, still not cleared to take the final, because there are at least three different versions of the syllabus that all give different lists of assignments that must be completed. Point out the fact that you have completed everything on List A, and you are rudely told that List A doesn't count, you need to refer to List B. Complete the extra things on List B, and you are then rudely told to refer to List C - which you haven't even seen before because it's buried deep somewhere in the confusing maze of links that all lead to nearly identical pages of poorly written nonsense.

    This reminds me of yet another red flag. Every single instructor or staff member I have interacted with on this website, with the exception of one, typs liek dis n sez stuf like LOL!!! I'm sorry, are you a paramedic instructor or a 14 year old girl?

    I could go on and on for several more paragraphs, but you get the idea. At this point, I have a difficult choice to make - do I drop out of this worthless course, cut my extreme losses of money and time and find something else to do with my life, or do I push forward through what is guaranteed to be at least another year and another $5, 000-6, 000 of this ludicrous nonsense and just hope against hope that it somehow works out? I don't know yet, but I need to do one or the other soon. If you are thinking about enrolling, DON'T. Do something, ANYTHING else with your time and money.

    3 Votes
  • Ru
    Ruben R. Jul 01, 2016

    This has been a nightmare from day one. The instructors I have dealt with - with very few exceptions - have been lazy, rude and borderline incompetent. The student guidelines state that "most of our instructors are part time, please allow them a week or two to return graded assignments." One month, two months go by, and when you inquire as to the status of your work, you are either ignored entirely or briskly reminded that "we are part time, you'll get it when you get it." When you do finally get your work back, who knows what grade you are going to have, because odds are by halfway through the first term, you've been bounced around between three, four, or five different instructors, all of whom have vastly different ideas on what your grade should be - and it isn't like you can refer to the original assignment for a clear standard, because there aren't any. Assignment descriptions are typically "read this and write a summary." That's it. So you ask for clarification, but you are ultimately ignored, so you just do your best, write a summary and try to cover all the key points. Four weeks later when you finally get it back, it's ungraded and "needs to be redone" because you didn't cover this long list of highly specific points that you had no way of knowing you were ever supposed to address. So you keep your mouth shut and redo the assignment, and another four-six weeks later when you get this version back, it's still wrong because, without your knowledge or consent, this time it was passed off to and graded by yet another different instructor, who - surprise, surprise - also is using a totally different standard to grade by.

    This kind of treatment is only the tip of the iceberg with these people. I didn't write this review until I had already made four different attempts to politely and professionally bring these concerns to the attention of the instructors and program directors. At no time was the content of my complaints ever addressed - I was instead told to "lose the attitude" and "stop being unprofessional." I was expected to shut up and just deal with whatever bare minimum effort they elected to expend on me.

    I have already given these people $2, 600 of the total $6, 000 cost of the program. I have been ready to take the first term final for nearly two months, and here I sit, still not cleared to take the final, because there are at least three different versions of the syllabus that all give different lists of assignments that must be completed. Point out the fact that you have completed everything on List A, and you are rudely told that List A doesn't count, you need to refer to List B. Complete the extra things on List B, and you are then rudely told to refer to List C - which you haven't even seen before because it's buried deep somewhere in the confusing maze of links that all lead to nearly identical pages of poorly written nonsense.

    This reminds me of yet another red flag. Every single instructor or staff member I have interacted with on this website, with the exception of one, typs liek dis n sez stuf like LOL!!! I'm sorry, are you a paramedic instructor or a 14 year old girl?

    I could go on and on for several more paragraphs, but you get the idea. At this point, I have a difficult choice to make - do I drop out of this worthless course, cut my extreme losses of money and time and find something else to do with my life, or do I push forward through what is guaranteed to be at least another year and another $5, 000-6, 000 of this ludicrous nonsense and just hope against hope that it somehow works out? I don't know yet, but I need to do one or the other soon. If you are thinking about enrolling, DON'T. Do something, ANYTHING else with your time and money.

    3 Votes
  • Ha
    Hannah Lindsey Shenk Jul 25, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The program director is a total [censored] and is out to get money and start drama and make peoples lives completely miserable. I hope she gets in a horrible wreck and no one shows up to help her or they just leave her to suffer. That's how much of a horrible lying kniving [censored] she is.

    -9 Votes
  • Ab
    abczyx467 Jul 17, 2015

    Having been in the PERCOM program studying for over a year now, I thought I would offer my view points.
    Enrollment was quick, easy and pain free. This course needs extra work put in to get the max out of it (as they say right at the beginning in their introduction videos). If you are relying solely on the slides to get by, you are going to miss a lot of important information. I find the best thing to do is to use the slides as a guide and then research further by using textbooks or the internet. Obviously this course is not going to work for you if you expect everything to be spoon fed to you.
    I learnt A LOT from the research exams/assignments, but again, you have to be willing to put the work in. A lot of times it can be repetitive though and they ask a lot of the same questions over again in each scenario, but if you research the other questions thoroughly, so much can be gained from them.
    I went through a bad phase with one instructor who never graded/ or who took months to grade assignments and would hardly ever reply to emails. (around Nov/Dec 2014) and I was seriously considering leaving the program. I cc'd Jane into some of the emails and she did look into it in a timely manner.
    I'm not sure what happened to that instructor, but I was then transferred to a new instructor, Brian Cross. Difference was like night and day. Assignments were often returned a day or 2 later and he actually takes the time to add in his own thoughts and opinions on some of the questions. This was a turning point for me in the course and the instructor you are assigned to makes a huge difference.
    Of course, being an online program, there have been a few niggles here and there, and yes, sometimes it does take people a while to sort problems out. Nothing major though. Their new website/system seems to be better than the old one and am enjoying it so far.

    I have not yet had to do any field rotations etc. so can't comment about that.

    Overall though, I would say I am pretty satisfied with the course so far and it suits my needs and requirements quite well. They are pretty flexible and understand I am working and studying at the same time so accommodate me where they can.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    They owe me money Jun 24, 2015

    PERCOM Online has a new site with new management, they brought in a consultant team and made big changes in the everyday procedure. Due to multiple complaints in the past, some staff adjustments have been made and are currently being made. PERCOM Online is dedicated to our students and alumni's success. Now with job leads posted everyday on our Social Media, and a vast growing network of professional emergency service members. I would like to take this chance to offer anyone in this thread or on this page that feels they lost their money to contact me, Sarah, the Creative Director and Consultant Lead in the new site/new management launch. Contact info below. During this process due to not so hot systems in place we have lost some communications off our server (emails/VMS), this has been a family owned business that yes, grew too fast. THIS IS A GOOD THING, I'm not saying the new system is flawless, but I'd sure like to get it there. With the input from people like you, serious changes have been made starting 6/1/2015 continuing through until August 31st 2015. PERCOM Online is only around a month into the first wave of changes but can already feel the collective relief from students and staff. PERCOM Online has had some struggling since its doors opened in 2007, but with 100+ years of experience, real-life EMS professionals teaching, and non-stop momentum .. numbers don't lie. PERCOM continues to have NREMT successful students every year, and are always well over the national standard rate. The program is the only self-paced program (of course you have a cut off set by the accrediting body but they won't slow you down!) and is dramatically comparative to any other program in the states, taking little profit to ensure the best possible price to students, nearly half the price of others! Once coming on board I saw some of what was mentioned here, but saw solutions. Every student signs a clear no-refund policy after the first 30days in the course, which is like every other school and fair due to the immediate costs made in behalf of the student. I'm here for solutions, PERCOM Online is the Online Leader in EMS Education, but the students are the true leaders. . PERCOM wants them 100% happy.

    [email protected] - Email
    {325} | 480 | 2114 - Leave a VM

    Comments

    -2 Votes
  • No
    notEbay1118 May 27, 2015

    Excellent seller. A+++++++. Highly recommend. Item as described, fast shipping.

    4 Votes
  • Wi
    William5681 May 26, 2015

    I would like to inform everyone of my terrible experience with Percom online. After spending a few thousand on the program I find out that I was mislead from the start on being able to take clinicals in my state. I signed my contract contingent on the clinical site list that was emailed to me and come to find out that list was completely wrong. That's strike one. I also had a very poor instructor from the start who wouldn't grade assignments, respond to emails, and any time I had a question would defer me to the student handbook because they didn't want to take time to explain anything. Jane Dinsmore has also been very rude in previous contacts and always seems to be on vacation. I have nothing against vacations, but when you cant even properly manage your program then maybe you should take a little time to improve things. Another issue was that half the time their administration emails wouldn't work, I would get an undeliverable message most the time. I also tried to get the program to submit my paperwork to have the GI bill to cover some of the costs, that was a dead end as well. So after dealing with the rude, incompetent, and unprofessional staff I am out of around $3000 and a lot of wasted time. I would advise everyone to not take this program as an option, I know it sounds inviting and easy to get into, but you will surely waste your time and money.

    2 Votes
  • Md
    mdmario May 23, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just to summarize Percom's 1200 word diatribe for those of us who ain't got time for that:
    - Sure we make mistakes, we're human, but our mistakes are never *that* big (despite what you as the customer may think). We have good excuses for all of our mistakes, even if they cost you time and money. We are after all a small company that's just in way over our heads, we really shouldn't be managing 300 students at once, but we can't turn down the money. Please come be student # 301
    - If you make a mistake, you need to be grovelling at our feet praying for forgiveness. Understanding is not a two way street in our books.
    - Sometimes we're rude to students, but not all the time, just when they ask us questions we don't like. When that happens we have every right to demean and ridicule them, because we believe that's what EMS and education is all about.
    - I hate sites like this one that allow individuals to express their opinions, without giving me the ability to target them directly. We could use these reviews to make substantive changes to our program, but instead we're going to defend our turf and call everybody who doesn't agree with us cowards and losers.
    Signed,
    Percom

    9 Votes
  • Md
    mdmario May 23, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I took an AEMT class with PERCOM several years ago, and it still is my number 1 worst business transaction. When I asked for a refund they made up a policy rejecting it, looking back I'm sure that is illegal. They routinely missed "chat sessions" and as I was getting ready to set up clinical rotations, I got a form email that they were leaving the country and so I wouldn't be able to schedule. The skills instructor was several hours late for every session, always giving an excuse (I thought I told you we changed the start time..., my granddaughter was in town..., my wife decided I should sleep in...). When Jane and Jerry were informed about this they shrugged it off, "oh well that's just Greg". I have worked my way through a graduate and professional degree and have never encountered instructors or program directors who were so rude and apathetic.

    Jane and Jerry always have great excuses (we were the only one's who could man the county ambulance, one of our instructors cancelled, our new instructor doesn't know what she's doing yet...), and for all I know these may be true and they may be decent people who are just overwhelmed by running a part-time business that is probably expanding too rapidly. What I do know is they have no business being in health profession education: if you don't have the ability to effectively manage your program and people, you need to quit taking peoples money.

    7 Votes
  • Ho
    Honestviews Apr 12, 2015

    Horrible, horrible absolutely terifyingly horridly disgusting school. I fought for months trying to just get registered. I have to date sent over 60 voicemails, 70 emails and 5 written letters of which only received 17 answers/responses. They wouldn't answer my phone calls or reply to my messages even to pay tuition. Everybody is always off on vacation trips. My books were ruined in the mail and I said I'd pay to replace them. Never happened. Absolutely incompetent these people are. Biggest waste of my money ever. I encourage everyone to lawyer up. I will have their scam school taken down if it's the last thing I do.

    3 Votes
  • Mo
    Motox388 Feb 18, 2015

    I had a bad experience with PERCOM as well. It happened a couple of years ago but I am still upset about it. Once they had my money they would no longer help me. The director belittled me when I asked for a refund. She was incredibly rude and took offense when I asked for my money back. It's extremely difficult to talk to anyone at the "office". I would call 10+ times a day with no luck. The program director took weeks to respond to my e-mail and she was very rude. I spent over a thousand dollars for a massive headache

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Bearamedic Jan 25, 2015

    This course is a complete waste of time and is not worth the money. I wasted several thousand dollars on this "school" only to be told that my self pace wasn't fast enough for their liking. I absolutely regret ever trying PRECOM. Teaching takes more than "just read the book."

    -2 Votes
  • Tc
    TCCC Jan 20, 2015

    I am currently in the program and agree that it does not prepare you for Paramedic. That the homework assignments are ridiculously long drawn out and a complete waste of time. As for the instructors and director I agree that they could care less about our satisfaction and/or completion; PERCOM program is not worth the $10, 280 some odd dollars spent on it. I to also feel that they are rude and unprofessional.

    -2 Votes
  • Tr
    TroyArmstrong Nov 26, 2014

    I'm currently in the PERCOM AEMT to Paramedic Program with my instructor being Mr. Gandy. I'd have to completely 100% disagree with the remarks that have been made on this forum. I did a ton of investigation in regards to online Paramedic programs before enrolling. I'm glad that I was able to take my Paramedic program through PERCOM.

    -1 Votes
  • Ri
    Ricky911 Oct 10, 2014

    Percom was a waste of money!! The owners take your money and go on MULTIPLE vacations all the time and then give the students hell about not being able to reply to the students many emails. Enrollment was joke!! I had to email many times to get proper access. They put my name incorrectly in the system. They waited almost a month to order my books and made up lies about not knowing why they hadnt arrived.. My instructor NEVER graded my work even after confirming receipt and asking multiple times. DO NOT take this program. It is a joke.

    1 Votes
  • Pe
    PERCOMOnline, Inc Sep 17, 2014

    Hi, I am the Program Director for PERCOM. First, I know who the first student is who started this thread and, there is MUCH more to the story that the complainant posted. While there were delays on getting some of the homework graded in one section of the
    course, we were in the process of hiring a new instructor as well as graders to help the instructor get caught up. His load doubled when the other instructor for that level decided she wanted to go back into EMS full time and not teach. As for the cruise to the Caribbean, we run our programs year round except for winter break and vacations. This was the instructor's vacation time, which
    was posted. He was also only gone 10 days. But to make our program available for students to sign up year round rather than being put into a “semester” box, we do have folks who have to take vacations. The students involved were not penalized and were to continue on in their coursework. In the meantime, the new graders have gotten things caught up from the overload, and everything is pretty much back on an even keel. I won't say there wasn't a problem. However, I WILL say when the problem was identified, it was and is being addressed and handled on an ongoing basis.

    I am very offended that you would use the terms you have used in this post saying our instructors are "unprofessional, lazy, and incompetent". If that was the case, we wouldn't maintain a greater than 90% pass rate on the national certification exams when the national average is in the 70's. If that were the case, we wouldn't be ranked #10 from 1 to 126 in Texas with the top scores on the EMT NREMT exams and we wouldn't be in the top third of Texas Paramedic programs for the same. And we are definitely WELL above the national average on pass rates across the board. All of our instructors have numerous years in the field and vast amounts of experience as Paramedics and as educators. So no, they are not unprofessional, lazy, or incompetent. Your comments are what is unprofessional in this thread.

    As for plainjane1, the only reason you wouldn't have received a refund for "not being able to access" the course is if you had given us an opportunity to work with you and your computer to help you troubleshoot and fix the problems, per the posted Refund Policy, and it was impossible to fix and it was on our end. This was not the case apparently. Since we have over 300 students in our courses right now who are having no problems "accessing" their courses at all levels, the problem was most definitely on your end. There are two recent students I know of who complained of this issue. One I offered to have my staff get with them on webinar to
    help her figure out what she were missing on her computer and get things going. She refused. The other student complained trying to tell us that “we installed all the programs with malware”, which was NOT the case. The malware was on that student's end and downloaded by issues non-related to PERCOM or our course platform but she wouldn't discuss it further and was very rude and
    denigrating in her emails rather than allowing us to assist her. So no, she was not due a refund either by policy, which is accepted during the enrollment process to even be able to enroll.

    Administration literally answers 50 or more phone calls a day and returns as many phone MESSAGES as they can and that are
    actually left for them to return. Many times we discover that people complain but didn't leave any voicemails. Other times we call back and get their voicemails, leave one ourselves, and then don't get a return phone call. There are lots of reasons that you might have had trouble getting hold of administration. But because of the volume of voicemails and emails ALL our staff and faculty receive, it sometimes can take a week or 10 days toreturn all of them. I do find it very hard to believe you, John992211 that you had to "turn paperwork in 50 times". I am sorry but that is a gross exaggeration. You might have had to turn in something a couple
    or even three times occasionally if it was lost between your email and ours or if the attachments fell off. Those things do happen more than most people realize. Email is not 100% infallible. We have the ability to access ALL staff and faculty emails, and when we have complaints about non-response or slow response, we review ALL the email threads. And while occasionally something slides through that wasn't answered (due to volume), 95-99% of the time the emails were either not sent or not received on our end.

    You get what you put into our program. It is self-paced, which is why it is designed as it is to allow students to be able to work on coursework at any hour of the day or night and not have to sit in front of a computer or in a classroom two or three times a week. It also is advanced - very advanced - and we find that students who are not willing to put in the time and study habits that it takes to do this program are not only unable to achieve completion, but they also are ones who tend to want to go to forums and boards such as this to complain rather than try to meet the requirements of the program and achieve certification.
    As far as me being rude in an email back to any of you, I do get short and to the point when a student has stepped out of line or has been obnoxious, denigrating or harassing to members of our staff or faculty. If that is perceived as rude, then so be it. Being professional is sometimes viewed as “rude”, especially when the other party is already in a negative frame of mind for whatever reason. That doesn’t mean it IS rude. I am sorry if you took it that way. And I am human and also will respond like a human, especially if I am dealing with someone who is being rude or pushy or out of line themselves.


    That all having been said, I am not going to say our staff and faculty never makes a mistake. We are all humans, and we do make mistakes. However, we do our best to take care of those issues if we know about them, and they are legitimate. And NO company who has the student volume we have is ever going to skate by without ever having any complaints.
    I just love sites like this that allow someone to complain about a company without even having to post their names, yet the company has to be denigrated in public by name for issues that usually have MUCH more than one side to the story. I have found that very rarely are people who post on anonymous boards such as this free of responsibility or any portion of the blame for whatever the issue.

    -7 Votes
  • Pl
    plainjane1 May 23, 2014

    I completely agree! I tried PERCOM with horrible experiences. Administration is extremely difficult to get a hold of and if I receive a response it was never within a week. Ridiculous. I paid for the course but wasn't able to access it and by PERCOM's standards that wasn't enough for a refund. I lost a lot of money and was a huge headache. This happened a few months ago and I still feel completely ripped off : (

    -1 Votes
  • Jo
    John 992211 Feb 13, 2014

    The program was an absolute joke. I finished(somehow) but won't recommend this to any one unless you want empty promises, and having to turn paper work in 50 times. The longest part of the program was sending Mr. Royder papers I had already sent him 3, 4, 5 times. Although I obtained my EMT through this program I would not recommend it. Everyone was extremely difficult and I felt as if I was on my own or that I was a bother to the instructor(s)

    -1 Votes
  • Ju
    justice26 Dec 13, 2013

    Absolutely agree. This program should either be shut down, or a new program director should be assigned. Total waste of money.

    0 Votes
  • Jc
    jchillin Dec 11, 2013

    This is the most unprofessional program I have ever been a part of. I would not recommend it to anyone. I was under the impression that it was the only online program for Paramedic available, but that is not the case. There is an additional one in Massachusetts that offers onsite skills training and visual recordings of classroom activity. Some of the instructors at PERCOM are ok, but it is really the administration and program directors that are out of touch. The program directors don't even live in the United States. Hindsight is 20/20.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.