PC ProSchoolsTuition scam

S
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

I was also dealt a bad hand with PC ProSchools...and I understood the risk when I signed up (while also thinking will it pay off-the 25k in private loan tuition). PC ProSchools mentoring was medocre at best since I-and the whole class- felt the TA was not a very good teacher...and it is due to this that I didn't even get my diploma from PC ProSchools.
I wrote to the school asking for more help and to unlock the rest of my practice exams and they have yet to respond or do anything about it-been over 3 months now. Obviously the school is a business, but they should at least have some decency to respond to people (even after paying the rediculous amount of tuition).
On another note, you will NEVER get back the amount of money you put into this school...I will give you two reasons...One=they try to place you at a help desk type position, which usually leads nowhere fast. Two=the people who took the loan option will end up paying $50k when all is said and done...which will never be made back because technology constantly changes and you will have to pay more money to keep current with certifications. Optional=this program offers NO DEGREE, and that is what employers today want-not certifications (that are mostly outdated based from industry standards).
I am all for filing a class action lawsuit...has anyone else already done so?

-Sean

More PC ProSchools Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Ke
    Kevin Chelf Aug 25, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I would like to join the class action lawsuit if one comes available. I enrolled back in 2012 only to be transferred out of state do to plant closure. I was allowed to do online classes but was never able to find a school close enough for me to do the testing. When a school was found, I find out that PC Pro had closed their doors. I only had 2 months of hands on schooling and maybe 3 months of online classes. I don't feel I should be responsible for a student loan that I couldn't complete...

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Beckplaygames May 27, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was also absorbed and told that I would be able to get a job in the IT industry back in 2011, I was in track 4032 and 9 years later I still haven't been able to get a job. Also a year after receiving one of the certifications from them it was retired by Microsoft. I would also like to be included if someone file a lawsuit. Please include me at [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    MrGearhead514 Apr 08, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Please add me in. I know a few others I can contact that I went to school with too, that would love to join. PC Pro Schools is a scam and did not help at all. I finished top in my class, and there are no IT companies calling me. I was also told my loan amount was based on my test scores for the entrance exam. Found out later, that didn't matter. Then, my class went through at the same time as their job promise promotion went into affect. They were required to help us find jobs in the IT field. Being a PC Pro Schools graduate is supposed to land you a dream job in the IT field. At least, that's what the commercials said. There was nothing except FREE Internships! Let me explain. They offered us an unpaid internship in the IT field for some companies that don't want to pay you. Why do they not pay you? Because they know that PC Pro Schools does not prepare you adequately for a job in the IT field. We have to take it, because if we don't, that lets PC Pro Schools off the hook for finding us jobs. Some might think, well gotta start somewhere, right? Wrong! To take that unpaid internship, would mean that I had to quit my good paying job, to go work somewhere doing minimal IT work 40 hours a week, and not get paid for it. I suppose I could have told my kids that they have to suffer because daddy took an unpaid internship and had to quit his paying job. Those internships lasted 6 months or more, and they don't pay you. Half of our class took those internships, and only 1 got hired after 6 months. The rest of us couldn't afford it. We either take it, or release PC Pro Schools from their job placement obligation. I still work at my old job. Never did find one. My certifications are all expired, so that's over.

    Also, would like to take this opportunity to give a special thank you to Navient for taking my tax returns and money out of my paychecks each week. Wish they didn't take it during the Coronavirus Pandemic, but they did. Glad you can help PC Pro Schools take all of my money. Guess I got that free internship after all.
    :-)

    0 Votes
  • Jy
    Jyang84 Jan 12, 2021

    @MrGearhead514 I hope you have called navient and taken your loan out of default. Even though they are garnishing your check n taxes, it may only be enough to cover the interest n collection charges so it doesnt even touch the principal amount...imagine letting them do this for 25 years thinking u r paying ur loans by letting them garnish just to find out you still have outstanding amount cuz it wasnt touching ur principal at all

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Madpeak Apr 03, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    So I got sucked in as well when they first came in to Madtown. I had injured my back roofing so I heard all the advertisements on the radio, thought it sounded promising due to the time 2005? Anyway I had zero hours even touching a computer... 4 those people meaning teachers and recruit staff especially to allow me to even consider this blazing through books course is not only distasteful its really immoral... How ITT Tech is now no longer and these guys are floating around taking in more students is beyond crazy... I still owe, and time is now... I will spend as much time as it takes to find the right people if not yet [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • So
    SoulOfJD Apr 03, 2018

    I attended this "school" back in 2007 at the Green Bay campus and regret it every single day. I actually ended up going to NWTC to finish and get an actual degree. I have 4 years left with this miserable payment. I would love to get involved if any kind of lawsuit is taking place. [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John Harstad Mar 30, 2018

    Felons with no remorse.

    0 Votes
  • Jw
    Jwymer Jan 31, 2018

    I don't care about reimbursement but it sure would be nice to just see the debt forgiven so I don't have to be reminded of the sham that it was...

    0 Votes
  • Jw
    Jwymer Jan 31, 2018

    I was in track 403 and graduated with a 3.85 gpa, earned two certs and never landed even a help desk position. I am back to working in the field I was trying to leave. A huge waste of money... [email protected], they closed shortly thereafter...

    I am all in on a class action suit

    0 Votes
  • Sj
    [email protected] Dec 09, 2017

    I attended this "school" around 2007 or 2008 and had zero luck getting a job after graduating. I ended up getting an AAS in networking from a local tech college and have been employed in the IT field for about three years now.

    I would LOVE to get in on a class-action lawsuit against this "school".

    My email is [email protected]

    Thanks!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Cathryn1 Jul 17, 2017

    Looking for anyone that is in a Class Action Lawsuit with PC Pro/ Brensten EDU. Didn't get my certificate, jobs that have called say they have no record of me, I am in debt to my eyeballs and I am hoping that someone can send me in the right direction.. Please contact me at [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Ji
    Jim Scholz Mar 27, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    For a lot of people PC pro's style of teaching did not work but for me I left the 6 month class with every cert they offered and a contract to hire position. We were told going into this what it would take to succeed and if you couldn't put in the time you would fail. I took the course in 2007/2008 and have since worked my way up to a Systems Engineer role with a very large company, My last 4 W2s have been in the 6 figure range. I could see that a lot of my classmates were struggling to keep up but we were all told from the beginning that this class will be like drinking from a fire hose and it would be difficult to keep up if you didn't put in the out of class time. Of course I feel I could of done the same cheaper if I had just purchased the books and done it on my own but that is not how I learn I needed the incentive and knowing the payments would come due soon enough was my incentive so I did whatever was needed to pass those exams and learn everything I could to make this work. I don't regret one minute of the 6 months at all.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    dorn4ever Jan 18, 2017

    Same here biggest mistake I ever made. When I finally pay off the loan it will be $50k+! I was just trying to better myself and get out of the factory jobs. Totally useless. The things I was learning were already 5 years old and in technological terms that's a lifetime. I want in a class action lawsuit! I wouldn't know where to start does anyone have a lawyer friend? I want my money back My email [email protected] subject PC pro lawsuit.

    1 Votes
  • An
    angryguy08 Oct 14, 2016

    I also got scammed. They told me i was getting an A+ Cert. After i "graduated" or whatever happened, i called COMPTIA and asked about my A+ cert and they said "sorry you only have half of it". Tried to get into contact with PC PRO but there is no communication whatsoever from them...Also after i finished, the only job i could get was a $9/hr help desk job because everyone wanted a 4 yr degree or more experience.

    Email me at [email protected], i would like to be part of a class-action as well. Im $16, 000 in debt because of this scam..

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael Ripley Sep 06, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Did anything ever come of a lawsuit? If so I want in. [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • An
    Antoine Jones Mar 05, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too was a scammed by PC pro, I attended in 2013 and have yet to receive a call back in return to transcript information, completion diploma etc it was a HUGE waste of money and time. WOULD LOVE TO BE INCLUDED IN CLASS ACTION. my email address is [email protected] Subject PC Pro class action

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nathan Murray Feb 14, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I would also like to join in with a class-action suit against them. Back in 2009 I completed the course work and was able to get the certs thanks to some amazing people that work at the IT department where I was working at the time. When I signed up for the course they had just implemented the policy that they will give you a full refund of your tuition if you don't have an "IT job" within 6 months of completing the course work. Also they said in their radio advertisements as well as in all their paperwork that they had a full career development department which had several partnerships with local businesses in Indianapolis where I was attending the course. They also claimed that they would provide support in creating a professional resume. Their career development was a joke as they did not provide anything more than a newspaper clipping for a call center that was hiring 250 employees at just above minimum wage, which was lower than what I was already making at my full time job so I did not even attempt that position. Because I didn't attempt to go to the first interview they called the guarantee null and void so that when I didn't have an IT job in the first 6 months after completing the course I was denied my reimbursement. I was able to provide them with a dozen applications that did not call me back because of the lack of a degree or currently relevant certifications. I didn't even get a help desk position until a year and a half later and that's only because the IT director at my place of employment wanted to help me out. Had nothing to do with my current certifications.

    0 Votes
  • No
    Nomtou Jan 28, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too was scammed by these con artist! Back when it was called PC Productivity. Admission officers were all sales people ready to screw over the next chump. I am all for filing lawsuit as I am nowhere near IT anymore. L o a n for over 50, 000 when said and done. Had to file bankruptcy and this sh!t was not even covered. I'm screwed for the rest of my life! All because I thought I could learn what others learned in 6 yrs in 6 months with piss poor instructors that didn't care how students did. In a class of 24, only 1 person was able to get some certs with this program and they hired him themselves. Complete waste of money!!!

    1 Votes
  • La
    Larry Ross Jan 07, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I would be interested in being part of a class action law suit

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    Gregory A Gamble Jan 04, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It looks like PC Pro has changed their name yet again. They are now called Brensten Education. They have a B+ BBB rating and 10 complaints against them. Looks like they are still scamming people right up to this day.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    Gregory A Gamble Jan 04, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    PC Pro Schools were called PC Productivity back when I attended my 6 month track in 05' / 06' for MCSA / MCSE. The cost of the course was $20k and was one of the BIGGEST MISTAKES I EVER MADE. I attended the Green Bay campus, which was closed down a few years later when the state of Wisconsin opened an investigation into their practices. The story I heard was they accepted an applicant who was "coached" through the competency testing, due to the fact that he was mentally handicapped. I also learned later that the only job you would be able to get after finishing the course would be a $9 an hour help desk position or customer service working in a call center. And at my first interview, the guy basically said they were looking for someone who had a college education or was at least enrolled in a college program. That was first warning sign when I realized I had been scammed. Here are some of the things I personally witnessed while there.
    1. The financial aide person told me right to my face, as I was filling out the application, that if the course didn't work out for me, I could just default, which is eventually what happened. Sallie Mae has since sold off my debt to dozens of collections agencies, and even if I did pay them off, the debt collectors will never stop calling. In fact one just called as I am writing this.
    2. All the course materials said right in the preface, that this information was intended for someone who HAD at least 6 months to a year IN the IT field already, which was totally contrary to what they were saying in their radio ads... that ANYBODY with no pc experience would be able to do these courses.
    3. The instructors I had seemed very professional and knew the material being presented. The problem was there was no way you could learn the material sitting through 4-5 hours of lectures a night, five days a week for 6 months straight and expect to retain any of it. The labs using Virtual Machine weren't much better. Just a monkey see, monkey do kind of approach to learning.
    4. After I finished all the course work, I wanted to get some certs in something very basic, so I could at least get my foot in the door somewhere or have some kind of sense that I just didn't flush 20 grand down the toilet. All the testing for the certifications were included in the cost of the course, so I went in one day to ask about testing for an A+ certification... one of the easiest and most basic certs you can do. BUT... I was told that since A+ was not a part of my coursework, that I would have to pay for it... MYSELF! That's when I really knew this place was a TOTAL SCAM. I also filed a complaint with the BBB. They are no longer BBB accredited. but had a very high rating back then... somehow. You can also file a complaint or write a review with the BBB if you feel you have been ripped off too. It won't get you your money back though.
    P.S. Why is the use of the word "L O A N" forbidden in my post?

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Karimc Nov 21, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My son was also scammed by PC Pro schools and I also am the cosigner on his financing. He ended up not finishing the program the instructors if you can even call them that were not helpful and. I feel basically there to collect a paycheck. Don't even get he started on Sallie Mae and Navient who now has the financing. I did read that Federal government is investigating Navients federal student financing practices. I am considering contacting someone to investigate their private student financing.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    griswld Sep 12, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My son also got scammed by PC Pro Schools. My interest as that I co-signed for him on the financing. The classes did provide some instruction but PC Pro was useless in helping find a job. Their claims of helping students find jobs are very highly exaggerated. My son was unable to find even a help desk job because everyone was looking for someone with experience. So we are stuck with $25K in debt with nothing to show for it. These people are not very honorable. They just want to get students in to make some money off them, and promote the few success stories. If a class action makes sense, we are in.

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    Jake 28 Apr 15, 2012

    I also GOT SCAMMED by PC Pro Schools !!! I'm very interested in class action law suit, any info can be emailed to me at [email protected] subject PC Pro Schools.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    paytheransom Apr 22, 2011

    I am all up for a class action against ALL their practices. Once I got my own interview they must have decided they fulfilled their obligation to me because I never heard from them again.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    charles macfadgen Sep 21, 2009

    I also went to PC PRO SHHOOLS and was garnteed to get a job in the IT indastry and was also told that they would help me get a job in that field and they did not hold up to their end of the deal and now I'm stuck with a looan that will take me 20 years to pay it off so now I cant get a job in IT because they would not help me get the certificaions that I need. I would like to file a lawsuit against them but dont know how to go about doing it. If anyone has filed a class action lawsuit please contact me with the information that need so that I can take care of this loan though Sallie May my name is Charles MacFadgen and my e-mail address is [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Pb
    Pbajevan Aug 06, 2009

    I too would like to know if any one has filed a class action lawsuit! If so please contact me at [email protected] with the subject PC Pro School! Maybe if we can get enough people together we can get action going! Also wondering if any one told the Better Business Bureau about them? I just tried looking them up and thinking of asking them about them!
    Bob V.

    2 Votes
  • Jo
    John Harstad Mar 30, 2018

    @Pbajevan I would definitely enjoin a class action suit. PC Pro Schools defrauded myself and my classmates. We should file immediately with the State Attorney Generals office.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.