The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
OrecatayDiane Varni

Four years ago, I purchased a Siamese cat from Orecatay, the cattery owned and operated by Diane Varni. This woman is a cat collector. I have been in her house three times. She has over 150 cats...she doesn't even know how many. The first time I went, things were fairly okay, but the second time, it was a complete sick mess. I felt like I rescued my cat for $500. Three years later my cat began to develop strange symptoms. When I took him to the vet, he mistakenly told me it looked like my cat had gotten a hold of marijuana. Needless to say, I moved on to another vet, as this was an impossibility. That vet will be in another complaint. I spent over $1500, and found my cat to have FIP. I contacted Diane, and she admitted she may have cats with FIP, but would not refund my money. I tried to contact her numerous times, but she wouldn't answer her phone.

I let it go, although I should have turned her into some animal agency because of the conditions of her cattery. She is an emotionally disturbed woman, so I moved on and didn't want to get involved.

Recently, however, I found this website while googling Diane Varni. I found other complaints from cat buyers also having cats with FIP that they purchased from Diana Varni. This is a death sentence for cats. Besides the emotional and financial devastation my family went through, I now realize I should have stopped Diane and her crazy death cattery.

These cats are sick, tortored animals. She needs to be stopped making these animals suffer. I tried to help her, but she is in denial. SHE SHIPS THESE POOR CREATURES ALL OVER THE WORLD. SHE MUST BE STOPPED.

This is worse than any animal collector reality show on televsion. This is criminal.

Responses

  • Bl
    bluepoint Mar 25, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I got 2 sweet kittens from Diane. They both were diagnosed with conjunctivitis, which is contagious to other cats. One died of FIP at just 9 months old!!! It was the most heartbreaking thing to see an innocent baby go.

    Her house is dirty and smells so strongly of urine. Her front porch has tons and tons of dirty cats just lounging. FIP is fatal, so don't risk it. Avoid buying from Diane Varni!

    2 Votes
  • Nc
    ncwhiting Mar 18, 2016

    I am just heartsick reading these posts. I too just put a deposit down for 2 kittens. They were supposedly born on Jan 1 and while I read the testimonials on her website, I didn't find this board until tonight. I have been getting the run around from Diane about the 2 kittens that are supposed to be 10 weeks old now. No photos or status updates. I have 2 adult cats and I am terrified now to even consider bringing these kittens (if they even exist) into my home for fear that they have a virus that could infect my other cats. I feel terrible if there really are sick kittens at her cattery but don't think I can take them if there is a chance they are sick.

    2 Votes
  • Li
    Liz V. Mar 01, 2016

    Oh no! I just put a deposit down with her on two kittens. I didn't see this when I looked. The contract said I can't get my deposit back, unless the kittens are diagnosed with a disease or genetic flaw in the first year. Any recommendations?

    2 Votes
  • Mi
    Mikayla and Kellan Jansen Jan 16, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm thankful we never ended up with one of her cats. I can't imagine the pain you've gone through and the financial burden. We paid for a cat and never received one. We too, are doing everything we can to stop her. Any ideas? We've hired a lawyer. - Mikayla and Kellan Jansen

    2 Votes
  • Di
    Diane Demicco Dec 16, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Mikayla and Kellan Jansen Diane Varni passed away on Wednesday, December 14, 2016. I am very sorry you had such a bad experience. I too got a cat from her that died at about 5 1/2 yrs old from a genetic defect. Heartbreaking, I know.

    1 Votes
  • 2b
    2balinese Feb 18, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Diane Demicco Thank you for the information on Diane's passing; I had no idea & am very sorry to hear of it. I realize that there have been problems with some of her kittens; however, I have a blue-point Bali boy from her who will turn 9 next month & who has been nothing but a joy. I'm incredibly grateful for him every day - I can't imagine how heartbreaking it would have been had he arrived ill. I'm sorry for the loss of your sweet kitty.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Candace Martin Apr 28, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @2balinese My two cats from Diane (different litters, a few days apart), have been nothing short of pure joy. They will be 14 this year, and the picture of health. I am so very sorry that Diane had trouble in her later years. But that should not be her legacy. I was in touch with her for many years after getting my bluepoint male, Jack, and my sealpoint female, Nisa. She was always compassionate and kind, and loved hearing about how much we love them, and how well they were doing.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Miss my Henry Nov 17, 2015

    Orecatay Traditional Siamese and Balinese Cattery
    Orecatay Traditional Siamese and Balinese Cattery Contacts & Informations
    Posted: 2015-11-10 by Miss my Henry
    My seal point cat died from FIP that I purchased from her
    Complaint Rating: 0 % with 0 votes
    Contact information:
    Drain, OR, United States
    My mom bought a pair of kittens (brother and sister) paying $500 for each from Diane Varni in 2008 over the phone as a gift to me. I drove several hours from Central Oregon to pick them up. My male died of FIP when he was three years old. I was so heartbroken and so was his sister. I should have known something was very wrong when I went to pick the kittens up because the smell in the house was so bad from urine it almost knocked me over backwards along with a bathroom full of sick cats she had separated. I know it's been a very long time and I don't know why I didn't speak up sooner. I wish I had contacted her to ask for another cat. Today I was sitting here with Daisy Mei and regretted not doing so as she is lonely. I hope that her business has been inspected by Animal Control and cat associations because it needs to be. If I could be compensated with another healthy seal point adolescent cat that would make me happy!

    1 Votes
  • An
    Annelson88 Nov 17, 2015

    I bought a kitten from Diane in December 2014, this kitten had to be put to sleep yesterday (November, 17th, 2015) to end her suffering. She was diagnosed by two vets with FIP, one of these vets is a specialist in Oregon who has been in the field for decades. I am and will be doing everything in my power to stop her from breeding these sick kittens. The pain this has caused my family is horrific... not to mention the combined cost of the kitten herself, visits to both traditional and holistic vets, specialists, ultrasounds, medications, supplements, specialty foods to try to get her to eat... all of which may have extended her life to what it was, but in the end this is a FATAL condition. DO NOT BUY FROM THIS BREEDER. RIP to those kittens and cats effected due to Diane Varni and her Orecatay cattery.

    2 Votes
  • Ja
    Jazziness Jun 22, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I got 2 blue point siamese kittens from Diane and one of them just dropped to 4 pounds at 9 months old in a matter of 3 days. Vet said it's FIP and I came across this site by chance when I was googling her cattery. So sad to see this happening! When I went to pick up the kittens from her house, her house was gross and smelled so strongly of urine. She had a ton of cats living outdoors on her porch, surrounded by messy junk (she doesn't have neighbors in view). Both of my kittens were always teary eyed, which turned out to be conjunctivitis, which raised the vet bills for treatment. At nine months old now, their eyes get a little gunky but not as bad as it used to be.
    The kittens are extremely sweet. One acts like a dog, and both love to cuddle and sit on laps. It's so sad to see my kitten be so weak and sick, and hope the other one doesn't have FIP.

    3 Votes
  • As
    asdfadfa May 31, 2014

    We just put down a deposit for a bluepoint with Dianne. We're reading all of these posts now and thinking that we've been scammed. Has anyone been able to get there money back from her? Does anyone know if any legal action is being taken against her? Thanks.

    2 Votes
  • Co
    Colette M Jul 10, 2013

    In February 2013 Diane Varni was investigated by the Douglas Animal Control and Veterinarian from the Parkway Animal Hospital. Diane Varni was found to have multiple cats with FIP!!!

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Colette M Jul 06, 2013

    I agree 110% with what everyone has written here. End of February 2013, Diane stated to me that she had "around 35" cats but didn't know the exact amount..I took it as being understandable, but then I realized that it was not during breeding season and a very ODD comment for one to make..she also stated that she needs to lower that number even more.

    The clincher that made me look into her even closer was the fact that she refused to give information about the queens and studs that she had bred, or even of the resulting litters. Refusing to answer my phone calls and letting the answering machine answer and then the vague emails afterward, got the hair on the back of my neck to stand up I started searching further. It was at this time that I found the Complaintsboard, and I am SO thankful for it as it prevented me from getting a seriously ill cat!

    Illnesses spread like wildfire, especially in large colonies which is why I have no doubt on the comments that you have made to be true on the health of the Orecatay cats. She has sold cats with FIP, the feline Herpes virus, ear polyps and fleas...can you imagine how a house full of cats with those illnesses would look like? She admitted to me that she had been ill in the past few years. How can a person living alone be able to afford to get that many cats health care from a Vet?

    1 Votes
  • Tw
    TwitterCat Apr 03, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    SR Simon, please read my post about Diane Varni Selling FIP Kittens:
    Diane Varni, Orecatay Cattery, Balinese and Siamese Kittens — Sells FIP Kittens

    There is information on there with exact steps of what to do/how to report/encourage action. Each of us who are affected by her squalid and unhealthy breeding practices and conditions must speak up and follow those steps/report them for any action to be made. While many clients have posted online (just google her name, there's a plethora of complaints), not many know what steps to take and in what direction.

    Please follow the steps, and if you would like to personally connect, please personally message me! I'd love to connect.
    My heart goes out to you and everyone else affected by her poor life choices. On the phone and I have it in a recording, she states that she uses the money from each litter to pay for her own hospital bills. She breeds for profit, not an ounce of love or compassion. It is terrible, and even worse to think she's been in practice for over 20 years.

    2 Votes
  • Sr
    S R Simon Mar 23, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We planned to purchase one kitten but we ended up taking two cats because we also felt like they all needed to be rescued!!! We immediately suspected the cattery might house FIP but we couldn't bring ourselves to leave the kittens there. We've had them about eight months and they've continued to have one health issue after another. Right now, we're dealing with an ear infection in the female cat that our vet asserts is exceedingly unusual due to the severity of the symptoms. The vet is clearly alarmed and wants us to bring her back in a few days. We're praying for a miracle that these cats will escape the FIP over the long haul. In the meantime, any cat owners who visit our house must change shoes and clothes before returning home. How's that for a nice how-do-you-do to tell NY guests to your home?! I tried to get Sheriff's department to do something last summer/fall but they said the cats appeared to be fine.

    2 Votes
  • Tw
    TwitterCat Nov 01, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Thank you for speaking up about this. I know you've been affected, too.
    This woman says that her cats don't have problems and that there are cases of FIP around the world and all breeders have them. This may be true that most breeders have had at least 1 experience, but for a breeder to have THIS MANY is highly unusual.

    My vet even called her and lashed her out. She promised to stop breeding, and I hoped she would, but she didn't.

    If she doesn't meet her fate on earth, then she'll answer to it in the afterlife. At the least, that gives me peace. She can tell herself she's a wonderful person as much as she wants. Her dead kitties know, and the owners know. If she believes in God, He knows.

    2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.