Omni Financialscam/fraud

G Review updated:

Omni contacted me several times soliciting their tax lien assistance. They made several promises and followed with a work agreement for a fixed amount of $2000 to resolve specific tax work. They stated that I would not be paying any more than the $2000 to get my work completed. They wasted hours of their time and before realizing ANY completion of the work notified me that I would have an additional $4500 in order for them to continue working. They refused to complete any of the work they agreed to do on the work agreement, and lie constantly in their response to the BBB, even going so far as to say that I "admitted that Omni was doing a good job" for me! Nothing can be further from the truth. I am outraged that they make written agreements for a flat fee only to defraud and scam their clients. Their business scam is such a blatant ripoff. They were completely void of any honesty and good work ethic.

Gary H.

Responses

  • Dr
    Dr. Chuck Oct 21, 2010

    Gary, I've had the same runaround. My $2500. retainer quickly turned into $900. They kept switching assistants handling my case and the clock kept ticking. I didn't know it was eating away my retainer. They did nothing for me. I'd be happy to get a grand back. Should I contact the BBB? Thanks, Chuck

    0 Votes
  • Se
    Sewing4Fun Dec 21, 2010

    I received a call this morning from a lady at this company and when I told her I wasn't interested, she said she would send me some information and just cold transferred me to a guy named Anthony. He had me on the phone for about an hour and wouldn't let me go. I told him the same thing, not interested. I already had a tax lawyer who handled my case and they were able to get me on Currently Not Collectible Status. But they insisted that the penalties and interest were still going to be imposed and how the IRS is going to aggressively seek to garnish my wages and take my assets. He was trying to scare me. He went on to say that he would only charge me $2900 but that he would take $1000 off the bill but I had to give them $625 so they could start working today. I already have a lawyer, he didn't hear me! I was so angry that he wasted my time. It's my fault and should have hung up on the guy but didn't want to be rude. I am so glad I read this blog, thanks everyone!

    0 Votes
  • Am
    AManager Jan 05, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I manage a restaurant where I’ve received repeated calls from Omni in aggressive pursuit of our ownership. Their representatives would not give their name or whom they worked for only that “he owes back taxes” and that I should immediately give them his phone number. A simple caller id showed where they were calling from and after a small amount a research inside their call back system, I learned that Robert Lewis, their senior accounts representative, was responsible for the rude and overly aggressive sales techniques. I hope you never consider them for business and that some semblance of decency works its way on to their sales floor.

    0 Votes
  • Sb
    sbf815 Mar 12, 2011

    Thank you so much for all of your insight. I was just about to sign on with this company. I am one of the lucky ones that does a lot of research before handing over money. I cannot thank you enough. So how do you know who to use? I just need someone honest to help me!!! Thank you, thank you, thank you! Sounds like you just all saved me a lot of money. You have done a great thing by sharing!

    0 Votes
  • Mp
    MplsMike Feb 28, 2013

    I recently received a notice from the IRS stating that I owned them $1200. This was as a result of a clerical mistake on application of estimated tax payments between 2010 and 2011. The IRS applied it in 2010 rather than 2011 which resulted in getting an underpayment notice. I called the IRS and got it straightened out. But here's the question. Why is it then that this scam outfit Omni Financial calls me within days of my getting that IRS letter. HOW THE HELL DID THESE OMNI SCHAYSTER KNOW ABOUT THIS LETTER? Is the IRS handing out this information? This whole thing with Omni was just too coincidental. I had never gotten an IRS letter, and I had never gotten a call from Omni. If the IRS is making this information public, then there is a BIG problem here.

    0 Votes
  • Sy
    Syclona345 Dec 17, 2013

    The IRS puts a lien against you and any property you own whenever their records reflect that you owe taxes. Federal Tax Liens are a matter of public record. Firms like Omni purchase these lists which contain your contact information and the amount of the lien placed against you. Deal with your tax problems with the IRS or a local licensed attorney. Everything you need to know about resolving tax issues can be found on the IRS website. There are very few honest businesses like this from what I have seen and I worked for Omni before and their business practices are not trustworthy in my opinion and will likely cost you $1000's more than just working out a payment arrangement directly with the IRS. If you own a business, find a local accountant and work with them to learn how to manage and pay your business taxes accurately and timely to avoid landing on these lien rolls. As far as the calls, fight fire with fire and be as rude and nasty back to them as you want...harassment, intimidation and bullying is against the law and Florida where this company is located also has a Stand Your Ground law. For those who have had problems with Omni as a client, go to this website as this law firm is investigating the possibility of a class action lawsuit: http://www.class-action-litigation.org/american-tax-relief-investigation.asp

    0 Votes
  • Dz
    Dzondria Warner Aug 05, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I don’t want to be that negative person but I have to say I am very dissatisfied with OMNI. I was told when I started with them that if I was not satisfied with their services I would get a full refund. Well when I started with them I already had a payment plan set up with both my state and federal taxes. I asked Omni if they could reduce my penalties and fees since they were in place. They told me it would not be an issue and they all but guaranteed as this was their specialty. I have to admit they stayed in constant communication with me and to all they were doing with my case…but…..when I told them there was no need to do discovery they said it wasn’t an issue and it was part of the process. Once all was said and done I received an itemized bill from them stating they had spent all the money I’d given them on the discovery of payments plans that were already in place and they would need more money if I wanted them to do an abatement on the penalities and fees and that would be another $1500. I gave them a call and it just so happened the person I was working with quit that same week and I was transferred to someone else who wasn’t familiar with my case. She basically explained to me the cost would be the same whether I had plans in place or not and the abatement is extra. I explained to her that’s not what I was told….because why would I pay someone to do something I had already done? I wont call them scam artists…they just aren’t very upfront with their fees or schedules. Why would I pay someone to do what I had already done?

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem